Customer Reviews for

Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin

Average Rating 3.5
( 303 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

The BEST Edition Available

I wholeheartedly recommend this version above all others. In November 1786, Franklin sent copies of his autobiography to friends in England and France. Through the centuries since, many editions have been appeared based on translations and interpretations of those cop...
I wholeheartedly recommend this version above all others. In November 1786, Franklin sent copies of his autobiography to friends in England and France. Through the centuries since, many editions have been appeared based on translations and interpretations of those copies, but this is the only one that is drawn 'with scrupulous care from the original manuscript in Franklin's handwriting.' The editors of THE PAPERS OF BENJAMIN FRANKLIN (seven volumes) prepared this edition of the autobiography, as well as the insightful introduction, notes, and index. This is the first edition to have a full index. I found the chapter notes citing events, identifying individuals, and explaining Franklin's references to be extremely helpful and of great interest. Also, the notes are conveniently located at the bottom of each page - a very nice feature. A thorough chronology of Ben's life, brief biographies of 187 people to whom he refers, letters, notes by Franklin and the editors, and the complete index all enrich this superb edition. If you want to read Benjamin Franklin's actual sentiments, this is the version who seek. If you want an edition fleshed out and enriched by professionals who have expertise, understanding, and knowledge of Franklin's life, this is the very version you seek. It is my hope that you will enjoy this edition of the AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF BENJAMIN FRANKLIN as much as I did. Even if you, as I had, have read other editions you will find reading this one a new, enlightening experience. Five stars and bravo!

posted by Anonymous on December 31, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Impossible to read.

The NOOK format of this book is impossible to read. The authors notes interupt Franklin's writings mid-sentance and can go on for pages. If it wasn't free I'd demand my money back.

posted by 10840447 on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 303 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2000

    The BEST Edition Available

    I wholeheartedly recommend this version above all others. In November 1786, Franklin sent copies of his autobiography to friends in England and France. Through the centuries since, many editions have been appeared based on translations and interpretations of those copies, but this is the only one that is drawn 'with scrupulous care from the original manuscript in Franklin's handwriting.' The editors of THE PAPERS OF BENJAMIN FRANKLIN (seven volumes) prepared this edition of the autobiography, as well as the insightful introduction, notes, and index. This is the first edition to have a full index. I found the chapter notes citing events, identifying individuals, and explaining Franklin's references to be extremely helpful and of great interest. Also, the notes are conveniently located at the bottom of each page - a very nice feature. A thorough chronology of Ben's life, brief biographies of 187 people to whom he refers, letters, notes by Franklin and the editors, and the complete index all enrich this superb edition. If you want to read Benjamin Franklin's actual sentiments, this is the version who seek. If you want an edition fleshed out and enriched by professionals who have expertise, understanding, and knowledge of Franklin's life, this is the very version you seek. It is my hope that you will enjoy this edition of the AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF BENJAMIN FRANKLIN as much as I did. Even if you, as I had, have read other editions you will find reading this one a new, enlightening experience. Five stars and bravo!

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2002

    The all-time best business start-up book.

    In 1996, along with several friends I formed a group patterned after Franklin's junto, after learning about it in a Training Magazine article that cited Franklin's original group as an example of the best principles of modern self-directed learning. Since then, I've developed a strong interest in Franklin, and very much agree that this is the best edition of his biography, perhaps the most helpful book ever written about how to start, live, and finish a successful career as an entrepreneur and citizen. The footnotes in this edition are excellent, containing very good information about Franklin's junto, and I hope it never goes out of print. It should be on the bookshelf of every small business owner and entrepreneur.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2000

    Interesting view on life in the colonies

    I was sorry that there wasn't more when I finished. I could easily have kept on reading.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    How many pages heres the answer

    Threre are 389 pages

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Great book, but not the best copy.

    Many words difficult to understand, since unintelligible symbols were often included. Copy relatively poor. Hoping to find a better version.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Impossible to read.

    The NOOK format of this book is impossible to read. The authors notes interupt Franklin's writings mid-sentance and can go on for pages. If it wasn't free I'd demand my money back.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Unreadable due to OCR errors

    OCR errors.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Good

    This book is good but his some typos in it. One of the best book on him I have read so far out of three I have read on him.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Come on

    It's an autobiography of course It is going to be boring in some parts. The cool thing is is that Franklin is the author of his own life story! I loved this book and I'm only 11.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    Should be required reading for Americans!

    This book gives a glimpse of life before and during the revolution. The focus obviously on Ben Franklin's life, which sadly is portrayed incorrectly these days, this book shows us the strong character of an extraordinary Early American. His virtues and thirst for knowledge should be an example to the world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Better than I thought it'd be!

    Great book, love Ben Franklin's writing style and humor. Much easier to read than I'd imagined.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Read the sample

    Looks good so far

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Cool

    This book is awesome!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    How many pages

    How many pgs

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Asom

    I wanft to read it

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Ben Franklin

    This is such a long book long words and such if you think you are smart you should try your hand at this book.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    The big guy

    Ben at his prime talking about his youthful exuberance in a most delightfully proper manner for the times

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    I wish I could have read it!

    The scanning on this one was so bad I couldn't even make out what the words were in so much of the book that I couldn't make any sense of it and gave up after only a few pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Interesting but not what I expected.

    A bit long and hard too read. As expected the english was somewhat archaic. Had to struggle through it but did enjoy his perspective on early American history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Boring

    I thought it was really boring it was on my summer rreading log I also did not understand anything and I read it all the way through!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 303 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16