BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Aviary

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Seriously

This book is like the best book ever. EVER!!! It even ranks up there with HP and the hunger games. Yep. I said it.

posted by 16993202 on February 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Loooovvveee the book

I love this book so much best book ever!!

posted by 10361496 on January 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Seriously

    This book is like the best book ever. EVER!!! It even ranks up there with HP and the hunger games. Yep. I said it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Great Read

    I loved this book. Great story and really kept me sucked in.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    A really enjoyable, light read

    With a likable protagonist and relatable characters, the aviary made me smile while reading it. The author really captures the reader in a little girl's adventure towards discovering her family ties with the help of unlikely feathered friends. A heartwarming tale with a happy ending and a dash of suspense.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Cute ghostly mystery for middle-schoolers Clara Dooley has live

    Cute ghostly mystery for middle-schoolers

    Clara Dooley has lived her whole life in the decrepit Glendoveer mansion, where her mother is the care-taker of the elderly Mrs Glendoveer. Clara's mother keeps her hidden away from the outside world, claiming that Clara's health is fragile. At 12, Clara has come to an age where she wants to test her boundaries -  and just such an opportunity arrives when her elderly patron passes away, a new girl moves into the neighborhood, and the birds in the aviary begin to speak to her. With her new friend, Clara must discover the secrets of the Glendoveer mansion, and decide whether the birds are friends or foes.




    This was a cute little ghost story / mystery for children (probably girls) ages 9-12. It used the basic adults-don't-want-to-share-secrets format, while keeping the adults likable and intelligent. The two little girls were adorable and fun. And the birds, once they started developing characters, were a very interesting twist. I found this book an engaging and quick read. Highly recommended for lovers of middle-grade ghost stories / mysteries.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Wondering Question

    I love this book. But i want my friend also to read this book too when we go to the book club ( im the person who wrote that last review) but he is a boy and he loves the Harry Potter style. And i mean LOVE. Would he like this book also. Keep in mind he is a boy and im a girl so im okay with this stuff but im not too sure about him.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Iluvthisbook

    This is the best book evah!!!!i love the part where clara talks to helen

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Amazing!

    Loved it!! I would recommend this to anyone who loves a good mystery thats a little creepy a well. My current favorite as well

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Anonymous

    The best book in the world! I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    What a great read! Couldn't put it down!

    What a great read! Couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    This book da bomb

    This book is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    AMAZING!!!

    The Aviary is a must read for anyone who likes suspense and mystery. I highly recommend reading it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Good

    This book is great not the best but it still was really good

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    This is terrific!

    Great characters. Fabulous descriptions.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I seem to be reading a lot of books for kids lately but I just l

    I seem to be reading a lot of books for kids lately but I just love them. (I am 39 years old) I like the fact I can read a quick, easy book in a couple days. More often than not the stories are great and because I am a bit sporadic with my reading finding a shorter book works well for me.




    The Aviary is one of those stories. I do not read many mystery type books but after reading this one I might look for some more. This was a clever one with great twists and turns. It had a sort of old-fashioned feel to it with the dialog and I enjoyed that as well. I liked the characters. There were some darker parts (death & kidnapping) to this book so overly sensitive kids might need to be warned.




    I read a lot of reviews on Amazon & Barnes & Noble and the biggest complaints are that the stories are predictable or too simple. I wonder if they are forgetting that it was written for a younger crowd? As long as you don't mind that any age will enjoy this story. There is no reason an adult can't enjoy reading a kid's book as long as they realize they have picked a book written for 8-12 years old.




    On a side note, this could be a great suspenseful movie for adults if done properly. I don't normally like those types of movies but the story was really good.




    If you are looking for a quick weekend read, especially with Halloween coming up, I recommend this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Um

    What age group is this book for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Yoni Kornblau This mystery novel is very compelling to read, an

    Yoni Kornblau

    This mystery novel is very compelling to read, and very dull at the same time. Clara Dooley who thinks she has a weak heart, is not allowed to leave the house, where her mother works as a helper. Clara, against her mom’s will, sneaks a neighborhood girl into her house every so often. Together, with the help of some birds, they uncover many mysteries about the owner’s family, the Glendovires. This basic summary of the book sounds really dull and completely boring, which is mainly how I view this book. Besides for the ending, which I won’t give away, the book is quite actionless.
    This novel is excellently written on the sentence-by-sentence level, but I think the plot development could use some sort of speed elixir. Even when the plot was actually starting to take place when I read it, I felt like I was still in a quasi- introduction mode. This type of style is quite discouraging to a reader who likes action books, so if you do, I wouldn’t recommend this book to you. In my opinion if the plot was condensed into a third of the current size, I think the book would be appealing to a more diverse audience.
    This book also has a very obvious ending which is predictable far before the turn of the last page, but I read to the end only because I was hoping for an unexpected plot twist. If you’re looking for a real mystery novel, stick to Sherlock Holmes or similar books.
    All in all, I didn’t find this a very interesting book, and I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. If you have the book at home, you might want to try reading it because people have different opinions, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to buy it. I am generously rating this book 2stars, because I like how O’Dell handles the eerie topic of reincarnation. (I wouldn’t normally mention that because it’s a bit of a spoiler, but I want to justify my rating.)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2