Customer Reviews for

The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 18, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    I liked this book very much. The author, Ernest Gaines definitely created a legendary figure. I had seen the made for TV movie and at the time,I was not aware Ms. Pittman was not a real person. I also recently bought the film and also recommend it; very well done. The story expressed survival, courage and hope. The ending in the book is different than the movie. The book kept me interested to the end. It is a great historical novel for history buffs and great for middle school teachers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    As good as the movie.

    This book is very good. I had watched the movie and wanted to see if the book would compare. It did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    Autobiography Of Miss Jane Pittman the woman that inspires all the black race to keep moving forward.

    In my opinion i think the Autobiography Of Miss Jane Pittman is a great book.Because it inspire the black race to keep moving forward.I would recommend this book to all my friend because whent you start reading you just whant to know what others things would happen in Miss Jane life.What i like about the books is that is a Autobiography because it tells true event's that happen.I always like Autobiography because i can know about others people life.

    I think that Ernest j. Gaines is a great writer.other book that that i would like to read about this author is A Lesson Before Dying.because i thin k this should be a good book for my reading list.Now that i read Miss Jane book i think that the Author like Autobiography as much as i do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    a good book

    From the title I thought it was going to be long and boring, but as i started reading the 1st chapter it got interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    Miss Jane Pittman!

    The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman is a book about the determination of a courageous woman. As a child Jane endured hardships and pain of being black. Her purpose in life was to be free and she went through so much to meet that day. After freedom came, she still had to experience slavery. Throughout it all, Miss Jane did what she had to do to survive. She made it and that's all she wanted. This book will give you motavation and determination to do what you have to in life, just like Jane. This one is another winner by Gaines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman

    The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman was a reviting story of the life of a young girl at the end of slavery. Freedom come when she was still a young child. This story tells the struggles and triumphs of a young child that becomes a women as she fights for her right for freedom in life. Gaines tells this story in a way that is different from all his other novels but he captures the essence of Miss Jane Pittman's life story. This was a well written easy to read novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    'The autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman'

    'The autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman' was a good book by Ernest J Gaines. I likes how he gave people a descriptive detail of the story. He made the readers feel like they were also listening to Miss Jane as she told the story. The story help you understand the struggles Jane had went though as a child and as she had gotten older. It helps me appreciate the things those before me went through. When they did have freedom that still were not treated equally as the whites. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Miss Pittman By LaShandra

    The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman was a great book that took me threw the 1860's to the 1960's as I read the book I felt like I could've been the one telling the story. I have never been so devoted to reading a book as I have this one. It will help one learn of the struggles of many blacks that lived in 'slavery' and how it was still after they were all declared free. Some were ready for the change and some so used to been enslaved and mistreated that all they knew was to stay and slave for there master's in order to even have a way of living. Many dyed and cryed but managed to make it threw to freedom. With all their hard work and struggling many where able to find a decent way of living even if killed them. This book helped me gain a virtual and clear understanding of why it is so important to read about the roots of your race and how life was for blacks at that time and compare them with the way things are today. Miss Pittman did an excellent job at telling the story of her life at 110 years old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2004

    A Firsthand Experience of History in the Making

    The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman was a historical accounting of the life of a young slave living on the plantation and the events following the end of the Civil War when the slaves were freed. I recommend that parents encourage their children to read this story because the way the story is told in Miss Jane's voice it almost makes you are present. This story tells the struggles and triumphs of a young child that becomes a women as she fights for her right for freedom in life. Gaines captures the essence of Miss Jane Pittman's life story. This was a well written easy to read novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2003

    Autobiography Of Miss Jane Pittman

    Inspiring in us all the need for help from ourselves and to look up on our situations and how we can improve them, Jane Pittman embodies something like no other. She is the outward epitome of struggle. The Autobiography of Jane Pittman is a wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2001

    This is a great and inspiring book.

    I think the Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman is such an inspiring book. I think that this book braks down and makes it interesting for us to learn more about how slavery was during that time.If i was a teacher i would recommend that my class read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    A Truly Inspiring Read

    The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman is an extremely fascinating and inspiring novel! It tells a woman's incredible tale of her journey from slavery to freedom. Through an extraordinary true account of times from after the Civil War through the 1960s, you are able to learn about more than just what a history book can teach you! This book truly engages you and each individual story teaches not only about her personal hardships, but also about the time period in general. The book begins with Ticey (a.k.a. Jane), a black girl from Louisiana living on a plantation as a slave. We not only learn about the struggles she had in slavery, but those she encountered with freedom as well. Near the beginning of the book, when she is around eleven or twelve years old, the slaves are freed. Their master calls them up to his house one day and tells them that he has hust recieved a notice saying that they are no longer slaves. Jane was overjoyed! She thinks that by being free she will no longer be treated unequal to others, or like a second-class citizen, she believes that now that she is free everything will be different. She leaves the plantation with a large group, and thinks she has left all her troubles behind, at the plantation, but she still has a lot left to learn! On their way to the north, they encounter the Secesh, but this is only the beginning of their troubles. The Secesh attack and kill everyone in the group except Jane and a young three-year-old boy named Ned. From here, she must care for him, and be like a mother to him. From here on, you can tell just how strong a woman Jane really is. Ned and Jane come across many more unexpected obstacles in their path on their way towards freedom, the north. They stumble upon everything from bitter citizens to angry Secesh, but they never give up, which is what really makes this book an extremely inspiring one. When I began the book, it didn't seem as though it would be very good. I thought it was just another book trying to teach you about history through stories that didn't engage the reader whatsoever, but I was very wrong! I really got into the book, because it wasn't like that at all! Although many of the stories didn't completely relate, and made it a little more confusing for the reader, overall I enjoyed the book immensely! I really liked the stories because they helped relate the past to what was actually happening to the people at the time. I found this to make the book a lot easier to read, becuae although you already knew that many people were slaves in the south, and then freed, you didn't know what things happened in their lives during and after slavery, and how the whole slavery experience truly effected them. I would recommend this book to almost anyone, because I feel it was an incredibly enthralling and educating book at the same time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2001

    Awesome Story

    This book is great! The story about Jane's life is very interesting. I love to read about the Civil War, although this book talked about Jane's life during the Civil War for only a short amount of time. It really talked about slavery and how the African American's fought for freedom. The story had a combination of different things that happened and a variety of feelings come to you when reading this novel. Some things are sad, some are funny, some are happy and some are just aggravating. I like this book a lot because the story is just well put together and gives nice detail. You get a very clear image of what's going on and the book keeps your attention. I recommend this book to everyone........because it's just a wonderful book to read! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2001

    One of the best

    I thought this was a great book it had plenty of detail and yet wasn't boring for too many details. I would recomend reading the book before seeing the movie they're verry different and if you read the book first you will miss the details of the book. I dont read alot because I dont usualy like reading about the civil war, but this was great :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2000

    Outstanding story

    I thought this was one of greatest stories I have ever read. I'm sorry Mike, a student, was forced to read a classic and didn't appreciate the fact that Miss Pittman risked her life for the freedom of her fellow African-Americans. I think everybody should have to read this book in school to show how far we, as Americans, have come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2000

    Ahhh, this book was okay.

    Hey! I think that this book is fairly good, but not all that interesting. There are already many books out about the civil war, and this one adds to the number of books. Although this book had some parts that were interesting and fun, a lot of the book was boring and too descriptive. I recommend that you read it only if you are really interested in the civil war or slavery. I was assigned to read this book for school, and many of my class mates feel the same way as I do about this book. Thanks for hearing me out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1