Customer Reviews for

The Automatic Millionaire

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I've purchased several finance books, even had others give me theirs hoping it would sink in.....whatever 'it' was the author was trying to say. I finally got overly tired and frustrated because their 'point' were all over the place. I didn't see a common thread, and ...
I've purchased several finance books, even had others give me theirs hoping it would sink in.....whatever 'it' was the author was trying to say. I finally got overly tired and frustrated because their 'point' were all over the place. I didn't see a common thread, and I normally put the book down because I was confused about where to start. THAT'S NOT THE CASE WITH THIS BOOK!!!! For the first time, there is a common thread....and he tells you where to start and tell you exactly what to do. I was so motivated to finish this book...I couldn't put it down. I read in 5 hours straight...you can too. I am by no means an avid reader, but I couldn't help myself because I had to continue removing the shackles and recieving all of these financial breakthroughs that putting the book down would have been a diservice. I've never finished a book before, but this one was highly significant!! I can't tell you enough how much I enjoyed and highly recommend this book!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bach is a hack

I agree with a previous reviewer. Bach sat with other bestselling financial books, jotted down the main points, changed the jargon a little and put a catchy title on it and now is selling it. There are no original ideas in this. The 'automatic' he speaks of is simply ha...
I agree with a previous reviewer. Bach sat with other bestselling financial books, jotted down the main points, changed the jargon a little and put a catchy title on it and now is selling it. There are no original ideas in this. The 'automatic' he speaks of is simply having savings and/or 401K money automatically deducted from your paycheck...profound, huh? He says 'don't budget',etc. because he is saying that all you have to do is automatically deduct it before you get the money. That way 'you don't have to budget because it is already taken care of.' He has no new ideas. 'Pay yourself first' is from several other books including The Richest Man in Babylon. Other ideas are basic ideas he rehashes that you can find on any basic financial website. He only states very basic information that has been around forever. Oh, he does throw in many stories as fillers. To give him his due, as the show on CNBC that he was on recently stated, he did create 'the Latte factor'. What is that, you ask? He says to cut out a latte here and there, save/invest that money, and you will be a millionaire. Amazing,huh? On that show he said to save an hour's worth of pay per day. Again, he is saying basic financial concepts, but he changes the wording so that he seems to have substance. The title is misleading. This is a very disappointing book.

posted by Anonymous on April 23, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    A reviewer

    I've purchased several finance books, even had others give me theirs hoping it would sink in.....whatever 'it' was the author was trying to say. I finally got overly tired and frustrated because their 'point' were all over the place. I didn't see a common thread, and I normally put the book down because I was confused about where to start. THAT'S NOT THE CASE WITH THIS BOOK!!!! For the first time, there is a common thread....and he tells you where to start and tell you exactly what to do. I was so motivated to finish this book...I couldn't put it down. I read in 5 hours straight...you can too. I am by no means an avid reader, but I couldn't help myself because I had to continue removing the shackles and recieving all of these financial breakthroughs that putting the book down would have been a diservice. I've never finished a book before, but this one was highly significant!! I can't tell you enough how much I enjoyed and highly recommend this book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Bach is a hack

    I agree with a previous reviewer. Bach sat with other bestselling financial books, jotted down the main points, changed the jargon a little and put a catchy title on it and now is selling it. There are no original ideas in this. The 'automatic' he speaks of is simply having savings and/or 401K money automatically deducted from your paycheck...profound, huh? He says 'don't budget',etc. because he is saying that all you have to do is automatically deduct it before you get the money. That way 'you don't have to budget because it is already taken care of.' He has no new ideas. 'Pay yourself first' is from several other books including The Richest Man in Babylon. Other ideas are basic ideas he rehashes that you can find on any basic financial website. He only states very basic information that has been around forever. Oh, he does throw in many stories as fillers. To give him his due, as the show on CNBC that he was on recently stated, he did create 'the Latte factor'. What is that, you ask? He says to cut out a latte here and there, save/invest that money, and you will be a millionaire. Amazing,huh? On that show he said to save an hour's worth of pay per day. Again, he is saying basic financial concepts, but he changes the wording so that he seems to have substance. The title is misleading. This is a very disappointing book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Highly recommended. Very helpful, even being 4 years old.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    Awesome!

    I found the book to be an easy, useful & helpful book. There were things I hadn't thought of and this book simplified things for me. I highly recommend it and now have my 19 year old reading it as well. Buy a copy. It's worth it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Disappointed

    Not very inspiring, the majority of the content has to do with pumping the reader on real estate. No original ideas. Would benefit from other more straight forward books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    Outstanding Book

    Bach shows you a simple, automatic way to create a path to financial freedom. His examples are interesting and easy to apply to real life situations. This book prompted immediate and lasting changes to my finances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2007

    A must read for anyone just graduating college!!

    If you are just graduating college or just starting out in life you must read this book. It is a very easy read and very easy to understand. I read it in 1 sitting. It explains how easy it can be to retire rich by following the few easy steps outlined in the book. By far the best book I have read on planing for retirement.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2006

    An Eye Opener

    The Automatic Millionaire is a real 'eye opener'. After reading the Automatic Millionaire I learned practical financial advice that changed my perspective on becoming a millionaire. David Bach, along with the couple he spoke about in this book gives people like me hope. Without the knowledge of the crucial steps for becoming an automatic millionaire, it would seem that only the 'rich gets richer' and the 'poor gets poorer'. It's more than becoming a millionaire rather, it's about becoming financially independent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2006

    I'm 21 and this changed my life!

    After my father gave me this book, I just let it sit on my bookshelf. Until one day I picked it up and read the first few pages and ended up reading the entire thing in one night! I can't believe everything I learned from this book! I'm on my way to a secure life and retirement, thanks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    Save your money

    This is a very basic book. I can't believe he has made so much money off of this. Anyone reading this review could have written it. He has no original ideas. Basically it says to pay yourself first-i.e. automatically deduct contributions to 401k, auto deduct to savings, auto pay bills, do the bi-weekly mortgage payment, and stay out of credit card debt. There you have it. That's the book. I will have to admit that it did inspire me...if he can sell that many books with this content, then surely I can write a NYT bestseller!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2005

    Not bad, but not great.

    The book kind of dissapointed me. It repeated things many books before its time stated and it was kind of annoying. The 10% idea i read in The Richest Man in Babylon, and Pay yourself first concept was from the Rich dad poor dad series. the book did have some interesting chapters though. i like the money market suggestions and the mortgage suggestions also. If you havent read many books on the subject of money before than this will be a very good read, but if you have itll just leave you a bit dissapointed. id suggest borrowing the book from a friend, which is what i did. like i said, not bad but nothing great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2014

    5. Excellent Book. I had read many books on Financial issues, b

    5. Excellent Book.
    I had read many books on Financial issues, but never a book so brilliant and honest like this one.
    5 Stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    It works!

    I bought this book after reading the first few pages. The theories may not be "new" to many but the author's writing style made it easy to swallow the advice he shares. By making automatic payments to myself, understanding the advantage of pumping up my 401k contribution I have reaped the reward of watching it steadily grow over the years ....changing contribution to a percentage versus a set amount monthly has also resulted in living with my ability to increase in a few percentages every 6 months.
    I was in credit card debt but using the DOLP theory I was quite pleased to discover how well it worked when applied.
    I have since gifted my college aged son this book, and happy to report he pays himself and learning to save better, NOW.
    I highly highly recommend this book to anyone who thinks they have no "extra" money to save.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    This was a gift

    This book was not for myself but, for a friend. So far it has given him wonderful ideas on how to help you save money. It's not a get rich quick book but, a book to show you how to cut back and what to look for. So that when you put several of them together you save money in the long rus. Working for him. Woth a shot the only way to fail is for you not to do or try hard or even long enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    great learn to save book

    this book is primarily designed to help people learn to save money. it gives ideas on how to erase debt and save for retirement. the only real investment ideas it gives is to buy a house other than that it basically gives example on how to save money and different ideas to save. the most compelling part of this book are his examples on how to erase credit card debt and pay down mortgages. he also gives websites and phone numbers for financial institutions designed to help pay down debt or pay off a house early.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    Good Book

    This is a great book for people starting out, but anyone can learn from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2007

    Excellent for the Young, but lacking for those who are older...

    This is an excellent book for those young enough to wait 30 to 40 years for their plan to work. If you are like me (20's and 30's are in your past), then there is still good information, but you will need to keep looking for a plan that will work for you. Check out Start Late, Finish Rich by David Bach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2006

    Opens up your eyes

    This is a very good book that opens up your eyes. I would strongly recommend it to young people starting out. It gives numerous examples of ways you can invest money for yourself and your future. It gave you a great picture of what you're giving up in the years to come if you don't act financially responsible now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    GET THE COMPACT DISCS....AWESOME!!!

    Your own personal financial advisor!!! I drive a truck at night and got the audio disc so now I take David Bach with me over the road. He reads his book like he's a friend and sitting in the passengers seat. The information and tips on making money are the best I've heard yet. The Latte Factor and the Homeowner tips are saving me thousands of $$$. Everytime I listen I catch something new and I've listened to it at least 4 times....all 5 CD's. Best money I've ever spent.....and I don't do debt either!!!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2006

    18 and looking for a future to drive towards

    This book establishes the financial guidelines that every person should know, follow and love. Not finishing this book can lead to certain financial confusion. Buy this book for anyone that you love and wish a comfortable financial future for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5