Avenue Q [Original Broadway Cast Recording]

Avenue Q [Original Broadway Cast Recording]

4.5 33
by
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Avenue Q, the thoroughly entertaining and outrageous new hit musical, is the freshest breeze to blow down the Great White Way in too many seasons. Disguised as a wry, adult send-up of Sesame Street -- complete with furry, singing puppets and affirmative life lessons -- Avenue Q brings clear-eyed humor and warmth to the denizens who live on the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Avenue Q [Original Broadway Cast Recording] 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wow! Avenue Q is the best musical in my collection! No wonder it won BEST MUSICAL!! It is my favorite. Now I haven't seen it yet on Broadway, but it would probably be my favorite one!! This CD rocks! Buy this NOW!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Anyone who's seen this musical can't wait to get their hands on this CD, I'm sure. Anyone who hasn't seen it needs to go right away!! This is a wonderful compilation of the satires of life. Everyone can relate in one way or another. And of course the cast couldn't be better - John Tartaglia steals the show!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
After seeing one of the numbers from this show on the Tony Awards presentation, I was intrigued and had to hear more. Then I got the CD and haven't stopped movin' to the music. This is the most infectious music in years. Clever, funny, naughty. I wish I could fly to NY to see this show tonight
Guest More than 1 year ago
In my opinion, this may be the worst music I have ever listened to. The lyrics are completely hideous and stupid. The melodys and harmonics in the music are so bad! I am so surprised this won the tony for the best musical.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first saw Avenue Q on the 2004 Tony awards. Immediately that sucks to be me song was remembered throughout the year. I rememeber how catchy the song was and eventually had to buy the CD. Now with the CD in my room, I listen to it all of the time. And even put it on my MP3 player. I reccomend this to teens because there is foul language and some sexual dialogue but besides that, the songs will be stuck in your head, and you won't sleep till midnight. That's a good thing. Go and by this right away, and you won't regret it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw the number "It sucks to Be Me" on the Tony's. Loved the soundtrack. Deals with things that are maybe only included in tradgedies. Love the way that it deals with real issues and has humor.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This CD is by far the best I have listened to. The songs, especially "If You Were Gay", "It Sucks To Be Me", and "Everyone's A Little Bit Racist" were so funny, I actually fell off my chair laughing. But It also has these beautiful love songs, such as "There's A Fine, Fine Line" and "The More You Ruv Someone". In short, Princeton, Kate, Gary, Nicky, Rod, Trekkie Monster...YOU GUYS ROCK!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
After living based on an obsession with RENT, Avenue Q is a great way to come up for air and laugh. Rent is the best musical on broadway, but Avenue Q is definitely teh funniest!
Guest More than 1 year ago
A funny and enternaing musical and Soudtrack. My favorite song is A fine fine line and Pupose. It is a great and tottaly different musical
Guest More than 1 year ago
i loved it i dont know what to say. it was soo good and i lissen to it all the time. my friends get mad at me because i sing to it all the time.
juantabio More than 1 year ago
It's the kind of show tou see once, and that's enough.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm a huge Broadway fan, and I have over 100 cast recordings. I saw this on Broadway, and loved it! So, I bought the cast recording, and it just rocks! It's the funniest musical ever!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Stephanie D'Abruzzo and Rick Lyon are great, but John Tartaglia lit up the stage! He had to voice, and portray two puppets at once, and he is a very talented man! I have a passion to be on Broadway someday, and with comedic performances like this, it makes my dream one step closer to reality!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ok, so, it has two good songs. "Fine, Fine Line" which I LOVE! "It Sucks to be Me" is very cathcy, but, other than that... It's awful. This show beat WICKED?! I do not see how. I understand, it's different, but, different enough to earn the hearts of Broadway critics who mostly HATED WICKED? Wicked is great. Yea, Cats is bad. But, it's better than this show, which has no mind blowing music. At least Cats is professionally written. (Sorry Webber, I LOVE your music, but why CATS?)... Overall, I think that Avenue Q is the WORST show on Broadway to ever win Best Musical or Best Score... HATE THIS SHOW! CURSES!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Oh of the best I've heard (broadway wise) my presonaly favorite would be "It Sucks to be Me". But I wouldn't of even hard of it if it weren't for one of my good friends.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a 14 year old who's the "innocent" one in her group of friends, I think that this show is postitively amazing. Yes, there are some lyrics that make you cringe, songs that you'd rather not have blared over your enire house, but the writing is so witty, so sharp that you have to appreciate it just for that (personally, i found the lyrics in wicked a bit lacking for sharpness and found this CD much more enjoyable) It provides a realistic look at life; the eternal optimism that we often assosiate with musicals is gone, left with a hopeful bunch of puppets who (surprisingly) are amazingly relatible. Who hasn't gone through the "I think he likes me..... but does he like me like me like I like him??" we hear in Mix Tape...... or had days when it just sucks to be you? Listen to it... if you're anything like me (and the about 10 others i have managed to infect with it) you'll love it. Also, it seems a bit Sondheim-esque.... a revolutionary, more adult kind of musical. Think of it as the 21st century's answer to Into The Woods- its taken a medium that kids relate to (puppets) but created something that an adult can enjoy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this album, being a lover (and avid purchaser) of Musical Theater Cast Albums, not knowing what to expect. All I knew is that the track listing was hilarious and it had won this year's Tony for Best Musical. Including tracks such as "If you were gay" and "Everyone's a little bit racist", this album with it's risky, yet hilarious lyrics, phenomenal ensemble work, and amazing characterization, and Gary Coleman? shines!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
We saw Avenue Q in preview on Broadway and this CD captures all of the fun (and message) of the production. Definitely not for kids, the CD captures all of the puppet/human madness and life lessons the Broadway Play captures so well. Great Fun!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This album and musical is the first one since "Rent" to truely speak to today's generation. If you have a problem with the themes or lyrics go back to the 50's.
JameibNYC More than 1 year ago
Having seen "Avenue Q" four times, I decided to get the CD and really listen to the songs more closely; very good show.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This show is great. I couldn't stop laughing from the first time I heard it. I am constantly singing along. I loved it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
So bad in the best way. Absolutely hilarious!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago