Customer Reviews for

August Gale: A Father and Daughter's Journey into the Storm

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    As a children┬┐s author and illustrator, I have been trained to w

    As a children’s author and illustrator, I have been trained to write with vision and to tell a story without words. Barbara Walsh has taken verbal visualization to new heights. I have read August Gale twice and am about to read it again. Rarely have I read such a well written book that makes me want to relive the story over and over. I not only got involved with the characters but I lived the gale, fought against the waves and wanted to comfort and save Frankie from his fate. I felt the angst of the families left behind and the conflict of Walsh’s father as he began the apprehensive journey to learn about his family. The balance between past and present is extremely well done. The premonitions’ experienced by the fishermen and their families and the appearance of lost souls made this reader weep with sorrow. Walsh deserves every accolade available for this touching, true chronicle.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    I have finished reading August Gale and was genuinely moved by

    I have finished reading August Gale and was genuinely moved by the story. I was brought to tears as I witnessed the loss and renewal through Ms Walsh's words. I have recommended the book to more than one person as it is a saga where readers can identify on more than one level - human loss at sea or losing anyone you love, the loss of family ties for whatever reason, and the hope of reunion and healing. Thank you for your gift, Ms. Walsh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    ...you are there...

    A good blend of then and now stories. Segments were not too long, not too short...just right in length. (Though reading on a Nook meant the family tree was not negotiable - that's my bad and Nook's, not Ms. Walsh's.)

    I've seen the Fisherman's Memorial in Gloucester, Massachusetts many times, but this story takes a reader into the boats, using the words of survivors and the families of the lost to paint pictures in the mind, and making us miss the victims as if they were our own. Well done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Great read

    Highyl recommend this book - the book was very well written and had a very interesting story to it. I had a hard time putting it down. The author very skillfully wove together the past and present to make for an interesting story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Being from New England, I enjoyed reading this local authors ble

    Being from New England, I enjoyed reading this local authors blended story.  Not even a quarter way through the book I felt so drawn in to the book. It was so well written, a book my five senses enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    There are two stories: 1 a non-fiction memoir of a family in sea

    There are two stories: 1 a non-fiction memoir of a family in search of truth, and 1 a historical novel that is way too long for its own good and is occupied with way too much hand-wringing. Within a few chapters I decided to skip the novel and just read the memoir. It had about as much material in it for a full-page Sunday newspaper feature story. I heard the author on BookTV and found the talk enticing; I'm sorry the book didn't live up to my expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    A wonderful family story as well as the story of a real event

    Barbara Walsh does an excellent job of telling the story of the 1935 August gale that struck Nova Scotia. In addition, it is her father's story of coming to terms with his father's abandonment of his family.When she decides to write this book, her father is the one who says, " maybe we can find some of the family". Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    A compelling story masterfully told. I couldn't put it down. You

    A compelling story masterfully told. I couldn't put it down. You aren the boats with the fishermen and waiting on the shore with the wives and children. The tension is maintained from beginning to end.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Great book

    Very interesting story that goes back and forth between the present day and 1935 Well worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Wonderful personal story of the Newfoundland storm of 1935

    In searching for her family history, the author uncovered an unbelievable tale of heroism, conflict and adventure. The story is stunningly personal for her and her father and leads her to resolve a life of secrecy and hurt and gains them a brand new family in Newfoundland. The story is written with the historical storm off the coast of Newfoundland in 1935 intertwined with personal current day emotions about a family separated by a father and grandfather who abandoned his wife and children. This is a great book, a true story told from the heart, that you will not be able to put down until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Incredible storytelling

    Barbara Walsh¿s story could have easily devolved into personal angst and pablum, but it never does. She makes her family connection enhance the tale rather than bogging it down.
    The back and forth structure between the present and 1935 is hard to do, to carry off, to make work, but it does. And it keeps up the suspense. You know what is going to happen, yet this reader keeps turning the page.
    Walsh brings to life, life in that tiny village on the sea; the characters, their words, their movements in their small world -- and she chronicles with empathy the sad, sad deaths of far too many from that tightly-knit world. The scene of Tom Reid and Frankie Walsh on the schooner in the hurricane takes your breath away. Paddy Walsh, Ambrose Walsh, the priest, the wives of the fishermen are such memorable characters, right out of a novel.
    The tugging subplot of the author¿s father's struggle with his father is a transcontinental tragedy that is a story in itself, but is seamlessly woven it into the larger story of the whole clan centered in a Canadian fishing village. Always there is the tug and pull of her father's state of mind, displayed by himself and explained through the feelings and tender observations of his daughters. It's just incredibly marvelous storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    One of the best books ever written!

    The most interesting book I have ever read, very factual. A true story told in great detail and definitely the making of a great movie equal to the Perfect Storm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    Great for lovers of historically based fiction or seafaring life.

    This is an outstanding book. Barbara Walsh has very skillfully meshed three related stories. First is that of the catastrophic 1935 gale that took the lives of 40 Newfoundland fishermen including her great-uncle "Paddy" Walsh and several of her cousins, second is the story of her grandfather Ambrose Walsh who had emigrated to NY from Newfoundland to start and later abandon his own family and third, the effect that Ambrose's actions had on her dad, Ronald and her uncle William Patrick (the namesake of the drowned fisherman) and their mother.

    The book alternates between the three story lines in the context of and the author's trip, accompanied by her dad, to Marystown, Newfoundland during which she unraveled the story of the gale and she and her dad came to know their relatives. All the story lines and the Marystown trip are well written and compelling. Even better they are seamlessly woven together.

    Walsh is particularly strong on the human cost of these tragedies. Her descriptions of the grief of the women and children over the loss of their fathers, husbands and brothers and their plight in the following winter is especially poignant. The images she describes are haunting. Equally well done is her writing about the effects of Ambrose's abandonment on Ambrose's wife and well as on the author's dad and uncle.

    I simply can't recommend this highly enough to those who love historically based fiction or stories of seafaring life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1