Customer Reviews for

Avenger's Heat: A Moon Shifter Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    NUMBER OF HEARTS: 4 1/2 REVIEW:  Erin is on her first solo missi

    NUMBER OF HEARTS: 4 1/2
    REVIEW: 
    Erin is on her first solo mission, not completely solo Noah has been set with her, to find out why pregnant shifters are disappearing. Erin’s first step is to meet with the Alpha of the area, who just happens to be Noah’s father. This mission has lots of twists and turns and will become very difficult for Erin. Having Noah by her side will both help and hinder her at the same time. 
    Another great story in the Moon Shifter series. Loved reading about Noah & Erin. I loved how patient Noah is with Erin. It was heart breaking to learn more about Erin’s past. But these two make an awesome team and I can’t wait to see glimpse of them in future books. 
    I would have like to jump into parts of Noah’s past a little more. But maybe this will come out in a future book. I am sure that Noah & Erin’s story is far from over. I did enjoy reading about Brianna and Angelo and hope that we get to see more of them in the future too. 

    Disclaimer: 
    I received a complimentary copy of the book from PENGUIN GROUP Berkley, NAL / Signet Romance, DAW in exchange for an honest review. This review is my own opinion and not a paid review. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    My new favorite book in the series.  Ms. Reus has built a rich

    My new favorite book in the series. 

    Ms. Reus has built a rich world full of interesting covers. From the very beginning Erin intrigued me and I waited and waited for her story so I was excited to see that I was finally getting it with Avenger’s Heat. Noah is a seriously awesome alpha wolf shifter, he is everything a woman could want, a partner who both protects and supports.




    Erin is a pretty amazing heroine, she’s strong, and a warrior but still has a vulnerable side. Their banter and tension when together was my favorite part. I really enjoyed reconnecting with other characters and as always Ms. Reus does a great job writing interesting secondary characters. Erin has some insecurities because of the abuse in her past and doesn’t feel like she’s a proper mate for Noah, and I think that’s a very real emotion and I enjoyed seeing it.




    Ms. Reus proves that whether it be hot contemporary or steamy paranormal she can write diverse and rich worlds with full three-dimensional characters that are easy to relate to. I highly recommend this book and this series!








    I received an ARC from the author in exchange for my honest review. I was not compensated for my review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    Avenger¿s Heat is the fourth book in the Moon Shifter Series by

    Avenger’s Heat is the fourth book in the Moon Shifter Series by Katie Reus. It can be read as a stand -alone book but there are some references to things that have happened in prior books. This book has been my favorite so far in this series. The chemistry between Noah and Erin is great. Erin an Enforcer for the Wolf Council is sent to New Orleans, on her first assignment, to investigate and put a stop to the abduction of pregnant shifters. Noah, a warrior is sent with her to assist in her investigation and smoother the way as his father is the Alpha of the lupine pack in New Orleans. Noah knows that Erin is mate, however Erin has been fighting her attraction to Noah, as she feels she is damaged and he deserves and “softer” and “gentler” mate than her. As they delve into the shifter disappearances Erin must face her past head on. With some vampires and fae thrown into the mix (both good and bad) it makes for an all-around great paranormal read. I cannot wait for more of this series.

    I was provided with an ARC of this book for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A captivating paranormal romance¿ This is the 4th book in the M

    A captivating paranormal romance…

    This is the 4th book in the Moon Shifter series but it can be read as a stand-alone. That’s what this reader did and had no problems following the paranormal tangents or delving into the world the author created, everything flowed so smoothly. Characters whose stories have already been told do appear and were found to be intriguing so more books in this series will be read. 

    Erin Flynn, a wolf shifter, is a new enforcer, protector to her kind. She was thus trained after being found brutally beaten and left for dead a year ago. The physical scars have healed but those within still haunt her and drive her actions. She feels for the shifter who found her but believes she is too damaged; that he deserves a woman who is whole. 

    Noah Campbell, a very sexy wolf shifter, found Erin barely alive a year ago. He has been drawn to her ever since, knowing that she is the mate for him but needing to give her time. She needs to come to terms with what Noah knows she feels for him and to open up about her past and what happened to her which she has never discussed with anyone.

    Someone is kidnapping pregnant shifters in New Orleans, lupine and feline, and Erin is sent to investigate along with Noah who is her backup and assistance. What they find there leads to Erin’s past and she is forced to face things she’d rather forget. She has to learn to trust in Noah and to share her past as they track down the deadly perpetrators and save the missing shifters before they are killed.

    This book has everything this reader enjoys: mystery, action, suspense and a sexy romance with compelling characters. The many plot twists to the story captivate your attention. Erin is a strong woman who has come back from a devastating betrayal to become a fierce fighter for her kind. Noah is the perfect alpha and protector who doesn’t mind a strong woman, actually loves that Erin is. The chemistry between these two was palpable, the dialogue enjoyable. The ending was very sweet and perfect for these two. I look forward to reading more in this series.

    ARC provided by the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    Another fabulous read in the Moon Shifter series! 4.5 Stars! A

    Another fabulous read in the Moon Shifter series!

    4.5 Stars!

    Avenger's Heat is book 4 of the Moon Shifter series and it delivered! We finally get Erin and Noah's HEA and it was sweet and sexy. Erin, the newest enforcer for the North American Council of lupine shifters, is in New Orleans on her first assignment. With Noah by her side she is tasked with finding who is kidnapping pregnant shifters and why. As Erin gets more involved in the case, she also gets more attached to Noah. Can she solve this mystery, admit to herself how important Noah is to her, and yet protect her heart if he turns her away?

    We also see the romance blossoming between Brianna, the Fae warrior, and Angelo, wolf shifter and Noah and Erin's pack mate, both who are helping out on the pregnant shifter case.

    Avenger's Heat is packed with suspense, romance, plot twists, and edge of your seat action. And, the ending is... well, let's just say, I can't wait for the next book in this series!

    Well done and highly recommended.

    * Book provided in exchange for honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    To truly have her, he must free her from her dark secret¿ En

    To truly have her, he must free her from her dark secret…




    Enforcer Erin Flynn has dedicated her life to protecting her kind. But keeping her heart safe from Noah Campbell, the smoking-hot shifter who saved her life last year, is more difficult. The deadly beauty would love to sink into his arms and become his mate, but she knows she can’t—he must never know about her dark past.




    When Erin is sent to investigate the disappearances of pregnant shifters in New Orleans, Erin and Noah find themselves involved in a mystery more sinister than anyone expected. And as Erin delves further into the crimes, chilling information about her own past is revealed. The people who wanted her dead in the first place are trying to finish the job, and Noah wants nothing more than to shield her from harm. But can Erin truly trust Noah and let him see the wounded beast she’s hidden for so long?




    Review:




    What a great book and series, a must read for all lovers of shifters and the supernatural world.




    In this installment of the series, we finally get the answer to of will they or won't they where Erin and Noah are concerned.  This couple has been fighting their attraction tooth and nail since the beginning of this series.  More fighting on Erin's part because of her terrible past, which we finally learn about in this story.  I will try to be vague so as not spoil it for others.  But I wanted to hurt those SOB's for what they did to Erin and now what they are doing to pregnant shifters.  I love emotion of the story between Erin dealing with her past and the pain of what is happening to the kidnapped shifters, it really added to my connection with the story.  And I love that Erin and Noah finally come together, I think they are great for each other and compliment each other, they are sexy, smart and tough.  Noah is such a great mate for Erin, he knows when to let her be tough, but so wants to take care of her hurts for her.




    This story is packed with emotion, drama, suspense and sexy shifters, well worth taking your time to read.




    4.5 Stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    Erin Flynn and Noah Campbell are on their way to New Orleans. Er

    Erin Flynn and Noah Campbell are on their way to New Orleans. Erin, being the newest enforcer for the North American Council, is tasked with discovering why pregnant shifters are going missing. Noah is with her because his father is the Alpha who runs most of New Orleans, but also because Erin is his mate and he will do whatever’s necessary to protect her. If only she’d just acknowledge the fact and accept his help, Noah and his wolf would feel a lot better.

    Brianna, a warrior fae, and Angelo, a fellow pack member, are accompanying Erin and Noah to New Orleans in order to help with the case. As the mystery unfolds, new characters are introduced, and the dynamics of the case change dramatically as those responsible are revealed. Erin’s past literally comes back to bite her in the ass. Can she stop the abduction of pregnant shifters and solve the case, or will fear from her past cripple her new found enforcer strength, leaving her broken…again?

    The book was amazing! I loved every aspect of the story! I love how possessive Noah is but the fact that he also recognizes that Erin is a strong, capable enforcer. His love and support of her totally had me swooning! I also loved watching Brianna and Angelo’s relationship develop. There is something about a protective shifter male that gives me butterflies! Where can I get me one too? 

    I also enjoyed reading about the new characters introduced and learned more about the vampires, the Brethern (vampire council) and the sexy vamp that works for them, Ian. I’m hoping to learn more about them in future books. We also meet Marcus, Brianna’s vampire contact and a bloodborn/daywalker. I think he is trouble, but only time will tell.

    If you are looking for a new paranormal series, I highly recommend this series! The plot is always entertaining, the characters are brilliantly developed and there’s always a happily ever after! Another 5-Star read for Katie Reus!

    ***I received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All conclusions reached are my own***

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Erin is on her first enforcer assignment when everything starts

    Erin is on her first enforcer assignment when everything starts hitting close to home for her. Her mission is to track down the scumbags who are kidnapping pregnant shifters. She’s not sure why they are taking them but when one shows up near dead, it’s a race against the clock to get those woman safely home. However, soon she realizes that she has to overcome her past in order to take care of the present.

    Erin is a character that we met earlier on who was rescued by Noah and other members of the pack. She was found bloody and barely alive behind a dumpster. She hasn’t told anyone what happened to her but everything starts rushing back with the kidnappings and how they dispose the women. However, she’s able to handle it all with Noah by her side. There is something about him that calms both her human and her wolf.

    Noah was an amazing supporting character. With Erin being an enforcer, he knows it’s her job to take charge and throw herself into harms way. It’s hard for him to remain back and let her take the lead but he knows that she will get no respect from the shifter community if she’s shown as weak or unable to take care of business. I really liked that he wasn’t your typical Alpha-male who was always proving their strength to others by defending their woman and getting into fights. His strength was more subtle in the fact that he wanted to do all those things for his mate, but he knew she could handle herself.

    I like that even though this is a paranormal romance, the author has some gruesome scenes between the battles and when they find the women. The fact that the author added that extra element and showed how things are brewing for the shifters really helped make this story whole. A lot of times I find that the romance overshadows the storyline or the author rushes through the climatic scene to the happy ever after. I was very happy that the author took the time to really write out the final fight scene. She didn’t just *BOOM you’re dead*, she gave the reader a scene that had me holding my breath, waiting to see what happened next.

    This is an amazing series. I’ve loved every book so far. You always read about the main characters but the author also includes pov’s from the villains and from secondary characters who sometimes see their own novel down the road. Like I said, Erin was introduced earlier on and her chemistry with Noah has been brewing from the start. So even though this can be read as a stand alone, after all it had been a while since I’d read the previous books, it’s nice reading the whole series since these are characters that you know and have fallen in love with who are now getting their time in the spotlight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2015

    Good read

    This book was actually really good and had a strong female which I really liked you get to see her strong side and her weak side and get to learn what made her what she is in a way. I would recommend you strongly read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    addicted to...

    katie reus and the moon shifter series...such a great book, and reading about Erin's past and actually realizing how far she has come? how much she truly lost? it was heartbreaking! and really finding out why she pushed Noah away...not really sure if i wanted to smack her for hurting him or applaud her for being, at least to her, so selfless. from how i imagine him, i would never even hav considered letting him go!!! seeing her come into her own as an enforcer?! wow!!!

    also, got some more info on Brianna and Angelo...our 'pretty' shifter, lol. kinda wish they had gotten their own story but it did fit in here nicely...just wanted more...ever since Brianna's 'pretty/feline' comments about Angelo i was cheering for them and wanted to read their story...just wish i knew exactly how they got started!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    Loved this book! Though part of "A Moon Shifter Novel&quo

    Loved this book! Though part of "A Moon Shifter Novel" series, it can be read as a stand alone. Katie Reus has created a world where Shifters, Fae, Vamps, and humans interact....with sometimes volatile consequences.

    I love the way Katie writes her characters....strong and feisty yet vulnerable when faced with situations that affect people they love or protect. If your looking for a book that will touch your heart and keep you on the edge of your seat, you need to give this one a try. Definitely 5 stars all the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    To Scarlet

    Erm...AI tried to kill you? How? It's practically a consciousness.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Scarlet's files

    Age: 16/ height: 5'4"/ weight: 90 pounds/ appearance: an anthropomorphic red squirrel with short reddish brown hair whose bangs were half hiding her saphire blue eyes. She wears a white skin-tight jumpsuit with boots./ history: she created in a lab before an a.i. which the lab was working on, went rougue and attempted to kill her. She escaped./ special: she is a bit dim...okay, really dim. But she has rare smart moments, a good attitude and her heart is in the right place. She loves food so much, she can easily be lured into obvious traps by it. She has the dexterity of a squirrel as well. Anything else, ask.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Andrews bio

    Predaseser of caption amarica whent through the same proseas he did age 15 apperance befor proceder skinny pale and weak after proceder tall musculer strong other things that did not change brown hair smoky blue eyes tan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    good storyline follow thru

    this storyline follow thru was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    It is a great read enjoy it

    If you enjoy paranormal this is a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Avenger's Heat is the fourth book in the Moon Shifter series by

    Avenger's Heat is the fourth book in the Moon Shifter series by Katie Reus. With werewolves, vampires and fae, Reus hits all the paranormal hot spots and gives readers a lot of different areas of interest. Her writing is intense and will leave readers will a feeling of having had an adrenaline rush, every time they open the pages. Reus takes on a some traumatic issues from the heroine's past and brings abuse to the forefront in this fast paced paranormal romance. Readers who are looking for a unique paranormal series, will find this one full of potential and brimming with sexual tension.

    What I liked:

    Erin was a main character that I could really get behind. She has a tragic past, that involved some serious abuse that will threaten to make any reader a bit emotional. To see this character who has lost so much in her life, be able to still live out her dream of becoming an enforcer was incredible. She still has her issues with self worth and trust, but she is facing her demon's head on and it was wonderful to see her character development shine throughout this book. Reus does a fantastic job of showing Erin's strength, her resolve and her heart.

    Noah has his own issues to face back in New Orleans the home of his former pack mates and especially his father. He goes on this mission to protect and help Erin. He realizes her worth and knows he will wait forever to have her has his mate. His patience with her knows no bounds and though readers will see him as a true alpha, his treatment of this tortured soul was delicate and gentle. He never strays from being her champion, her back bone and her partner. Reus writes Noah as a man who knows his strength in all things and what an asset a woman who his is equal will be in his life. A great attitude for an alpha, in control, yet able to allow a mate to share in his responsibilities and his heart.

    There was a lot of sexual tension between these two and when they finally give in that side of their relationship, it is heart pounding and full of passion. I loved the fact that Reus didn't make her story contingent on the fact that Noah and Erin consummate their relationship. If was just an inevitable part of the story that evolved right along with the rest of the action. It didn't seem contrived only necessary... like breathing. Very well done. 

    What I didn't like:

    I liked the secondary romance between Briana and Angelo, but I felt that it took time away from the main couple. It is obvious that these two will eventually get their own story. A lot of their interaction perhaps could have been saved for that. Yes, it was important to introduce their story, but it should have been left at that, for maximum benefit to the story. I wanted more time with Noah and Erin and less with Briana and Angelo.

    Bottom Line:

    This story sets the Moon Shifter series on a new path. The vampires really got some page time in this one and added a whole different dynamic to the book. I think Reus is changing the main story arc subtly but in a good way. I look forward to whats next for this series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    I was extremely happy when I saw that Erin & Noah's story wo

    I was extremely happy when I saw that Erin & Noah's story would finally be told. For those who have been reading the Moon Shifter novels, the interplay between the 2 of them has been an interesting side note to the previous books, and fulfills the need to know more about these 2 very interesting shifters.

    For those who haven't read the series, but are looking for an entertaining, emotionally strong book, this one fits the bill, and you won't feel as if you have missed the first hour of a movie.

    Erin is a new enforcer for the lupine (wolf shifters) council. She is sent to New Orleans with Noah, a packmate, to help solve the mystery of disappearing pregnant shifters. Noah (who is not an enforcer) is sent along because his father is the alpha of New Orleans. The case becomes very personal to Erin, and we find out a lot about her, and how she came to join the pack. Ms. Reus deftly handles the emotional grenades that are flung at both Erin and Noah, and her treatment of the storyline draws the reader in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Liz

    For those of you who read my love the story, but have trouble with cut off sentences ect. I called B&N. The fix is in the library or on shelves there is a circle with 2 blue arrows to refresh the new book. That took care of my problem. If that did not work, archive the book then unarchive the book. Power off your Nook then start it again. Go to your book click the refresh button and all will be well. At least that worked for me.
    Happy Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4.75 stars:  AVENGER¿S HEAT is the fourth full length storyline

    4.75 stars:  AVENGER’S HEAT is the fourth full length storyline in Katie Reus’s contemporary, romance Moon Shifter paranormal series. The premise follows Erin Flynn and Noah Campbell-enforcers for the North American Council of Lupine Shifters-as they are sent to investigate a series of missing pregnant shifters. With the discovery of a dead female whose body appears to have been attacked by vampires, Erin and Noah soon realize that there is more to the missing women than anyone knows.  
    Katie Reus takes the reader on a tour of New Orleans where the rich and uber-rich of the paranormal realm play a game of power and control. As Erin digs deeper with her first solo mission as lead enforcer, she will discover that the trail begins to lead back to an all too familiar nightmare.
    The relationship between Erin and Noah began in a previous storyline where Noah soon realized that Erin was his mate. As the relationship continues to build, so too does the sexual heat and need between shifters.  Noah’s inner wolf knows that Erin is their mate, but convincing Erin may be another matter all together.
    The world building continues with its connections to the Armstrong-Cordona pack referencing several previous storyline characters as well as developing upon a few secondary stories. There is little to no mention of the Antiparanormal league as Katie takes the series in another direction where fear of retribution and attack against the paranormal species comes from their very own.
    Katie Reus continues to write an incredible series with action, suspense, romance and little bit of steamy sex. Her characters are passionate in their need; sensual in their love; and seductive in their heat.  Katie pulls the reader into a world of imagination where the lines between reality and fantasy meet.
    Copy supplied by the publisher.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2