Customer Reviews for

The Autobiography of Martin Luther King, Jr.

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Extraordinary for anyone!

This book has changed my life. I'm more positive now and take things and situations like how Mr. King would. I owe to him many thanks for helping me be a better person. This book is defenitely a must have for everyone.

posted by ericmoreno on November 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

An incredible book! Martin Luther King JR¿s (MLK) autobiography edited by Clayborne Carson is a most unusual writing. What makes it so unusual is that Martin Luther King had nothing whatsoever with its writing. MLK did not collaborate with Carson. MLK did not know Carso...
An incredible book! Martin Luther King JR¿s (MLK) autobiography edited by Clayborne Carson is a most unusual writing. What makes it so unusual is that Martin Luther King had nothing whatsoever with its writing. MLK did not collaborate with Carson. MLK did not know Carson. MLK was killed with out ever having applied himself to writing his biography, yet this book is titled as the great mans autobiography. By manipulating the title of the book Clayborne Carson establishes an enormous creditability gap. Is this just a bid by some obscure writer to capitalize on a great mans name, or is this an attempt to bring to light insights and understanding of one of Americas great leaders. If you can get over the fact that the author introduces the book with an honest revelation of his contriving to deceive people into buying his book then the author¿s contempt for his readers is justified. In the preface Mr. Carson tries to use Mrs. Coretta Scott King¿s name to lend some creditability to his usurpation. He was ¿asked to act as director of the King Papers Project¿ not to write an autobiographical book. From this dishonest inception Carson then elicits his readers reliance on his interpretations of the documents entrusted to him. With this contrivance as the groundwork for the book the reader might get a feeling like a chicken being invited to dinner with a fox. If you are honestly seeking to know about MLK¿s life and works you need to look elsewhere since this book is simply Not creditable. Ken Donnelly

posted by Anonymous on September 16, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Extraordinary for anyone!

    This book has changed my life. I'm more positive now and take things and situations like how Mr. King would. I owe to him many thanks for helping me be a better person. This book is defenitely a must have for everyone.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    A reviewer

    An incredible book! Martin Luther King JR¿s (MLK) autobiography edited by Clayborne Carson is a most unusual writing. What makes it so unusual is that Martin Luther King had nothing whatsoever with its writing. MLK did not collaborate with Carson. MLK did not know Carson. MLK was killed with out ever having applied himself to writing his biography, yet this book is titled as the great mans autobiography. By manipulating the title of the book Clayborne Carson establishes an enormous creditability gap. Is this just a bid by some obscure writer to capitalize on a great mans name, or is this an attempt to bring to light insights and understanding of one of Americas great leaders. If you can get over the fact that the author introduces the book with an honest revelation of his contriving to deceive people into buying his book then the author¿s contempt for his readers is justified. In the preface Mr. Carson tries to use Mrs. Coretta Scott King¿s name to lend some creditability to his usurpation. He was ¿asked to act as director of the King Papers Project¿ not to write an autobiographical book. From this dishonest inception Carson then elicits his readers reliance on his interpretations of the documents entrusted to him. With this contrivance as the groundwork for the book the reader might get a feeling like a chicken being invited to dinner with a fox. If you are honestly seeking to know about MLK¿s life and works you need to look elsewhere since this book is simply Not creditable. Ken Donnelly

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2001

    Excellent, Spectacular, Remarkable

    This needs to be required reading for every citizen! This gives true insight into the character and motivations of Dr. King. This is PURE civil rights action, not the unfortunate humanist-reactionary situation we have today. Dr. King was a remarkable man with a remarkable foundation.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2000

    A Classic in World Literature

    This book is destined to become a classic in literature around the world, if it isn't already! When Alex Haley put together 'The Autobiography of Malcolm X,' now a classic in its own right, he had the benefit of working directly with Malcolm on the story of his life. Clayborne Carson, editor of this autobiography of Dr. King, had no such advantage, with Dr. King having been deceased for 30 years. Having said that, however, Carson does a superb job as editor -- unobtrusively guiding the text along but letting Dr. King's own voice and words come through loud and clear. This book flows smoothly from start to finish. It ties in all the speeches, all the stories, all the anecdotes we've all known about Dr. King into one comprehensive whole. It gave me a much deeper insight into Dr. King and his life and family than I ever had before. I love this book -- and will always consider it a classical treasure to have in my home.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!!!

    Selected by the Reverend King¿s heirs, Stanford University history professor Clayborne Carson archived the massive papers, videos, and recordings of one of the most influential twentieth century figures. The reader gets a feel for Dr. King as a person who lived the words he uttered. More important is that the audience sees a complete, compassionate, caring human being instead of a federal holiday. <P> Though authorized, this is a fascinating autobiography that provides insight to a time when support of Civil Rights proved deadly. Those readers who seek sensationalism would be better suited filing a freedom of information request to gain access to Hoover¿s files. Those individuals who want to better comprehend history or simply gain an understanding of one of the previous century¿s giants, THE AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. is the right stuff. <P>Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Bad

    A book written by a known plagerizer who glorifies himself as a god. Minus stars for this overblown egomaniac.

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Nunya

    Wow this book is amazing its like you were there but its just inside of a book man it is amazing

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Hi

    Good book

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    Captivating

    This book was well written! Interesting material.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2001

    Gift of Inspiration

    This is one of the best books that I have read. The fact that his words from his books and letters, and other speeched where combined in such a fabulous way made the book a page turner no matter how much one knows about the civil rights struggle. Martin Luther King is an elgent speaker, his word choice makes the struggles he and the nation went through so real to someone like myself who was not born at that time. He truly was given a gift from God in his ability to hold audiences in the palm of his hand and convice them beyond a shadow of a doubt that his way of non violence is best.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    A little disappointing

    Not written by the man himself but information colllected from his letters, notes, etc about the man behind civil rights. It written by someone else who pieced this story together with Mrs King. It shouldnt be call an autobiography but rather a memoir. Just my opinion. Interesting read bbut i felt it lacked the sustanance it would have if truly written by the man himself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Educational and inspiring

    I learned a great deal from reading this book. It has given me a renewed appreciation of the struggle of African-Americans to be treated equally and with justice. I also was moved by the courage and personal struggle of King as he sought to do what is right in spite of many setbacks, obstacles and challenges.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    Everyone should read this!

    Every American should read this. Martin luther King , Jr. was a great man and this book lives up to his reputation. It is a very inspiring, personal look into his life and the events he helped to shape.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2000

    An Excelent book to read!

    This book was a great experience of learning material.From great moments in history to tragic events that are still looked back on.This book is something I personaly enjoyed to read.My study on Martin Luther King, Jr.,now has a better understanding of a great man in our time.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2000

    Big Help!

    This book helped me on this report. It made me understand what was going through his head during the hard times and good times. I leanrned more about the movements and how they were formed. His family which is not talked about so much. Just reading made me see why the people followed him and stayed by his side. He would have made a great President.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Amazing

    A must read.

    His life, his times and his teachings resonate even today.

    I am sure he would be shocked, not 50 years later, to see Barack Obama elected President of the USA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    wow good book

    wow good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    T love ll

    I wonder how it would be if he was still alive today.. reply to ******** t love ll -------if u could give any ideas and any comments on what it would be like if he was still alive today

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Great book ever

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Moving

    I learned so much reading this. I am so glad I did. I really recommend this book to anyone interested in the civil righs movement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3