Customer Reviews for

The Autobiography of Malcolm X

Average Rating 4.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    The Autobiography of Malcolm X

    Possibly the book I've ever read. Its so inspiring and empowering. It makes me mad that I was born after him time. Absolutely one of those books you must read before you die. And don't get lazy! Read the epilogue too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    Never judge a man until you have walked a mile in his shoes!

    that about sums it up for me. the media has done a job on the man we know as Malcom X. and most of the stuff put out there has not been good. this book was not sugar coated. he keeps it real and regaurdless of anyone's opinion of him, after reading this book that opinion will be changed or at least altered. i highly recommend this book. i've read it a minimum of 6 times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    REALLY GOOD BOOK TO READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    THIS WAS A VERY GOOD BOOK AND VERY INTERESTING!! GOOD BOOK TO GET FOR YOUR COLLECTION!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Must read

    An intimate look at the life of the most fierce advocate of rights for blacks. Malcolm X exemplifies fortitude to the highest degree. His willingness to risk his safety for the sake of his ideals and integrity bespeak complete selflessness. Eloquently written, "The Autobiography of Malcolm X" is provocative, enlightening, and inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    A Modern Classic- Great literature and an inspirational story

    I read Malcolm X a while ago, but I wanted to use some passages from the text while teaching Invisible Man, by Ralph Ellison. It was great to use to explore the multiple identities Malcolm experiences throughout his journey. It was interesting too to compare Ellison's narrator's journey of learning to Malcolm's experiences with racist America, militant American Islam and eventually a new and more holistic view of race and culture. I highly recommend the book if you want to read an inspirational story, if you want to read a great book about race and identity, or if you want to understand more about one of the most controversial, complex and important figures in 20th century American history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    one of the greatest autobiographies ever written

    great piece of writing by alex haley, as told to him by malcolm x.i couldn't put down this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    A HERO THAT GETS KNOW PRAISE LIKE HE SHOULD

    I enjoyed reading such a great book about a man that did so much that gets such little praise about it. This book hepls your understand what malcolm x really had to go through in his life. Such a great man!!!1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    I chose to read this book because I have always been ibterested in Malcolm X, his ideals and thoughts about racism. I saw the Malcolm X movie and my interest increased. I enjoyed reading this book. It satisfied my expectations. It helped me to understand how society viewed Blacks in the 50's and 60's. Now I can understand how society views racism in the present time due to reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    On Line Book Review on The Autobiograhpy of Malcolm X

    I have three reasons for selecting The Autobiography of Malcolm X, as told by Alex Haley to read. First, Malcolm had interesting ideals and thoughts about racism. Secondly, one time I had the opportunity to see the movie Malcolm X. Denzel Washington protrayed Malcolm X and gave a great performance. This movie helped to motivate me to read the book. Finally, one day I saw a picture of Dr. Martin Luther King,Jr. with Malcolm X and my interest was increased to learn more about the life of Malcolm X. My expectation based upon selecting The Autobiography of Malcolm X as told by Alex Harley were more than fulfilled because the book was outstanding. I enjoyed reading every word. This book has had an outstanding impact on my life. My way of thinking regarding racism will never be the same.It has helped me to understand how society viewed people of color in the past. Also,I now realize that the present views of these same people have changed in many ways due to the passage of time and the change of people's attitudes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    The man that SHOULD have his own holiday.

    Malocm x has to be one of the biggest inspirations in my life and this book gives alot of info about his life and struuggles he went through. i only wish that the rasist teachers at my school would stop talking about how great a murderer and slave trader like colombous is and start teaching kids about Malcom x and elijah Muhhumod.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    A life worth living

    An outstanding read. extremely well written, you will find it hard to put down. Very few people live a life as interesting as Malcolm X, and even fewer have it written as well as this one. Malcolm X's undieing desire to understand and spread the truth supersedes all other desires and wants. The book leaves you wishing you had the drive, faith and vision he had. Truly inspiring. a great man, a great life, great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    The Best Book One Could Ever Read

    This is one of the most well written books documenting the life of Malcolm X. You see how his ideal towards life changes page by page chapter by chapter. I was astonished at how he taught him self to read and write all in prison, his only tool would be a dictionary. He might have been young when he died but he did live a complete life. I recommend this book to anyone who wants something filling to read. One can only be glad that he shared his knowledge with us, before he passed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    this book is terrible

    the message is good but it soo hard to concentrate its not the best i didnt like it

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2007

    No More Than A Forced Read

    I was only brought to read this book as a school assignment, and when I finished it, that's all it was left in my mind as. It proved the point that Malcolm X wasn't the great anti-racism advocate that he is coined to be, but wanted reverse racism where the black man was on top and the white man on the bottom. Maybe it spoke a point about the power of speaking what you believe, but I had trouble really getting into that theme due to his following the corrupt beliefs of Elijah Muhhammad and his extreme racism.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    Great man, wrong religion

    Great book, great man, but wrong religion - if only Malcolm had discovered the truth about Jesus Christ - what an advocate he would have made... Instead he fell for the lies of Elijah Mohammed which ultimately lead to his destruction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    Inspirational, Informative, and Life Changing

    This book is amazingly educational and life changing. I never thought a biography could be so good. Malcolm X has become one of my biggest idols.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2006

    the story of a true freedom fighter

    A great peace of writing. A non-ficiton memoir which tells the truth about MALCOM X had his struggles to help the blacks get human rights.MALCOLM X is the truth and we all know that the truth hurt. He was so true that his brother had to kill him.Its hard to see people like MALCOLM X go.This book teaches a great lesson of change. How a person can change and change others in the process. Its an inspiring book that inspires young generation to help others that need help, cure for each other during har and good times. You think you know what you have no idea until you read the book instead of wacthing the movie.There are people in this world that do not like what you do but if you know that you are rightnothing can stop you from doing what you want.sometimes we have to think for others than ourselves. MALCOLM X thought abouit all his brothers. He could've had good life that he wanted not worry about others. Great book you can read it over and over and never get tired of it. there are lesson to be learn from this book and one of the lesson is what islam and being a muslim instead of all the drama thats going on today in the world. The terrorist are using the religion of islam as a key weapon to attack innnocent lives.Islam is not about killing people, no religion in the world says that you have to kill eachother. There isn't one religon in the world that teaches us to be racial or prejudice against anyone. if you read this book. you'll find out the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    A book that changed how I thought about life in general

    While reading this book..it helped me understand more about Malcolm X. It showed how an inspiring person Malcolm X was, to many people still at this day. He changed the way people thought and had the power to say what he wanted even if people thought his ideas were meaningless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2006

    very good

    This book gives a very good conception of how racism effects our society today, and shows how inspirational Malcolm X was upon our society. I enjoyed this book highly and recommend all to read it atleast one time. This book causes me forever to change my views of how our African American's influence in our country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    A Very Powerful Book

    This is a very powerful book. He was a very bold outspoken person in his time. He told it like it was and didn't sugar coat if for anybody. To me he set the bar for what a real black man should want to be like. All in all, the man was brave to have done what he done in the short period of time he had. Just think what more would he have done if he wasn't killed???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7