Customer Reviews for

Autumn

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good Story!

I enjoy zombie novels and I found this one interesting. Plot was good and I liked to see that for once there was the military involved so the plot is based around basically the lives of three main characters, each with their own internal struggles and this is the story...
I enjoy zombie novels and I found this one interesting. Plot was good and I liked to see that for once there was the military involved so the plot is based around basically the lives of three main characters, each with their own internal struggles and this is the story of how they deal with the basic end of human civilization. I also liked how the zombies actually evolve and it is interesting in how the three deal with the new threat.

posted by Liston on June 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

slightly disappointing

i thought that autumn was a british spin-off version of night of the living dead, it was very tedious in the first 3/4 of the book, i waited and waited for something sudden and suspenceful to happen but it never did, there just wasnt enough action you would expect from...
i thought that autumn was a british spin-off version of night of the living dead, it was very tedious in the first 3/4 of the book, i waited and waited for something sudden and suspenceful to happen but it never did, there just wasnt enough action you would expect from a zobie novel, i thought it was simply a waste of money and time, sorry but it's the truth, it was not a book for true zombie lovers.

posted by Anonymous on January 25, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Good Story!

    I enjoy zombie novels and I found this one interesting. Plot was good and I liked to see that for once there was the military involved so the plot is based around basically the lives of three main characters, each with their own internal struggles and this is the story of how they deal with the basic end of human civilization. I also liked how the zombies actually evolve and it is interesting in how the three deal with the new threat.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2007

    slightly disappointing

    i thought that autumn was a british spin-off version of night of the living dead, it was very tedious in the first 3/4 of the book, i waited and waited for something sudden and suspenceful to happen but it never did, there just wasnt enough action you would expect from a zobie novel, i thought it was simply a waste of money and time, sorry but it's the truth, it was not a book for true zombie lovers.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    Amateurish

    'Autumn' features a promising horror premise -- a combination of a rapid, lethal plague and the appearance of menacing, undead corpses. In other words, nothing original. The prose is clumsy and amateurish (self-conscious alliteration, awkward syntax, pointless shifts from third- to first-person and back, and just too many adverbs). Having established a milieu and characters, the author doesn't know what to do with them (judging from the aimless, repetitive plotting). The word 'zombie' never appears in the novel, but there's no denying that the work is about 90% derivative of the films of George Romero. I have, frankly, seen better-written fanfiction. We can only hope that David Moody's skills improve in the later books.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Not worth it.

    This book is OK, don't get me wrong. But the entire time I was reading this book, I kept going through moments of " why am I still reading this?"
    The entire plot, or general lack there of, was pretty much set up like this.

    We have to move on- no we have to stay- no we have to leave this place we just moved to- no we need to stay here even though its not safe- maybe its time we move on now- nah, the zomibes know we are here lets just stay.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended for those who want a different zombie experience

    I, myself, am a big fan of zombie novels, movies, games, et cetera.

    This one is definitely one of my favorites. Autumn takes you on a short campaign for survival with three characters, Michael, Emma, and Carl. They each have different personalities but all of them have one thing in common; they must survive.

    After a bout with some other survivors the three head off to find solitude and safety away from the cities.

    The difference in this zombie novel and other zombie stuff is how the zombies work. When they first come back alive, they're mobile and stupid. However, as time progresses, the zombies start becoming smarter and begin to disintegrate. The novel never says "zombies," but it's pretty obvious what they are.

    Someone said that there wasn't enough "action" for a zombie novel but I feel that it was a great change from the usual. Most zombie fiction is JAM PACKED with action and shooting and all that. However, this book offers a more logical, and to me, a more real story of what would happen in the event of a zombie apocalypse.

    No one would be handy dandy with chainsaws or masters with a gun after never holding one before and certainly no one would know what to do right away. The book, in a sense, is much more REAL.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book!

    This is the first book in a series about surviving in a zombie-filled world. I finished it in 6 hours - easy, fast read, with a different perspective. I recommend it to anyone that likes zombies or apocolyptic type stories. I can't wait to get the 2nd book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    pretty lame

    What ever happened to character development and plot. There was very little interesting about this book. [Spoiler] It really was nothing more than People die, dead people rise, live people run and hide... sorry I spoiled the book for you.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Zombieeeeeeee!

    Great book....unputdownable (lol) This book had me in suspense the whole time while reading. It is hard for a book to completely captivate me yet David Moody continues to do so. I highly recommend this book and without yet reading the rest of the series I just know the other Autumn books are just as good (just started Autumn: the city) and recommend them. Hater Trilogy as well...so far David Moody fails to disappoint!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    A GREAT READ EVEN IF YOU DON'T LIKE ZOMBIES!

    Love David Moody's Hater triology and just as happy with this trilogy. Always wondered why people can't get away from a slow moving zombie in the movies - well this book gives you an idea of what you are up against. You will not be disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an enjoyable cerebral zombie thriller

    In less than twenty-four hours, billions are dead. The virus killed so fast that on one block a William Price was first to go and within five minutes his entire street had become a cemetery. Less than 1% of mankind survived the first wave. Those who do are in shock as they say good-bye to loved ones and in Britain they soon realize when no one responds to 999 or anything on the radio that civilization as they know it is over.

    Factory mechanic Carl Henshawe cannot believe his beloved wife and their little girl is dead. Computer company executive Michael Collins gives lecture to a class of teens ignoring him when he horrifically watches them die. Fighting a cold medical student Emma Mitchell skips class and goes to the nearby shop to buy food only to see the owner and other patrons die. The few survivors find one another at a dilapidated community center waiting for first responders who never come. Instead as supplies dwindle, the dead begin to reanimate. The noise of the living disturbs the undead and even loved ones are coming to silence those who have not changed; the only thing that stops them is their rotting flesh.

    This is an enjoyable cerebral zombie thriller in which David Moody looks deep into the souls of those who survived the virus; for instance others like Phillip struggle to move on pass a deceased loved one. Slowly the few humans find civilization stripped bare until the only thing left is whether it is worth the fight to stay alive. Though the story line is at times deliberately slow as Michael, Carl and Emma rotate internal pensive musings, readers who relish a different bite on zombies will appreciate the grim moody atmosphere of Autumn.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Autumn series

    I read this book in just one day. I enjoyed it so much, I read the entire series. For anyone who enjoys the many interpretations of a zombie apocalypse this series is a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Read this series folks

    I'm biased, as I really love all of David Moody's books. I am currently on book (4) of this series; & though (4) is not ast great as (1,2, &3), I can tell it's headed somewhere quickly. I definitely recommend the Autumn series. Don't be angry that he never uses the word "zombie", as this makes the books that more believable. Autumn: Purification is AMAZING, so hurr up and read the first (2) books so you can get to the third. If you like Moody's writing style, I suggest you read the Hater Trilogy - PHENOMENAL! Happy dystopic reading to you all ;0)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Eh...

    I'll give this book three stars only because I like this genre and because I found the plot unique and interesting. With that said, I found it hard to finish because of the characters and their (non)development and also because the author didn't describe things in detail. Example: One of the main char's lost his daughter and wife and was in turn devestated t/out the whole book. Understandable. Where the problem arises is that the author never made us feel or see WHY he was devestated. It got to the point where i was annoyed when it was brought up! The author should have included accounts of what made those people special to the character and made us feel sad that he had lost them.
    Overall, a great idea for a zombie book, especially w how he gave the usual zombie stories a twist, but definitely could have been better executed and certainly not worth 10 bucks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    So poorly written...

    I give this 2 stars because I find the genre interesting and because people untroubled by poor writing may be fine with it.

    I, howver, cannot handle reading material when it is: empty of descriptive narrative, full of contradictory statements (from one paragraph to the next the author states things in complete opposition to what he just wrote), and completeky oblivious to the basic premise that when an author brings things up in the narrative, they can't just be constantly dropped/igmored/never mentioned again.

    The characters are as empty, if not more so, than the walking dead around them.

    I kept reading, but finally had to stop around 150 pages because I just couldn't take it anymore - I try really hard to finish a book, even when bad, but it began to feel like masochism.

    I respect anybody that can complete the work of writing a book(s), honestly, but I wish to warn readers who find style to be an important asppect of their reading enjoyment that this material is awful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    poorly written

    no character development or plot.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Simplistic and full of errors, but a fun read.

    Not as good as the other series by Moody, but a fun read nonetheless. The entire series could use a proofreader for the e-books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    cerebral thriller

    Great book for the more cerebral zombie lover, but judging by the previous reviews, it's not for everyone. My guess is that those who simply crave the blood, guts and gore won't like it. If you like survivalist, post-apocalyptic story lines, then this is for you. it doesn't bash you over the head with the horror, it creeps it slowly but thoroughly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Excellent spin off from the typical zombie books!

    Before you base your opinion from reviews as to whether or not you should purchase the series, keep an open mind when I tell you that this is not a "zombie" book where they eat brains like most books/movies portray. When I first decided to read the series, I had believed it to be another zombie story and the survival of few in a post-apocolyptic world. Author, David Moody, created a whole new persepective and idea relating to a catostrophic event, few survivors, and the walking dead (he never once refers to them as zombies). You will soon find out the the "dead" are not looking to eat the living, but are guided by a different desire. The characters that you are introduced to in this book are developed in a way that can only be true if one was unfortunate to be one of the survivors in this kind of world. I have read many comments regarding the development of the characters, some positive and negative, but when you read the book and put yourself into the characters position, what kind of opinion or motivation would you have other than surviving with a future looking bleak? I am currently reading the third book, Autumn Purification, and the course the story is taking is remarkable. Kudos to you, David Moody, for creating a story such as this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    You dont need intelligence to survive thr zombies!

    Imagine a horror movie where every main character is constantly doing things that make you scream at the screen "Dont do that! Its stupid!" ... Then put that experience in book form.

    At first I found this book hard to read because every main character did things that either made no sense or was just outright stupid. Then I realized that they were all supposed to be well below average intelligence. Once I figured that out, the book became less painful to read and I was even able to enjoy it... because even stupid people can have a story in the zombie apocalypse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Bramblestar- BriarClan medicine cat den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6