BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Autobiography of a Face

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    One of the best books I've read

    I bought this book on a Sunday morning and had it finished by Sunday night. I could not put it down. I sat on the couch and just didn't get up! A definite must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    Physical Appearance certainly does not determine Beauty

    As a child, Lucy Grealy wanted nothing more than to stand out from her peers. When her wishes were finally made reality, however, being different did not add up to her expectations: ¿Being different was my cross to bear, but being aware of it was my compensation¿(101). At the age of nine, Grealy was diagnosed with a serious form of cancer and was forced to have one third of her jaw removed. Although Grealy was cured of her cancer by her her early teens, the psychological effects of her disfigured face were to follow her for much of her life. The narrator continually portrays two conflicting sides to herself, her outward appearance and her inner self. Lucy¿s inner self is a reflection of her personality and her identity while her outward image is a result of the disease with which she was afflicted. Inwardly, Lucy wishes to be numb regarding her current situation. Unfortunately, however, Grealy¿s outer self is not able to let her do so. Upon returning to school after her first major surgery, Lucy is forced to endure the taunts of her classmates. Rather than embracing Lucy¿s inner self, her peers act as catalysts to her wrecked self image. Whenever Lucy looks at herself in the mirror, the cruel assertions of her peers shine true. Outwardly, Lucy looks different form the other students. According to Grealy, ¿Beauty as defined by society at large, seemed to be only about who was best at looking like everyone else¿(187). Lucy¿s difference from the other students prevents her from seeing herself as truly beautiful. Throughout Lucy¿s adolescence and early adulthood, her attempts to conceal her ugliness by drawing attention away from her face and towards her personal style. At the end of Grealy¿s memoir, however, she is able to resolve her conflict by tying her two sides together. Lucy realizes that what she sees in the mirror is only a small part of herself. Although Lucy¿s deformity prevents her from being conventionally beautiful, Lucy is finally able to recognize herself in the mirror. According to Grealy, ¿...the dead know they are dead only after being offered that most irrefutable proof: they can no longer see themselves in the mirror¿(222). Rather than seeing a person who looks like everyone else in the mirror, Lucy sees a person who is distinctly herself. This text is a story of triumph over physical appearance and beauty. This text gracefully portrays the idea that beauty is certainly not skin deep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    reality of beauty?

    She inspired me, to know how lucky we are to be 'normal', having not to go through what she went through. After reading this book, i realized i am a lucky person, having to live a normal life. What can you ask for more? Treasure everything! The unconquerable spirit gives me hope in my future. Having to know she are fine after what she went through, i am sure i will be fine no matter what happen too. Hearing every words of encouragement makes me understand more deeply about life, how it is so fragile. What i learned from the book is to be happy for who you are, don't try to change it for others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    Jordan Froberg, CC-4, Mrs. M

    Lucy Grealy is a true hero in my eyes. She struggled with peer rejection and unwanted behavior from others. Lucy struggled with the crutial steriotype of looking beautiful. Many made fun of her for the way she looked. She had to live like this for her whole life. Lucy had more than thirty operations to try and improve her appearance.She finally learned to appreciate her differences and define herself from everybody else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2004

    truth and beauty

    I was given this book by a dear friend and I couldn't finish it soon enough. Lucy suffered physical and emotional trauma, not just in this book but throughout her whole life. Like many people, Lucy was defined by her looks. She was judged by it. Lucy writes her memoir without the 'I am a victim' sentiments that you see in many memoirs. Lucy never wanted pity. She wanted love and she definitely has mine. Lucy passed away in 2002 and her beautiful face will definitely be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    Powerful and honest

    I couldn't believe how honestly and raw Grealy reveals herself in her book. The whole concept of self-image was altered for me after reading this book. What a brave young woman. I recommend this to all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    Inspiring

    Grealy's story touched me because it really shows the extreme strength this woman has in order to endure such consuming symptoms and harsh consequences of going though cancer therapy. Her story has inspired me and gave me the hope in life that allowed me to open doors that I may not have otherwise reached. This is the best book I have read in my entire 18 years. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in a true story dealing with overcoming of all of life's obstacles. Excellent!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2002

    Touching

    Lucy Grealy reveals amazing character as she vividly describes her experience of growing up with a "different" face. Her writing draws the reader reluctantly into her skin. I recommend this book for professionals (doctors, counselors, and educators) who work with clients living with physical deformities. I also challenge readers to not be moved by her story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2002

    Powerful

    This book was an extremely powerful one. It was an extremely easy read - Lucy Grealy's style is very compelling and captivating. The story kept tears in my eyes...at the same time it opened them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2002

    SLOW!

    This was a difficult book to 'get in to.' It is very 'slow going'. I was not able to finish reading it because, frankly, it was boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2001

    I loved this book

    This book was great! It was interesting to me from the very beginning,even the cover of it is cool.Its easy reading and its a tear jerker,it made me cry! 3 of my friends have read it after me and love it! I suggest this book to anyone who loves true stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2001

    Autobigraphy of a Face

    I loved this book. I didn't put it down for three hours. It is how we all feel sometime in are life. She write with detail, it feels as if you are her and feeling what is happening to her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2000

    Great book for people of any age

    This is one book that you'll read and never forget. Lucy's accomplishments are commendable. This book shows hope and struggle. It makes you realize that's there's someone out there that's had it worse than you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2000

    The Best Book!

    This book is the best book of a person struggling from something that is hard and dangerous. I applause her strong strength of surviving and sticking with the doctors even thought they weren't to quit to find out what was wrong. This book is a good understanding of a child with cancer. I actually thought that I could feel her pain this book was that good. I recommanded this to all my friends and they are enjoying the book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3