Customer Reviews for

Auschwitz: A Doctor's Eyewitness Account

Average Rating 4
( 1418 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(720)

4 Star

(411)

3 Star

(159)

2 Star

(64)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

267 out of 271 people found this review helpful.

Horrific Eye Witness Account That Must Be Read !

I have always had an interest in the Holocaust, but until I read this book some fourteen years ago, it had always remained at a distance. A reputable colleague at work handed me a copy of this book and said `this is worth a read'. Having begun, I could not put th...
I have always had an interest in the Holocaust, but until I read this book some fourteen years ago, it had always remained at a distance. A reputable colleague at work handed me a copy of this book and said `this is worth a read'. Having begun, I could not put the book down. The book gripped me from start to finish. The story is horrific but, nevertheless, it is a story that we all owe it to ourselves to be familiar with. The story and the author's experiences were so profound and penetrating that I have spent the last fourteen years studying and reading as much about the Holocaust as I can. Prompted by what I read here, I have since visited the Concentration Camps at Treblinka, Majdanek, Auschwitz, Birkenau and Plaszov, together with other areas in Poland directly connected with the Jewish Holocaust. I have seen the buildings full of human hair from the Jewish victims, the gas chambers, crematoria and the other hideous instruments of mass murder referred to in this book. The book by Dr. Miklos Nyiszli will not take you long to finish. The voices of the victims referred to have long since disappeared. Many people today are not even aware of the Holocaust and others deny it's very existence. Books like these, written by people who were actually there, are essential if our this and forthcoming generations are to be made aware of 'man's inhumanity to man' and to prevent such a horror from occurring again.

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

56 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

Disturbing but Truthful

As a sixth grader at Lincoln Elementary, reading this I realized that they don't teach most of the truth at school. This book opened my eyes to what really happened in World War Two. I never would have guessed that we as Americans actually did this to people also. It wa...
As a sixth grader at Lincoln Elementary, reading this I realized that they don't teach most of the truth at school. This book opened my eyes to what really happened in World War Two. I never would have guessed that we as Americans actually did this to people also. It wasn't just Germany that had these horrible death camps. America did this and this book made me think. I read all I could about this topic and found out some pretty gruesome details. I think I now have a better understanding of what really happened in this blood bath war. In school all they teach about World War Two is that some kids had to stay in the basement because of bombings. So what, they didn't have sugar for cake and candy. At least they weren't Jewish and at Auschwitz. Now I think twice about being selfish when there are and were people who are worse off.

posted by Anonymous on February 19, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 411 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Heartwrenching

    The forward was difficult because it forced me to look at this from a different angle...that perhaps inertia was what caused so many to be led. But change is never easy, so I wonder how many of us would actually be any different? Once the doctor begins his first person narrative, I was unable to put it down.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    A must...

    ...for all in order that the past might be remembered and not repeated in the future!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great but sad read

    This is a great historical inside look into things that occurred in Auschwitz from a doctir who worked aling side Dr. Mengele. Some of the events are sad and disturbing, but there is a great deal of historical facts included as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Saddening

    It was shocking and saddening to know that such disregard for human life occured and went on for such a long period of time! So many people dying at the hands of monsters! This is definately a book that needed to be published so that people do not forget that there is evil in the world!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Didn't like the judmentalness of the intro, but the book was great. A personal look at the horrors the Jews experienced during Hitler's reign. Hard to believe one man initiated so much death.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Amazing account of Auschwitz crematoriums

    This is a gripping, straightforward account of what happened in the Auschwitz crematoriums, which the Germans went to great lengths to hide.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Great read

    Well written and easy to follow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Aushwitz a Dr. VIEWPOINT

    Informative and horror filled look at one of the world's worst eras.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a really great book. It was my first eBook read and I

    This was a really great book. It was my first eBook read and I found it most interesting and enjoyable. Nyiszli states that he is not a writer, but a doctor. The fact is, he is both. This book draws you in with its sharp and vivid descriptive style. You feel as though you are seeing through the eyes of Dr. Nyiszli. There is one thing I did question, however, and that is when the Dr. muses of the four million that descended the steps that lead to the gas chambers. Unless it was my mistake in reading the Doctors figures are off. I will let future readers decide. All in all I loved the book and would highly recommend it to any student of history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Powerful

    I think everyone should read this book. Its important to understand the horrible things that went on during the holocaust.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Good book but........

    I have been interested in the Holocaust for as long as I can remember. I have read many accounts and I can never get used to the horror. In the introduction the Doctor says he wrote this book as a.doctor and not as an author. I could definitely tell this was the case after working in Health Care Administration for years as it sounded like a really long doctor's report. Not that the book wasn't good, it just lacked a lotof emotion and was what the reviewer before me called it "dry." It seems a lot of people were not affected by this and read the book in days, but me personally, I found myself getting bored very easily. Aside from that it was an excellent book and a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This gives an almost day to day view of what life in the camp was like from the perspective of one who was in probably in the best situation as a prisoner. We could only get closer to what the experience was like if it could be told from the grave. Of course, I knew the whole thing was horrible, but the thought of trying to eradicate an entire race of people is clearly brought home to the reader.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Good

    Good. Very imformative but not dry

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Good book

    I wasnt sure what to expect but thought it was very informative but gorey. I didnt know much about the time period and learned alot on the sick minds at work in those camps

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Very Informative

    This book gives the reader insight into the Daily life and struggle at a place so infamous with death and a person that thought he was doing work for the betterment of his master race. This will give you first hand accounts of what it was like for the people of the creamatoriums

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Great!!

    Excellant but hard to read. Can be very gruesome in some parts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Good read

    I recommend this book to anyone interested in thus subject. Personal accounts of key characters who played many roles in this trsgedy. Very informational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Wow.

    An eye-opener.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Captivating

    This naritative by a Jewish doctor explained what went on in Auschwitz. Though very emotiinal it gives a detailed description of his life and that of the other prisoners. Highly re commend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Awesome read

    This is one of the better true eye witness account of what really happenef at auschwitz and what type if person dr mengele really was

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 411 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21