BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Aurelia

Average Rating 4
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Better than expected...LOVED it!

I was, when I first stumbled upon Aurelia, unsure of whether I would want to read it. I was afraid it would be too adult or something. But, t wasn't. It's the perfect book for preteens and teenagers alike, and I loved evry minute of it. It's got the mystery (By the way...
I was, when I first stumbled upon Aurelia, unsure of whether I would want to read it. I was afraid it would be too adult or something. But, t wasn't. It's the perfect book for preteens and teenagers alike, and I loved evry minute of it. It's got the mystery (By the way, can I just saw WHOA.), the romance, the adventure, the not-so-helpless princess who I think mirrors how most girls would feel in her situation. Aurelia is not one to sit by and let people take advantage of her, but she's not perfect either, and she hides her hurt. I believe that Aurelia was a realistic character readers can both relate to and love.

posted by Reads_a_lot on March 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

ebook format leaves a lot to be desired

First of all, the story itself was ok - it was fairly predictable, but interesting enough. Overall, I wouldn't say it was worth the ebook pricing, but it was an okay enough read.

I bought this as an ebook and the formatting was truly horrible. Many character's names ...
First of all, the story itself was ok - it was fairly predictable, but interesting enough. Overall, I wouldn't say it was worth the ebook pricing, but it was an okay enough read.

I bought this as an ebook and the formatting was truly horrible. Many character's names weren't capitalized, the beginning of a sentence was often left uncapitalized. There were odd symbols scattered throughout the text. I haven't ever had an ebook that was like this, but it made it incredibly jarring to read. My overall experience was poor because it became a chore just to read the book. I would only recommend the book if you don't mind a lot of errors and a mediocre story.

posted by BooksMyHero on May 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A princess in peril

    Aurelia is your typical girl. O.K. so she is the crown princess, and someone wants her dead. Robert is the son of the king's(Aurelia's father) last spy master, and in charge of protecting Aurelia. The catch, Aurelia can't know that she is in danger, and Aurelia is not one to do as she's told for no good reasen. That's not Robert's only problem though, he is falling in love with Aurelia and she knows he is lying to her. So what do you do when the princess's life is threatened, and you don't know who to trust, why you use said princess as bait of course.<BR/><BR/> Aurelia is an enjoyable book wich is well enough written to keep you on the edge of your seat. While some aspects of this story are are ridiculous it manages to be ridiculous with grace. Honestly I would have given it a five star if not for a disappointing ending. All in all it was a very satisfying book with no objectionable material aside from possibly two swearwords and I'm not even sure about that.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    wow!

    This was a great book. I would recommend it to anyone if like a tomboy princess and a danshing hero pair up to fight off assassians. The romance scences are very sublte if is very good. I can;t wait for the Sequel Exile to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Pretty good

    This book was really pretty good. It had a plot twist that really shocked me. However the second book did not live up to the first book's standard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Aurelia, princess of the kingdom of Tyralt, longs for freedom. W

    Aurelia, princess of the kingdom of Tyralt, longs for freedom. Weighed down by old-fashioned traditions, courtly expectations of behavior, and her father's unending parade of chosen suitors, Aurelia wants to make her own choices and move freely among her kingdom and its people.

    But someone wants this kind and just princess dead; recently, she has been the target of multiple assassination attempts. Her childhood friend Robert, the son of a former royal spy, has returned to court to try to protect her and identify the culprit. As they race to gather clues, their friendship begins to blossom into something more. As her situation becomes increasingly dire, Aurelia must depend on Robert and herself to preserve her kingdom, and her life.

    Aurelia is a smart, headstrong, determined heroine from start to finish. She knows what she wants and will not be turned away from her goals. She is not a stilted, prim and proper princess; she is realistic and relatable. I could feel her sense of entrapment, the conflict between her desire to go off and see the world and her duties to her family and her kingdom. She is never the damsel in distress; she is perfectly capable of taking care of herself and, ultimately, defending herself against immediate danger. She and Robert are a team, not a one-sided rescue mission.

    I finished the book reluctantly, wishing it wasn't over. I loved this fantasy/romance/mystery blend and I can't wait to see how Aurelia and Robert's adventures continue in the sequel, Exile!

    (Review originally posted on my blog, PidginPea's Book Nook.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    AWESOME BOOK!

    I love this book starting from the first chapter, each page filled with excitment. Although I have predicted the ending and the murderer. Overall, it's one of the good books that I have read in awhile and it was a quick read. If you love a romance and adventurous book, then this one is the one for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable...Good read.

    So I have to say the storyline was interesting and fun to read but not the best book I have ever read. I felt distracted from the story at times...the writer just couldnt hold my interest. I did manage to get back into it though and finish the 154 page book. I will probably read the next one that is coming out soon just to see what happens next. I have never read this author before so all in all I gave four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Nice

    i thought it was a good nice easy read. threw out the begining and a little more then half i thought it wasnt anything special and i was only going to give it 3 stars. Later though, in the last 50 pages, it got really exiting and i couldnt put it down, so much action! so the ending brout the book up a whole star in my mine. it is a very nice story. i havent seen any other book like it out there. i like to read different types of books and so it was nice to have fantisy mixed in with a huge twist of a mistery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mystery meets fantasy!

    Aurelia was a good read. I loved the way the author decided to mix mystery and fantasy together - the result was exciting. The book itself was easy to read, but the plot was complex enough to make up for that. I have to say I wasn't sure about this book at first because it was mystery and after reading Sherlock Holmes I wasn't sure I would like this but it truely surprised me. The characters were relatable, the setting was brilliant, the plot was exciting, and the ending was not at all expected!!! I loved how there was a dash of romance (to where it didn't overpower the whole story). I suggest this book to girls the ages of 12 and up. The only thing that might need to be cautioned about this book was that there are a few intense deaths in it, some of the characters drink, and I think the D word was used once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    A teen read with a twist

    After reading Osterlund's other book Acedamy 7 I was hoping she had other books published because her writing style is esay to read but you do not feel guilty about. Aurelia is set back in time ans at times was a little hard to follow but by the end all of the pieces came together nicely. I would not recommend this to everyone because transporting a love story in a sense to a diffrent time does not appeal to all. So keep that in mind when considering this book. Overall it was well written, the charecters are well thought out, and was set up nicely for a sequal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    This book was mysterious and beautifully written. It pulled you in from the first few pages. The main charater, Aurelia, was wonderfully written. She felt real and brave, which is so refreshing to read. I loved that it was full of old fashion things, such as carriages, etc. This story is very much worth reading and recommending. I am very excited for the sequel, Exile (April 2011).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay

    The book really caught my attention and I could not set it down once I got started. I would have preferred more than ONE kiss but thats just me. The mystery was great and I loved the way the author described everything around them. It made you feel like you were there with them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    Aurelia is a great book with an unexpected plot twist and two very well developed main characters. This book is clearly intended to be the beginning of a series, and hopefully a sequal is forthcoming. I highly reccomend this for fans of Tamora Pierce.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy

    This book was really easy to read. it's not easy like a children's book but its fast paced and doesn't have any slow parts. Its a good book to read for fun. Its better than some other books out there. the storyline is pretty original and creative. I recommend this book for rainy days or just for fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    Aurelia - quite a heroine!

    Aurelia is quite the stubborn, opinionated and adventurous heroine! I liked her from the first scene where she's sitting uncomfortably all dressed up for her sister's coming out party...probably wishing to get into something more comfortable. And she just grew on me throughout the book...despite making me roll my eyes with frustration at her stubborn tendencies. And her supporting characters are fascinating--from a tall horseman named Drew, to her hapless classmate Robert. I can't wait to see where her spirit takes her in the next adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3