Customer Reviews for

Autumn

Average Rating 4
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good Story!

I enjoy zombie novels and I found this one interesting. Plot was good and I liked to see that for once there was the military involved so the plot is based around basically the lives of three main characters, each with their own internal struggles and this is the story...
I enjoy zombie novels and I found this one interesting. Plot was good and I liked to see that for once there was the military involved so the plot is based around basically the lives of three main characters, each with their own internal struggles and this is the story of how they deal with the basic end of human civilization. I also liked how the zombies actually evolve and it is interesting in how the three deal with the new threat.

posted by Liston on June 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

slightly disappointing

i thought that autumn was a british spin-off version of night of the living dead, it was very tedious in the first 3/4 of the book, i waited and waited for something sudden and suspenceful to happen but it never did, there just wasnt enough action you would expect from...
i thought that autumn was a british spin-off version of night of the living dead, it was very tedious in the first 3/4 of the book, i waited and waited for something sudden and suspenceful to happen but it never did, there just wasnt enough action you would expect from a zobie novel, i thought it was simply a waste of money and time, sorry but it's the truth, it was not a book for true zombie lovers.

posted by Anonymous on January 25, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Zombieeeeeeee!

    Great book....unputdownable (lol) This book had me in suspense the whole time while reading. It is hard for a book to completely captivate me yet David Moody continues to do so. I highly recommend this book and without yet reading the rest of the series I just know the other Autumn books are just as good (just started Autumn: the city) and recommend them. Hater Trilogy as well...so far David Moody fails to disappoint!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    A GREAT READ EVEN IF YOU DON'T LIKE ZOMBIES!

    Love David Moody's Hater triology and just as happy with this trilogy. Always wondered why people can't get away from a slow moving zombie in the movies - well this book gives you an idea of what you are up against. You will not be disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an enjoyable cerebral zombie thriller

    In less than twenty-four hours, billions are dead. The virus killed so fast that on one block a William Price was first to go and within five minutes his entire street had become a cemetery. Less than 1% of mankind survived the first wave. Those who do are in shock as they say good-bye to loved ones and in Britain they soon realize when no one responds to 999 or anything on the radio that civilization as they know it is over.

    Factory mechanic Carl Henshawe cannot believe his beloved wife and their little girl is dead. Computer company executive Michael Collins gives lecture to a class of teens ignoring him when he horrifically watches them die. Fighting a cold medical student Emma Mitchell skips class and goes to the nearby shop to buy food only to see the owner and other patrons die. The few survivors find one another at a dilapidated community center waiting for first responders who never come. Instead as supplies dwindle, the dead begin to reanimate. The noise of the living disturbs the undead and even loved ones are coming to silence those who have not changed; the only thing that stops them is their rotting flesh.

    This is an enjoyable cerebral zombie thriller in which David Moody looks deep into the souls of those who survived the virus; for instance others like Phillip struggle to move on pass a deceased loved one. Slowly the few humans find civilization stripped bare until the only thing left is whether it is worth the fight to stay alive. Though the story line is at times deliberately slow as Michael, Carl and Emma rotate internal pensive musings, readers who relish a different bite on zombies will appreciate the grim moody atmosphere of Autumn.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Autumn series

    I read this book in just one day. I enjoyed it so much, I read the entire series. For anyone who enjoys the many interpretations of a zombie apocalypse this series is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Bramblestar- BriarClan medicine cat den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    JOIN DIAMOND CLAN

    Crystal light res join NOW WARRIORS DEPUTY AND MED CAT NEEDED

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Ace

    Chestnut brown fur brown eyes matless no pup

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Luna

    Alpha female strong cleaver great at hunting and fighting. Silky softed fur dark gray fur, black fur around paws and white specks. Caring can be mean and loveble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Salen

    The thudding of deep brown paws causes you to look towards the wolf of which they belong. A chocolate colored wolf with dark gold eyes. "Hello there," his voice is calm and he glances over you. "I am Salen, Alpha of this pack." He smiles slightly. "It's my first time in a pack. It was Luna who gave me the idea to make one." He sighs and shakes his head. "I've no mate, and truthfully I on't know if I want one." He chuckled and settles onto well muscled haunches. "No pups or kin to speack about. Hunting is a passion of mine. There is nothing like the hunt, the chase, and finally the kill." He winks. "Wis to hunt with you soon."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    climbclaw

    Walks in*you sound famier

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Glimmer

    *embarrased* sry to interupt mom but i need to talk to you too. Second res please

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Cottodusk

    Come back mamma!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    H fh tuBwybcb

    Bhruvgngb,yvn vnyu b ha

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Excellent spin off from the typical zombie books!

    Before you base your opinion from reviews as to whether or not you should purchase the series, keep an open mind when I tell you that this is not a "zombie" book where they eat brains like most books/movies portray. When I first decided to read the series, I had believed it to be another zombie story and the survival of few in a post-apocolyptic world. Author, David Moody, created a whole new persepective and idea relating to a catostrophic event, few survivors, and the walking dead (he never once refers to them as zombies). You will soon find out the the "dead" are not looking to eat the living, but are guided by a different desire. The characters that you are introduced to in this book are developed in a way that can only be true if one was unfortunate to be one of the survivors in this kind of world. I have read many comments regarding the development of the characters, some positive and negative, but when you read the book and put yourself into the characters position, what kind of opinion or motivation would you have other than surviving with a future looking bleak? I am currently reading the third book, Autumn Purification, and the course the story is taking is remarkable. Kudos to you, David Moody, for creating a story such as this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Not your typical zombie book

    Great book. I highly recommend it and the rest of the Autumn series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ok, I am hooked. And it only cost me 3 bucks. What a great read!

    Ok, I am hooked. And it only cost me 3 bucks. What a great read! I could not put it down. So now that I am hooked what are my options? Well I guess I will shell out the 10 bucks for book two and book three and book..... well you all know how this story will end. Just hope the wife understands!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    A fast paced thriller! My new favorite author!

    You wont be disappointed! A real page turner. I dont really care for the main charecter Michel. He is very rough and at times uncaring. But I suppose in a dystopia situation, you have to shut down some. He does get close to Emma in the end of the book. Cant wait to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Best "zombie" series ever?!? I vote yes!!

    Autumn is not your typical undead series as never once is the word "zombie" used. However there are plenty of walking, rotting, attacking corpses to keep you happy. The first book details a small group of survivors of a mysterious disease which killed most of the population and then later reanimated some of the dead. It shows how strong the will to survive is even when the future looks very bleak. I've gifted this book to several people and they have all enjoyed it as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    one of my all time favorite Zombie Authors!!!

    this is the bar none best zombie/end of the world series you will ever read!!! David adds a whole new twist to the classic genre that will keep you on the edge of your seat til the very last page then not able to wait til the next installment of the series. you'll love the characters, the storyline and the action!!! its not just mindless gore and horror(granted the gore and horror are definitely in there) but a very well rounded story by an amazing story teller . i read the whole series the first time it was published and intend to read the whole thing again. LOVE IT!!! while you're at it check out his series "Hater" also a FANTASTIC series with a whole new type of story, LOVED it too!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3