Customer Reviews for

Avatar: A Confidential Report on the Biological and Social History of Pandora

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    If you are a fan of avatar... this book is a must have

    I loved the movie and became completely engrossed in everything involving pandora. Being able to read about it as if it really exists was so cool. LOVED IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating guide

    In a distant solar system lies the once beautiful moon Pandora; home to a native sentient race the Na'vi. However, abuse of the environment has endangered the orb. This does not prevent the Resources Development Administration from continuing to exploit the dwindling once rich natural resources. An Earth delegation to include paraplegic Marine Jake Sully replacing his brother who died on combat has collected data that make up this source book as a means to avert this planet from the downward poison spiral that threatens life on Pandora. However, even the RDA guide to Pandora is proof of avaricious developers always win as some unknown greedy person is selling the confidential reference tome on EBay.

    This is a fascinating accompanying guide to James Cameron's movie Avatar as the director overwhelmingly makes clear which side of the environment issue he is on with no room for compromise. Clearly intended for fans who see the movie several times, this "Confidential Report on the Biological and Social History of Pandora" is interesting as it makes the moon and its species (the Na'vi even have their own unique language) seem real although new art supersedes extracts from the movie.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Insightful

    This book will clear up some of your questions regarding the natives, but not all. I was surprised by the resistance faction here on Earth (or whats left of it). This disturbing state of our home planet, which wasn't addressed at all in the film, would have shed a whole new light on the plot of the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Feels like I am in the world of avatar

    In movie Cameron presented book, or rather a guide to Navi world. Now here it is, one to fill in the blank spots and make fantasy, well, just a but more real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!

    This book went into very good detail regarding the planet (moon, I guess I should say) Pandora. It is an excellent book to read after seeing the movie Avatar. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pandoran Field Guide, Great for Fans

    This guide may not entertain all fans of the movie, but it will appeal to anyone who was enchanted by the world of Pandora itself. There is detailed information about a nice selection of plants and animals, as well as explanations for the workings of some of the human technology seen in the movie. There was not as much about the Na'vi culture as I would have liked, but the bits that were included were very interesting. The only thing about this book that I didn't much care for was the "narrator", who went on entirely too much about the RDA. I didn't buy this book to read about the dead Earth alluded to in the film (I can imagine that just fine on my own); I bought it because Pandora intrigued me enough that I wanted to know more about it outside of the storyline. But all in all, it's a fun book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    Activist Avatar

    I am reading
    Avatar : An Activist Survival Guide
    by Maria Wilhelm, Dirk Mathison
    ISBN-13: 9780061896750Delivered: Pub. Date: 12/01/2009
    I like the style of short subjects defining the background for the movie. The sci-fi facts about the planet and moon are addicting. It is fun the way it works in astronomical theories and facts with them. The added element of secrecy and conspiratorial tone make it more enticing and engaging. I bought the book due to a request for the plot of the movie in writing for a viewer with hearing problems. He thought it was interesting to learn more about the movie. The appearance of the book lends even more verisimilitude to the concept of underground activism. I was delighted with price and portability of the book and would recommend it to young and old fans of the movie. Nice bedtime read also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you are into Avatar...

    ...which I am, this is an excellent buy. Brilliantly detailed. It really expands the universe of the film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Great book on Avatar

    I recommend this book for anyone who likes the movie Avatar. It gives you a lot of background to understand what you see in the movie. Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    Avatar - An Activist's Survival Guide

    Excellent book to complement the film. In fact, it is better to read the book before viewing the film to get better understanding of what you are seeing. Also, good reference after the viewing to cover some of the gaps in the film. I have the Art of Avatar book as well and this guide is helpful in providing background for that as well. If you are a fan of Avatar film, this guide is a 'must have' for your personal library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Pleasantly Surprised

    I went to the midnight premier for James Cameron's Avatar without any feelings toward the movie whatsoever. But when i left that room, i couldn't help but want more and more of this amazing world.

    So, i promptly got online the next day to see if any books had been published relating to the movie. To my great surprise i came across this one. While i haven't finished it yet i still enjoy picking it up every once and awhile to read the little facts.

    So i recommend this book, but only to people who REALLY want to know more about the world of Pandora. Otherwise i'd spend my money elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Avatar Fans

    My twin daughters wanted this to get a heads-up on some of the information that would not be made known in the movie. I have to admit it made the movie easier to follow for me as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    'Avatar, an Activist Survival Guide' a fun companion to a new universe

    I purchased this book on a whim before the movie, which I was desperately anticipating, was released. It is a great companion for those who are fans of the movie, or are merely interested in the universe this film is set in. I will say there are some overt environmentally-conscious messages that the authors are throwing at you (even moreso than in the movie itself), but putting that aside there is a lot detail on the flora, fauna and native population of Pandora (the Na'vi), and even some detail on the technological innovations of the RDA and military equipment. If you were craving for more insight on the film and want to know more about everything 'Avatar' I would recommend this to you. This is not a story, however, just explanations about things you might see in the film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1