Customer Reviews for

Avenged

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

After reading the final book in the Pacific Coast Justice series

After reading the final book in the Pacific Coast Justice series, Janice Cantore may just have jumped on to my "favorite authors" list. I've been reading a TON of romantic suspense novels recently, and Avenged is one of the best I've read in a while!

I really...
After reading the final book in the Pacific Coast Justice series, Janice Cantore may just have jumped on to my "favorite authors" list. I've been reading a TON of romantic suspense novels recently, and Avenged is one of the best I've read in a while!

I really loved Carly and Nick and their relationship in this book! Just as they would think they had things all figured out, another challenge would pop up. It was refreshing to read about characters who were struggling personally (at times) but were really trying to respond differently than in the past and love each other well. That seems to be a hard balance to strike—in real life AND in fiction—but Janice pulls it off.

The suspense in this novel is gripping. The book is definitely stronger for all of Cantore's real-life experience as a police officer. The details of dealing with crime scenes, investigations, and other cops had me wondering if a career change might be in order. [Grin!] And I was glad to finally have answers to some of the loose ends from earlier in the series.

As much as I loved the plot and the characters, my favorite aspect of the book was how the author wove Christ throughout the book. Without being preachy, she tells a very gospel-centered story and I was encouraged throughout to look to Christ when things get tough.

I'm sad to see this series come to an end but look forward to reading Janice's next series. Who knows, maybe some of our old friends will show back up in future books?! If you enjoy suspenseful stories with a dose of romance, you're sure to enjoy the Pacific Coast Justice series! [5 stars]

I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House in exchange for my fair and honest review.

posted by iblog4books on April 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Geeeeeeze people. Do you Like the book or not. B&N please

Geeeeeeze people. Do you Like the book or not. B&N please limit the numer of stupid paragraphs people can write.

posted by Patski on May 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    After reading the final book in the Pacific Coast Justice series

    After reading the final book in the Pacific Coast Justice series, Janice Cantore may just have jumped on to my "favorite authors" list. I've been reading a TON of romantic suspense novels recently, and Avenged is one of the best I've read in a while!

    I really loved Carly and Nick and their relationship in this book! Just as they would think they had things all figured out, another challenge would pop up. It was refreshing to read about characters who were struggling personally (at times) but were really trying to respond differently than in the past and love each other well. That seems to be a hard balance to strike—in real life AND in fiction—but Janice pulls it off.

    The suspense in this novel is gripping. The book is definitely stronger for all of Cantore's real-life experience as a police officer. The details of dealing with crime scenes, investigations, and other cops had me wondering if a career change might be in order. [Grin!] And I was glad to finally have answers to some of the loose ends from earlier in the series.

    As much as I loved the plot and the characters, my favorite aspect of the book was how the author wove Christ throughout the book. Without being preachy, she tells a very gospel-centered story and I was encouraged throughout to look to Christ when things get tough.

    I'm sad to see this series come to an end but look forward to reading Janice's next series. Who knows, maybe some of our old friends will show back up in future books?! If you enjoy suspenseful stories with a dose of romance, you're sure to enjoy the Pacific Coast Justice series! [5 stars]

    I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House in exchange for my fair and honest review.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    Geeeeeeze people. Do you Like the book or not. B&N please

    Geeeeeeze people. Do you Like the book or not. B&N please limit the numer of stupid paragraphs people can write.

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    L

    Between the children using this as a chat room and the plot spoilers with their book report revealing the entire book there isnt much reviews. I wish bn would stop these long winded plot spoilers from revealing the entire book. You flag it but they dont do anything about it. I'll bet if the publishers know these ppl where revealing every detail in their so called reviews, costing sales, they just might think twice about giving away these free books for these free and unbiased reviews these plot spoilers are so quick to post. Hey, plot spoilers, please think of other readers before you go revealing the entire book. We would like to read it and be surprised, not already know what happens. Just because you got it for free does not give you the right to spoil it for everyone else. Be considerate, ok?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    This series very good!

    Avenged just follows the first two of the series with a very rapid action of a female cop on the Pacific coast. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Police officer Carly and her husband, a police sergeant, investi

    Police officer Carly and her husband, a police sergeant, investigate what appears to be a gang war. As the evidence mounts, the police department realizes something more is going on than just gang related activity.

    I thought this book was very good and a nice conclusion to the series. The story was fast paced and kept my attention. Looking forward to the author's next series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    The third (and final) book in the Pacific Coast Justice series f

    The third (and final) book in the Pacific Coast Justice series featuring Officer Carly Edwards.  In this installment, gang relations take on a new look in Las Playas, as the mystery surrounding three gangbangers who were shot execution style may not be as straightforward as it appears.




    Carly is also facing the possibility of a shift in her career - she has been offered a Fed job and is torn between the city that she loves and the possibility of making a different impact with the task force.  She and husband Nick continue to grow closer and learn how to communicate better, avoiding some of the problems they faced before, and Carly grows closer to God.




    This was an enjoyable series, written by retired Police Officer Janice Cantore.  I liked all three books, but the similar titles and time between reading each installment affected my memory in tying them together a bit more, I think.  If you can read them in order - without a large time lapse!- I believe you will get much more out of them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    I had read the first book in this series. But I didn't realize t

    I had read the first book in this series. But I didn't realize that there were two more. I didn't read book two, but now have read one and three. While I enjoyed this book, I was tired of hearing how beautiful Nick's sparkling blue eyes are. Good story, full of action. A pretty fast read as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    Excellently Written, Realistic, Great Plot, Believable Character

    Excellently Written, Realistic, Great Plot, Believable Characters.
    I enjoyed this book for the exciting action and realistic scenarios, and very much appreciated the author’s talent for keeping it clean while writing a crime thriller. I felt her characters were quite believable and likeable. I really became involved in the story, and the people. This is the third in the series, but better than the first one and as good as the second. Books 1 and 2 may not be necessary to enjoy this book, but I get more out of series books by reading them in sequence. Janice Cantore kept the suspense going and included great plot twists- she kept me guessing. She tied up loose ends and gave a satisfying conclusion. The same held true for all 3 stories. This is also a very good portrayal of people of faith, their careers, their beautiful marriage, and how to handle impatience and differences of opinion with calm discussions and prayer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    When I began reading this book, I thought I was reading the firs

    When I began reading this book, I thought I was reading the first in the series.
    Once I realized it is actually book #3, it made more sense why I didn't understand some
    of the details mentioned. None of those details were so significant that they took away from this book.
    I recommend starting at the beginning, though.

    I enjoyed following the main character, Carly, through her daily life as a police officer.
    The author, having been a law enforcement agent herself, gives great insight into the mind
    of an officer and the struggles and emotions they go through on a regular basis. Carly works in
    an area outside of L.A. where two rival gangs seem to be on the verge of a war. The story begins
    with the execution-style shooting of three gang bangers. As she fights to uncover the truth, her
    credibility and ethics are publicly questioned by news reporter. She must learn to rely on God
    to help her through the case she is working and her personal battle with the reporter who is
    trying to shred her reputation to pieces.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    B&N will start losing money because we do not have to buy th

    B&N will start losing money because we do not have to buy the book, just
     read the book reports  that some are confusing with reviews. I have not read
    It yet but had to rate it in order to submit my comments. Thank you for reading and heeding
    my comment.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    After requesting this book from Tyndale for review, I discovered

    After requesting this book from Tyndale for review, I discovered Book 2 (Abducted) for free on Kindle. Since it had been on my to-read list for quite some time, I snatched it up and eagerly read it. While it wasn’t my new favorite suspense book, I did enjoy it – and am really glad that I got to read it before this one! They go together wonderfully, and I haven’t a doubt that the first pulls them all completely together. I enjoyed this one more than the second one. Incidentally, I happened to notice on the back cover that it’s categorized as a Christian romance – that’s definitely not what I’d call it. The couple who stars in the series was married by the first book, and part of what the series chronicles is their marriage’s survival/life. However, there isn’t overly much detail and it’s certainly not a super-romantic book.
    Now, on to the other things about “Avenged.” The book had an accurate feel to it, and the action was good. However, both with this one and “Abducted,” I found myself disappointed with the suspense as I was hoping for an author to rank with Lynette Eason, Irene Hannon, and Dani Pettrey. I think that Janice is a good author, and has great promise – but she’s not a new favorite suspense author for me. Good books, yes. Favorite suspense, no. However, like I said, it was completely clean, good, and interesting! I have absolutely no problem recommending it to other readers. One thing I really liked about it was that it’s the same couple through the entire three book series. Of course, it helped that Carly and Nick were characters that I really enjoyed. Overall? This book and series is good, but not a top favorite for me.
    **Tyndale sent me a copy of this book in return for my honest review. I received no other compensation. All opinions and thoughts are my own. I was not required to post a positive review.**

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    Excellent, descriptive paragraphs but some confusing phrases/lin

    Excellent, descriptive paragraphs but some confusing phrases/lingo. For example, I LOVED the section on page 36 which described Dean's entrance into the coffee shop and the plot. "The front door opened, and Carly looked that way from reflex. When she was the man entering, Andrea's voice faded into the background and every alarm bell in Carly's head went off. His stride, the way he carried himself, said trouble, and Carly feared she was about to witness a robbery...he was fresh out of prison-- of that Carly was certain. Ex-cons had an air about them, and it was strongest right when they got out. Their posture, how they wore their hair, even how they dressed gave them away." It was so easy to visualize this scenario!!! I loved the word picture it provided!

    I love CSI and Law and Order. My brother is also a police officer. So, I was surprised and disappointed with some of the lingo provided without explanation as it made me pause while reading. Short hand terminology like CP, I understood as "concerned person", GSR is "gunshot residue" and PD is "police department". Janice Cantore explained some terminology like 9SN (9th Street Ningas) and DMZ ("buffer zone between the construction and the protestors"). Other lingo like RNB, EOW, and IOD were left unexplained and still confused me when I saw them later in the novel...

    Janice Cantore wrote a fast paced novel that drew me in by page 10 and kept me connected throughout the ENTIRE story! I also love the way the marriage of Carly and Nick was restored by God's grace and hard work! There were a few times where previous plots from book #1 and book #2 were mentioned and instead of helping me, it confused me... but I did expect that when I just jumped into book #3 without reading the first two of the series.

    And, of course, I LOVE reading novels which weave in applicable scripture! Psalm 62 -- "My victory and honor come from God alone. He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me." That preaches by itself but what a blessing to get a word picture via Avenged by Janice Cantore.
    I received this free book from Tyndale House Publishers for my fair and unbiased review.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

     I was not a reader of mysteries. Not until I met the phenomenal

     I was not a reader of mysteries. Not until I met the phenomenal Ollie Chandler Series by Randy Alcorn. Deadline, Dominion and Deception opened up a new kind of books for me, and I have been looking for another mystery series ever since. In God's Providential timing, I joined Netgalley this month and Tyndale was offering  Avenged by Janice Cantore. This book is the third book in The Pacific Coast Justice series, which follow the life of police officer Carly Edwards and her husband Nick. A series with a title like that sounds so good...and it is.

    After putting away a man who murdered his wife, Theresa Burke, who was the mayor of Las Playas, Carly is considering moving to detectives division. She loves patrol and her partner Joe is a brother to her, but maybe it is time for a change.
    Then comes the night Carly finds herself and Joe responding to the sounds of gun shots, and discover three young gangsters shot in the head. Only one of them is alive.

    When Joe is injured during a foot pursuit of a gang leader, military weapons taken from an Army base where a reservist was killed are found in the gang leaders stolen car. The gang leader insists he didn't buy the weapons. They were given to him by a man who says he just wants to even the score after the three shootings.

    Nick, Carly's husband, is now working in gang division after recovering from a shooting that left him wounded around a year before.
    When he is caught in the middle of a gang-style drive-by shooting in which his partner Mickey is wounded, Nick thinks this is not all gang war as it seems. Someone is behind this. Who wants to start a gang war, and why? The Army base where the guns were stolen from lost explosives in the same theft, enough explosives to blow quite a big crater out of their city.
    Who wants that much explosive? Is it "Oceans First," a radical environmentalist group that has created a tent city in Las Playas to hamper construction? 

    To Carly it seems there is one place that stays the same, Half Baked and Almost Grounded, the local coffeeshop where Ned and Ericka work. Until Ned's brother arrives, fresh out of a ten year sentence with covered with prison tattoos and evidence of some serious prison weight training.
    He is Trouble with a capital T, and he threatens that one day he is going to hold all the cards.
    When Londy a reformed gang member and employee at Half Baked disappears and is left bound to a newly made bomb in the back of a van in Carly and Nick's driveway, they know that someone with murderous plans is watching them.

    Carly is a strong and feminine character. In book three she has remarried Nick, whom she had divorced after he had an affair. As Christians now they have committed to a godly marriage and partnership. I love their relationship- very realistic, with him wanting to protect her and her admiring him so much as he works the job he loves. I also appreciate Nick's desire to start a family, something that neither one wanted before they were saved. I can picture Carly being a good mother to children. She has a softness and a strength to her.

    This book picks up to a quick pace and has a good bit of intensity. There are plot twists in it that I could not imagine untangling in one book...and this book is 378 pages long, giving us time for things to develop.
    I read Avenged without reading either Accused or Abducted, and that only made me want to read the first and second books more! I am looking forward to reading books one and two, and I see a preview in the back of this book for Janice Cantore's next book....which I hope I will have the pleasure of reviewing! I can honestly say- I loved this book, including the adventure of reading it aloud to eager family who was listening!

    As G. K. Chesterton said, "The detective story at its best allows the full range of human motivation, from hatred and greed to a desire for redemption, to play out in limitless ways. Moreover, given the universality of human emotion, the settings for a good detective story can be just as varied, from country houses to urban offices."

    "Both the crimes and the confessions can be as catastrophic as lightning. Indeed, The Ideal Detective Story might do some good if it brought men back to understand that the world is not all curves, but that there are some things that are as jagged as the lightning-flash or as straight as the sword." 

    Makes me want to write a detective novel. 

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    IronGirl

    Fine. Are you gonna be a bad guy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Loki

    Probably. I know a better superhero/villian/ Avengers rp though. Its at 'sleepy hollow' all res. Im Loki there too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    I think I probably would have enjoyed this book more if I had ac

    I think I probably would have enjoyed this book more if I had actually read the first two books in the series! The characters were well-developed and realistic. The story itself was interesting and took enough twists that I did not know exactly how it would end before I read that far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "Avenged" continues the story of California police off

    "Avenged" continues the story of California police officer, Carly Edwards in this third book of the "Pacific Coast Justice Series". I read the first book, "Accused" but missed the second, "Abducted," and I did feel a little lost from time to time. So, for that reason, I would say this would not be a standalone book, but rather you need the background of the previous two to understand the story arc and conclusion of "Avenged." 

    That being said, Janice Cantore wrote another great, engaging novel here in "Avenged" and I thoroughly enjoyed it. There is a great action-packed storyline with the crime fighting going on, but also a good amount of spiritual lessons and Biblical application, which I love. As a reviewer of the book, I don't think I need to give another synopsis of the plot, but rather my takeaway from it, and I feel like a Scripture passage from Psalm 62 included halfway through the book really says it all: "My victory and honor come from God alone. He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me. O my people, trust in Him at all times. Pour out your heart to Him, for God is our refuge." It's a lesson that the main characters, Carly and her husband Nick, along with a number of secondary characters, learn along the way in "Avenged." It doesn't mean that everything goes smoothly in the book or that everyone lives "happily ever after," but rather that in this life, learning to trust is vital and the only way to truly survive and live, whether that's a long life here on this earth or not, as true life is that of eternal life secure in Christ, which no man can snatch away. 

    Cantore writes so descriptively that your imagination is able to make the book come to life, to the extent that your heart rate will increase during the intense scenes as you struggle to survive. ;-) However, I also appreciate the fact that Ms. Cantore doesn't feel the need to be overly graphic in the more violent scenes, but gives you just enough info to know what's going on but not too much to make you sick (unlike one of the books by Mel Odom I reviewed recently). 

    Overall, I give "Avenged" 4 stars as I book I really enjoyed and would recommend to those looking for an action-packed story to captivate them. My hesitancy to give it a full 5 stars is just for the fact that its not a standalone book, and thus not necessarily for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    This is a very quick paced Christian police mystery thriller. Al

    This is a very quick paced Christian police mystery thriller. Although I did enjoy it, I found it was a little difficult getting into the story and then since it had a lot of different characters, some of whom had multiple names, it was hard to follow. It also was definitely the third book in the series and it seemed to draw a lot from the previous books. But, I did enjoy reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    Loved this book! Janice Cantore did it again! This is the 3rd bo

    Loved this book! Janice Cantore did it again! This is the 3rd book in the Pacific Coast Justice Series.

    This book follows Carly Edwards. At the beginning of the book, she finds 3 gangbangers shot. Her and her husband, Nick, try to find out what happened and why these 3 gangbangers were shot so violently. Things aren't adding up. Nothing makes sense. But Carly is determined to find out what really happened. This book has suspense throughout the whole book. It keeps you guessing from beginning to end.

    I would highly recommend this book to everyone especially those who like inspirational suspense/thrillers. Janice Cantore has become one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Janice Cantore in her new book, "Avenged" Book Three i

    Janice Cantore in her new book, "Avenged" Book Three in the Pacific Coast Justice series published by Tyndale House Publishers brings us another adventure with Detective Carly Edwards.




    From the Back Cover: When Officer Carly Edwards finds three young gangbangers shot execution style, she and her husband, Sergeant Nick Anderson, head of the gang unit, fear Las Playas may be on the verge of a gang war. The Las Playas PD is put on high alert as tensions escalate between rival gangs, especially after Carly confiscates weapons from a gang leader and learns they were stolen from a military base along with explosive devices.




    But something isn't adding up, and Carly suspects there might be more going on. As she prepares to testify at a major trial, Carly's reputation is shredded by a reporter apparently trying to discredit her professionally. Facing pressure on all fronts, Carly must rely on faith and trust God in a deeper way during one of the biggest struggles of her career.




    Get ready for excitement as Carly Edwards runs into an escalating war. Someone has stolen enough explosives to blow quite a big crater out of Las Playas. There was what looks like an execution style killing of three gangbangers. Now it looks as if the person responsible for the theft of military weapons and explosives from the military base wants revenge. And Carly needs to find out who that person is before her whole city literally blows up. Ms. Canore is a retired Long Beach California police officer of 22 years. She did what she now makes Carly do and her experience shines through the pages. "Avenged" is a thriller with all kinds of excitement and danger. It is also a romance as Carly and Nick are trying to make their new marriage work. Janice Cantore knows how to weave a captivating story with wonderful characters that breathe. I enjoyed reading this book and look forward to the new series from Ms. Cantore.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3