Customer Reviews for

The Autograph Man

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    Garrett's grapg of my Roleplay carear

    Years 1-6 <p> &#9604&#9605&#9604 &#9605 <p> first 3 years i remember none of. Just that it happend. <p> in the december of the 3rd year i was hit by a car in a vicious crash. i lost memory. i didnt rp for two years. Then in january 2014 i found camp Vicking Tales, and i soon became a full time rper. To this day i have never missed a day of role play, unless wifi problems, or the lack of it, has kept me off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Difficult to connect to the characters

    Well-written but not as good as White Teeth. Besides Kitty Alexander, the book is full of apathy. Still worth the read for the literary value.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Flaming skies (plz review)

    Flame stared into the green forest. He was ready to snatch his prey tt scuttled through the leaves searching for any crumb of food. Flame unfolded his pure white wings that shone brilliantly in the sun. He was an owl warrior. He was Flame. He swooped down,talons outstretched,and snatched the helpless mouse in his claws. He could feel the warmth of pride flush through his feathers as he glided skillfully to the Great Oak. He knew that his catch would feed his clan well. He would feed Sunclan,his noble,brave clan. Flame landed elegantly on the ancient oak clearing that stretched before him. He tossed the limp mouse on to the food stock.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Pine

    AWESOME. EPIC. THE BEST FIRST CHAPTER OF DRAGON FANFICTION I HAVE EVER READ. This is supercalifragiliciousexpealidocious!!! Great job, Raven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Aero

    O.o My shocked face, for when I read something totally
    AMAZING!!!!!!! :3
    ~Aero

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Hawk

    Cool! Plz read "Skylanders: A New Beginning" at "a new" all results

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Rising Fire (please review!!)

    Rising Fire
    by Raven

    Chapter One-

    The sky is wreathed in fluffy white clouds, and only a few patches of bright blue sky are showing—as usual. In the far-off distance, I could see dark storm clouds from which thunder was booming and lightning was crackling—as usual.
    A huge mountain towered high above the forest, which was basiclly just a few random clumps of trees spaced out at the foot of the rocky peak. A stream flowed down into the mountain valley, running ovet a tiny waterfall and trickling into a large pool. To the East lay the marshes, and to the West lay a huge pile of boulders and large, sharp rocks.
    Home sweet home.
    I stood beside the river, staring at my reflection. A huge sky blue creature, larger than a horse, stood staring back at me. The creature's blue coloring was striped with a pale sunny yellow, and it's large hear was covered in jagged horns. Long teeth poked out from it's mouth. A pair of large blue wings were folded over it's back, and a long spiked tail twisted in and out of sight.
    Like all the others that live here, on the edge of the mountain in the peaceful valley, I'm a dragon. A man-eating, fire-breathing, terrifying dragon.
    I slapped the water with my spiked tail, looking away. Dragons are just misunderstood. I wouldn't kill anybody.
    "Raina?"
    I heard a farmiliar friendly voice and looked up to see Blazer—a sleek black dragon—flying towards me.
    "You okay?" Blazer asked, alighting down beside the river, folding his black wings over his back as he did so.
    "I guess," I muttered.
    There was a silence, and I shifted uncomfortably, my long talons sliding in and out. Suddenly, the other dragon spoke,
    "It's the Storm, isn't it?" Blazer said, tipping his head. "It's getting on everybody's nerves."
    I glanced past a clump of trees towards the distant storm clouds. I could see the lightning sparking, and the shadows growing darker.
    The Storm. The coming darkness we dragons had never expected to face. Every day, the storm clouds seemed to grow closer and closer to our peaceful little valley. When they reached it... who knew what would happen.
    I slowly nodded in response to Blazer's question. I turned my eyes away from the gathering clouds to the rippling stream again. The black dragon followed my gaze.
    Suddenly, a large, monsterous roar split the air, shaking the leaves of the trees. I leapt to my feet, as did Blazer.
    "A meeting?" I wondered aloud.
    "Or something else?" Blazer said, echoing my thoughts.
    I unfurled my light blue wings and took to the skies. A large whoosh from behind me told me that Blazer was following.
    I swooped towards the huge pile of rocks and boulders that lay towards the west side of the valley. I could see other dragons gathering there, and I guessed the loud call must have been signaling a meeting.
    I landed beside a dragon named Striker. He had rusty colored scales and an unusually long neck.
    "A meeting?" I asked him.
    Striker shrugged, his long tail coiling around one of his legs.
    I stared at the largest boulder of the pile, and saw a huge dragon emerge from behind it. His long fangs protruded from his gaping mouth, and his tiny wings worked to help the bulky form reach the top of the boulder. It was Grapple—the leader of the Valley Dragons.
    Striker and Blazer looked at him, as did all the other dragons, waiting from Grapple to speak.
    In a deep voice, he growled, "I have recieved a vision."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    Excellant

    In response to ellis grey- in a society of mediocracey, is clerverness really a bad thing? I have read this book, and It really is brilliantly written. Smith blends many genres, and references clasics such as Ulysses and Sunset Boulevard seemlessly, creating a very round and dynamic set of characters and plot. Not only is this book extremely intellectual, it manages to be such while also being completly amusing and heart-changing, bypassing the snobishness that usually follows an intellectual read. i whole-heartedly suggest this to anyone looking for an original read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    I liked this.

    I really liked how Ms. Smith has incorporated all these different kinds of races and characters into her books. I have also read White Teeth, and I actually like this book a bit better than the first. I suppose because it was a shorter and much easier to digest in a reading session. It was funny in some places and the first page that was cited - about how some things are Jewish and some Goyish - hilarious. I commend her writing and I hope to read more of her books in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2002

    not necessarily not what you wouldn't expect

    this book reminds me of theavocadopapers -- for all the attention that that website has gotten recently, most of that attention doesn't focus on what reviews of smith's new book have also not focused on: for the first twenty or so pages, you're like "what the..." then things start to come together. totally original, completely subversive (and yet you're aware in some way of being subverted, and you don't mind), mind-bending (but it's not painful), and perhaps all, wholly engrossing. I'd have given it five stars, but for the fact that smith hasn't yet figured out that she doesn't need to hide behind quite so much "cleverness."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1