Customer Reviews for

Autobiography of Mark Twain, Volume 1: The Complete and Authoritative Edition

Average Rating 3
( 732 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(192)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(177)

2 Star

(137)

1 Star

(102)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

Mark Twain would be amazed.

Wouldn't Mark Twain be amazed that his autobiography, 100 years later, would be published in an ebook format? Mark Twain coming back in the 21st century... now there is another book of fiction I would read. His non-chronological, conversational autobiography is an eas...
Wouldn't Mark Twain be amazed that his autobiography, 100 years later, would be published in an ebook format? Mark Twain coming back in the 21st century... now there is another book of fiction I would read. His non-chronological, conversational autobiography is an easy read except for keeping up with his jumping around. In true Mark Twain spirit, his biting satire and lyrical descriptions are true entertainment.

posted by keanewebb on October 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

60 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

still reading, but just barely

I really looked forward to my copy of the Twain autobiography. I didn't really think I was getting a text book. I looked forward to reading about Samuel Clemmons' life in his unique style of story telling. I didn't realized I would have to flip through 80 pages--nea...
I really looked forward to my copy of the Twain autobiography. I didn't really think I was getting a text book. I looked forward to reading about Samuel Clemmons' life in his unique style of story telling. I didn't realized I would have to flip through 80 pages--nearly of 1/9th of the book-- of self-important pedegogy of their interpretation of Clemmons' thoughts on how to write an autobiography and a historical chronology of his several attempt to write an autobiography and how they do or do not constitute part of Clemmons' final wishes of what should be included.

I don't need a bunch of professors at the Mark Twain project telling me their methods and approach to justifying how they put the book together. If they are compelled to waste pages on that, put it in the end of the book.

Just give me the flippin' autobigraphy already and get out of the great man's way!

posted by BradonVashon on November 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 744 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 38
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Preview no fun

    The free preview of this book was a joke. All it contained was a bunch of footnotes, author's notes, and some images of Twain's actual written pages. I admit those were kind of neat to look at--but on the nook's screen, they were so small you really had to squint to see them. If you're a Twain fan, just buy the book and don't waste your time on the preview. If you're not a Twain fan but just interested in his autobiograpohy like me, wait until your library gets the book and check it out for free.

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The cover tells everyone that this book was created by the Mark

    The cover tells everyone that this book was created by the Mark Twain Project.
     Inside the the front cover the pages tells everyone that University of California Press at Berkley is the 
    publisher.  It states the funding sources as well and there are multiple editors listed. Therefore, those who
    are intelligent enough to understand Twain will understand as well that this is a in depth analysis of a 
    very rare, intelligent, brilliant, eccentric author and how complicated of a writer he was.  
    The very title and sub-title indicate that this is not for those desiring or requiring a simple, saucy read.
    Excellent details and in depth insights to how the whole Mark Twain "worked".   

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Essential Mark Twain

    Don't expect a chronological depiction of his life but rather his stream of conciousness recollections. A wonderful insight into what made Samuel Clemmens the iconic American storyteller tick.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Worthy, in spite of the editors

    The editors bloviate in such a moribund way that I can see Mark Twain rolling his eyes and wanting to poke them with his sharp pen. I'll await the next volumes and invest in them as well... he is there in a way that only his friends knew him as he talks about the things that made an impression on him as he came up and through the experiences of his life. I applaud his efforts and thank him for sharing it in such a sweet fashion that leaves me feeling he is sitting across the room in comfortable chair regaling me with the tales he couldn't write then. He was a dear man to care that some of what he may have to say would or could offend or hurt someone somewhere.... likely his own reputation as well, I'd guess. It's the ramblings of my grandpa, I hear as I read it.... lighten up folks.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Difficult reading on an e-book

    This was the first book I downloaded on my new NOOK COLOR. (Love the NOOK COLOR). Just getting used to using an e-reader for the first time and could not figure out why there wasn't much of Mark Twain's writing in this. I guess I have to jump to page 201 to get any of his thoughts. What a disappointment and what a difficult start to using my e-reader.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Given All Of The Bad Reviews For This Book

    I brought this book for my dad and he loved it. It's a history buff's book. For others, may I suggest a better one to buy. It's called "When God Stopped Keeping Score." It's a good book with a timely message about forgiveness. It's a good way to start out the new year. My Mom loved it and she is not the let me rush out and read this new book type.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    Yawn.

    It won't take long for these to be stacked up in the "bargain" sections of bookstores, and I predict so many will be offered to used bookshops that they will have to be turned away. My prediction is that volume II will be in a much smaller printing, and volume III will never appear at all, for lack of interest.

    Sad.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    I'm a big fan of Twain. Usually.

    He's one of my favorite authors, but I'm deeply disappointed with this book. I gained no real insight to his life, even though he said it'd probably be better to learn about him by reading what he wrote about those around him (paraphrased). The editors seemed to be interested in publishing anything and everything from the archives, and reproducing the mark-up and errors seemed to take away from the scholarly interest; maybe if the book were composed of digital scans of the original documents, I'd be much more interested in continuing to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    Don't read it

    Boring, boring, boring. Nothing insightful, funny or entertaining. Disjointed, leading to no resolution. The spoken word of an old man to lazy to take up a pen and write coherently. Save your money. A 916 page bore. The book is good for nothing other than to put one to sleep or read before walking to the death chamber. The reading will make one want to exit this life.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    I like very much mark twain.

    This book ise very original and talently written by him. I made also a rewiev on 1dekorasyon com about mark twain and his book called autobiography. this book is simply perfect.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    &female

    &male

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Balls

    Balls

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Good book

    Mark twain is a good man he wrote so many good books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Disgrace

    I believe Mark Twain embodied the traditional values I grew up with. Those values did not include bilking people out of their hard earned money. This couldn't possibly be what he intended as his life's story. It's possible authors are quite separate from the tales they tell, but I thought he would leave a better biography behind. Who are the pompous fools who find it necessary to tell us how all of the experiences of Twain's were compiled? Jeez Louise! I suppose they wanted everyone to be impressed by their abilities to bore readers to sleep. Skip the Ambien, just try to read this tome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Not for me

    Let me start by saying that normally I love Mark Twain. And I wanted to love this book, I just couldn't. I lost patience about 200 pages in, and I now understand the role an editor would normally play in the writing process. I understand why it's important to have the complete version of what Mark Twain dictated, and for scholars, this is fantastic, but it just wasn't what I wanted to settle down and read after a long day's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    not a successful e-book

    Reading this book depends heavily upon the formatting to distinguish whether one is reading the editor's comments or the actual Twain text. This formatting does not translate in the e-book. So, I am giving the e-book a low recommendation, not the actual content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Twain talk

    It's like sitting at the table talking to Twain. Very long, but diverse enough to keep you interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    Excellent

    This book is so informative . Can't wait for volume 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Maybe a good textbook??

    Wow was this a difficult read! The title is deceptive...I expect an autobiography to be a life story told by the subject, not a collection of letters or essays scattered among the years. Very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    A hard read

    The first 100+ pages are really boring.
    Once you get past that part it has a lot of interesting facts of the times and his personality. But there again, the good parts are mingled with the boring ones.
    So bottom line, a very hard read for such a big book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 744 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 38