Customer Reviews for

Auschwitz: A Doctor's Eyewitness Account

Average Rating 4
( 1413 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(718)

4 Star

(409)

3 Star

(158)

2 Star

(64)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

265 out of 269 people found this review helpful.

Horrific Eye Witness Account That Must Be Read !

I have always had an interest in the Holocaust, but until I read this book some fourteen years ago, it had always remained at a distance. A reputable colleague at work handed me a copy of this book and said `this is worth a read'. Having begun, I could not put th...
I have always had an interest in the Holocaust, but until I read this book some fourteen years ago, it had always remained at a distance. A reputable colleague at work handed me a copy of this book and said `this is worth a read'. Having begun, I could not put the book down. The book gripped me from start to finish. The story is horrific but, nevertheless, it is a story that we all owe it to ourselves to be familiar with. The story and the author's experiences were so profound and penetrating that I have spent the last fourteen years studying and reading as much about the Holocaust as I can. Prompted by what I read here, I have since visited the Concentration Camps at Treblinka, Majdanek, Auschwitz, Birkenau and Plaszov, together with other areas in Poland directly connected with the Jewish Holocaust. I have seen the buildings full of human hair from the Jewish victims, the gas chambers, crematoria and the other hideous instruments of mass murder referred to in this book. The book by Dr. Miklos Nyiszli will not take you long to finish. The voices of the victims referred to have long since disappeared. Many people today are not even aware of the Holocaust and others deny it's very existence. Books like these, written by people who were actually there, are essential if our this and forthcoming generations are to be made aware of 'man's inhumanity to man' and to prevent such a horror from occurring again.

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

56 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

Disturbing but Truthful

As a sixth grader at Lincoln Elementary, reading this I realized that they don't teach most of the truth at school. This book opened my eyes to what really happened in World War Two. I never would have guessed that we as Americans actually did this to people also. It wa...
As a sixth grader at Lincoln Elementary, reading this I realized that they don't teach most of the truth at school. This book opened my eyes to what really happened in World War Two. I never would have guessed that we as Americans actually did this to people also. It wasn't just Germany that had these horrible death camps. America did this and this book made me think. I read all I could about this topic and found out some pretty gruesome details. I think I now have a better understanding of what really happened in this blood bath war. In school all they teach about World War Two is that some kids had to stay in the basement because of bombings. So what, they didn't have sugar for cake and candy. At least they weren't Jewish and at Auschwitz. Now I think twice about being selfish when there are and were people who are worse off.

posted by Anonymous on February 19, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1415 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 71
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2001

    Horrific Eye Witness Account That Must Be Read !

    I have always had an interest in the Holocaust, but until I read this book some fourteen years ago, it had always remained at a distance. A reputable colleague at work handed me a copy of this book and said `this is worth a read'. Having begun, I could not put the book down. The book gripped me from start to finish. The story is horrific but, nevertheless, it is a story that we all owe it to ourselves to be familiar with. The story and the author's experiences were so profound and penetrating that I have spent the last fourteen years studying and reading as much about the Holocaust as I can. Prompted by what I read here, I have since visited the Concentration Camps at Treblinka, Majdanek, Auschwitz, Birkenau and Plaszov, together with other areas in Poland directly connected with the Jewish Holocaust. I have seen the buildings full of human hair from the Jewish victims, the gas chambers, crematoria and the other hideous instruments of mass murder referred to in this book. The book by Dr. Miklos Nyiszli will not take you long to finish. The voices of the victims referred to have long since disappeared. Many people today are not even aware of the Holocaust and others deny it's very existence. Books like these, written by people who were actually there, are essential if our this and forthcoming generations are to be made aware of 'man's inhumanity to man' and to prevent such a horror from occurring again.

    265 out of 269 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Highly Recommend...We must NEVER Forget!

    This book holds you in its grip as you read the autocities of the Third Reich and the SS. Have your mature children read this. I'm not a Jew, but we must never forget what occured in WWII!

    65 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    Heartbreaking

    This book is from a completely different angle, not just in the camps, but in the gas chambers. Survivors who worked in the gas chambers just did not happen. This man saw it all though. There is a section in there that was in a movie and shown a little differently. It is the Grey Zone movie. If you watch the section where they find the girl alive after the gas chambers, that is one of the sections talked about in the book. I thought this book was wonderful and it is an amazing book to read if you are interested in the Holocaust. You will be captivated and will not be able to put it down. At the same time you will realize that this all happened and this isn't some scary nightmare.

    49 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2000

    More Than Anyone Should Have to Know

    This is by far the most interesting, informative, and intense novel to depict the lives of Holocaust victims. Dr. Nyszli, whose name I constantly mispell if you've seen any of my reccomendations, has been blessed with a chance to survive in relative comfort in the most notorious concentration camp of WWII, in this capacity he has also been cursed by the knowledge not only of what he has seen, but the asserting knowledge that he knows too much and will perhaps not live long. His tragic and dramatic story is not a mere telling of facts by a medical speacialists, but a deeply connected and horrified man's account of what he has seen. He has a unique vantage that shed's new light on the workings of the death camps and an added look into the Sonderkommando, a group of unfortunates whose camp life will astonish you. I would only like to say once more that this is the best book about the Holocaust and that I strongly reccommend it to any that feel compassion for the six million Jews killed in these camps.

    35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I have seen Schindler's list and other documentaries on Auschwitz. - This book portrayed the real true feelings and emotions of those working for the Sonderkommando. I did not want to put this book down. It amazes me that the Germans could carry this out and have no emotion or feeling while doing such- what a great read. I thought I would have nightmares but I did not.

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2005

    Informative and gut Wrentching

    I read this book in less than 2 days!! The tale of Dr. Nyszli takes the reader on an emotional journey that keeps him/ her truly intrigued. The attrocities that occured at Auschwitz are probably far past what the Doctor could write and even further past what we could fathom. In a review written earlier someone stated that conditions such as those painted for us in this book during WWII Europe occured in America, during FDR's Presidency. The truth is that there were never death camps in the U.S. The Japanese were rounded up and kept in confind living conditions post Pearl Harbor, but none in which can be compared to that of Auschwitz or any other internment camp under the Third Reich.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Page Turner

    Although very short in length, this book places the reader in the sickening world of what life was like in the concentration camps. He shows that even with odds stacked against him that the will to live...and to be a witness to the atrocities for all to remember.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    Auschwitz: A Doctor's Eyewitness Account

    This book was so riveting! I could not put it down. I'm an avid reader about the Holocaust and I have read many books on the topic, but this was by far the best!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Disturbing but necessary read!

    Should be required reading for all students

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disturbing but necessary

    Kudos to the dr for reliving the horrors of Auschwitz so that others might know.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    So upsetting

    Glad I read this, but more sorry it ever had to be written.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Heartwrenching

    The forward was difficult because it forced me to look at this from a different angle...that perhaps inertia was what caused so many to be led. But change is never easy, so I wonder how many of us would actually be any different? Once the doctor begins his first person narrative, I was unable to put it down.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Kept my interest

    Although the author is not a skilled writer, I enjoyed the book. Its a great, face-paced read. I found myself unable to put it down until I finished the entire book. It is my opinion that the author left out some details and although he admits his faults, I found myself angry at him for not helping and saving more lives. I wish he would have been a stronger man, but then again, he did what he had to in order to survive.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Excellent for history buffs

    This is a very compelling book if you are the type who loves history, particularly WWII history. At 180 pages it is an easy read but a great read, however a dry read to those who take little interest in stories or accounts of the holocaust. Probably one of the best accounts out there as the author was witness to almost everything that happened within the walls of the most infamous death camp during the third reich.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Brutal history

    I knew a survivor, have seen the number tattoo, have heard the stories. All horrific to think that human beings can do this to fellow man. If you want to learn anything... read this book. Just be prepared for some knowledge that might offend some people. So worth the read !!!!!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    VERY WELL WRITTEN

    THIS IS THE FIRST WAR CRIME BOOK I EVER READ AND FOUND IT TO BE VERY SAD, BUT INFORMATIVE...........MY HEART GOES OUT TO THE SURVIVOURS.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Mezmerizing

    Read it in less than one day. Astonishing what cruelty some humans can bestow.......

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    A nightmare experience to have survived

    Anything written by a survivor of the German concentration camps is horrorifing. Beyond anyone's possible imagination. Author had a special relationship with the notorious Dr. Death.
    You can feel the fear and terror the author lived through and his descriptions put you there.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Self Absolving

    The author seems to skim over many atrocities in which he was a participant and uses this novel as a vehicle to self-absolve. I believe that the closer he comes to the end of his own journey the more his concious awakens and he feels the need to try and silence it. It would be interesting to hear the perspective of others who were at the camp with him.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Not what u think

    keep an open mind. A Doctor wrote it. Try to "survive" the introduction, which is quite repeticious, to say the least. Undoubtedly this was a horrible time, in our history, and by no means should ever be forgotten. But Nyiszli seems to have had all the comforts & necessecities life offers...other then the struggles the camps dished out to millions. Judge for yourself.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1415 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 71