Customer Reviews for

Ava Gardner: Love is Nothing

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

a lover of classic films, old hollywood and it's stars

Mr. Server did his homework researching and putting this book together. It took me four months to read this fascinating life story of the beautiful 'farm girl' and her notorious life. I was disappointed when I reached the end due to the author's uncanny ability to capt...
Mr. Server did his homework researching and putting this book together. It took me four months to read this fascinating life story of the beautiful 'farm girl' and her notorious life. I was disappointed when I reached the end due to the author's uncanny ability to capture what must have been the most exciting era in the history of movies. Gardner's story is by far the best biography I have ever read. His research, interviews and detail were impecable. The descriptions of this glamorous and decadent era of Hollywood with stars so much bigger than life was an exciting adventure. I will be looking forward to Mr. Server's next biography after I read Robert Mitchums. I was saddened it had to end even after 500 pages. I look forward to the next book the by this very talented writer.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just okay for me...

I'm not an avid reader or anything, but most recently have been intrigued by 1940-50's actors/actresses... so I picked this up since the reviews were awesome. I think this book is more like a documentary... Lee's style of writing doesn't tell a story about Ava's life, b...
I'm not an avid reader or anything, but most recently have been intrigued by 1940-50's actors/actresses... so I picked this up since the reviews were awesome. I think this book is more like a documentary... Lee's style of writing doesn't tell a story about Ava's life, but is more along of 'Joe Blow said this about Ava... and then Joe Schmo said this... yadda yadda' and I didn't like that so much. Ava Gardner is a GORGEOUS woman with an interesting life story, and I truly appreciated learning about her.

posted by Anonymous on March 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    a lover of classic films, old hollywood and it's stars

    Mr. Server did his homework researching and putting this book together. It took me four months to read this fascinating life story of the beautiful 'farm girl' and her notorious life. I was disappointed when I reached the end due to the author's uncanny ability to capture what must have been the most exciting era in the history of movies. Gardner's story is by far the best biography I have ever read. His research, interviews and detail were impecable. The descriptions of this glamorous and decadent era of Hollywood with stars so much bigger than life was an exciting adventure. I will be looking forward to Mr. Server's next biography after I read Robert Mitchums. I was saddened it had to end even after 500 pages. I look forward to the next book the by this very talented writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    Venus From Mt. Vesuvius

    Ava Gardner, under the mistaken belief that she was having a date with director Howard Hawks, soon learned that the tall, 'rail thin' man with the 'rawboned face of a cowboy' was none other than Texas entrepreneur Howard Hughes. Modestly amused by the mix-up, Hughes asked Ava out again, and they soon began seeing each other 'several times a week or more.' But let there be no mix-up about Lee Server's powerfully compelling portrait of Ava Gardner. The man, along with his international contacts and sources, has crafted a a complex portrait of a barefooted country girl whose photograph in the window of a portrait studio in New York ultimately captivated the world with her beauty and the antics of her personal life. Server leaves tidbits like Ava changed partners, always something new and savory demanding a change to the next blank page where something must be written. From Ava's best friend in high school, to her last, closest chums in London's high-brow Knightsbridge district, everyone had something to say about Gardner's extraordinary goddess-like beauty and her volatile personality. This book reveals Gardner's inauspicious beginnings deep in the red-dirt heartland of North Carolina, and then provides the reader a world tour with the most enticing brunette of the forties and fifties as she emotes in private and on film. Hemingway, Sinatra, Mickey Rooney, Lana Turner, Howard Hughes, Robert Mitchum, Luis Miguel Dominguin, Esther Williams, Fidel Castro, Judy Garland, John Huston, and many others have their moments in the sol and sombra with Ava. Only MGM central casting would have difficulty finding all the extras for this moveable feast of a book. The baked Alaska is Gardner's jagged frankness and crisp retorts left unprintable in the 40's, 50's, and 60's, but poured out on Server's pages like so much tequila. The rise of the paparazzi, the inspiration for La Dolce Vita and the final cast for The Pink Panther all had something to do with Ava Gardner. But it is Server's depiction of Ava and Frank that drops readers in the minefields and mortar shells of a very personal war that was unfortunately quite public, and it leaves no profanity unmuttered. Credits rolled at the end of their final love scene, and Server fills in the spaces no one else dared or could. With a list of 109 personal interviews and 24 pages of sources, Server 's skullduggery into the nine decades since Ava Gardner arrived in Grabtown, North Carolina, on December 24, 1922, has revealed the Venus who often erupted like Mount Vesuvius, leaving heartbreak and despair in her wake. The psychology of her alcoholism and her regrets at the end of her life reveal the pain. But her eternal beauty and her gypsy soul dance away the night in the streets and clubs of Madrid. You can almost hear the castanets.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Cato

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Ava.......

    Never was there anybody in'old' Hollywood like Ava. Not only was this book accurate it was a great read. She was a strong wild woman. This book is full of delicious scandel and sex. Ava was a woman who wasnt afraid to be herself and please herself. Its an insight to the real Hollywood.Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Loved it!

    This book was wonderful. You never want to put it down. Ava Gardner was a charmer, this book really shows you how lovely of a person she was. I recommend this to everyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    BEST BIOGRAPHY OF A MOVIE STAR EVER

    Before reading this all I knew about Ava Gardner was that she made some movies back in the 50's and was connected to Sinatra.... What an interesting life and so well written. A definite page turner. I couldn't put it down. Can't wait to give some as gifts this Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1