BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Avenged

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

After reading the final book in the Pacific Coast Justice series

After reading the final book in the Pacific Coast Justice series, Janice Cantore may just have jumped on to my "favorite authors" list. I've been reading a TON of romantic suspense novels recently, and Avenged is one of the best I've read in a while!

I really...
After reading the final book in the Pacific Coast Justice series, Janice Cantore may just have jumped on to my "favorite authors" list. I've been reading a TON of romantic suspense novels recently, and Avenged is one of the best I've read in a while!

I really loved Carly and Nick and their relationship in this book! Just as they would think they had things all figured out, another challenge would pop up. It was refreshing to read about characters who were struggling personally (at times) but were really trying to respond differently than in the past and love each other well. That seems to be a hard balance to strike—in real life AND in fiction—but Janice pulls it off.

The suspense in this novel is gripping. The book is definitely stronger for all of Cantore's real-life experience as a police officer. The details of dealing with crime scenes, investigations, and other cops had me wondering if a career change might be in order. [Grin!] And I was glad to finally have answers to some of the loose ends from earlier in the series.

As much as I loved the plot and the characters, my favorite aspect of the book was how the author wove Christ throughout the book. Without being preachy, she tells a very gospel-centered story and I was encouraged throughout to look to Christ when things get tough.

I'm sad to see this series come to an end but look forward to reading Janice's next series. Who knows, maybe some of our old friends will show back up in future books?! If you enjoy suspenseful stories with a dose of romance, you're sure to enjoy the Pacific Coast Justice series! [5 stars]

I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House in exchange for my fair and honest review.

posted by iblog4books on April 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Geeeeeeze people. Do you Like the book or not. B&N please

Geeeeeeze people. Do you Like the book or not. B&N please limit the numer of stupid paragraphs people can write.

posted by Patski on May 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Police officer Carly and her husband, a police sergeant, investi

    Police officer Carly and her husband, a police sergeant, investigate what appears to be a gang war. As the evidence mounts, the police department realizes something more is going on than just gang related activity.

    I thought this book was very good and a nice conclusion to the series. The story was fast paced and kept my attention. Looking forward to the author's next series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    The third (and final) book in the Pacific Coast Justice series f

    The third (and final) book in the Pacific Coast Justice series featuring Officer Carly Edwards.  In this installment, gang relations take on a new look in Las Playas, as the mystery surrounding three gangbangers who were shot execution style may not be as straightforward as it appears.




    Carly is also facing the possibility of a shift in her career - she has been offered a Fed job and is torn between the city that she loves and the possibility of making a different impact with the task force.  She and husband Nick continue to grow closer and learn how to communicate better, avoiding some of the problems they faced before, and Carly grows closer to God.




    This was an enjoyable series, written by retired Police Officer Janice Cantore.  I liked all three books, but the similar titles and time between reading each installment affected my memory in tying them together a bit more, I think.  If you can read them in order - without a large time lapse!- I believe you will get much more out of them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    I had read the first book in this series. But I didn't realize t

    I had read the first book in this series. But I didn't realize that there were two more. I didn't read book two, but now have read one and three. While I enjoyed this book, I was tired of hearing how beautiful Nick's sparkling blue eyes are. Good story, full of action. A pretty fast read as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    When I began reading this book, I thought I was reading the firs

    When I began reading this book, I thought I was reading the first in the series.
    Once I realized it is actually book #3, it made more sense why I didn't understand some
    of the details mentioned. None of those details were so significant that they took away from this book.
    I recommend starting at the beginning, though.

    I enjoyed following the main character, Carly, through her daily life as a police officer.
    The author, having been a law enforcement agent herself, gives great insight into the mind
    of an officer and the struggles and emotions they go through on a regular basis. Carly works in
    an area outside of L.A. where two rival gangs seem to be on the verge of a war. The story begins
    with the execution-style shooting of three gang bangers. As she fights to uncover the truth, her
    credibility and ethics are publicly questioned by news reporter. She must learn to rely on God
    to help her through the case she is working and her personal battle with the reporter who is
    trying to shred her reputation to pieces.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    After requesting this book from Tyndale for review, I discovered

    After requesting this book from Tyndale for review, I discovered Book 2 (Abducted) for free on Kindle. Since it had been on my to-read list for quite some time, I snatched it up and eagerly read it. While it wasn’t my new favorite suspense book, I did enjoy it – and am really glad that I got to read it before this one! They go together wonderfully, and I haven’t a doubt that the first pulls them all completely together. I enjoyed this one more than the second one. Incidentally, I happened to notice on the back cover that it’s categorized as a Christian romance – that’s definitely not what I’d call it. The couple who stars in the series was married by the first book, and part of what the series chronicles is their marriage’s survival/life. However, there isn’t overly much detail and it’s certainly not a super-romantic book.
    Now, on to the other things about “Avenged.” The book had an accurate feel to it, and the action was good. However, both with this one and “Abducted,” I found myself disappointed with the suspense as I was hoping for an author to rank with Lynette Eason, Irene Hannon, and Dani Pettrey. I think that Janice is a good author, and has great promise – but she’s not a new favorite suspense author for me. Good books, yes. Favorite suspense, no. However, like I said, it was completely clean, good, and interesting! I have absolutely no problem recommending it to other readers. One thing I really liked about it was that it’s the same couple through the entire three book series. Of course, it helped that Carly and Nick were characters that I really enjoyed. Overall? This book and series is good, but not a top favorite for me.
    **Tyndale sent me a copy of this book in return for my honest review. I received no other compensation. All opinions and thoughts are my own. I was not required to post a positive review.**

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    Excellent, descriptive paragraphs but some confusing phrases/lin

    Excellent, descriptive paragraphs but some confusing phrases/lingo. For example, I LOVED the section on page 36 which described Dean's entrance into the coffee shop and the plot. "The front door opened, and Carly looked that way from reflex. When she was the man entering, Andrea's voice faded into the background and every alarm bell in Carly's head went off. His stride, the way he carried himself, said trouble, and Carly feared she was about to witness a robbery...he was fresh out of prison-- of that Carly was certain. Ex-cons had an air about them, and it was strongest right when they got out. Their posture, how they wore their hair, even how they dressed gave them away." It was so easy to visualize this scenario!!! I loved the word picture it provided!

    I love CSI and Law and Order. My brother is also a police officer. So, I was surprised and disappointed with some of the lingo provided without explanation as it made me pause while reading. Short hand terminology like CP, I understood as "concerned person", GSR is "gunshot residue" and PD is "police department". Janice Cantore explained some terminology like 9SN (9th Street Ningas) and DMZ ("buffer zone between the construction and the protestors"). Other lingo like RNB, EOW, and IOD were left unexplained and still confused me when I saw them later in the novel...

    Janice Cantore wrote a fast paced novel that drew me in by page 10 and kept me connected throughout the ENTIRE story! I also love the way the marriage of Carly and Nick was restored by God's grace and hard work! There were a few times where previous plots from book #1 and book #2 were mentioned and instead of helping me, it confused me... but I did expect that when I just jumped into book #3 without reading the first two of the series.

    And, of course, I LOVE reading novels which weave in applicable scripture! Psalm 62 -- "My victory and honor come from God alone. He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me." That preaches by itself but what a blessing to get a word picture via Avenged by Janice Cantore.
    I received this free book from Tyndale House Publishers for my fair and unbiased review.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    IronGirl

    Fine. Are you gonna be a bad guy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "Avenged" continues the story of California police off

    "Avenged" continues the story of California police officer, Carly Edwards in this third book of the "Pacific Coast Justice Series". I read the first book, "Accused" but missed the second, "Abducted," and I did feel a little lost from time to time. So, for that reason, I would say this would not be a standalone book, but rather you need the background of the previous two to understand the story arc and conclusion of "Avenged." 

    That being said, Janice Cantore wrote another great, engaging novel here in "Avenged" and I thoroughly enjoyed it. There is a great action-packed storyline with the crime fighting going on, but also a good amount of spiritual lessons and Biblical application, which I love. As a reviewer of the book, I don't think I need to give another synopsis of the plot, but rather my takeaway from it, and I feel like a Scripture passage from Psalm 62 included halfway through the book really says it all: "My victory and honor come from God alone. He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me. O my people, trust in Him at all times. Pour out your heart to Him, for God is our refuge." It's a lesson that the main characters, Carly and her husband Nick, along with a number of secondary characters, learn along the way in "Avenged." It doesn't mean that everything goes smoothly in the book or that everyone lives "happily ever after," but rather that in this life, learning to trust is vital and the only way to truly survive and live, whether that's a long life here on this earth or not, as true life is that of eternal life secure in Christ, which no man can snatch away. 

    Cantore writes so descriptively that your imagination is able to make the book come to life, to the extent that your heart rate will increase during the intense scenes as you struggle to survive. ;-) However, I also appreciate the fact that Ms. Cantore doesn't feel the need to be overly graphic in the more violent scenes, but gives you just enough info to know what's going on but not too much to make you sick (unlike one of the books by Mel Odom I reviewed recently). 

    Overall, I give "Avenged" 4 stars as I book I really enjoyed and would recommend to those looking for an action-packed story to captivate them. My hesitancy to give it a full 5 stars is just for the fact that its not a standalone book, and thus not necessarily for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    This is a very quick paced Christian police mystery thriller. Al

    This is a very quick paced Christian police mystery thriller. Although I did enjoy it, I found it was a little difficult getting into the story and then since it had a lot of different characters, some of whom had multiple names, it was hard to follow. It also was definitely the third book in the series and it seemed to draw a lot from the previous books. But, I did enjoy reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Hazlekit

    Name: Hazlekit <br>
    Rank: Leader <br>
    Crush: Sky. <br>
    Mate: No. <br>
    Power: None...i have Tony Stark armor. My eyes glow yellow with electricity and the reactor in my chest is the same. <br>
    Alias: Spades or Haze <br>
    Description: Creamy brown fur, gold paws. Yellow eyes.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    good story

    This story has a lot of realism because the author was a policewoman in Long Beach where it takes place. It takes some interesting twists and is enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Very Good read!!

    I really liked how the book was suspensful and grabbed my attention right from the start. I also kind of liked that it didn't have all the sex in it. Don't get me wrong I don't mind that type of stuff every now and again but sometimes it get's to be to much. So to have a suspensful and wholesome book at the same time was awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Awesome book

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1