Customer Reviews for

Autumn

Average Rating 4
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good Story!

I enjoy zombie novels and I found this one interesting. Plot was good and I liked to see that for once there was the military involved so the plot is based around basically the lives of three main characters, each with their own internal struggles and this is the story...
I enjoy zombie novels and I found this one interesting. Plot was good and I liked to see that for once there was the military involved so the plot is based around basically the lives of three main characters, each with their own internal struggles and this is the story of how they deal with the basic end of human civilization. I also liked how the zombies actually evolve and it is interesting in how the three deal with the new threat.

posted by Liston on June 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

slightly disappointing

i thought that autumn was a british spin-off version of night of the living dead, it was very tedious in the first 3/4 of the book, i waited and waited for something sudden and suspenceful to happen but it never did, there just wasnt enough action you would expect from...
i thought that autumn was a british spin-off version of night of the living dead, it was very tedious in the first 3/4 of the book, i waited and waited for something sudden and suspenceful to happen but it never did, there just wasnt enough action you would expect from a zobie novel, i thought it was simply a waste of money and time, sorry but it's the truth, it was not a book for true zombie lovers.

posted by Anonymous on January 25, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    Amateurish

    'Autumn' features a promising horror premise -- a combination of a rapid, lethal plague and the appearance of menacing, undead corpses. In other words, nothing original. The prose is clumsy and amateurish (self-conscious alliteration, awkward syntax, pointless shifts from third- to first-person and back, and just too many adverbs). Having established a milieu and characters, the author doesn't know what to do with them (judging from the aimless, repetitive plotting). The word 'zombie' never appears in the novel, but there's no denying that the work is about 90% derivative of the films of George Romero. I have, frankly, seen better-written fanfiction. We can only hope that David Moody's skills improve in the later books.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Eh...

    I'll give this book three stars only because I like this genre and because I found the plot unique and interesting. With that said, I found it hard to finish because of the characters and their (non)development and also because the author didn't describe things in detail. Example: One of the main char's lost his daughter and wife and was in turn devestated t/out the whole book. Understandable. Where the problem arises is that the author never made us feel or see WHY he was devestated. It got to the point where i was annoyed when it was brought up! The author should have included accounts of what made those people special to the character and made us feel sad that he had lost them.
    Overall, a great idea for a zombie book, especially w how he gave the usual zombie stories a twist, but definitely could have been better executed and certainly not worth 10 bucks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    You dont need intelligence to survive thr zombies!

    Imagine a horror movie where every main character is constantly doing things that make you scream at the screen "Dont do that! Its stupid!" ... Then put that experience in book form.

    At first I found this book hard to read because every main character did things that either made no sense or was just outright stupid. Then I realized that they were all supposed to be well below average intelligence. Once I figured that out, the book became less painful to read and I was even able to enjoy it... because even stupid people can have a story in the zombie apocalypse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Interesting

    The writing was well done with a continuous story flow, but not crazy about the characters and their decision making abilities (even allowing for the shock of what happened), which makes parts of the book very frustrating. Has some obvious elements of 28 Days later & Night of the Living Dead, but acceptable. While I would still be willing to read the rest of the series, I will not pay 9.99 per book--I'll wait until they drop to 2.99 or 3.99 and then it may be worth it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Very good

    This book hooked me by the very first page. I don't usually read books like this, but the gruesome imagery and strangeness on the first page, made me want to read more. And when I started reading more, I wanted to know what happened! I recommend this book to anyone, not just those who like the idea of zombies. This book was very good, and I was surprised. I'm not really into the whole zombie, dead person walking thing. Some parts could have been better, like the whole beginning with all of the survivors. I found it hard to keep up on who was who, and it was pretty boring, that is until the bodies started getting up. That was fun. I also found the constant outings of Carl, Michael and Emma to get things they needed to be a bore. The unlimited supplies in those groceries stores should have kept them stocked for a while. I personally would have raided the boxed mac and cheese, that would have kept me happy for a while. But since they kept going out, it became boring because basically the same thing happened every time. I was really hoping for some more action. What also bothered me was the random trip from Carl to the city again. It was completely random. It served no purpose, and plus things didn't exactly go very well for him when he got back. Overall the book was very good, and I recommend it to anyone who likes to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1