Customer Reviews for

Auntie Mame: An Irreverent Escapade

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    I wish she were my Auntie!!!

    I stumbled upon this book when I was in Jr. H.S., a long time ago. Geez, I wished that she were my Auntie! What a marvelous, heart-warming, heart-string pulling tale of an orphan and his zany, NYC society Aunt that'll take you from the Great Depression all around the world and back home in fits of laughter and tears. I've heard that Patrick Dennis based his story on his real Aunt. Angela Lansbury stole my heart on Broadway (my 16th birthday present) and I need a fix of Rosalind Russell's movie version every now and again, but there is no replacing the original story. Put this on your shelf and in your heart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    a great read!

    If you enjoyed the films or musical you will love the novel. The amazing characters will seem larger then the pages they are on. Its also a quick read and lots of fun.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    Fun!

    I defy anyone to read this book and not burst into giggles, snickers, chuckles, snorts or guffaws! Actually, the entire book can be summed up in just one word: fun! The story is obviously very well-known, thanks, not only to the popoularity of the book in its hayday, but to the Broadway adaptation and movies as well. I will quickly summarize the book, though, for those, like me, who had never had any experience with the book, play or movie. Patrick Dennis was 10 years old when his father died suddenly. His mother had died long before. According to his father's will, he is sent to live with his wildly eccentric Auntie Mame, with a few restrictions -He is to be raised in the Episcopal faith, and sent to a conservative school. Auntie Mame's upbringing of Patrick is to be supervised by his stodgy trustee, to ensure that Mame's eccentricity is reigned in if necessary. Auntie Mame is one of the most delightfully funny characters I've ever read. Eccentric doesn't begin to explain her. A drama queen to the nth degree. Mame lives life on the grandest scale possible with more flair and panache than an entire chorus line, all the while dragging her nephew Patrick into her elaborate, kooky schemes. The story is told in a series of vignettes, as insprired by the Reader's Digest's feature 'The Most Unforgettable Character.' Auntie Mame certainly is unforgettable! I adored this book, and would now like to see the movies and play for comparison. This book would leave a smile on the face of the most hardened grouch.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2004

    Brilliant!

    This book is hilarious! Its also brilliant social commentary. Patrick Dennis was a genius. Highly recommended. Watch the movie too.....its just as funny!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    Funnier Than Any Movie Version!

    Like 'Forest Gump' and 'Addy Pray' (aka Papermoon) this is an episodic semi-satirical trip, this time with a wealthy anything but old spinster aunt. Visit Auntie Mame in the raw- before she was cleaned up for the stage, neutered for the movie, and sent to a nunnery for a musical version before becoming said old spinster aunt in the movie musical. The additional episodes that didn't make it into the Lawrence/Lee/Russell play are worth the price of the book. Mame's affair with a college student, an amourous 16 year old war orphan with the hots for Auntie, and Patrick's attraction to 3 hypnotic sisters didn't make it to the stage. You will also find out what became of Agnes Gooch. Why was Uncle Beau standing behind a horse before being kicked in the head and died? Read, read, read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    What fun!

    One of the best stories ever written! An elegantly bawdy romp!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    excellent book, a great read to re-visit time and time again

    Fabulous, funny, irrevrent, entertaining, stylish the story never gets old and never boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The book resembles more the the 1948 classic Auntie Mame rather than the 1974 Lucille Ball remake. But it is different from both. One thing is certain, it is a fascinating, easy and funny read. Greatly enjoyed it!

    This classic is written from the point of view of Patrick, Mame's nephew and it starts with the sudden death of Patrick father's when he was ten year old to the introduction of Patrick's seven year old son to a much older auntie Mame for a reprise..

    In between they conspire to get Patrick educated, Mame suffers the depression of 1929 and after not being able to maintain any employment she marries a very rich southerner.

    She goes to Georgia with Patrick to meet her new in laws and almost dies when she rides Lighting Rod, a mad horse from an old flame of her husband Beau.

    Beau dies and Mame goes to Europe to mourn her loss for two years. Then she meets a literary circle and decides to write her memoirs.

    No book is produced but her editor elopes with her secretary Agnes. Agnes comes back pregnant and Mame takes her to Patrick college to have her deliver her baby aided by Patrick. In the end the baby is born after much conniving and the help of Patrick's headmaster who falls in love with Agnes.

    In college Patrick gets a mistress, a cocktail waitress by the name of Bubbles, and Mame cultivates Patrick's roommates, especially Alex, to whom she attaches romantically. Mame and Patrick save each other when at the junior prom Bubbles is found naked with half of the football team, and Mame hides in Patrick's room to escape being caught with Alex.

    Patrick finishes college and falls for a well to do girl name ]Gloria. Mame comes to his rescue this time as she goes for a visit to her parents and uncovers their bigotry.

    Wounded after this, Patrick joins the army until 1942 when he returns after an injury. He helps Mame care for six terrible children which almost killed them both.

    The final chapters deal with the shenanigans that Mame go through to get Patrick married.

    The book ends with Patrick seven year old child being introduce to a much older Mame and history will repeat itself.

    Patrick and Mame save each other from lovers.

    The book resembles more the the 1948 classic Auntie Mame rather than the 1974 Lucille Ball remake. But it is different from both. One thing is certain, it is a fascinating, easy and funny read. Greatly enjoyed it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    loved the book loved the movies

    this book was so enjoyable. i was a fast read. very entertaining and fun. anytime reading. relax and enjy the ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    Not Just A Delightful Novel

    I first read 'Auntie Mame' when I was in 8th grade (mid 1960's) and it changed my life! It is not only a delightful novel, it's a great social survey of the first half of the 20th Century - all the buzz words are sprinkled into the narrative, along with the flavor of each period in the first half century. After I read it three or four times, I pulled out a pad (not foolscap) and wrote down all the names and references I didn't understand. It enriched my appreciation of American cultural and social history. I'd love to give it as a gift - in an annotated edition!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2004

    Funny, time to read or re-read

    Anutie Mame is funny and very clever. If you haven't ever read it you should read it now. If you have read it re-read it anyway.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2000

    Auntie Mame

    I thought this was a very good book. It is filled with exciting things. I recommend this book and after you read the book I recommend watching the movie too (make sure you get the original movie with Rosalind Russell) :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    My favorite

    My favorite fictional character ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2001

    Read

    Oh My God, I love it! It's oon eoh the best books that i have ever read if not the best! Auntie Mame is a character you'll never forget. It's the kind of book you'll want to read over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2