Customer Reviews for

Aurelia

Average Rating 4
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Better than expected...LOVED it!

I was, when I first stumbled upon Aurelia, unsure of whether I would want to read it. I was afraid it would be too adult or something. But, t wasn't. It's the perfect book for preteens and teenagers alike, and I loved evry minute of it. It's got the mystery (By the way...
I was, when I first stumbled upon Aurelia, unsure of whether I would want to read it. I was afraid it would be too adult or something. But, t wasn't. It's the perfect book for preteens and teenagers alike, and I loved evry minute of it. It's got the mystery (By the way, can I just saw WHOA.), the romance, the adventure, the not-so-helpless princess who I think mirrors how most girls would feel in her situation. Aurelia is not one to sit by and let people take advantage of her, but she's not perfect either, and she hides her hurt. I believe that Aurelia was a realistic character readers can both relate to and love.

posted by Reads_a_lot on March 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

ebook format leaves a lot to be desired

First of all, the story itself was ok - it was fairly predictable, but interesting enough. Overall, I wouldn't say it was worth the ebook pricing, but it was an okay enough read.

I bought this as an ebook and the formatting was truly horrible. Many character's names ...
First of all, the story itself was ok - it was fairly predictable, but interesting enough. Overall, I wouldn't say it was worth the ebook pricing, but it was an okay enough read.

I bought this as an ebook and the formatting was truly horrible. Many character's names weren't capitalized, the beginning of a sentence was often left uncapitalized. There were odd symbols scattered throughout the text. I haven't ever had an ebook that was like this, but it made it incredibly jarring to read. My overall experience was poor because it became a chore just to read the book. I would only recommend the book if you don't mind a lot of errors and a mediocre story.

posted by BooksMyHero on May 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than expected...LOVED it!

    I was, when I first stumbled upon Aurelia, unsure of whether I would want to read it. I was afraid it would be too adult or something. But, t wasn't. It's the perfect book for preteens and teenagers alike, and I loved evry minute of it. It's got the mystery (By the way, can I just saw WHOA.), the romance, the adventure, the not-so-helpless princess who I think mirrors how most girls would feel in her situation. Aurelia is not one to sit by and let people take advantage of her, but she's not perfect either, and she hides her hurt. I believe that Aurelia was a realistic character readers can both relate to and love.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    ebook format leaves a lot to be desired

    First of all, the story itself was ok - it was fairly predictable, but interesting enough. Overall, I wouldn't say it was worth the ebook pricing, but it was an okay enough read.

    I bought this as an ebook and the formatting was truly horrible. Many character's names weren't capitalized, the beginning of a sentence was often left uncapitalized. There were odd symbols scattered throughout the text. I haven't ever had an ebook that was like this, but it made it incredibly jarring to read. My overall experience was poor because it became a chore just to read the book. I would only recommend the book if you don't mind a lot of errors and a mediocre story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A princess in peril

    Aurelia is your typical girl. O.K. so she is the crown princess, and someone wants her dead. Robert is the son of the king's(Aurelia's father) last spy master, and in charge of protecting Aurelia. The catch, Aurelia can't know that she is in danger, and Aurelia is not one to do as she's told for no good reasen. That's not Robert's only problem though, he is falling in love with Aurelia and she knows he is lying to her. So what do you do when the princess's life is threatened, and you don't know who to trust, why you use said princess as bait of course.<BR/><BR/> Aurelia is an enjoyable book wich is well enough written to keep you on the edge of your seat. While some aspects of this story are are ridiculous it manages to be ridiculous with grace. Honestly I would have given it a five star if not for a disappointing ending. All in all it was a very satisfying book with no objectionable material aside from possibly two swearwords and I'm not even sure about that.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is an exciting young adult tale

    Most if not all of the people in Tyalt envy Princess Aurelia, heir to the throne however, ironically Aurelia envies her countrymen. She knows being a royal means pampering, but also connotes responsibility to her country. Aurelia dreams of marrying for love not state with some husband who wants to be the next tyrant while her father the king expects her to marry whomever he chooses makes the best political deal for Tyalt. She would like to travel the countryside free to explore without bodyguards every step of the way and without fear of embarrassing the throne.---------------- However someone wants the heir removed. After a failed attempt on her life, the King enforces her protection and assigns the son of his former top operator, Robert to investigate the assassination attempt. Robert and Aurelia have been friends forever, but both hide their feelings for one another. However, Aurelia is not going to remain cloistered nor wait for her unknown adversary to try again. She feels only she can save herself so she risks her crown, her love, and her life to do so.-------------- This is an exciting young adult tale that cleverly uses references to anchor time (¿The Age of Reason¿) and place (other neighboring kingdoms) as Anne Osterlund enlighteningly avoids dumbing down by treating her audience with respect in regards to their intelligence. The courageous princess wants more out of life than tedious nobles fawning at her feet at boring parties. She soon learns that sometimes you get what you wish for when several assassination attempts occur. However, that just makes her even braver. Readers will appreciate Princess Aurelia¿s rude awakening to the downside of royalty.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Too many errors!

    The punctuation and spelling was very distracting. It was distracting to the point that I couldn't finish the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it!

    this is a great read! I totally &lt;3'd it! I like nice clean romance novels with action, & this book had both! & I loved the last sentence. I totally love historical fictions & this book grabs you from the beginning. I loved the strong well-developed characters & the plot was cool too! I was sad when I found out the culpret, but it was still good. great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    wow!

    This was a great book. I would recommend it to anyone if like a tomboy princess and a danshing hero pair up to fight off assassians. The romance scences are very sublte if is very good. I can;t wait for the Sequel Exile to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Read

    Fun read if you like period romance. There are not tons of romantic scenes in this book, it is more subtle. It is a quick read and the characters are ones you can connect to. Robert is a hero any girl could easily fall for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Quick Read

    I liked this book it was a really quick mystery! I also loved they aspect that Aureila was not a complete girly girl!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    not so great

    I can honestly say that this was a very boring book.It is very slow. I would not recomend this book. =(

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    I loved it! My sister gave it to me to read, and since we have a

    I loved it! My sister gave it to me to read, and since we have a different taste in books, I didn't think I was going to like it. It truly is a wonderful book and has a great balance of princess-y romance stuff and action/mystery whodunit type of feel to it. Can't wait to read Exile!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    I wanted to read this book on my Nook however I could not get pa

    I wanted to read this book on my Nook however I could not get past the grammatical errors. Names were not capitalized, punctuation was missing no (periods, quotes, colons, semicolons, etc.) The editing left this book unreadable, luckly I work at a school and they had it in a paperback so I read that version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Gorgeous cover? Masquerade carnival? Court politics? Headstrong

    Gorgeous cover? Masquerade carnival? Court politics? Headstrong badass female character? Clever badass romantic interest?

    Let's face it, there wasn't going to be any way I wasn't going to love Aurelia. It's too damn good.

    From the moment the book starts to the moment the book ends, Aurelia kicks ass. Not in the literal Katniss Everdeen way - she's not going around shooting people with a bow and arrow or anything - but in the way that dynamic, fully-fleshed out characters do when they're put in strenuous situations. She rebels. She manipulates. She's debates. She's clever and smart and wants to be a good leader, and I love her for that. She may have worked her ranks up to one of my favorite female characters of all time.

    And Robert! Oh, Robert! (Yes, that was the sound of me swooning.) The romance between him and Aurelia is set up from the first pages, but seriously, watching the two of them was fantastic. He matches Aurelia in wits and cleverness with the added ability of swordfighting and a love of horses. If you expected me not to fall in love with him, you were wrong.

    My only debacle is the plot - though I was conflicted about who the attempted murdered might be at parts, I was pretty sure of who it was throughout. And dang it all, I was right. There are too many overly-dropped clues, and the observant reader should be able to figure it out within the first few chapters. I would have liked a little more mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Pretty good

    This book was really pretty good. It had a plot twist that really shocked me. However the second book did not live up to the first book's standard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Aurelia, princess of the kingdom of Tyralt, longs for freedom. W

    Aurelia, princess of the kingdom of Tyralt, longs for freedom. Weighed down by old-fashioned traditions, courtly expectations of behavior, and her father's unending parade of chosen suitors, Aurelia wants to make her own choices and move freely among her kingdom and its people.

    But someone wants this kind and just princess dead; recently, she has been the target of multiple assassination attempts. Her childhood friend Robert, the son of a former royal spy, has returned to court to try to protect her and identify the culprit. As they race to gather clues, their friendship begins to blossom into something more. As her situation becomes increasingly dire, Aurelia must depend on Robert and herself to preserve her kingdom, and her life.

    Aurelia is a smart, headstrong, determined heroine from start to finish. She knows what she wants and will not be turned away from her goals. She is not a stilted, prim and proper princess; she is realistic and relatable. I could feel her sense of entrapment, the conflict between her desire to go off and see the world and her duties to her family and her kingdom. She is never the damsel in distress; she is perfectly capable of taking care of herself and, ultimately, defending herself against immediate danger. She and Robert are a team, not a one-sided rescue mission.

    I finished the book reluctantly, wishing it wasn't over. I loved this fantasy/romance/mystery blend and I can't wait to see how Aurelia and Robert's adventures continue in the sequel, Exile!

    (Review originally posted on my blog, PidginPea's Book Nook.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Amazing!!!!!

    I didnt think i would like it but i absolutely loved it!!!!!! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    UNEXPECTED TWISTS!

    This book is filled with unexpected twists that make readers say,"Oh! I didn't expect that, but now it makes sense!" It makes a person keep guessing the outcome until the very end of the book! Phenomenal and rare! Hardly any books can do that these days. I loved it so much that I kept going back to my favorite parts, rereading them and feeling excited and impressed all over again. I recommend this book to anyone! Anne Osterlund, Aurelia is just the beginning of a wonderful career as a writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Looking for mystery, intrigue, history, romance, and suspense, then Aurelia is the book for you. It centers on Princess Aurelia, who loves her kingdom and people. Just when her life is in danger, her old schoolmate, Robert appears and sparks fly. But what will happen? To find out, read Aurelia, you won't be able to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    highly recommended read it

    wow great book i couldnt set it down hope to see more of this arthor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    Flippin' Awesome!

    Great book, I was lucky enough to purchase the last copy in my local B&N store. Anne Osterlund is actually a teacher at the elementary school that I was fortunate enough to attend when this came out. So, the students there at the time were lucky enough to have the first chapter read to us by Anne herself with the students in her class doing performing the chapter as a play while she read. I have had my copy signed and it has a special place on my bookshelf. Her other books will join it as soon as I can track them down and buy them. Overall, terrific book, doesn't dissappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8