Customer Reviews for

Autobiography of a Yogi

Average Rating 4
( 195 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Are you ready to change your life?

We all finally get to a point in our life, usually after much pain, where we answer this question with a resounding 'yes.' When that time comes, according to Hindu tradition, the Guru appears. Funny, I thought I was Catholic. This book not only opened my mind to new p...
We all finally get to a point in our life, usually after much pain, where we answer this question with a resounding 'yes.' When that time comes, according to Hindu tradition, the Guru appears. Funny, I thought I was Catholic. This book not only opened my mind to new possibilities, but changed my life forever. I soon found myself waking up every morning happy- something I had not experienced before. And all because I learned a technique called meditation which helped me to realize that God is in all, but most especially, in the form of this beautiful man from India who I now respectfully refer to as my Guru. What can I say- if you are going to get hooked on something or someone-I highly recommend getting drunk on God. Yogananda will show you how. A mind & soul altering book.

posted by Anonymous on April 3, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Personality of a Politician

Yogananda has the personality of a politician: capable of projecting great warmth to sway others to his point of view. Nevertheless, it is odd for the autobiography of a parmamahansa to contain so many stories of authority figures acceding to the author's "superior" pe...
Yogananda has the personality of a politician: capable of projecting great warmth to sway others to his point of view. Nevertheless, it is odd for the autobiography of a parmamahansa to contain so many stories of authority figures acceding to the author's "superior" person.

posted by Vita7 on January 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2006

    Are you ready to change your life?

    We all finally get to a point in our life, usually after much pain, where we answer this question with a resounding 'yes.' When that time comes, according to Hindu tradition, the Guru appears. Funny, I thought I was Catholic. This book not only opened my mind to new possibilities, but changed my life forever. I soon found myself waking up every morning happy- something I had not experienced before. And all because I learned a technique called meditation which helped me to realize that God is in all, but most especially, in the form of this beautiful man from India who I now respectfully refer to as my Guru. What can I say- if you are going to get hooked on something or someone-I highly recommend getting drunk on God. Yogananda will show you how. A mind & soul altering book.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I could not put this book down!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Awesome!!!!

    This book is amazing! Its a great read and very inspirational and enlightening. Even though spirituality is the underlying theme in this book, it is great for everyone! I give it out as gifts all the time. This book is really good for the mind and soul and promotes positivity and happiness.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Very enlightening and inspiring

    This book changed my life. It gave such a simple way to look at spirituality. I would definitely recommend this to any reader interested in spirituality

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Inspriational

    I read this book many years ago and keep going back to it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    You won't regret it!

    An amazing book. Very inspirational.
    I'm a procrastinator. Regarding yoga/meditation, my approach for the last 6 or 7 years has been: I'll start next month.
    If 'Autobiography' doesn't light that fire under me, nothing will. I've actually reached out to the organization and requested some home lessons to start.
    If you're not totally into yoga, that's fine. Neither was/am I, but the book even reads like a novel quite often. The story, in itself, is fun.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    If you only read one of Paramhansaji's books, this is the one!

    I am a student of Yogananda and Kriyananda's form of Kriya Yoga, I am discipled in Ananda, the organisation Kriyananda founded after his guru's death to carry on Yogananda's untainted teachings. I must say that this is, of all the writings of these two great men of God, the most important of their books to read, followed closely by 'God is for Everyone' which was written by Kriyananda as a modernisation of Yogananda's 'Science of Religion', and 'Awaken to Superconsciousness' also by Kriyananda.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2002

    Classic on Comparative Religion & Raja Yoga

    I was deeply effected in a positive way upon my first reading of Yogananda's life in the Autobiography of a Yogi. It took me to a deeper level of understanding and motivated me to a more serious and better informed spiritual search. There is a lot of thought provoking data here for most students of comparative religion. Yogananda opens up a revelation of fresh and valid spritiual concepts that answered many of my long lived querys. The most recent editions are the most accurate, as the author later added the 49th chapter and made important changes with each new printing. He appointed and personally trained 2 editors-in-chiefs to continue this process after his passing. Their work is very much in tune with the process which he himself began. And very much appreciated. From my research into his other writings, the editions with the orange covers are clearly representing the real Paramanhansa Yogananda. This book will change your life! I know it changed mine.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2001

    Thank You , Paramahansa Yogananda

    'Autobiography of a Yogi ' is , for me , the most important contribution in answering life's questions that pertain to ' Why are we here ( ? ) ' . Paramahansa Yogananda is one of God's saints. He is a prophet of love. I wish I had the words to express how good I feel about what he has written. He explains what Jesus meant about The Christ Consciousness. He explains many verses from the old testament of the Bible. He stressed over and again how important it is to meditate on Almighty God and the importance of yoga. He wrote two chapters that relate to ' Man does not live by bread alone '. He shared with us his encounter with his resurrected ( ! ) Guru, Sri Yukteswar, who had explained to him the allegory of the Garden of Eden. He explained many similarities of Hinduism and Christianity , including the 'Sat, Tat ,and Aum ' of Hinduism and its direct correlation to the 'Father , Son , and Holy Spirit' of Christianity. He candidly offered the realization that until humankind does away with its desires for money, sex , and wine, we will still reincarnate on the plane of earth. He tells us that few have known the final truths , and when asked as to what they are, remain silent - - we must leave some questions to the infiite.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    I loved this autobiography. The stories of his youth were amazin

    I loved this autobiography. The stories of his youth were amazing but more amazing were his travels to the United States. He is an inspiration. I will look for more of his work.




    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have always loved this book

    This is a fascinating supposedly true story of the man who brought yoga to the U.S. Although recently I watched the film "Kumare" on Netflix and so now I wonder . . . and also I am a Christian and believe we are to look only to God for everything, but this is a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Best Book!

    The best book I've read in years. Life changing. Read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Amazing

    Great for seaching minds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    good

    its boring at first but then it gets better

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    Wonderfully written. This book is the original without all the changes made in other editions years after the author's passing. It's thrilling!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    one of the greatest

    life enhancing

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Listening to the soul.

    The book looks deeper into the soul that connects with the invisible, undestroyable power that drives the cycle of life and death.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    The best book I ever read!

    The best book I ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Potion's Bio

    &star Potion &star
    <p> Name- u seriously wanna go there?
    <p> Age- same answer as name.....
    <p> Gender- she-cat
    <p> Looks- she has a sheen metallic black pelt that seems to snine black and sun and moonlight. Her eyes swirl a mysterious purple and black.
    <p> Personality- quiet secretive and mysterious if strangers come near her at all. Only around cats she deeply trusts will she be playful, calm, and kind. She's a swift fighter who will easily make quick time to do her job.
    <p> Crush/ Ma<_>te- ShardSlash
    <p> Kits- soon...
    <p> Other- her trainer is....'special and different'....she will take you to meet him if you're trustorthy and strong

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Three unnamed kits of prisms bios

    Here at later date

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6