Customer Reviews for

Autumn Lover (Maxwells Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Audio Review

    Posted 07/22/10: This book just toes the line of being okay. The main male character, Hunter Maxwell, is a conflicted bully who distrusts all women because his first wife betrayed him, thus painting the entire sex with the "untrustworthy flirt" brush, ad nauseum. Frankly, it gets tiresome listening to how Belinda, his late wife, is the epitome of the worst type of female there could ever be and how Hunter believes all women are of the same ilk. Also tedious is how much he belittles the main female character, Alissa, owner of the Ladder-S Ranch, while being attracted to her at the same time. The contradictions are myriad, the insults many. Alissa is described as being a strong willed, independent free-thinker for the late 1800's. She continually takes his verbal abuse and feels insulted as she is unable to fire him due to the precarious situation she is in, so they play a lot of insult tennis. Hunter is *actually tracking the 2 dimensionally evil Culpepper Gang and takes a job on the ranch as cover for his search. Conveniently, the Culpeppers are trying to take over the Ladder-S ranch in attempts that escalate from embarrassingly badly worded threats ("What Culpeppers want Culpeppers git!", "I ain't gonna throw ye and mount ye right off. I jest wanna get a feel 'o them teats." Seriously?!? lol)to a drawn out shoot-out attack on the ranch that takes days to resolve. Amidst the drama, somehow Hunter and Alissa become lovers. The sex seems a bit contrived, considering how much Hunter seems to dislike Alissa, while Alissa is mysteriously drawn to the insulting bad boy. Also, since this is a first book in a series, Ms. Lowell leaves several strings dangling. I listened to this book a year ago and didn't think much of it then, but then recently thought I should give it another chance and maybe buy the 2nd in the series. While the dangling strings are normally fine for series books, I don't think I want to take a chance on Hunter's brother being just as offensive in the next book. This is not the first Elizabeth Lowell book I've listened to and I was hoping that distrustful mean-spirited men were not the norm for her, but this is the third book in which the men have few redeeming qualities (The men in "To the Ends of the Earth" and "A Woman Without Lies" are cookie cutouts of Hunter with different names). For me personally, I'm not impressed with mean men, so I'm done with this author. In conclusion, if you like the insolent-turned-romantic (loosely defined) type of man, you may enjoy Lowell's books. Overall, Laural Merlington does a decent job portraying different character voices. The recommendations below all have excellent performers for the audio books,four of the five are in a series, and are good books in general.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Anonymous

    I thought it was a good read, planning to check out the brothers story next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I have been an Anne Maxwell/Elizabeth Lowell fan for sometime. I liked this book but I love the author and have read all her books but this series. This author has great attention to detail and each book she writes has a different twist, which is hard to accomplish for most authors when they write romance series books. Happy Reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    heartwarming, exciting and enjoyable!

    I love all of E. Lowell's books! The heroes and heroines are flawed just enough to be believable. Her stories are packed with adventure and action. The dialog is gritty without being riddled with foul language. The love scenes are vivid, without being overly graphic. Some may say the endings are predictable, but I like knowing the guy will get the girl and everything will work out "happily ever after". There's a certain amount of comfort and security in knowing that. I read novels for enjoyment and entertainment, not to have the story mimic real life. That's what the news is for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Amazing

    This book actually mentions chars from the only mine series, a drifter in the last book looking for the culpeppers him and hes brother, was really happy to remember him!! Great book just like all her other books. Im def a Lowell fan :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Eaglestar

    This is thunderclans camp! This is main base, seconed result is warrior den, third is med den, fourth is nursery, fifth is apprentice den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Great

    Love Elizabeth Lowell. Great story about old west and a great hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Audio review

    This book just toes the line of being okay. The main male character, Hunter Maxwell, is a conflicted bully who distrusts all women because his first wife betrayed him, thus painting the entire sex with the "untrustworthy flirt" brush, ad nauseum. Frankly, it gets tiresome listening to how Belinda, his late wife, is the epitome of the worst type of female there could ever be and how Hunter believes all women are of the same ilk. Also tedious is how much he belittles the main female character, Alissa, owner of the Ladder-S Ranch, while being attracted to her at the same time. The contradictions are myriad, the insults many. Alissa is described as being a strong willed, independent free-thinker for the late 1800's. She continually takes his verbal abuse and feels insulted as she is unable to fire him due to the precarious situation she is in, so they play a lot of insult tennis. Hunter is *actually tracking the 2 dimensionally evil Culpepper Gang and takes a job on the ranch as cover for his search. Conveniently, the Culpeppers are trying to take over the Ladder-S ranch in attempts that escalate from embarrassingly badly worded threats ("What Culpeppers want Culpeppers git!", "I ain't gonna throw ye and mount ye right off. I jest wanna get a feel 'o them teats." Seriously?!? lol)to a drawn out shoot-out attack on the ranch that takes days to resolve.

    Amidst the drama, somehow Hunter and Alissa become lovers. The sex seems a bit contrived, considering how much Hunter seems to dislike Alissa, while Alissa is mysteriously drawn to the insulting bad boy. Also, since this is a first book in a series, Ms. Lowell leaves several strings dangling. I listened to this book a year ago and didn't think much of it then, but then recently thought I should give it another chance and maybe buy the 2nd in the series. While the dangling strings are normally fine for series books, I don't think I want to take a chance on Hunter's brother being just as offensive in the next book. This is not the first Elizabeth Lowell book I've listened to and I was hoping that distrustful mean-spirited men were not the norm for her, but this is the third book in which the men have few redeeming qualities (The men in "To the Ends of the Earth" and "A Woman Without Lies" are cookie cutouts of Hunter with different names). For me personally, I'm not impressed with mean men, so I'm done with this author.

    In conclusion, if you like the insolent-turned-romantic (loosely defined) type of man, you may enjoy Lowell's books. Overall, Laural Merlington does a decent job portraying different character voices. The recommendations below all have excellent performers for the audio books and are good books in general.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2