Customer Reviews for

The Automatic Millionaire: A Powerful One-Step Plan to Live and Finish Rich

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I've purchased several finance books, even had others give me theirs hoping it would sink in.....whatever 'it' was the author was trying to say. I finally got overly tired and frustrated because their 'point' were all over the place. I didn't see a common thread, and ...
I've purchased several finance books, even had others give me theirs hoping it would sink in.....whatever 'it' was the author was trying to say. I finally got overly tired and frustrated because their 'point' were all over the place. I didn't see a common thread, and I normally put the book down because I was confused about where to start. THAT'S NOT THE CASE WITH THIS BOOK!!!! For the first time, there is a common thread....and he tells you where to start and tell you exactly what to do. I was so motivated to finish this book...I couldn't put it down. I read in 5 hours straight...you can too. I am by no means an avid reader, but I couldn't help myself because I had to continue removing the shackles and recieving all of these financial breakthroughs that putting the book down would have been a diservice. I've never finished a book before, but this one was highly significant!! I can't tell you enough how much I enjoyed and highly recommend this book!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Save your money

This is a very basic book. I can't believe he has made so much money off of this. Anyone reading this review could have written it. He has no original ideas. Basically it says to pay yourself first-i.e. automatically deduct contributions to 401k, auto deduct to savings,...
This is a very basic book. I can't believe he has made so much money off of this. Anyone reading this review could have written it. He has no original ideas. Basically it says to pay yourself first-i.e. automatically deduct contributions to 401k, auto deduct to savings, auto pay bills, do the bi-weekly mortgage payment, and stay out of credit card debt. There you have it. That's the book. I will have to admit that it did inspire me...if he can sell that many books with this content, then surely I can write a NYT bestseller!

posted by Anonymous on April 27, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    Make your money work for you

    Very good book. Lots of great ideas on how to get your money to work for you. I love how he tells you how other couples were also able to do it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2005

    Hall of Fame Book

    Besides the Bible, this is the most important book that I've ever read! Yes, it's that good. It's loaded with straight, forward advise on how to put your finances in order and how to automatically save for the future. Although the author is famous for the Latte factor, I would suggest to you that what makes this book better than the others is the realization that a person will not walk around with pen and paper recording life's daily expenses. Instead, the author teaches the automatic method for paying off your personal debt, mortgage, etc. and then investing money automatically for your future. It's working for my family every day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    It's as easy as having a conversation. . .

    That's right--the book reads as if David Bach is sitting with you at your kitchen table having a conversation about finances. I like the kind-hearted approach he takes, as well as the simplicity of his ideas. At any point in anyone's life, regardless of the circumstances, Bach's methods can be put to use immediately. The read goes quickly, and as soon as a question or thought is brewing in your mind, Bach addresses it. Specific examples, stories, companies, and contact information is listed, giving me a springboard and at least a few ideas to explore initially before researching on my own. But I won't be alone, as The Automatic Millionaire and David Bach are at my side through the entire financial journey. By the end of the introduction, I was hooked and on board. And believe me, by the end of the book, I had a plan. This book definitely takes the scariness and confusion out of finances. Good luck and happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    A must read. Here's why...

    This is a book that everyone should read and use. It gives very commonsense advice that almost anyone can put to good use and increase their net worth. Because we just don't get enough financial education in school, most readers are going to learn a lot from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2005

    Wish I had this 30 years ago

    Some people might call this an infomercial in a binding but all the information here is easy to understand and would certainly work if put to good use. This book should be required reading for all high school seniors in their economics classes. With all the resources available (online transfers, automatic payments etc.) there is no reason why any of us should not be able to retire with a decent savings and healthy financial status. Hurray to Bach for getting something so simple out into the wide open spaces. Easy reading, easy to understand and worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2004

    Read it!

    This book was very helpful and extrodinarily easy to understand. If everyone read this there would be alot less money problems in the world today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Awesome Book

    This book awesome. It's a very easy, quick read with no hard to understand jargon. Everything is very straight forward and easy to understand. I'm amazed at how easily one can save money and have already set up two different accounts now that I know what to do. I highly recommend this book for anyone who wants to save money and retire rich!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2004

    Great Book

    I really found this one useful and inspiring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    27 year old ready for the future

    My supervisor advised me to read this book and do my homework. I've never read a book that fast and was siked about it. It helped me realize that I am not preparing myself for the future. I told a couple of friends and most were surprised how immedatley I opened up a MMA, rainy day account and a CD for my 14 month daughter. This book now has me planning to buy my house and clean up my credit. I would recommend this book to teachers in high schools in the inner cities and residential suburbs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2004

    Learn, Plan, Implement, and Enjoy A More Prosperous Future

    Excellent book; very helpful even for the novice financial planner. Consider the monies spent to invest in purchasing this book as making a greater investment in your financial future. Another excellent book that will teach, motivate, encourage, and inspire is 'Dear Co-workers The Blessings Just Keep On Pouring In' -- not only will you receive information about how to build a more prosperous financial future, but you'll receive information about building up a more successful you throughout each area of your life -- home/family and in the workplace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    GRADUATION GIFTS

    I wish I'd had this 30 years ago when I graduated from school! I've bought multiple copies and will give this to all those college grads who are sending me announcements. They may be disappointed that they aren't getting a fat check, but in the long run this will help them out so much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2004

    Good Ideas that Make Getting Rich Easier!

    There are a lot of great ideas in here for getting rich without having to try too hard. I thought it was down to earth and very useable. I have started to do what it suggests in many areas and it is helping. Also, there is a book called 'Effortless WellBeing', by Evan Finer, that has done wonders for me in being great regardless of my finances or regardless of whether I am eliminating 'pleasures' like spending or eating. These are books that can help change your life greatly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2004

    Este Libro es de lo mejor!!!!

    Mi segundo idioma es Ingles, pero los numeros son los mismos en Ingles o en Español, y guardar dinero se puede hacer en cualquier idioma. PAGARSE A UNO MISMO PRIMERO! es el secreto de este libro. El libro es FANTASTICO!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    Fantastic book

    Even if you don't become a millionare it sets you up for the future by showing you how to save money easily.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    Cowabunga!!

    Wish I'd read this book about ten years ago. While I doubt I'll be a millionaire by next month, the book offers some very good sound financial advice to make your future much, much more secure. I consider this book to be very practical as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    Good for those not likely to read financial books

    The book is straightforward, short and easy to read. The author keeps to his main points, so the reader doesn't get bogged down in a lot of additonal information. There's nothing really new here, and no get-rich-quick schemes - instead, a simple, easy-to-understand foolproof method that will work over time. Numerical data and charts provide backup to convince the reader. The text is engaging and motivational. I'm buying copies for my two daughters and other young relatives - I'm hoping they find the section on starting to invest early in life as compelling as I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2004

    Truly outstanding

    This book offers quick, concise, concrete advice and a solid action plan for becoming a millionaire. The reviewer who did not feel like David's stock market advice was relevant did not understand David correctly and should re-read the book. This is the one and only financial guidebook I'll need or use. Buy it-- you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2004

    Direction

    I found this book extremely helpful , it gave me direction where to begin saving money and building a nest egg for myself, I highly recommend this book to anyone who needs assistance in saving money , I gave my eldest Son a copy for Easter. As for the Author it is great to see someone so already accomplished in life to reach out and help others who need guidance with Savings and retirement planning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2004

    Not a good book at all !!

    This book was just too simple. Would not recommend this to anyone. It is not as simple as he makes it sounds. Putting 10% of your money in a 401K does not guarantee that you will become a millionnaire. No one can predict the stock market, and he makes some very optimistic assumptions on the rate of return.... 8%, 10% etc..The market can stay flat for the next 20 years like it has done in the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2004

    THIS IS A MUST HAVE FOR EVERYONE!

    This book is a great investment no matter what your financial status or age is. I recommend this book to everyone ....its definitley priced less than its truly worth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5