Customer Reviews for

Austentatious

Average Rating 3.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read!!!!

Humorous, quirky, a delightful read. Can't wait for more from this author.

posted by 9271074 on August 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

NOTE TO THOSE WHO HATE PLOT-SPOILERS (who does???): It's kind of

NOTE TO THOSE WHO HATE PLOT-SPOILERS (who does???): It's kind of obvious -- DON'T READ A LONG REVIEW -- I learned early on NOT to read them for just that reason. Just look at the amount of stars -- if people liked it, they liked it. Done. If you DO start to read a revie...
NOTE TO THOSE WHO HATE PLOT-SPOILERS (who does???): It's kind of obvious -- DON'T READ A LONG REVIEW -- I learned early on NOT to read them for just that reason. Just look at the amount of stars -- if people liked it, they liked it. Done. If you DO start to read a review, you usually know if its a plot-spoiler before you get to "The butler did it!" So stop reading as soon as you know. Just my humble suggestion...

posted by Anonymous on March 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    NOTE TO THOSE WHO HATE PLOT-SPOILERS (who does???): It's kind of

    NOTE TO THOSE WHO HATE PLOT-SPOILERS (who does???): It's kind of obvious -- DON'T READ A LONG REVIEW -- I learned early on NOT to read them for just that reason. Just look at the amount of stars -- if people liked it, they liked it. Done. If you DO start to read a review, you usually know if its a plot-spoiler before you get to "The butler did it!" So stop reading as soon as you know. Just my humble suggestion...

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    A Must Read!!!!

    Humorous, quirky, a delightful read. Can't wait for more from this author.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Fun read!

    This is a super cute, fun read! Definitely a must!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Pass This One By

    I didn't finish this one. The writing is rather junior-high, as if meant for teenagers. The characters are one-note and caricaturish. I was never drawn in enough to bother. Spend your money on something like "the Man Who Loved Jane Austen" instead.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    So wonderfully good. I really, really loved this book! It hooke

    So wonderfully good.

    I really, really loved this book! It hooked me from the very beginning and didn't release me until the very end.

    When I first read the synopsis of this book, I immediately thought of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. (I am a huge Harry Potter geek fan. So anytime a connection can be made, it usually pops in my head.) I loved that once I hit chapter 3 of this book, there was a Harry Potter reference and Luna Lovegood zing! But, this book was so much more than my initial thought and so much better.

    The journal wisdom from "Fairy Jane" was really creative. The wisdom helped Nicola do things she would not normally do...especially if those things deviated from her "Plan." I kept rooting for Sean ever since his first appearance at the wedding. I wanted Nicola to chuck "the Plan" and follow her heart and "Fairy Jane's" advice. I cared and I wanted her to find her happiness. And Sean was a great character. I could hear his accent, see his smirk (and him in a kilt!), and I could feel the emotions that he sent through Nicola.

    When Nicola kept going for Brett, I wanted to smack her upside the head. Really? Brett? Really?!? The lunch date was enough to stop any of that crazy talk about how perfect Brett is.

    The supporting characters were fun. Beck was a great confidante and it was enjoyable to see the mentor turn into the mentee when things went beyond her comfort zone. The neighbors were a bit annoying but fit in well with the story. Gabe was Gabe...that perfect guy friend.

    And really, anyone who can reference The Princess Bride, Harry Potter, and The Gods Must Be Crazy along side the great Jane Austen all within the first 5 chapters is okay in my book!

    Would I recommend it: I would definitely recommend it, especially if you are a fan of Jane Austen and you enjoy books that are about Jane Austen. (Who doesn't love Jane Austen?!?!?)

    Will I read it again: This book has most definitely made my to be reread every year list...up there with Pride and Prejudice, the Harry Potter series, and a few others!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Delightful - Keeping Austin Weird

    Keeping Austin Weird, plays in this story so well. Delightful, funny and mind boggling as our heroine journeys through Austin in search of answers about a mysterious journal that may have belong to 'THE' Jane Austen. Ms Goodnight wove the story well, with interesting side characters and plots. Oh, and I loved the aspect of Jane Austen in the book. I'm getting two more copies for my daughters.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Fun Read

    I was looking forward to this release for it's interesting story line and I wasn't disappointed. It was fun and really enjoyable.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    couldn't finish--like nails on a chalkboard

    There is nothing wrong with the grammar or editing of this book, hence the two stars. But aside from that I found nothing to appeal. I have to admit this is purely personal: I hate scattered, fluttery, and most of all silly characters and an entire book centered around one was just too much to bear. Not to mention that these were one of Jane Austen's favourite types of people to skewer as well (think: a young, modern version of Mrs. Bennett). So, a whole book written with a complete lack of irony for someone like that as the main character? No, thank you. "Austen" needs to be taken off the cover.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    How does a magic journal fit into the life of a girl who has her

    How does a magic journal fit into the life of a girl who has her life already planned? This book will sweep you away into Nic's planned world that turns it upside down and leading her on a journey into a romance she never planned. A wonderful book to curl up with for the weekend and leaves you wishing you had a little magic journal of your own...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A whirlwind of kooky advice, humorous characters and steamy romance

    Austentatious! What a fun, hot novel! I was swept up in a whirlwind of kooky advice, humorous characters and steamy romance.

    When Nicola James beings writing in an antique-looking diary, her life begins to change. Once her journal begins writing back, she must decide if she is going to cling to normalcy, predictability, and her life plan, or throw caution to the wind and cross over to the weird side. After all, the unofficial motto of her hometown, Austin, Texas, is “Keep Austin Weird.” And who knows, maybe she will finally get her “weird” t-shirt.

    Helping Nicola along her journey are her friends, who truly added to the exuberance and humor of the story. For starters, there are Nic’s neighbors, Leslie and Laura. Leslie’s salacious humor and superfluous use of clichés garnered many laughs and shakes of the head accompanied by eye rolls. Throw in Nic’s mentee Bec, best friend Gabe, and co-worker Brett, and the smiles and laughs abound. Finally, there is Sean MacInnes with his wealth of innuendoes and one-liners, guaranteed to make any girl blush.

    I enjoyed watching Nic’s inner struggle as her life is turned upside down by Fairy Jane’s wisdom. Here, Nic must decide if she should pursue the logical and sensible Brett, who conveniently fits into her life plan, or take a chance on the charming and confident Sean MacInnes, who may just be another Henry Crawford.

    Speaking of men. Oh! My! Word! Can Alyssa Goodnight write some steamy and sexy scenes?! We’re talking heart beating out of my chest, palms getting sweaty, feeling a little hot reaction here (and nothing physical has even happened). I was so wrapped up in the romance and action of the book that I seriously felt I was the one being asked out on a first date. All of those heart-fluttering emotions a girl feels at this moment, the excitement, the anticipation, the uncertainty, came rushing back. I may have even swooned a time or two!

    Not only does Goodnight write hot characters and fully engage my passion, but she is overall a talented writer. The literary elements were well-delivered, yet not overdone. Her alliterative words add to the humor, and she takes an analogy or two and carries them through the entire plot, further solidifying those connections. I enjoyed seeing the connection between the analogies and events in the book as it helped me to further understand what the characters were experiencing.

    Austentatious was the first book by Alyssa Goodnight that I read, and it will certainly not be my last! I look forward to reading her other novel, Unladylike Pursuits .

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    I LOVE PLOT SPOILERS

    I don't hate spoilers or as I prefer to call them, wanta-be writers. They save me a lot of money

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    !

    To the snarky poster and his humble opinion to not read plot spoilers....wow...what a concept! Duh! Well. Let me fill you in on a surprise. I do not read plot spoilers. But i do sight read and when i have to scroll past the looooooong plot spoilers i always end up seeing something that spoils the books for me. So there goes your unique concept to not read them. Thanjs anyway for your humble opinion. Next time, keep it to yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable Read

    Posted on Romancing the Book's blog
    Reviewed by~Patti
    Review Copy Provided by~Arc from Publisher

    Having never read any of Jane Austen’s books I was a little nervous that I would be totally confused and lost reading this. I am very pleased to tell you I was not; I enjoyed it very much actually. There were references to her novels, but they were made in such a way that I got the gist of what was meant. I am sure if you are a Jane Austen fan those same references would probably have more meaning to you. After reading this I now have some of Jane’s books on my reading list.

    From the beginning I thought Austentatious was funny and charming. This book had a nice pace and the characters were very likable. Nicola’s character was one I could relate to very much. She is practical and logical but deep in her heart she is a dreamer and wants love and romance as much as anyone else. Sean is definitely a man I would love to meet in real life. He was so sweet and playful with a little bad boy swirled in. I could not help but pray for the happy ending for them both. There were other characters that also held my attention and I wanted to know what was happening to them also. I loved the chapter names it was a wonderful touch that added something different and surprising that I don’t see very often. I would definitely recommend this to any romance reader it was fun and there wasn’t too much angst. This was a light and enjoyable read. I will definitely be looking forward to more Alyssa Goodnight titles.

    Favorite Quote: At this point in our acquaintance, his nerve didn’t even faze me, but despite the runaway thrill that went coursing through me, I felt the need to call him on it. “You really have a knack for those one-liners, don’t you? A perfect mix of charming and presumptuous so that a girl doesn’t know quite how to take you.”

    “I’m not at all picky. Just take me.”

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable and not just for Austen fans!

    “ Miss Nicola James will be sensible and indulge in a little romance.” Twelve little words in a journal, the problem being that Nicola had written several paragraphs earlier and this is all that was left. Nicola is a straight-laced engineer living in Austin Texas. She is probably one of very few people who doesn’t own one of the city’s signature Weird t-shirts. She has a PLAN for her life and she is going to stick to it.
    The plan starts to derail when she purchases a small antique journal that seems to be taking her words and shrinking them magically down into advice about her life. Where are the phrases coming from? Nicola ‘s plan takes a hit when she doesn’t get a hoped for work promotion and then her potential romance with a co-worker gets pushed aside when she meets Sean McInnes, a sexy Scotsman who sings in a band. Sean in in Austin to sing is a music festival and meets Nicola at a wedding. There is instant chemistry between them but he is not part of the plan and has to work hard to get Nicola to agree to the first date.
    This is a lovely romance between a woman who never deviates from her plan and a man who is a motorcycle driving free wheeler. The journal gives Nicola permission to do things she wouldn’t have done on her own. When she finds out more about the journal and discovers just how magical it really is, her faith in the advice gets stronger. Sean is a sexy, irrepressible man who makes Nicola enjoy her life and rely less on the plan. He even agrees to her request that he wear a kilt on one of their dates. Be still my heart!
    Nicola has a sensibility relapse and that causes some problems but it all works out. Nicola and Sean make a great couple and the reader enjoys watching their romance unfold. The whole journal plot adds another layer to the story and is totally believable. I wish I could find a journal like that. Being an Austen fan, I enjoyed the concept of Jane passing on her sage advice to someone who really needed it. That said, this romance will work for all types of readers not just Austen fans. Enjoy!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2014

    Imaginative

    The premise of the book is a little "out there" but overall an entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    It was ok....

    I struggled to finish this for some reason. I love Jane Austen books so I like to read spinoffs and retellings occassionally. This one was just kinda too quirky for me and I lost interest multiple times. I dont think I would recommend, even for Austen lovers. Maybe if you live in Austin because that is a lot of what is talked about, all the local smocal stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Entertaining

    Not my favorite Austen spin off but it was a good read for a plane ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Didnt finish

    Why bother

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Fairly cute

    After a bit of a slow start, the story began to get interesting. And, I admit it, it is a bit too sachrine in places and the characters are a tad bit too impetuous (really, after only one week?!) But I guess that's what Jane Austen is all about. I'm a "wee bit" interested in what the next story in the series comes up with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Main character a bit of a snooze

    I've absolutely read worse, but this novel has little to recomend it. Also, the writing itself is sophmoric and...dull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3