Customer Reviews for

Autobiography of a Fat Bride: True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    MUST READ FOR BRIDES

    Don't let the title run you off. Whether your big, little, tall, short, green or purple, this book is a must read for any woman planning a wedding. My only regret about it is that I found it right after my own weddding. The whole time I was reading it, I was thinking how nice it would have been to have had during the wedding planning blitz. Give it at work, give it at showers, give it to every awesome woman you know!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    This got me through my own wedding

    Holy Crap! She is the best writter ever. This is one of the best books I ever read. I read Fat Bride the month before I got married, not only did I survive the pre-wedding jitters. I found similarities in my own life and wedding plans. I like most people finished this book on our honey moon which ment a 4 hour plane ride, but I completely embarrased my new husband with uncontrollable outloud laugher. READ READ READ! anything by Laurie Notarto is worth all the money in the world, and is sanity saviing<BR/>1

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    Best of the Idiot Girl Books

    This was my favorite of the idiot girl series. I suggest you read them all in order and be prepared to laugh out loud.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Laugh Out Loud Funny

    Being an idiot girl who was married in the past month, Notaro's book made me laugh out loud and spew drink on my bed while reading it. It was a HILARIOUS book and I enjoyed every minute of reading it! It will be passed around to my friends!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    Amazing from beginning to End!

    I'm in high school, and in our English class we had to pick a book about anyone, and this was the first book I saw so i picked it. When I first saw it, I thought it was gonna be about a girl who hates herself, and wants to lose weight and so on. But I got to the first line and I knew automatically that this was gonna be a great book. All the books I've read would have never started with 'I am the sucker' that line got me hooked. I hope others will read Laurie's fun, and interesting life, it's a great book if you want a good laugh. and now it has started me to read more of her other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    Flames of Destruction

    Flames of revenge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Love this book!

    Read it a few years ago and I still laugh thinking about it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    To one under

    I agree to. That booty looks so good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2005

    Crying from laughter on the N Train

    When I came across the book, I can admit that I bought it because of the front cover. Upon reading it I found it to be so hysterical that I couldnt put it down and read it non stop. I got on the over crowded and incredibly hot N Train bound for school and I was laughing so hard that I let out a snort and tears were rolling down my face. Of course I had to suggest this book to all the females I knew. I would love to meet the woman behind he behind on the front cover (if that's even her!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2005

    good reading In the desert!

    I have read both this and her other book tales from a loud mouth girl....they are both humerous and uplifting. I find myself agreeing with many of her little quirks and comments about life of a women. Its enjoyable. I just ordered her 3rd...Tales from the dorkiest girl alive...should be good!. Her books definetley been top readers for me on this deployment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2004

    If you read the Playboy Try-Out chapter, you'll be hooked

    Laurie is great at showing us the skeletons in her closet and making us reflect on our own and laugh. Of her three books, I think this is the best. Probably because I have had many similar experiences and I was that fat bride!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    Who can resist the Laurie Notaro, singing sensation?

    Okay, she doesn't sing, but she CAN make you laugh! Again, and again, and AGAIN...if you aren't feeling your best, just pick up any of Laurie's books and turn to a random story. Personal favorite story: The Little King

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2003

    Yes! Something New and Orginal Finally!

    I must confess that I originally picked this book solely on it's cover (How cool are those underwear!). I didn't even read the back excerpt. But boy did I luck out! This is the funniest thing I have read in ages, and for those of us, overweight, white trash, it's truly inspiring (lol)! I can't wait to read more of this author's work. This book is a must read for any fan of contemporary women's fiction or anyone just looking for a good laugh. Read it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    She did it again!

    This book is hilarious. I read her first book, The Idiot Girls Actions Adventure Club on the short flight between Portland, OR and Houston, TX, and it left me wanting more! I was so thrilled when her new book came out that I bought it right away, and I was not disappointed. She has the same sarcastic wit I have, and I was pleased to notice that Fat Bride was longer. If you're an idiot girl, and you know you are, read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2003

    Laurie Rocks!!

    Laurie has done it again! This book was just great! I hated to stop reading it and I can't wait for the next one! I pimp out Laurie whenever I can to people! I tell them YOU HAVE TO GO AND BUY THIS BOOK. I just hope Laurie will come to do a book signing in San Antonio! Come and hang out w/your San Antonio Chapter of the Idiot Girls Action-Adventure Club!! Love you Laurie!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    Laurie Notaro has done it again!

    So much of what Laurie Notaro writes is so true to life- that's what makes it so funny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    Best Beach Book Out There

    Super Funny real life chick book, great for the beach, airplane or anywhere you want or need a good laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2003

    Don't read in a quiet location!!! Laugh out loud funny!!!

    I decided to take this book on our trip. We were on a evening flight and most passengers were sleeping when I started reading. i read three pages and woke up quite a few people. I couldn't wait to get off that darn plane so I could pick it up again. Great book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2003

    Laugh out loud funny!

    I thought I would never find a book funnier than The Idiot Girls Aciton Adventure Club,but Notario proves that she knows how to make the most out of lifes little misadventures. She can make even the mundane task of babysitting into the most hillarious of tales. I can't wait to read more of her advetures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    Hysterical!!!

    This is one of the funniest books I have ever read. I had to read it in one sitting since I could not put it down. Laurie is one funny girl. Let's hope she puts out book after book! This is a great read for everyone!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2