Customer Reviews for

Auralia's Colors

Average Rating 3.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    Poetic World In spite of not really liking the book all that muc

    Poetic World
    In spite of not really liking the book all that much, I have to admit that the world is poetically interesting. The characters and story are unusual. I liked the foundation of the story and world, but I couldn't engage with the magical realism. For example, I read it several years ago, but it still bothers me that Auralia's leaf shoes were green, or that she used flower petals for clothes. As a kid who played with making things out of whatever weeds grew in the lot next door, I know how fast leaves turn brown. I simply couldn't participate in the poetry of the fantasy. At the same, I think it says something that I still think about the novel years later.
    If you read a sample and it doesn't draw you in, then you might have some of the same problems I had with the story. I felt that the lyrical quality of the prose was consistent from beginning to end. It feels seeped with meaning, somewhat like The Scarlet Letter.
    Auralia is not a character that you get close to. It's not really her story. It's more the story of those affected by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    A fan now....

    I can't stop thinking about this series ever since my friend loaned me the first one. Now she has passed it on to another friend and I am reading the 3rd book in the series. I look back and I am beginning to see that the Keeper is God and truth and Auralia is maybe an angel or Jesus to show us Gods true colors. It is very poetic and yet the people live so simply.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    Beautiful book--creative and lyrical.

    Beautiful book--creative and lyrical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Many will remember that the Bible states “the love of mone

    Many will remember that the Bible states “the love of money is a root of all sorts of evil,” but the sacred text goes further than that. “Some by longing for [money] have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs” (1 Timothy 6:10). Change that warning to the love of colorful things, and you have a fair summary of Jeffrey Overstreet’s debut fantasy, Auralia’s Colors.

    The people of Abascar live in browns and grays. Many years ago they gave up every bit of color they had to please the Queen, whose idea was to collect and mature the beauty of the kingdom before returning it to the people, royally blessed by her. In this way, the whole kingdom would be glorified over the other kingdoms of the Expanse. But the Queen never returned the promised honor to her people, so anyone making or finding something beautiful is required to give it to the king for storing in the vast royal vault.

    Enter an orphan with enchanting spirit and eyes for nature’s color. She sees what no one cares to see or is afraid to see due to the proclamation of colors. She weaves illegal clothing for the Gatherers who live outside the walls working off criminal sentences. If there were faeries in this world, Auralia would resemble one. She was discovered by the river in a gigantic footprint. She can infuse new color into things she holds. She rides a wildcat and observes beastmen from yards away. All she cares to do is paint her world with new life, and that could make her a criminal.

    Some modern fantasies echo Tolkien’s work with names, places, or characters that feel lifted directly from The Lord of the Rings. Auralia’s Colors echoes Tolkien in only one significant way, in the use of magic. This world is infused with natural magic. Royal soldiers ride two-legged lizards called vawns instead of horses. Black birds rise from the forest like a sheet every evening to pull up the night. Auralia can draw color out of anything she finds, making paint or dye or thread with it for her artwork. She does this by instinct and experimentation, not knowing how the colors multiply when she weaves them together.

    In a sense, she is innocent of the nature and power colors have in her world. Similarly, she is innocent of how the adults around her think. Her perspective clashes with the king’s once they finally meet each other. She is a servant of nature; he is servant to none. She would rejoice in the wonders of creation; he would control and store them. While inside a castle room, she says, “Such a small space makes people seem enormous. In the woods, everybody’s properly small.” That humility may be the essence of this recommended novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Beautiful!

    I stumbled upon this in a random quest for a story to capture the imagination. I'm so glad I found it and I can't wait to read more of the story in the books the follow. It is not a traditional way of story telling, but it is rich and enthralling none the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Great read

    I was completely pulled in by this book. I enjoyed it, and I'm definitely buying the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Best of the Summer Freebies!

    Another of the free books that blew me away! I have to admit that I probably wouldn't have bought this but I am so glad that I read it.
    I want to thank Mr. Overstreet for making this available to us. I will definitely be buying the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    wow

    and that bout sums it up, wow. Amazing this book will make you see thigns around you a little difrently, colors arnt just red green blue and yellow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A unique story of a world searching for color.

    Two Gatherer thieves find an abandoned child lying in a massive footprint near the river. They take the girl back to the village where she grows up wild and mysterious amongst the Gatherers, those unworthy of living inside the walls of House Abascar. The girl, Auralia, has a unique gift, the ability to weave breathtaking colors from the world around her. When Queen Jaralaine issues a proclamation that sends all of House Abascar into a colorless season of winter, Auralia¿s gift becomes illegal.<BR/><BR/>As Abascar¿s Winter stretches year after year Auralia grows up, nearing the age of sixteen when all enter House Abascar for the Rites of Privilege to show what gifts they might offer the kingdom. As the Rites draw near, Auralia must decide if she will go and reveal her gift to the king or if she will remain safely hidden in the forest all her days. Either way, her choice could mean the end of life as she knows it.<BR/><BR/>Auralia¿s Colors was a unique book. The writing was beautiful. I couldn¿t read it as fast as I like to read. It had many point of views, but the author brought them all together in the end in a wonderful way that fulfilled most of the plot lines, but left several dangling so that I have to read the next book to find out what happens. It was entertaining, creative, and unique. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A world to journey into

    What an interesting story Jeff has woven together through the novel of "Auralia's Colors". This is a story to set sometime aside to read and let it soak in. I will bet that this is one that would even fascinate my husband to read.<BR/><BR/>Sections in this book lost my interest, and I wanted to walk away, but I am glad that I did not because all in all it was quite an enjoyable journey and I plan to read the rest of the Threads as they present themselves.<BR/><BR/>I found the atmosphere for me was very reminiscent of Stephen Lawhead", especially his lately series including "Hood", "Scarlet", and in 2009 "Tuck".<BR/><BR/>As a Fantasy novel, this is one of those that you fall into and forget about what is real and what is not. That is one of the hardest parts for me, but once I click into the world, I do not want to leave. I'm so glad that I have "Cyndere's Midnight" that I can jump into right away.<BR/><BR/>If you enjoy Lawhead, or Toilken, or Madeleine L'Engle, I do believe that you will find enjoyment through the creative prose that is practically poetry in the writings of Jeffrey Overstreet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    Excellent Book

    I could hardly put this book down. It seems different than any other fantasy I've read before. Since finishing the book I can't help but look around and see things differently. I highly recommend this book for people of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    An Enchanting Fantasy Dream!

    In the heart of the woods two Gatherers Krawg and Warney hunt for berries for the House of Abascar. The sound of crows catches Krawg¿s attention. Krawg decides to investigate and he finds a small baby by the river¿s edge placed gently so no harm may come to her, in a giant footprint of a creature they do not recognize. They sneak her back to the other Gatherers careful not to attract the attention of duty officers and beastmen. And there she becomes the `River Girl¿ and is raised until she becomes old enough to let them know that her name is ¿Auralia¿. Something about Auralia is different ¿ magical even and all who know her love her and are enchanted by her. She seems not afraid of man nor beast but no one knows where she comes from. Some think she is a Northchild but others claim that can not be as there is no such thing. She weaves magical colors from things she finds in the woods and presents the Gatherers with gifts of her many colors and a cloak that she wears that just seems to come alive with color. But the colors are illegal banned by the Queen who has gathered everyone¿s treasures and stored them in caves under the castle but strange the Queen herself has disappeared, leaving the prince Cal-raven to be raised by the king Cal-marcus. But the beauty and enchantment of Auralia seems to have split the king and his son. The King feels she¿s dangerous ¿ rebellious even but the Prince feels she may have come from the ¿Keeper¿ which is also forbidden to speak of. But the King feels the Prince¿s enchantment may also interfere with his plans for the Prince to marry Stricia, Ark-robin¿s daughter. But what role is the mystery of Auralia to play in the Expanse and what is the Expanse? Enter in and meet ale boy and the part he must play, Ark-robin whose duty it is to protect the king and the prince, Scharr ben Fray the tales and magic he teaches Cal-raven and who has been banned by the king from Abascar and the Queen and find out why she has banned colors. So if you¿re a fan of fantasy such as Lord of the Rings or J.R.R. Tolkien than you¿ll love Auralia¿s Colors an awesome tale for young and old alike. Enter into the fantasy world of fangbears, river wyrms, bamble pigs and ride upon varns. As the dream world unfolds you too will be swept up and enchanted by the marvelous imagery of ¿Auralia¿s Colors¿. The author Jeffery Overstreet takes you into an awesome dream in this his first fantasy novel that is not only colorful but flows so smoothly you will not want to awaken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    homage to Narnia

    Except for her royal court, the Queen has outlawed all colors thus the kingdom of Abascar is draped in dark gloomy grey as King Cal enforces his wife¿s decree. Two old thieves, Krawg and Warney, exiled from the House Abascar as part of paying off societal debts, notice the activity of crows by the River Throanscall. They investigate only to find a girl sleeping like she was dead inside a strange footprint. They take the River Girl who tells them her name is Auralia to their criminal community. She shows a talent to bring out the enchanting colors hidden behind the grey in everything. Her skills reach the monarch and his queen as well as the rest of the Four Great Houses of the Expanse. Will the River Girl prove the savior of the houses or their destruction although some wise philosophers point out that if she never existed, there would be nothing to save the houses from. --- The first Auralia Thread tale is a magical inspirational fairy tale fantasy that brings to life the Overstreet world filled with colorful creatures like beastmen, vawns and the enigmatic Keeper. The story line is fast-paced with an obvious homage towards Narnia. Auralia is a fascinating character who keeps the story line anchored as her re-coloring the kngdom puts her on a potentially lethal confrontation with King Cal who has implemented his wife¿s demand of a colorless realm. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Top Quality Fantasy!!

    A good fantasy story draws you in and holds you captive until the story has finished its telling. You find yourself lost in the tale, uncertain of which world you dwell in, and once it is finished, feel as if you have dined on a masterful literary feast. 'Auralia's Colors' is just such a story. Filled with magical creatures and lavish with imagery that teases the senses, 'Auralia's Colors' is more than just a story. I found allegory that paralleled Narnia and The Lord of the Rings...a richness of Heaven revealed through fantasy. And it's good stuff! This is the first in a series called Auralia's Colors...this is the Red Strand...Jeffrey is working on the Blue Strand...which I hope is to release soon. I want to go back to the Expanse and learn what happens to House Abascar and her people...to get lost in 'Auralia's Colors' once again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5