Customer Reviews for

The Automatic Millionaire: A Powerful One-Step Plan to Live and Finish Rich

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I've purchased several finance books, even had others give me theirs hoping it would sink in.....whatever 'it' was the author was trying to say. I finally got overly tired and frustrated because their 'point' were all over the place. I didn't see a common thread, and ...
I've purchased several finance books, even had others give me theirs hoping it would sink in.....whatever 'it' was the author was trying to say. I finally got overly tired and frustrated because their 'point' were all over the place. I didn't see a common thread, and I normally put the book down because I was confused about where to start. THAT'S NOT THE CASE WITH THIS BOOK!!!! For the first time, there is a common thread....and he tells you where to start and tell you exactly what to do. I was so motivated to finish this book...I couldn't put it down. I read in 5 hours straight...you can too. I am by no means an avid reader, but I couldn't help myself because I had to continue removing the shackles and recieving all of these financial breakthroughs that putting the book down would have been a diservice. I've never finished a book before, but this one was highly significant!! I can't tell you enough how much I enjoyed and highly recommend this book!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Save your money

This is a very basic book. I can't believe he has made so much money off of this. Anyone reading this review could have written it. He has no original ideas. Basically it says to pay yourself first-i.e. automatically deduct contributions to 401k, auto deduct to savings,...
This is a very basic book. I can't believe he has made so much money off of this. Anyone reading this review could have written it. He has no original ideas. Basically it says to pay yourself first-i.e. automatically deduct contributions to 401k, auto deduct to savings, auto pay bills, do the bi-weekly mortgage payment, and stay out of credit card debt. There you have it. That's the book. I will have to admit that it did inspire me...if he can sell that many books with this content, then surely I can write a NYT bestseller!

posted by Anonymous on April 27, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    A reviewer

    I've purchased several finance books, even had others give me theirs hoping it would sink in.....whatever 'it' was the author was trying to say. I finally got overly tired and frustrated because their 'point' were all over the place. I didn't see a common thread, and I normally put the book down because I was confused about where to start. THAT'S NOT THE CASE WITH THIS BOOK!!!! For the first time, there is a common thread....and he tells you where to start and tell you exactly what to do. I was so motivated to finish this book...I couldn't put it down. I read in 5 hours straight...you can too. I am by no means an avid reader, but I couldn't help myself because I had to continue removing the shackles and recieving all of these financial breakthroughs that putting the book down would have been a diservice. I've never finished a book before, but this one was highly significant!! I can't tell you enough how much I enjoyed and highly recommend this book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    Awesome!

    I found the book to be an easy, useful & helpful book. There were things I hadn't thought of and this book simplified things for me. I highly recommend it and now have my 19 year old reading it as well. Buy a copy. It's worth it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    Outstanding Book

    Bach shows you a simple, automatic way to create a path to financial freedom. His examples are interesting and easy to apply to real life situations. This book prompted immediate and lasting changes to my finances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2007

    A must read for anyone just graduating college!!

    If you are just graduating college or just starting out in life you must read this book. It is a very easy read and very easy to understand. I read it in 1 sitting. It explains how easy it can be to retire rich by following the few easy steps outlined in the book. By far the best book I have read on planing for retirement.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2006

    An Eye Opener

    The Automatic Millionaire is a real 'eye opener'. After reading the Automatic Millionaire I learned practical financial advice that changed my perspective on becoming a millionaire. David Bach, along with the couple he spoke about in this book gives people like me hope. Without the knowledge of the crucial steps for becoming an automatic millionaire, it would seem that only the 'rich gets richer' and the 'poor gets poorer'. It's more than becoming a millionaire rather, it's about becoming financially independent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2006

    I'm 21 and this changed my life!

    After my father gave me this book, I just let it sit on my bookshelf. Until one day I picked it up and read the first few pages and ended up reading the entire thing in one night! I can't believe everything I learned from this book! I'm on my way to a secure life and retirement, thanks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2014

    5. Excellent Book. I had read many books on Financial issues, b

    5. Excellent Book.
    I had read many books on Financial issues, but never a book so brilliant and honest like this one.
    5 Stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    It works!

    I bought this book after reading the first few pages. The theories may not be "new" to many but the author's writing style made it easy to swallow the advice he shares. By making automatic payments to myself, understanding the advantage of pumping up my 401k contribution I have reaped the reward of watching it steadily grow over the years ....changing contribution to a percentage versus a set amount monthly has also resulted in living with my ability to increase in a few percentages every 6 months.
    I was in credit card debt but using the DOLP theory I was quite pleased to discover how well it worked when applied.
    I have since gifted my college aged son this book, and happy to report he pays himself and learning to save better, NOW.
    I highly highly recommend this book to anyone who thinks they have no "extra" money to save.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    great learn to save book

    this book is primarily designed to help people learn to save money. it gives ideas on how to erase debt and save for retirement. the only real investment ideas it gives is to buy a house other than that it basically gives example on how to save money and different ideas to save. the most compelling part of this book are his examples on how to erase credit card debt and pay down mortgages. he also gives websites and phone numbers for financial institutions designed to help pay down debt or pay off a house early.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2007

    Excellent for the Young, but lacking for those who are older...

    This is an excellent book for those young enough to wait 30 to 40 years for their plan to work. If you are like me (20's and 30's are in your past), then there is still good information, but you will need to keep looking for a plan that will work for you. Check out Start Late, Finish Rich by David Bach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2006

    Opens up your eyes

    This is a very good book that opens up your eyes. I would strongly recommend it to young people starting out. It gives numerous examples of ways you can invest money for yourself and your future. It gave you a great picture of what you're giving up in the years to come if you don't act financially responsible now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    GET THE COMPACT DISCS....AWESOME!!!

    Your own personal financial advisor!!! I drive a truck at night and got the audio disc so now I take David Bach with me over the road. He reads his book like he's a friend and sitting in the passengers seat. The information and tips on making money are the best I've heard yet. The Latte Factor and the Homeowner tips are saving me thousands of $$$. Everytime I listen I catch something new and I've listened to it at least 4 times....all 5 CD's. Best money I've ever spent.....and I don't do debt either!!!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2006

    18 and looking for a future to drive towards

    This book establishes the financial guidelines that every person should know, follow and love. Not finishing this book can lead to certain financial confusion. Buy this book for anyone that you love and wish a comfortable financial future for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2005

    Hall of Fame Book

    Besides the Bible, this is the most important book that I've ever read! Yes, it's that good. It's loaded with straight, forward advise on how to put your finances in order and how to automatically save for the future. Although the author is famous for the Latte factor, I would suggest to you that what makes this book better than the others is the realization that a person will not walk around with pen and paper recording life's daily expenses. Instead, the author teaches the automatic method for paying off your personal debt, mortgage, etc. and then investing money automatically for your future. It's working for my family every day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    It's as easy as having a conversation. . .

    That's right--the book reads as if David Bach is sitting with you at your kitchen table having a conversation about finances. I like the kind-hearted approach he takes, as well as the simplicity of his ideas. At any point in anyone's life, regardless of the circumstances, Bach's methods can be put to use immediately. The read goes quickly, and as soon as a question or thought is brewing in your mind, Bach addresses it. Specific examples, stories, companies, and contact information is listed, giving me a springboard and at least a few ideas to explore initially before researching on my own. But I won't be alone, as The Automatic Millionaire and David Bach are at my side through the entire financial journey. By the end of the introduction, I was hooked and on board. And believe me, by the end of the book, I had a plan. This book definitely takes the scariness and confusion out of finances. Good luck and happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    A must read. Here's why...

    This is a book that everyone should read and use. It gives very commonsense advice that almost anyone can put to good use and increase their net worth. Because we just don't get enough financial education in school, most readers are going to learn a lot from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2005

    Wish I had this 30 years ago

    Some people might call this an infomercial in a binding but all the information here is easy to understand and would certainly work if put to good use. This book should be required reading for all high school seniors in their economics classes. With all the resources available (online transfers, automatic payments etc.) there is no reason why any of us should not be able to retire with a decent savings and healthy financial status. Hurray to Bach for getting something so simple out into the wide open spaces. Easy reading, easy to understand and worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2004

    Read it!

    This book was very helpful and extrodinarily easy to understand. If everyone read this there would be alot less money problems in the world today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Awesome Book

    This book awesome. It's a very easy, quick read with no hard to understand jargon. Everything is very straight forward and easy to understand. I'm amazed at how easily one can save money and have already set up two different accounts now that I know what to do. I highly recommend this book for anyone who wants to save money and retire rich!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2004

    Learn, Plan, Implement, and Enjoy A More Prosperous Future

    Excellent book; very helpful even for the novice financial planner. Consider the monies spent to invest in purchasing this book as making a greater investment in your financial future. Another excellent book that will teach, motivate, encourage, and inspire is 'Dear Co-workers The Blessings Just Keep On Pouring In' -- not only will you receive information about how to build a more prosperous financial future, but you'll receive information about building up a more successful you throughout each area of your life -- home/family and in the workplace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3