Customer Reviews for

Aurora Undefined

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    Loved it!

    A truly inspiring book that forces you to stop and think about the things you may take advantage of.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good book!

    I though this book was beautiful. Simply Beautiful. I loved how the main character, Aurora was so defined by the life that she created around her. After many hurtful changes, Aurora starts to see things differently. Aurora is a girl who loved to live in her safe little bubble. She wakes up everyday and things go the same. Sometimes living in a bubble is not good. We need to get out and get a change. For Aurora, changes means bad things. I love that the reader can see and feel Aurora go through these changes.

    What got me about this book is the change in Aurora. After many changes, Aurora starts to see its not her friends or school, or thing that defines who she is, its her. The reader gets to see Aurora come into her own self and see herself clearly. At times, it may seems that Aurora is selfish, but Aurora is growing and learning. Some lessons in life are hard to learn. And sometimes, we have to learn them the hard way.

    I especially loved the love interests in this book. I adored watching Aurora not only see him with her heart for the first time, but also fall in love. Their love is so simplistic and pure that is just lovely. As the reader, you see how he adores her by waiting for her to see herself. He gave her such great strength in who she is that it leaves your heart breaking.

    This book is a wonderful read. I think that any teenage girl can relate to this book because it carries such a great lesson we all need to know. We are undefined. We ourselves, define ourselves and who we are. It doesn't matter about friends, money, or materialistic items.What only matters is how you see yourself.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Beautiful

    Even though a little predictable at times, i fell in love with this book. It made me this about life and what i take for granted. I love the characters, and was happy and close to tears throughout the novel. I wish there was an epilogue to the story though! This author has a lovely writing style and i hope she continues writing. I will definately read her next work :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Real emotions in a coming-of-age story

    Aurora's best friend Allie is now popular and she has dropped Aurora like their friendship never mattered. Fortunately, Aurora still has her remaining friends Julie and Hudson to lean on. Julie's a strong girl who always tells Aurora the absolute truth, and Hudson is the handsome-but-doesn't-know-it athletic type who cares for her like a brother would. Aurora's still got a great support system, but losing her friend to the ranks of perfectly coiffed cheerleaders has really thrown her for a loop. How is she going to spend her valuable time during her senior year? Her dad has always pushed her academically, but now he's saying that she also needs to develop as a person and decide what she truly values in life and who she wants to be. This is a coming of age story with real heart and a lot of character growth for the heroine.

    The story's mostly very realistic, though I did feel that the early-on problem of losing Allie's friendship seemed more like an issue that would crop up in junior high rather than during senior year. Allie has been a poorly dressed tomboy for 11 years of school, and people don't usually change their entire attitude and personality that late in high school--the big identity makeovers are more likely to happen in the 7th-8th-9th grade range, when kids can still distance themselves from their childhood reputations. But that's a slight issue. The book is less about losing Allie and more about Aurora meeting challenges of all kinds and learning how to handle them, usually with Hudson at her side.

    Speaking of Hudson, he's amazing. He's not needy and he's got his own consuming hobby, slaving away for the basketball team, but he's also there every time Aurora needs a helping hand. Hudson drops big hints that he and Aurora have something special going on, he never actually says anything directly, and it's clear that Aurora isn't making any connections between his increased attention and the possibility of romance. Still, they have plenty of "aww" moments and Hudson's awesome enough to be one of my favorite male YA characters this year.

    The emotions represented in Aurora Undefined are very true, and can leave you slightly choked up. It starts as a good, solid low-level teen drama and I was kind of blindsided by a major tragedy halfway through the book, but it all ends up fitting together very well. This is a story about Aurora learning to define herself apart from any outside influences, how to stay strong in the wake of a tragedy, and how to accept love even when it's difficult.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Excellent book

    My daughter made me read this book. It's not exactly my genre but I had to obey my daughter. I enjoyed it a great deal, thought the charachter development was excellent and I actually teared up 4 times. Great story of father/daughter bonding. I did find myself thinking about the story at various times throughout the day, which I feel is the sign of a good book. I like happy endings and surprise endings - this book has both.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    From Missy's Reads & Reviews

    This is one of those beautiful reads that everyone needs to get a hold of in their reading careers. The story is beautifully simplistic yet monumentally provoking when it comes to your emotions.

    I love Aurora. At first, I was a little hesitant because she did seem immature and selfish, but she grew throughout the story and ended up growing on me as well. Her realizations through the novel that she's not defined by others is something that a lot of teens need to know and realize - it's a strong message for everyone, and not just teens. It's even better because she does have a friend to help her realize this and he's there for her every step of the way - Hudson. Ahh, Hudson... he's basically amazing. I found myself looking forward to his parts in the book more than anything because he really made the book for me. I think the best part was when he lost it on Aurora. It was something she needed and I am so glad that he's the one that did it because I don't think, in the end, she would have caught on if those things were said by anyone else.

    The emotions and reactions in this book ring true to real life, making this a read that anyone can relate to. The writing was great, the storyline even greater and the book really is tops for me. Though it's a little slow to begin with, the story soon picks up and has you hooked until the very end. This is definitely a recommended YA read for 2011 for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1