Customer Reviews for

The Automatic Millionaire: A Powerful One-Step Plan to Live and Finish Rich

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I've purchased several finance books, even had others give me theirs hoping it would sink in.....whatever 'it' was the author was trying to say. I finally got overly tired and frustrated because their 'point' were all over the place. I didn't see a common thread, and ...
I've purchased several finance books, even had others give me theirs hoping it would sink in.....whatever 'it' was the author was trying to say. I finally got overly tired and frustrated because their 'point' were all over the place. I didn't see a common thread, and I normally put the book down because I was confused about where to start. THAT'S NOT THE CASE WITH THIS BOOK!!!! For the first time, there is a common thread....and he tells you where to start and tell you exactly what to do. I was so motivated to finish this book...I couldn't put it down. I read in 5 hours straight...you can too. I am by no means an avid reader, but I couldn't help myself because I had to continue removing the shackles and recieving all of these financial breakthroughs that putting the book down would have been a diservice. I've never finished a book before, but this one was highly significant!! I can't tell you enough how much I enjoyed and highly recommend this book!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bach is a hack

I agree with a previous reviewer. Bach sat with other bestselling financial books, jotted down the main points, changed the jargon a little and put a catchy title on it and now is selling it. There are no original ideas in this. The 'automatic' he speaks of is simply ha...
I agree with a previous reviewer. Bach sat with other bestselling financial books, jotted down the main points, changed the jargon a little and put a catchy title on it and now is selling it. There are no original ideas in this. The 'automatic' he speaks of is simply having savings and/or 401K money automatically deducted from your paycheck...profound, huh? He says 'don't budget',etc. because he is saying that all you have to do is automatically deduct it before you get the money. That way 'you don't have to budget because it is already taken care of.' He has no new ideas. 'Pay yourself first' is from several other books including The Richest Man in Babylon. Other ideas are basic ideas he rehashes that you can find on any basic financial website. He only states very basic information that has been around forever. Oh, he does throw in many stories as fillers. To give him his due, as the show on CNBC that he was on recently stated, he did create 'the Latte factor'. What is that, you ask? He says to cut out a latte here and there, save/invest that money, and you will be a millionaire. Amazing,huh? On that show he said to save an hour's worth of pay per day. Again, he is saying basic financial concepts, but he changes the wording so that he seems to have substance. The title is misleading. This is a very disappointing book.

posted by Anonymous on April 23, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    Beachbaby Bound

    With his simplistic, quick suggestions, anyone disciplined enough to follow through with less than a few hours for the rest of their financial life should have enough to retire on very comfortably. Ask a few questions of pros for help with portfolio diversification. Terrific book for 15 to 60 year olds!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    Excellent!! Put your financial life on 'autopilot'

    This book will show you how to put your financial life on autopilot and help you to achieve more wealth automatically. There is also another excellent book which will show you how to put your mind and body on 'autopilot' for better health and success called 'The Power of Positive Habits' a good combination for a better life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    good book

    I really liked this book, it gave lots of information on who to contact for additional info regarding investing, mortgages and the like! quite simple to understand. I recommend it to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2004

    Excellent

    I first heard about this book on Oprah and figured since she recommended him, he must be at least decent. I ordered it and read it in about two days. It was all the information that my parents told me growing up but put it in a great perspective. I've since have had several friends and family members read it and plan to continue to spread the simple, but impossible to pass up knowledge to everyone I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    Overpromise, Underdeliver!

    This book is disappointing because it takes advantage of the financially ignorant by portraying the stock market as 'cash cow'. What do you do when the market goes away?! Crunch the numbers for yourself. Contribute $12,000 per year for the next 30 years at a conservative 6.5% and you will have $1M! But, calculate the present value of that at 3% discount rate for inflation and you only have $427,000. Not a millionaire, now! Not so encouraging is it??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    Excellent book to diminish financial stress

    This book is great because it offers strategies to help the reader get the basic rules of saving and investing automated. To be a top notch investor, we need to be in control of our emotions and make the right choices with the computer between our ears. This book will help. 5 Stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2004

    This Book Is Super Fantastic!!!!

    Okay, first I have read so many financial books and I work in financing and investments and I will tell you that this book will open your eyes to how you spend your money and why you are throwing away millions of dollars over the long run. This book is for the person that makes 18,000 a year to making unlimited income and you will still find out how anyone can become a millionaire over a few years. He is helping you to find out why you spend, how you spend and how to break little spending habits that we have that are costing us big bucks. I finished this book within 3 days and I put all of his techniques of making my investments automatic and it is so easy. Reading this book I discovered that I was spending almost $20 a day from morning to lunch at work on unnecessary snacks and over priced foods that I could have made at home. When I added it up I was spending thousands of dollars a year on nonsense. I just adjusted my spending on the little things that was costing me my future millions. I am reading the book again so now I can take more notes on investing in real estate and how to finish paying for it 5-10 years earlier with one little trick that will make you go, 'Oh now that's a good one.' All I can say is this book is golden and all you have to do is follow it step by step and it even gives you resources for each section. This book is FABULOUS, SIMPLY FABULOUS!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    Common sense advice for the layman

    The book is an easy read and contains a good combination of insight, practical advice and summaries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    EASY TO IMPLEMENT: An effective strategy for all ages!

    It's human nature...when overwhelmed with complex financial information we end up THINKING more than actually DOING. Sound familiar? Not this book! The Automatic Millionaire is the first book I've read that actually helped me through the process of 'what to do next' in order to accomplish my goals in a realistic manner. I'm on my way and you can be too! David Bach has succeeded in presenting us with IMPLEMENTABLE steps that can be used immediately to put you on the pathway to your own financial security. Regardless of your age or income, acting on the information in this book will change your life. YOU NEED THIS BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    Life-changing

    While you often hear about books that will 'change your life,' the Automatic Millionaire really will. This easy to read, easy to follow book has such a simple message, but one that has had a profound impact on my life. Putting David Bach's methods into practice has given me peace of mind and a true sense of accomplishment. I would urge everyone to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    highly recommended

    I was fortunate to be a participant of David Bach's Coaching Program for this book. I have always stressed over my finances. This book taught me how to wisely automate my financial life. I have followed the advice in the book and can honestly say the stress has greatly declined. The book is an easy read. The advice makes it easy for you to set your financial plan in motion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    The best yet!

    Bach is a visionary when it comes to a common sense approach for redirecting your finanial life. This book can't be missed. The information presented is down-to-earth and super approachable. Bach's passion and incredible knowledge shines through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    Best Financial Book of the Year

    I think this book and the 'Smart Couples Finish Rich' or 'Smart Women Finish Rich' are the best basic financial planning books out there. They deal with the financial decisions that people make everyday. They are quick, inspiring, informative reads that outline easy action steps that anyone can implement and will have a dramatic impact on their financial future. After reading the book, I took the steps to double our retirement savings, shave 14 years off our mortgage payments and eliminate all non-mortgage debt in three years. Surprisingly, it wasn't as hard to do as I thought it would be. Most importantly, my relationship with my wife is not tinged by the tension that used to be a part of most of our 'financial discussions.' I plan on giving this book as a gift to all the people I care about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    I want to be a millionaire

    After reading Bach's book, I feel like I too can live and finish rich!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    A Must READ!

    I seen this book mentioned on Oprah & had to have it. It has to be the best book on getting control of your financial health! WOW! Easy read & simple life-changing steps to get where you want to be financially!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    This Book Makes Amazing Cents

    An amazing financial book that I have devoured in one sitting; the reading actually makes you feel an overwhelming excitement about the path you are about to take to financial stress freedom. It is an easy read and David's plan makes perfect sense. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2004

    Simplify your Life...do it automatically and have financial Freedom!

    A very simple book with an amazing GAIN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2004

    Protecting Your Future is Simple

    Too many people put things off-and then pay for it. Making things automatic simplifies your life and eases your mind. I have had our finances on automatic for 10 years and I quit worrying about getting bills paid on time and how much we put in our retirement plan this year. When you have a busy career and like to travel, everything is done for you! I have also participated in David's phone seminars and do seminars based on his other book: Smart Women Finish Rich. The things he advises are so simple-yet why do so many still refuse to try it? Late fees add up, as well as paying the higher interest rates on credit cards-why take the chance? Start saving when you are young-you don't miss what you don't have. Discipline yourself to have 10% taken out from day 1 and you cannot imagine what you will be there when you retire-you will be a millionaire! David's advise is easy-take it from someone who has long-term results! My clients tell me that since I have been recommending this, they spend less and have more in their checking accounts than they ever have, and a savings for the first time in years! Thanks for putting it into these terms, David.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 5