Customer Reviews for

Avenger's Angel (Lost Angels Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic beginning to an intriguing series!

HKW certainly knows how to integrate a twisting plot full of richly developed characters and mythology. I highly recommend this book to fantasy and romance readers interested in an action packed novel!

posted by Anonymous on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Liked it but didn't love it. Worth checking out though.

"As a reward for continuous service and loyalty four Archangels were rewarded by being given a perfect being for each, an archess. Their soul mates. To prevent more dissent in the ranks and a possible heavenly war the archesses are cast out of heaven and down to Earth. ...
"As a reward for continuous service and loyalty four Archangels were rewarded by being given a perfect being for each, an archess. Their soul mates. To prevent more dissent in the ranks and a possible heavenly war the archesses are cast out of heaven and down to Earth. The once favored Samael, in a fit of jealousy, takes the plunge to Earth following Gabriel, Uriel, Azrael, and Michael, to find for himself the women."

After thousands of years on Earth thinking that the gift of the archess was nothing but a lie the four former archangels have changed a great deal. Uriel, the former Angel of Vengeance, is now very a famous actor. Gabriel, the former Messenger Angel, is a fireman with the NYFD. Michael, the former Warrior Angel, is now a policeman with the NYPD. Azrael, the former Angel of Death is now a vampire and a very famous rock star. The boys live in a super cool mansion that can take them anywhere they wanna go just by going to a doorway, have special abilities and they have a guardian that looks after them. I liked all of the boys including their guardian, Max.

While at a bookstore doing a signing for his new movie Uriel runs into Ellie, his archess. He is instantly drawn to her and though attracted to him, she thinks he's a pompous ass. He knows she is his and after thousands of years knows the gift of the archess isn't a lie. He immediately shares the information with his brothers and prepares to make her his. Ellie has other ideas and the boys nemesis, Samael, the Fallen One, will do everything in his power to take Ellie from Uriel.

This is a story about destiny, soul mates, and the battle of good versus evil. Samael is the Fallen One and an egotistical ass but he's also very lonely and wants to be loved. As much as I wanted to dislike the guy I just couldn't; even though he was a master manipulator and the cause for most of the problems between Ellie and Uriel.

This book was slow at times and Ellie really frustrated me. I actually put it down to read something else and came back to it. I've read several exceptional books about angels lately and while good this one just wasn't as good as the others. I like the premise of the book but to be honest the only thing that really saved the book for me was Azrael. He was by far my favorite of the brothers and his scenes were the best in the book.

I plan to read the next book in the series. There is a lot of world building involved when starting a series so if I'm interested, I like to give an author two books to see if the storyline picks up. I'm not sure who the next book is about but I really, really hope it's Azrael. He's the dark one but something tells me that if I want to know more about him I'm gonna have to read about his brothers first.

posted by MThomas1975 on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Amazing New Series

    I picked up this book because I loved Heather's Big Bad Wolf series. Amazing start to an amazing new series. Can't wait till book two comes out!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Fantastic beginning to an intriguing series!

    HKW certainly knows how to integrate a twisting plot full of richly developed characters and mythology. I highly recommend this book to fantasy and romance readers interested in an action packed novel!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Exciting new series from this author.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I liked the new twists Killough-Walden threw in there. Its not your typical fallen angel story. Can't wait for the next one!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Liked it but didn't love it. Worth checking out though.

    "As a reward for continuous service and loyalty four Archangels were rewarded by being given a perfect being for each, an archess. Their soul mates. To prevent more dissent in the ranks and a possible heavenly war the archesses are cast out of heaven and down to Earth. The once favored Samael, in a fit of jealousy, takes the plunge to Earth following Gabriel, Uriel, Azrael, and Michael, to find for himself the women."

    After thousands of years on Earth thinking that the gift of the archess was nothing but a lie the four former archangels have changed a great deal. Uriel, the former Angel of Vengeance, is now very a famous actor. Gabriel, the former Messenger Angel, is a fireman with the NYFD. Michael, the former Warrior Angel, is now a policeman with the NYPD. Azrael, the former Angel of Death is now a vampire and a very famous rock star. The boys live in a super cool mansion that can take them anywhere they wanna go just by going to a doorway, have special abilities and they have a guardian that looks after them. I liked all of the boys including their guardian, Max.

    While at a bookstore doing a signing for his new movie Uriel runs into Ellie, his archess. He is instantly drawn to her and though attracted to him, she thinks he's a pompous ass. He knows she is his and after thousands of years knows the gift of the archess isn't a lie. He immediately shares the information with his brothers and prepares to make her his. Ellie has other ideas and the boys nemesis, Samael, the Fallen One, will do everything in his power to take Ellie from Uriel.

    This is a story about destiny, soul mates, and the battle of good versus evil. Samael is the Fallen One and an egotistical ass but he's also very lonely and wants to be loved. As much as I wanted to dislike the guy I just couldn't; even though he was a master manipulator and the cause for most of the problems between Ellie and Uriel.

    This book was slow at times and Ellie really frustrated me. I actually put it down to read something else and came back to it. I've read several exceptional books about angels lately and while good this one just wasn't as good as the others. I like the premise of the book but to be honest the only thing that really saved the book for me was Azrael. He was by far my favorite of the brothers and his scenes were the best in the book.

    I plan to read the next book in the series. There is a lot of world building involved when starting a series so if I'm interested, I like to give an author two books to see if the storyline picks up. I'm not sure who the next book is about but I really, really hope it's Azrael. He's the dark one but something tells me that if I want to know more about him I'm gonna have to read about his brothers first.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    I love the tale of the Archangels Heather created! This excitin

    I love the tale of the Archangels Heather created! This exciting story kept my heart racing as twist after turn was thrown. The battle of wits and power of love will always surpass any bad guy-no matter how likeable he ends up being. Besides the fight for love and happiness, I enjoyed the battle for trust and the importance to earn the trust of another was. Heather brings out the best qualities in a person and shows what is truly worth fighting for and that love is not the only thing someone can lose, but their faith, hope, and ability to trust another. A perfect story for angels, written by one herself. Can not wait for the next one!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!

    I'm a huge fan of Heather K. Walden's books. The men in this book make any woman swoon I love that Heather writes about men who know what they want and fight for it. These men are strong but sensitive at the same. I absolutely recommend this book but beware the men in your life will have to compete with Michael, Gabriel, Uriel, Azrael and maybe a little bit of bad boy Sam..

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Great Read!

    I didnt think i would like this book but i started reading it and couldnt put it down.I recommend this book.Cant wait for the next book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Love this book

    Absolutely loved the story...can't wait for the nrxt book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Absolutely LOVED it!

    I loved this book from start to finish, can't wait to read the rest of the series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Aewsome

    Very good book. I loved it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Love this new series!

    I totally enjoy all of Ms. Killough-Walden's books. I can't wait to see the next installment in the Angel series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    VERY VERY GOOD

    I loved this book, can't wait for the next one!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Epic and enthralling

    Wow! This was such an epic tale that took me by surprise. I am awed and breathless. HKW has polished this gem so bright it blinds. It's enigmatic, charismatic, and dramatic.

    The purpose is clear from the start, one Archess for each of four archangels. What a glorious unfolding of twists, turns, almighty displays, and enduring love.

    Love, it has to be the greatest motivator on earth (and in heaven). But inside a body, we have the radar jammed with senses, we react to people, and attraction can be debilitating. It can be so overwhelming and powerful, that we can't find our anchor, we become lost in the tumultuous storm raging inside us as we fight a magnetic pull we don't understand.

    This is Ellie's experience when she has that rare and life changing, love at first sight, which she refuses to acknowledge, and she fights it. To fight love at first sight means - you fight the one you fell in love with at first sight - in a panicked bid to get control over your own thoughts, emotions, and body again.

    This struggle was incredible to read! Heather made it tangible and real, it was a sweeping saga of bloody battles, unbelievable twists and dramatic turns. It's so stormy and tempestuous, it's enthralling to read. This has to be the best book I've read by Heather, simply because it is action packed, delivers love to your heart in it's purest unfiltered form, takes you on an emotional ride of confusion and adoration, and makes you happy for every myth and supernatural story ever told. No man could do this work justice, it's up to the archangels to do it. They are magnificent! They are incredible. And the result is indelible. After you read this you will want to read it again and again and again, and treasure it. It makes you believe in love, prayers, wishes, and a love so binding it transcends every realm.

    LOVED IT!

    Poppet

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    look forward to more of these angels

    I think this will be a good and different series to read. I enjoyed reading the first one.

    Their are 4 archangels, Michael, Gabriel, Uriel and Azrael, that were the most favorite and The Old Man created for them 4 soul mates but before they could meet the 4 archness soulmate were cast down and the 4 archangels followed them and have been searching for thousands of years. with only some of their powers left to them. They did not come alone to search for them.

    Michael warrior angel now policeman in NYC

    Gabriel messenger angel now fireman in NYC

    Uriel angel of vengence Movie star

    Azrael angel of death, now the first vampire Singer

    Samael the fallen media mogul now

    Ellie works in a bookstore that Christopher Daniels (Uriel) was signing at today a novel written about his blockbuster movie. He reconginezed her right away and could hardly believe he finally found her.

    Ellie was 25 she was home schooled because she had powers of healing and over the weather that came out and her parents were scared someone would take advantage of her. In fact they did have to run a few times and it was very close. Ellie did not know why and who were after her. The last thing she wanted was to be in the spotlight and for people to watch her.

    Sameal wanted a archness himself he was planning to suduce her and made a bargain with Uriel to win her if he did than Sameal would leave her alone. If Sameal won her favor than Uriel would have to be his servant forever. If Uriel did not make the deal Sameal would kill her. Of course their were hidden clause in the contract.

    Their are twists and turns into the book that i kept being surprised with. did not want to put the book down till I finshed it. Was a nice size of book and look forward to more stories about the other 3 archangels.

    I was given this ebook to read in exchange of honest review from Netgalley.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    I enjoyed thid book

    I wish there was more in the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    I love Heather's books!

    True fan. Haven't read a book I don't like by Heather Killough-Walden. Very well written. She locks you in from the beginning and leaves you begging for more! Already read the The Big Bad Wolf Series and The Vampire King. Keep em coming!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    Loved this book!! Fast paced and romantic too. Cant to see how all the rest of the archangels story turn out!!! I can picture how each angel looks like by heathers descriptions in her books and i must say....YUM!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Cannot wait for the next one!

    Cannot wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Iron man

    Flys in blasts open a wall to city hall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Chichi

    Name:Chichi Age:14 Heught:5'7" Apperance:Black T-shirt pink n gray plaid skirt white knee high socks n black n pink hightops Hair color: Black n mid back length Eye color:Blue with specks of silver Personality:very shy once she gets to know u then the shyness goes away she is very nice n easy to get along with just dont make her mad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6