Customer Reviews for

Autumn Rose (Dark Heroine Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Anyone who is a fan of magic, is really going to love this fast

Anyone who is a fan of magic, is really going to love this fast paced book! 




Having only one more year to complete before graduation, Autumn should be thrilled like any normal teenager, except Autumn is anything but normal. She's a sage-- magical beings that live in...
Anyone who is a fan of magic, is really going to love this fast paced book! 




Having only one more year to complete before graduation, Autumn should be thrilled like any normal teenager, except Autumn is anything but normal. She's a sage-- magical beings that live in the first dimension alongside humans. Sages are amongst humans to serve one purpose; to protect them in anyway deemed fit from the Extermino.




 Extermino are dark Sages, who want nothing but to end the human race. Autumn has been trained her entire life to help protect everyone around her. When her grandmother dies suddenly-- leaving a string of lingering questions, Autumn will stop at nothing to figure out what really caused her grandmother's death...




Even when an old friend pops back into her world--a friend that is famous in the world of Sages. Promising to keep her head cleared of good looks and charm, Autumn barrels into a world she never intended to be apart of, with a friend she's not sure she can trust. 




There are dark secrets that are being kept from her. Secrets that Autumn can no longer ignore.  




I'm such a fan of Abigail Gibbs! I immediately fell in love with The Dark Heroine when it came out, so naturally I was thrilled when I learned she had another book coming in the series! I was not disappointed at all with this book, just as the first, it hooked me from page one and kept me until the very end! I can't praise it enough! I loved it! Amazing sequel to The Dark Heroine! I'm on the edge of my seat waiting for the next book, and hopefully Abigail will hear my pleas and I won't be waiting long!

posted by Weiser_Jenn on January 30, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This second in the Dark Heroine series chronicles Autumn Rose's

This second in the Dark Heroine series chronicles Autumn Rose's story as she comes to power as the first Dark Heroine. The events take place at the same time as those involving Violet Lee in the first book. The two girls' fates are interwoven, so the stories do cross-...
This second in the Dark Heroine series chronicles Autumn Rose's story as she comes to power as the first Dark Heroine. The events take place at the same time as those involving Violet Lee in the first book. The two girls' fates are interwoven, so the stories do cross-over upon occasion, especially at the end of this book.

Autumn Rose lives a different dimension than Violet Lee. Where Violet lived in the dimension with vampires as the Dark Beings, in Autumn's world, Sageans are the Dark Beings, and Autumn herself is Sagean. She wields magic drawn from nature, and she is also a seer, a legacy passed to her by her grandmother. In Autumn's dimension, evil beings known as Exterminos (I really think a better name for them is in order) are linked with the Pierre clan of slayers and humans in Violet's dimension who are trying to start a war between humans and Dark Beings in all dimensions. I'm not entirely sure that sentence made sense, but suffice it to say there are anarchists everywhere trying to start a war, and it's Autumn and the other Dark Heroines' job to stop it.

Autumn is 15 years old at the start of this novel and turns 16 as it progresses, so she is very young, even younger than Violet. She has tried to live a much simpler life than her title as the Duchess of England entitles her to, but all of that comes crashing down as Sagean prince Fallon comes to help her achieve her destiny. She vacillates between childish temper tantrums and mature, thoughtful decision-making, and it's a little scary to think of the fate of multiple dimensions being in her hands.

I'm really on the fence here with this series as a whole and this book in particular. I can't decide if I love it or hate it or if it's really just "meh." In my library system, it's cataloged as an adult fiction series, although I'm pretty sure that the audience is young adult. However, part of me agrees with putting in the adult collection instead. I'm not yet 40, but maybe I'm already an old fogey because the youth of these characters and the activities they engage in bothers me a bit. The first one I could live with because Violet was a bit older, but Autumn is 15. Granted, the description of said activity is not at all graphic in this second book, but still. There is also a lot of politics involved in this series, and I'm not convinced that 16 and 18-year-olds can truly grasp it all and prevent multidimensional catastrophe. The whole dimensions things just bothers me, too--I find that part really hard to swallow. There are seven more Dark Heroines to find, so I'm sure we'll be visiting more of those dimensions.

posted by arbjamesAJ on February 10, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This second in the Dark Heroine series chronicles Autumn Rose's

    This second in the Dark Heroine series chronicles Autumn Rose's story as she comes to power as the first Dark Heroine. The events take place at the same time as those involving Violet Lee in the first book. The two girls' fates are interwoven, so the stories do cross-over upon occasion, especially at the end of this book.

    Autumn Rose lives a different dimension than Violet Lee. Where Violet lived in the dimension with vampires as the Dark Beings, in Autumn's world, Sageans are the Dark Beings, and Autumn herself is Sagean. She wields magic drawn from nature, and she is also a seer, a legacy passed to her by her grandmother. In Autumn's dimension, evil beings known as Exterminos (I really think a better name for them is in order) are linked with the Pierre clan of slayers and humans in Violet's dimension who are trying to start a war between humans and Dark Beings in all dimensions. I'm not entirely sure that sentence made sense, but suffice it to say there are anarchists everywhere trying to start a war, and it's Autumn and the other Dark Heroines' job to stop it.

    Autumn is 15 years old at the start of this novel and turns 16 as it progresses, so she is very young, even younger than Violet. She has tried to live a much simpler life than her title as the Duchess of England entitles her to, but all of that comes crashing down as Sagean prince Fallon comes to help her achieve her destiny. She vacillates between childish temper tantrums and mature, thoughtful decision-making, and it's a little scary to think of the fate of multiple dimensions being in her hands.

    I'm really on the fence here with this series as a whole and this book in particular. I can't decide if I love it or hate it or if it's really just "meh." In my library system, it's cataloged as an adult fiction series, although I'm pretty sure that the audience is young adult. However, part of me agrees with putting in the adult collection instead. I'm not yet 40, but maybe I'm already an old fogey because the youth of these characters and the activities they engage in bothers me a bit. The first one I could live with because Violet was a bit older, but Autumn is 15. Granted, the description of said activity is not at all graphic in this second book, but still. There is also a lot of politics involved in this series, and I'm not convinced that 16 and 18-year-olds can truly grasp it all and prevent multidimensional catastrophe. The whole dimensions things just bothers me, too--I find that part really hard to swallow. There are seven more Dark Heroines to find, so I'm sure we'll be visiting more of those dimensions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    Anyone who is a fan of magic, is really going to love this fast

    Anyone who is a fan of magic, is really going to love this fast paced book! 




    Having only one more year to complete before graduation, Autumn should be thrilled like any normal teenager, except Autumn is anything but normal. She's a sage-- magical beings that live in the first dimension alongside humans. Sages are amongst humans to serve one purpose; to protect them in anyway deemed fit from the Extermino.




     Extermino are dark Sages, who want nothing but to end the human race. Autumn has been trained her entire life to help protect everyone around her. When her grandmother dies suddenly-- leaving a string of lingering questions, Autumn will stop at nothing to figure out what really caused her grandmother's death...




    Even when an old friend pops back into her world--a friend that is famous in the world of Sages. Promising to keep her head cleared of good looks and charm, Autumn barrels into a world she never intended to be apart of, with a friend she's not sure she can trust. 




    There are dark secrets that are being kept from her. Secrets that Autumn can no longer ignore.  




    I'm such a fan of Abigail Gibbs! I immediately fell in love with The Dark Heroine when it came out, so naturally I was thrilled when I learned she had another book coming in the series! I was not disappointed at all with this book, just as the first, it hooked me from page one and kept me until the very end! I can't praise it enough! I loved it! Amazing sequel to The Dark Heroine! I'm on the edge of my seat waiting for the next book, and hopefully Abigail will hear my pleas and I won't be waiting long!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Loved it

    This was just as good as the first can't wait for the third ...Such good storytelling

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    Great book

    It was good. I liked both the books in the series, however im hoping for more to come because this one leaves you thinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Autumn isn¿t a typical teenager. She¿s a Sage, an outcast, and h

    Autumn isn’t a typical teenager. She’s a Sage, an outcast, and human guardian for Kable Community College, where she must protect the humans from Extermino’s rogue Sages, whose attacks have increased. When out of the blue, another sage, Prince Fallon, shows up at the school for an unknown reason, she is not only perturbed as to why nobody told her, but outraged how the other students so easily dismiss their dislike for sages while cooing at his feet. As events start spiraling out control and the term Seer is thrown in the mix, Autumn can’t help but just wanting to be human. Is that too much to ask?

    “But at least they can control what they see. I have no choice but to watch horrible things, like… like…”

    Within the first thirty pages you get the feeling you are reading a Harry Potter meetsTwilight fan fiction novel. You have magic, vampires, multiple dimensions, and teenage drama, which can be a bit much, however, the characters aren’t all too involved and the story maintains a pleasant pace throughout the entire book while offering readers a unique spin on the fantasy genre. Autumn Rose is a sequel and should definitely be read prior to this book or you might find the story a bit dry and lacking important characters from the previous story. Overall, the story was good, but I have mixed feelings about it being a good standalone book.

    *This book was provided in exchange for an honest review
    *You can view the original review at San Francisco Book Review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Bramblestar- BriarClan elders den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I¿m not sure the author got the order right on this book and the

    I’m not sure the author got the order right on this book and the first. The timing between the two novels just doesn’t flow well. It’s almost like she had Autumns’ character present herself somewhere in the process of writing Book 1 and instead of starting Autumn’s story (Book 2) where the character comes into play from Book 1, she started way earlier to try and fill in the gaps. The overlap in timelines kind of throws the reader off at first. I honestly wish I had read Autumn’s story first because she and Fallon were much more likeable and easier to connect with; not to mention her backstory is much more interesting. I got really tired of the couple from Book 1 and their dynamics. Hell, I got tired of the whole cast and characters from Book 1, minus one or two. It didn’t get really interesting until they met up with Autumn and Fallon near the end and all the fun stuff happened.

    All that being said, the entire premise of the story with the Dark Heroines being the ultimate saviors of the paranormal worlds/dimensions is pretty dang creative and unique. Now that I’ve gotten through these two, and I have the overall foundation of the series, I hope to thoroughly enjoy the remaining books.

    Rating: 4

    HEAT Rating: Hot

    Reviewed By: Daysie W.

    Review Courtesy of: My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    So far so good

    I hope she continues with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Alex to emma

    This onea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Great

    Great book! This was an excellent second book, I can't wait for the next one! I really enjoyed reading this book, it was full of magic and the plot and characters were great! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    H

    Sweety1024

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Lilywolf

    Roanoak? ~ Lilywolf

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Emh

    Loved this book!!! This is going to be a great series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1