Customer Reviews for

The Autobiography of Henry VIII: With Notes by His Fool, Will Somers

Average Rating 4.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    so wonderful!

    one of the best books about the tudor family

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    BRAVA!!! Very Highly Recommended

    A most magnificently wondrous work. Maragaret George has not only succeeded in introducing us to King Henry VIII and all of his courtiers and contemporaries, but has put us square in the center of all that is going on at that time and taken us on a journey that one will not soon forget. We live with him and do with him and go with him. We laugh, we cry, we fear and we go through all of the same emotions that he does all throughout. It is an amazing opus and one that is brilliantly done in order to capture us so completely from beginning to end. We are better for this work and we thank you for it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    Good book on Henry

    This book, told from Henry's viewpoint, is a fascinating account of life in sixteenth century England. I loved all the descriptions of court life. The reader really gets to see Henry from a different perspective -- not as the monster as he has so often been portrayed, but as a living, breathing human being with the same feelings as the rest of us. I am not excusing some of his actions, but you have to look at them in the light of the times he lived in. He did what a sixteenth nobleman probably would have done in those circumstances. I found the descriptions of his wives to be very interesting also. All in all, a fascinating, detailed account of a very significant historical figure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Outpaw kits

    Tomarrah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Cranekit and Kit bios

    Dbgjgj

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This was on of the best pieces of historical fiction I have ever read. An engrossing story about a facinating character and his times. The author makes a character that history has not been kind to fully human and someone you care deeply about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very different and very Detailed!!!!

    Just like the headline says, very different and very detailed!!! Margaret George went out of her way to portray King Henry's true feelings in detail. I laughed when he laughed, I was sad when he was sad. It was EXTREMELY hard to put this book down. I literally felt like I was right there next to him watching him write every word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A view of Henry VIII, the man

    King Henry VIII is probably most notably known for doing away with his wives, but this novel by Margaret George gives a wonderful in-depth look at his life. This book is very well researched and brimming with historical facts and intrigue. Young Henry VIII was the younger son of Henry VII and not intended to take the throne. So, although he was well educated, he received no instruction on running a country. It amazes me how she is able to take all of the information on such a well-known monarch, his family and all of the people involved in his life, and weave it into a novel where King Henry is relating his life to us himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Haunting!

    This is without a doubt one of the best historical novels I have read in a long time. Henry the VIII was a pathetic, needy & cruel King. He never seemed to get it right in picking a wife. The history woven through this story is excellent. I recommend this book to anyone liking historical novels. This author has deeply delved into the facts and it shows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    WORTH THE 932 PAGES - WON'T EVEN REALIZE THEY'RE FLYING BY.

    my only complaint is how little time it spent detailing the major events in henry's life - and it was 932 pages! i would have read it with vigor even if it were 3 times as long. passes by too quickly and you wants more...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    Awesome book

    Great Book. Fun read, interesting way to read the story of Henry and his wives. Very imaginative and full of fun details that really bring the history involved to life. The author does an excellent job keeping true to the historical facts throughout the book. Sometimes, It's easy to forget the book is fiction. highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    Excellent

    Though long, it is well worth it. This is an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    What a king, what a man

    George has once again pulled a historical character into the 21st century and made him real. This very long novel, (enhanced by comments from the King's fool,)is a page turner, when that is rather unexpected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2006

    Fantastic

    This book was amazing! I didn't want it to end! It gave such a perspective view of Henry VIII. Very well written. The Monarch's life came to life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    Great!

    An excellent book. I have never read a book based on a historical figure outside of school before. I loved this book. I appreciate the way Margaret made it feel as if you were reading a book written by King Henry and his fool. I feel as if I know all I could about him now. An extraordinarily well-researched novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2003

    The best book I've ever read

    This is truly the best book I've ever read. What more can I say? A humorous, captivating, intriguing, masterfully-written novel. Try putting it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2003

    Two Thumbs Way up!

    A wonderous book. Wonderfully wriiten and told. I really enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    A Nixon with Testosterone!

    An interesting display of naive male chauvinism but fascinating as an imaginary chronicle of one of England's most influential monarchs who altered the course of the world by taking on the politically powerful church in Rome and weaving through his own laws to achieve his means: a medieval Richard Nixon with testosterone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2000

    Wow!!!

    I have been interested in Henry VIII fora lot of years. I feel like I really know him after I read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7