Customer Reviews for

Autumn: The City

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT READ!!

Mr. Moody has done it again. He has managed to captivate us with his uncanny insight into the human mind and heart. Autumn The City, much like its predecessor, Autumn, is more a story of human behavior than zombie carnage. When all is stripped from the world as we know ...
Mr. Moody has done it again. He has managed to captivate us with his uncanny insight into the human mind and heart. Autumn The City, much like its predecessor, Autumn, is more a story of human behavior than zombie carnage. When all is stripped from the world as we know it, how will we react? Will we lay down and wait to die or fight ruthlessly to live another day? This is a pulse pounding page turner that will leave you angry that the next installment is not immediatley available for download!!! The characters you follow in this story are average, everyday people living in the most catastrophic situation imaginable. You empathize with their plight and root for their survival. Start with Autumn, continue with Autumn The City and wait with bated breath for AUTUMN: PURIFICATION. Bring it on, David, I am beyond ready!!

posted by CatieK on April 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boring.

Character development was seriously lacking. So much so that none of them stuck with me. If i put the book down for too long, i would have to flip back to find out who was who. I didn't care a bit if they all died.

posted by 11318386 on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    EXCELLENT READ!!

    Mr. Moody has done it again. He has managed to captivate us with his uncanny insight into the human mind and heart. Autumn The City, much like its predecessor, Autumn, is more a story of human behavior than zombie carnage. When all is stripped from the world as we know it, how will we react? Will we lay down and wait to die or fight ruthlessly to live another day? This is a pulse pounding page turner that will leave you angry that the next installment is not immediatley available for download!!! The characters you follow in this story are average, everyday people living in the most catastrophic situation imaginable. You empathize with their plight and root for their survival. Start with Autumn, continue with Autumn The City and wait with bated breath for AUTUMN: PURIFICATION. Bring it on, David, I am beyond ready!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Great Read for Dystopian Fans

    Loved the entire Autumn series. I just finished the 5th and final book. I think Autumn the City is second only to, Autumn Purification. The final book was a bit of a "bummer"; but I suppose not everybook has a happy ending. Read this series and the Hater Trilogy, you'll be glad you did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Boring.

    Character development was seriously lacking. So much so that none of them stuck with me. If i put the book down for too long, i would have to flip back to find out who was who. I didn't care a bit if they all died.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    There is not one attack in this book.......literally not one cha

    There is not one attack in this book.......literally not one character is harmed by a zombie. I read the first one and even sought out the horrible movie. The second book is 250 pages of absolutely nothing happening. There are whole chapters dedicated to the discription of what can best be discribed as non-events, occurrences which add nothing to character or story arc.10-15 pages to say "then this happened". The writing is overly simplistic, the characters border on functional retardation, the timeline and introduction of new people and places is enough to cause aneurisms from sheer frustration and then NOTHING HAPPENS.I am not a jaded fanboy, I am an avid reader who happens to be a discerning fan of the genre and being such I am generally reluctant to label ANYTHING of ANY artistic merit simply "bad". This book was bad. I would have gladly paid ten dollars to the writer of an honest review that would have precluded my ingesting this unabashed waste of time (mine), money (was mine), and doubious effort (author's).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2014

    short story: 2 to 3 hours of reading material for this book!

    I'm not sure why I write reviews for Nook books, it seems as though all my reviews are removed. Autumn The City is a great book and the Autumn series is fantastic and I enjoyed all 6 books. The books are very short so, keep this in mind and don't be let down that these books are short or about 3 hours or so of reading. To be honest, series should consist or be condensed into 2 books of value and not 6 books of overvalue. So, the Autumn series is well written and detailed oriented, this is not a super fast moving story but, rather a slower, deep thought story with a lot of detail and I enjoy this type of writing so, good stuff as far as I'm concerned. The author really makes you feel connected to the characters and their situations. Just remember, these are short books or averages around 235 pages, not much reading material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    I picked up Autumn: the City without realizing that it was the s

    I picked up Autumn: the City without realizing that it was the second in a series of five. I knew David Moody from the Hater series, and knew that lots of people knew him from Autumn. Honestly, the way this book is written, it could’ve been the first book in the series—and I was honestly surprised it wasn’t! 
    David creates realistic characters—people dealing with real life problems. And what I found interesting about the characters in Autumn: the City was that I felt like I knew them to the extent that the other characters in the series knew them. We weren’t given much extra information about the characters, and, for me, it made me feel like I was actually there, in the city. I knew no more than anyone else did—I was no god above these characters. I was there, experiencing every tension.
    I can’t say much about the rest of the Autumn series, as I haven’t read it, but I can certainly tell you that this book is what I would consider a perfect zombie novel. You follow the change of the zombies, from their first death, through their (surprising!) evolution, until they (possibly) get hit by a car, or even just shamble off into the distance. You meet a variety of characters that are so real, you feel like you’ve actually met them once or twice in life. They’re dealing with actual problems and thinking actual thoughts. There is no Superman. These are normal people dealing with an abnormal situation, and I loved every minute of it.  This book provided a perfect snapshot into the lives of these people and, while it was short, I didn’t feel deprived of anything. Honestly, it’s a quick read—and a good one, too! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Saxton's Bio

    Name: Saxton.••• Age: 4.••• Gender: Female.•••Rank: Wants to be Beta.••• Appearance: Reddish brown pelt with white paws and a curled tail. Her ears have tufts of hair on the top and she has light ember eyes.••• Personality: Sweet, kind, playful, but will die for her pack. She is a fierce warrior and is loyal to her entire pack. If one is in danger she will by their side in a blink of an eye.••• Mate: None but is looking.••• Pups: None.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    good read

    although they never use the word it is a zombie book. Just bought book 3 so I can find out how this all happened. kind of a cool take on zombies with there being no biting but when it cimes to my zombies im usually a traditionalist so no bite no infection wondering how they will explain it. none the less good afternoon read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book.. I was excitied going into this book and while it w

    Good Book..

    I was excitied going into this book and while it was not a BAD book it was just a different writing then the other one was.. The first one was all about one group of surviors while this one kept jumping through different parts of the book.. IDK I do think it was good over all I like the writing style of the author.. I really like Cooper being introduced into the story.. I am having my doubts where the military is getting involved in this story.. Guess I will have to read the next one to see what happens.. lol.. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    if i only had more thumbs...

    autumn: the city, brings us right back into the thick of it. with the introduction of new characters and reconnecting us with the survivors from the first book, moody manages to once again keep us in suspense with tensions growing wild as the survivors continue to be pursued by the dead. this installment to the series brings about new questions and dilemmas as the group grows and people take leadership roles and others build alliances. moody's books are an easy read for anyone looking to take a break from reality for a spell. be sure to read the next book and all subsequent. this series can not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Eyaf wtfh b wt


    Ti afcvgbdhcn bhsj cb

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    AWESOME

    It is the sequel of autumn and has more action from the view points of survivors in the city.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Book 2 on par with original

    In the second book in the Autumn series Mr. Moody introduces us to new survivors as well as updates us on the ones from the first book. It is easy to sit down and read any of his books in one sitting. They are well written and easy to get caught up in. I for one can't wait til book 3 is available!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an action-packed exciting Z thriller (don't use that Z word with the Autumn tales)

    The pandemic virus was so contagious, over 99% of mankind died in under twenty-four hours. Civilization was over and the few humans to survive had no time to mourn their losses as a few days later the dead began to ruse. Some fortunate people escaped the city (see Autumn) though unsure where to go.

    However, not all were able to leave. Those trapped inside the city have little hope as the streets swarm with the walking undead who "live" to rip human flesh apart. Donna York hid under a desk during the brutal first forty-eight hours. Jack the warehouse worker stayed home after he observed oddness on the bus and saw his elderly neighbor. Clare the student meets Jack when she enters his home seeking shelter. Paul hid in the music store where he worked. They begin to meet other survivors like Michael and Cooper. These few unfortunate knows their only prayer is to run a gauntlet through aggressive killers in order to reach an underground military bunker that Cooper says is their salvation; not knowing whether the military remains in control inside of it.

    This is an action-packed exciting Z thriller (don't use that Z word with the Autumn tales) as the few remaining humans trapped inside the city struggle through a deadly path to reach their only chance to survive. The story line is fast-paced with the early chapters before everyone converges displaying some of the fears each possesses of the unknown and more so of the known. Although David Moody never digs deeper into the emotional defense mechanisms mentally deployed to control a wide variety of psychological issues such as survivor guilt and seeing friends and family change into mindless killers, fans will enjoy the escapades of those fleeing for their lives with the Undead everywhere ready to pounce.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3