Customer Reviews for

An Available Man

Average Rating 3.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

An Available Man is a sensitive exploration of a senior man&rsqu

An Available Man is a sensitive exploration of a senior man’s attempt to overcome grief and regain his life. I couldn't help but cheer him on. This well-written story is filled with wit and grace and also humor. Heartwarming and sentimental, I recommend this to ev...
An Available Man is a sensitive exploration of a senior man’s attempt to overcome grief and regain his life. I couldn't help but cheer him on. This well-written story is filled with wit and grace and also humor. Heartwarming and sentimental, I recommend this to everyone.

posted by E_M_13423 on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Underwhelming

I'd read praise for Hilma Wolitzer's work over the years, but "An Available Man" was a disappointment. Nothing about it--plot, characters, quality of prose--drew me in, despite the subject matter, which should have been fertile ground for an experienced novelist. While ...
I'd read praise for Hilma Wolitzer's work over the years, but "An Available Man" was a disappointment. Nothing about it--plot, characters, quality of prose--drew me in, despite the subject matter, which should have been fertile ground for an experienced novelist. While many reviewers describe Wolitzer's narrative voice as wise and infused with humor, I found none of that in a story that moved ploddingly along to its end. The book gets one star for the presence of dogs in the story.

posted by 4147161 on March 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    An Available Man is a sensitive exploration of a senior man&rsqu

    An Available Man is a sensitive exploration of a senior man’s attempt to overcome grief and regain his life. I couldn't help but cheer him on. This well-written story is filled with wit and grace and also humor. Heartwarming and sentimental, I recommend this to everyone.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Recommend for learning about being a widower

    Although this is fiction I found it insightful in regards to what a widower might go through. The emotional turmoil of dealing with death of a spouse, family and friends trying to "fix" him up for dating as well as his physical needs.

    I bought the book because my business is working with Singles and had noted that men reacted differently than woman as a result of losing a spouse. It definitely confirmed my observations that widowers have different wants and needs and must go through recovery on their own schedule, some longer some shorter and doesn't have anything to do with how much they loved their deceased spouse.

    Would be on my gift list for both widowers and their families.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED THIS BOOK !! The author did an amazing job with the story

    LOVED THIS BOOK !!

    The author did an amazing job with the story line and memorable cast of characters. The heart-wrenching story of Edward and the loss of his wife Bee was brilliantly told and was a page-turner right from the beginning. Don't miss this one; now I'll go back and read some earlier writings from this brilliant author!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Underwhelming

    I'd read praise for Hilma Wolitzer's work over the years, but "An Available Man" was a disappointment. Nothing about it--plot, characters, quality of prose--drew me in, despite the subject matter, which should have been fertile ground for an experienced novelist. While many reviewers describe Wolitzer's narrative voice as wise and infused with humor, I found none of that in a story that moved ploddingly along to its end. The book gets one star for the presence of dogs in the story.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    very apropos for the aging boomer generation ... good book for

    very apropos for the aging boomer generation ... good book for a discussion group

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    I agree with so much of the praise that both readers and profess

    I agree with so much of the praise that both readers and professional critics have laid on this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it until it got near the end. Then I felt that the resolution was rushed and really not in keeping with Edward's nature. I don't wish to give the ending away so I won't go into detail, but it kept me from giving the book five stars. Actually, I'd give it a 3 and one-half.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Highly Recommended!!

    This is a wonderful book - learning to live (and date and perhaps even fall in love) after a spouse's death, from the man's point of view! Very good book. Great fiction with a very real feel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. My mother died when I was 36 and my

    I really enjoyed this book. My mother died when I was 36 and my father was 66 and I thought that this was a realistic portrayal of life after an event changes your life and you are forced to go on and make a new life without the person you expected to spend the rest of your life with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Check it out

    Amusing. Not quite what I expected.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Easy to Read

    Main character Edward is very likeable. Also found his stepchildren + friends real and interesting. Will probably read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Surprisingly engrossing. A lovely read, that is strangely exhila

    Surprisingly engrossing. A lovely read, that is strangely exhilarating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Poignant, funny and engaging. Bought another as a gift as well.

    Wolitzer's book was a quick read due to her engaging and sweet character, who, after his wife dies, tries to find his way through grief, family dynamics and the new world he steps into of female companionship that is no longer his long time spouse.

    Despite the somber event, Wolitzer lets us into her character's thoughts and memories with humor and hopefulness. I really liked this book and recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1