BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Autobiography of Malcolm X

Average Rating 4.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2006

    The Greatest Autobiography Ever!

    I started reading this book right after Christmas. When I read this book it showed how a black man could fight for our rights and make this world a better place. During the time the book was published, 1965, it was right after his death. The author Alex Haley gave a good idea about how Malcolm X felt from his childhood, adulthood, and his death. There were many passages in this story that really affected his life. When I heard stories about who Malcolm X was I never thought that in the beginning of his life that he was a big time pimp living in Harlem. During the time I read the book I also saw the movie. Even though the movie was good the book was better. The book gave the realization of how Malcolm really thought about the pressures of being a muslim and working with his other partners such as Martin Luther King Jr. The most important passage in this book is when Malcolm X is serving time in jail and he reads the muslim teachings of his mentor Elijah Muhhamad. An unhappy part of the story is when his father was murdered by the KKK. I encourage anyone to buy or check out this book real soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    An insperational book to all

    The autobiography of Malcolm x by Malcolm x. This book is centered around the fact that life doesn't have to give you lemons, but you can still work hard and grow them yourself to make lemonade. Malcolm uses flashback to tell his story of overcoming a life of crime and setbacks to become a leader of the Muslim religion. This book is not only inspirational to only African- Americans but to every race and religion. This book shows that just because you start out with nothing means nothing. Malcolm had a hard childhood that was filled with oppression, violence and no hope. Nobody wanted to give him a chance to succeed and do other wonderful things that he had wanted to do in his life. During his childhood his dad is killed by the KKK, his family is split up, his mom is sent to a mental hospital, and he dropped out of school. Things did not look brighter as he got older because he got involved in drugs, crime, pimping, gambling, and hustling. At one point in his life he carries a gun with him because he fears one of his good friends. The best part in his life is when he is sent to jail. That is how bad his life had become. Jail had turned his life around for the better but he is still frightened of the bars. When he is in jail he learned how to write neatly, and learn of the Muslim religion. He had changed his life around even though it was hopeless to anyone else. He came back a changed man and helped forever change the way you can look on life. Malcolm is a true hero for anyone who has no hope and thinks all is lost. Malcolm defeats the struggle that all mankind faces, finding out who he really is. I think this book is wonderfully written to show every aspect of life for Malcolm. He holds back nothing except for what life is like at his home. Since he is always preaching for the Muslim religion, does he have any problems with his wife? He never really says but I wonder, would his wife be okay with the fact that he is never home? Also, how could he quit bad things like smoking and drinking so fast since he had been in prison where there is a very high temptation? He never mentions that he had a hard time with these but he must have. I recommend this book to all. This book changed the way I looked at life. It opened my eyes in ways that I could have never imagined. You must have an open mind in reading this book or you will not fully appreciate it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2006

    malcom x

    The autobiogrphy tells you the life of malcom x and the struggles he had to go through which for me was something that i wanted t learn more about because you here things in school but you read it and realize some of the actual pains he had to go through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    Calen McCloud R.A. Long High School

    I like this book because it taught me the values of African American History and what Malcolm X did to change many lives of African American. He mad Young Ghetto Afrucan American Believe that there was purpose for them In the U.S and he gave them confidence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    Malcolm X the Hero

    I adore this book for what it taught me and view it as a reliable resource for those who feel a change is in order for their lives. Even through all harship edure never did Malcolm X back down from life, ashamed, with his tail behind his legs. He walked out of all situations dignifed with a new insight on life that allowed him grow as a man into a hero. His faults and acknowledgement of them is what makes him the epitome of a strong man, a hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    Malcolm X is a good book to read

    This book help me learn what all Malcolm X did back in his day. In I saw the movie about Malcolm X he was played Danizel Washington it's was good a movie. I think that movie is better than the book, because of you can see what really went on in Malcolm X life. But in the book its tell you more detrail about what he did in his life time, but some of the stuff was different to me, because the book tell some stuff that you should already know about Malcolm X. If you are think about reading this book next watch the movie first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    enlightening, educational and interesting

    I could not put this book down. I have read it twice. It is a book that made a difference in my life. this book is for anyone who wants an interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    Malcolm X

    Malcolm X was a good book. I liked this book because it explained the life of Malcolm X from childhood to his later days. The book was a little hard to follow though. In my opinion if your reading this book to do a report its a good book to choose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Malcolm X is an overall awesome book

    Malcolm X was a great book I had to go out and rent the Dvd after I was finished with reading it. Malcolm X is an African American male that people should look up to. He lived a hard life and completely turned around from everything for religion. I give this book an awesome review and I thikn that this book should be required to read in high school's everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    great book

    The Autobiography of Malcolm X is a great book. I would recommend it to anyone that is interested in history. The book is written so well and will teach you a great amount of things about the struggles of racism he faced and how he overcame them. The book is not very difficult to stay focused on and will keep your attention throughout the entire book. If you have seen the movie then the book is a definate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2004

    Malcolm X

    This book is not for a person that wants a book that will keep them in that book and make the reader want to keep reading the book. This book has many highs andlows but all in all I think that this book is for and adult and not kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2004

    great book!!!

    This book is truly amazing and inspiring. Everyone should read it. At first I didn't like it but after like the first few pages....it was just unbelievable (in a great way).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2004

    A book that changed the way I look at everything

    I really enjoyed this book. For one, it was told in his words, so everything is authentic. The book really opened up my eyes to a lot of things, because its still painfully obvious that some of the struggles and some of the issues he talked about in the 50's and 60's still apply to this day. I gained a new admiration for this man through this piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    Incredible Read

    My name is Brian Tate and I am a student at Pellissippi State Community College and I have just finished reading one of the books that has helped define my culture this is a must read for anybody that wants to further their knowledge on a great man and what he stood for. This book will have a permanent place in the literature of Afro-American Struggle. This is the greatest book that I have ever read. This book teaches a valuable lesson in life, equality, racism, and religion. Alex Haley touches on all these subjects from his intensive interviews with Malcolm X. The story is very painful and true to life during the 60s. The book is a result of a unique collaboration between Alex Haley and Malcolm X. It is a very honest straight to the point book. Haley brings the story to life by making you feel apart of Malcolm X addresses. Through reading this book it has helped me understand that African-Americans have struggled with acceptance and freedom. This autobiography is a very important testesmant to society. Through this book you lean about Malcolm X¿s upbringing and his family struggling with not being accepted by the white community. You feel his pain while he his going through rough circumstances as he is incarcerated. You feel his joy when he gets his first job and experiences making money the illegal way. Malcolm X lived an incredible life full of hate, love, brotherhood, crime, and drugs. He was a success story. He came the from gutter to be one of the smartest men to grace the face of the earth. With a author like Alex Haley you know that your going get a great book to read. As soon as you read this book you can¿t put it down. I couldn¿t stop reading it. It is truly become one of my favorite books of all time. It touched on a lot of personal subjects that I think most people go through in their life. This book is very special that everyone should at least read twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2004

    ability to learn and cope

    The Autobiography of Malcolm X was publish so well. I just love his mentality which was presented in the book. The main reason I believe someone should read this book is that the movie didn't really give the fullness of how Malcolm X really became who he really is. This book is very motivational. It shows the hard times African American had to overcome and it shows how one man changing his life and dedicating his life for what is right and what he believe in such as his faith to make this place a better place to live. This book shows that there really isn't anything wrong with letting people know they are wrong if you are standing up for what is right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    I think everybody should read this book.

    Malcolm X is a great book by a great author. This book teaches you alot of lessons about rasicm and our pastime. It also teaches people what the African American people went through. Another reason somebody should read this book is that there is alot of people that looks up to Malcolm X and would like to learn about Malcolm X. Alex Haley is a great author who went deep into Malcolm X life and wrote it all down and put it together and overall it is a good book that everyone should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    Pretty Good Read

    I would recommed this book to any readers that would like to learn about a factual story. Malcolm was a very interesting figure in history and this book has nothing besides the truth of his life. This book will also help people to understand how life was in the 1940's and 50's. Anyone who reads this book can discover how hard life was for African Americans during that time and value civil rights. Malcolm's way of interpreting values and beliefs is fascinating and it's intersting to discover where Malcolm came from to become the famous figure he was before his death. It's long but is a good story and definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2004

    Awesome

    This book was amazing. There is no way you can truly understand Malcolm X without reading this book. I first read this in High School, and it totally opened my eyes. I still love to re-read this book even today. It sheds some important light on his life and his sincere desire to make the world a better place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    a woman's perspective

    Malcolm X is a fierce thinker. This book inspired me very much. It's interesting to contrast his perceptive analysis of race with his reactionary ideas about women. Ultimately, I think the brutal honesty he used to dissect racism in America would also have led him to face up to sexism and the problems inherent in patriarchal society. Malcolm X was brave & honest & never afraid to admit when he was wrong. Very few people have the kind of personal courage he displays in every page of this book. Very moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2003

    A great autobiography

    I enjoyed this story because it was not fiction and was a true story of an important mans life. Malcolm's life is so interesting to learn what he went through in his child and teenage years. He went through so much to become a minister of religion and a civil rights leader. I recommend this book to be read and it will better someone's life to understand how to be a leader, stand up for what you believe in, and to be motivated to accomplish any goals or dreams you might want to achieve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 7