Customer Reviews for

Autobiography of a Face

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The story of a woman just trying to feel normal in an unforgiving world.

    Autobiography of a face is the autobiography of Lucy Grealy, a very talented writer. It tells of her first struggles as a child, all the way to after her college days. It takes you in depth into the hospital world as if you were her, being treated and operated on. She tells of going through school with about a third of her jaw line missing because of cancer. If you thought the kids in your neighborhood were cruel, then prepare yourself for a forceful revelation that you really didn't have it so bad. This book will chew you up and spit you out, but at the end of your journey through Lucy's life, you will somehow feel enlightened and even thankful for everything you have, ad also the things that you don't. So, stop feeling sorry for yourself and pickup this book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Awesome

    This is probably one of the best non-fiction book I ever read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    It was touching

    My grandmother had cancer and she found out that it did not spread the day i was born so it was emotional for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Aaaawwwww :''(

    This is soo sad
    But its a real eye opener

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    highly recommended

    read this book for school and fell in love with it, i was so in touch with the character and i found myself brought to tears at some parts but love the ending and everything else about the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Of a face

    This is a really good its so intresting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Amazing

    Really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Idk

    Is it worth the money?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Good

    Very qood read worth $

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Makes a great gift

    Got this from my parents and I thought it was a very interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    Heartwarming and dramatic. This book not only shows the digficulty of lifes obstacles around one person, but if you can breach through those obstacles. It shows one how to experience humility and faith within yourself and i found it being an excellent book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Absorbing

    This book will certainly draw you in and you will want to read all about Lucy's story. I first read about Lucy in Ann Patchett's book, Truth and Beauty. I found Lucy to be such a fascinatingly sad and truly needy soul and I wanted to know more about how she began that I had to read this book written by Lucy herself. Lucy's family life was startingly disturbing and cold and paints the picture of how she could become the sad little needy creature of her later years. Lucy did have a great circle of friends in her life, but as a reader, I found her to be a very unlikable person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read (though maybe not for a cancer patient)

    This book is moving, dramatic, beautifully written, and truly a must read. Lucy Grealy writes about growing up as a child with cancer--her diagnosis, treatment, recovery, and the stigma of being 'different' because of the permanent physical changes to her face. Grealy's writing sets this memoir apart from many others. It is poetic, symbolic, and literary.

    I do not recommend this book as a pick-me-up for someone going through cancer treatment or a loved one trying to deal with a diagnosis. While she obviously survives her childhood cancer (she writes this memoir as an adult), Lucy's story is challenging and sad. It is not about surviving cancer, developing a can-do attitude, or even wallowing in self-pity. This memoir is more literary, not simply a cancer survivor's narrative.

    After reading this book, you must read Ann Patchett's Truth and Beauty, which is the memoir of their adult friendship. It covers the rest of Lucy's life, including her struggles with reconstructive surgery and her developing writing career. Read more of my (mini)reviews on twitter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    Thrilling Tale of Inner Beauty

    Lucy Grealy does a marvelous job at illustrating her tragic and yet motivating story in her novel, "Autobiography of a Face." A story that simply and yet perfectly defines what every human strives for...perfection. Grealy tells her own tale of how she strongly wants "people to except [her] as [she is,] yet at the same time, secretly desiring perfection." The most perfect part of the novel is how all of the miscellanious stories of her past comes together at the ending, to make a truly touching finale. Grealy also does a marvelous job of telling her life's story without seeming like she's trying to earn your sympathy. However, I feel that Lucy Grealy didn't tell the full content of her stories for this reason. Her unique story should be told in complete detail, informing all of the horrors that a scarred face can bring. All in all, "Autobiography of a Face" is a haunting and yet inspirational story that helps one to desire to discover more about themselves, rather than just what they look like in the mirror. Definitely a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    Her Life Was Ruled by Her Face

    Autobiography of a Face is a memoir of a facially disfiguring childhood cancer. Cancer is scarcely mentioned by name. Treatment is discussed in appropriate detail but the book is about side and after effects. From the age of ten when she was diagnosed and had surgery, Lucy three years of weekly treatment. Then three more years of unsuccessful re-constructive surgery, then a score of surgeries over the next twenty years. Her life was ruled by her face, kids cruel reactions to it, hiding it, getting psyched up for another round of surgery, crashing disappointment. And, then there was the side effects of the psycho-trauma. The book contained strong hints of her painkiller addictions of the last ten years of her life. Also, sex, when it finally came along was only about personal validation. The story aroused so much sympathy, I hardly noticed how uneven the writing was, sometimes brilliant, mostly competent, but sometimes not. I learned of the book by reading Truth and Beauty, Ann Pachett's wonderful memoir of her twenty year friendship with Lucy which covered their college years through Lucy's death. Patchett's very well crafted memoir reveals that Lucy was the object of much more affection than she ever knew, Truth and Beauty ought to be a companion read for anyone who is drawn to Autobiography of a Face. AL. April 2, 2008¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Glad to see people learn something from a book...

    As someone in a similar situation as Lucy - rare disease after rare disease and cancer for me as well as physical changes I have no control over - has been such a mentor to me even in her death. I rarely do people want to hear our stories for fear of too much depressing information but this is a great example of someone using tools to get through life and goals like any 'regular' person. Her use of humor and odd tools a lot of sick people do not admit makes us real people and I would love to thank her for that gift! We all have our own story it is just finding it and Lucy helped me find a way to put mine down on paper, the hard parts and the funny ones that remind us how silly we were. I have read her book twice and have also read Truth & Beauty 'kinda the part two of this from her best friends vantage point. If you loved Lucy here you will really see a lot more of her in Ann's book and how much fun and life they had even though she was often confined to hospitals and by her illness. What a beautiful person and author...may she know how many hearts she still touches today despite her death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    'Beauty is in the eye of the beholder'

    Lucy Grealy is a tough lady who dealt with many problems. Beauty comes in every form. This book allowed me to understand what 'ugly' people go through. This taught me to be nicer to the unfortunate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    One of My Favorites

    I read this book for school, then went back and read it twice more because it was that good! Every time details come out that weren't there the first time. Lucy Grealy's life and death were tragic, but this incredable account of a little girl's adventures with experiences with things that most adults don't have to encounter, is heartbreaking and touching. I highly recomended it. I love autobiographies anyway, but this one is so real yet fictional at the same time that i found myself forgetting that it actually happened. This is truely an incredable book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2007

    Forced to read it for school

    Unfortunately I think that this book would have been ok, but I was forced to read it for school so my heart wasn't in it. I thought the 'plot' if you will, the bare-bones story of her life was interesting, but I didn't really try to commit it to memory, or enjoy it at my own leisure. I think I will be compelled to read it again, this time of my own accord, and I may actually remember parts of it, but as it stands now, I couldn't tell you more than the publisher did, except perhaps that it was kind of confusing for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    One of the best books I've read

    I bought this book on a Sunday morning and had it finished by Sunday night. I could not put it down. I sat on the couch and just didn't get up! A definite must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3