Customer Reviews for

Await Your Reply

Average Rating 3.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A GREAT INTRIGUING RIDE!

This is a unique, unusual and gripping story! It explores schizophrenia, identity theft, closure, and the need to be approved of, loved and accepted. There are three different storylines that seem to have nothing to do with each other. They lead up to some strange event...
This is a unique, unusual and gripping story! It explores schizophrenia, identity theft, closure, and the need to be approved of, loved and accepted. There are three different storylines that seem to have nothing to do with each other. They lead up to some strange events that the mystery is slowly unraveled by the end of the book.

Miles Chesire has an identical twin whose brother, Hayden, who has been missing for a long time. He receives a strange letter from Hayden. Miles drives from Ohio to northern Canada hoping to find him. Hayden is not well and Miles feels compelled to search for him. Hayden is alleged to be brilliant and different while Miles seems to be a perfectly normal man.

Lucy Lattimore is dissatisfied with her life in a small town in Ohio. Soon after graduating from high school, she leaves town with her former history teacher.

One story begins with a young man, Ryan, whose father assures him that he will not bleed to death as he's rushed to the emergency room with his severed arm in an ice cooler. Jay and his son Ryan make a living stealing credit card numbers and using false identities to get cash.

Each story is captivating in its own right and holds the readers interest right through to the connection and intriguing end. A GREAT RIDE!!


Others that kept me glued to the pages: I CAN SEE YOU, 61 HOURS, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, THE PASSAGE..

posted by angeleyesAS on June 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

What???

I must say that I found this book truly disappointing. I always read a book to the end, but found it especially hard to do with this one. To me, the characters are undeveloped and unbelievable. The book was depressing!

posted by Lovesbooks68 on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    another good read

    Love Dan Chaons writing. Another mystery and character study of people's lives, personalities, relationships. Moves back and forth between the characters and builds intrigue as they slowly move toward each other. As they change their identities, they become different and lose touch with those they leave behind. Complex, sad, and perplexing. Not your usual mystery. Leaves you thinking about everyone for some time after you finish it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Can you ever truly know someone?

    "Await Your Reply" by Dan Chaon . what can I say? It is an unusual novel. It is both a mystery and a psychological study of identity. The novel is divided into three stories with the chapters cycling between them. A common thread - identity and who you are - binds the stories together and is clearly evident. In one story, Miles Chesire, wanting to get on with his life, has received a letter from his twin brother, Hayden, pulling him back into a global game of hide and seek. Another story centers around, Ryan, a college drop out, whose hand has been severed under mysterious circumstances. And in the final story, we have Lucy, a recent high school graduate who leaves town with her high school teacher. Each of these individual is searching for something but what is that something. Is it love, a sense of belonging, closure, etc...? In their search, these individuals will need to come to terms with who and what they are.
    ------
    While reading, I had a gnawing sense of familiarity and definitely saw strong parallels between two of the stories. Is there a connection between all the stories? This question will keep you reading (and thinking). I found Mr. Chaon to be quite adept at describing the little details - from a neglected motel in an abandoned US town to a hotel in Africa and a quaint little town in Ecuador - you feel as though you are there and witnessing everything. The stories were well paced and the characters well developed. Some may find the interweaving of chapters a bit disconcerting; however, the book is a page turner (I read it in one sitting). Some may not even like the characters as they are dark and strange - I only found one to be likable. Mr. Chaon's characters could be someone you know - they are ordinary people just trying to find themselves; however, some of the means taken to do so are questionable and may leave you wondering how well/if you know someone. I have always felt that you can never really know someone - you can only know what they allow you to see - truth or not.
    ------
    I highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Never a dull moment

    "Await Your Reply" starts out with three seemingly completely unrelated stories. College drop-out Ryan is on the way to the hospital with his Dad, after a horrible and maiming accident. Teenager Lucy leaves town with her former high school teacher, George Orson. And Miles Chesire has received yet another mysterious letter from his missing (and possibly psychotic) identical twin brother, Hayden. As all three stories emerge, it becomes clear that there is more to these characters than meets the eye.

    This book starts out with a bang, and doesn't let up. The intensity of the plot--and the big question: are the stories related?--will keep you reading well into the night. Part mystery and part psychological drama, the book does a good job of showing what people are capable of under desperate circumstances. I thought the writing was very good; and liked the way the story develops. The relationships between the characters (in particular twins Hayden and Miles) are interesting to read about as well

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Stays With You

    I was really looking forward to getting my hands on Await Your Reply. Billed as "gripping," with "the momentum of a thriller," what I was hoping for wasn't quite what I got. But what I got, I enjoyed tremendously.

    Await Your Reply follows three characters as they search for missing parts of their lives. Miles Cheshire is trying desperately to track down his long-lost, and possibly sociopathic, twin brother Hayden. Ryan Schuyler, who has just learned he has been raised by his aunt and uncle, is trying to find out just who he is and has become involved in indentity theft schemes with his birth father. And Lucy Lattimore, who has just graduated high school and run away with one of her teachers, is searching for a life outside of the small town she grew up in.

    We know that all three stories must be connected in some way, but we have no idea of how or why until the final few pages. It's a testament to Chaon's skill that he can keep the secrets hidden until the end of the book, mixing truth with lies with perfect balance and making each character's journey exciting and unpredictable.

    Await Your Reply certainly does not have "the momentum of a thriller," but for the most part that's a good thing. Yes, there were moments when passages did drag a bit - perhaps a bit more aggressive editing would have been in order - but the subject matter and characters were best enjoyed slowly, taking the time to enjoy Chaon's style. Overall I found the book to be an original, compelling and very timely piece of work that stayed with me for days after I finished it.

    Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Await your Reply is original and a psychological thriller.

    If you like to solve mysteries of the mind, this book is for you. I enjoyed it and did get into it, but there are 3 different plots going at once that eventually all tie together. It's done masterfully and if you pay attention you can figure it out before the author does it for you. I found it kind of disturbing and depressing though overall based on the tonality and the plot. I wouldn't re-read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Identity and self are of importance here, yet it's an identity other than their own that drives these characters. The inability to accept who they are is the main focus of this tragic tale.

    In a collection of seemingly, unrelated stories, a group of characters come together in unexpected ways. Miles goes on a quest to find his missing brother, Hayden. Hayden is afflicted with mental illness and although Miles is well aware that anything could have happened to him, he somehow senses that Miles has gotten himself into trouble. Ryan is a young man going nowhere. He receives a call from his birth father Jay, who he originally thought to be his uncle, and decides to join him in his life of crime. Lucy, a recent high school grad, decides to take off with George, her high school history teacher to live in an abandoned mansion in Nebraska.

    Interwoven between these stories is an email scam that is all too familiar in this day and age. The old phishing scam where someone emails you to tell you that you've been left millions of dollars and that all they need is your personal information. This is where the title of the book comes into play.

    As the story plays out, and the relationships between these characters make more sense, you can't help but feel sorry for these people. None of them are particularly likable and none of them are strong enough to pull themselves out of the hole they've dug for themselves. They are a miserable group of people, depressed in different ways, yet depressed just the same. Their desire for a better life tugs at the heartstrings because they are so real. So desperate and so real.

    This is one of those quiet books that forces you to consider the human soul and its desperation and utter loneliness. It's bleak. True. Yet hope exists, it's just a tad out of reach for these characters and their struggle to find it is what keeps you reading. Dan Chaon knows people and is not afraid to expose all of their insecurities. This is what I appreciated most about this novel. His ability to expose all of their vulnerabilities in a realistic way. Overall, a very satisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Engrossing Mystery

    The story starts with three seemingly unconnected narratives. First, that of Ryan, who in the opening scene is rushing to the hospital with a detached hand. Then also Lucy, recent high school grad running away with her history teacher. Finally, there's Miles, searching for his missing twin brother. What propels you through the book is finding how these three connect up. I had some guesses, some right, but didn't get quite how all they all fitted till the end--the author says it was the same for him, that he wrote it with those first scenes and characters in mind, then wrote them trying to figure out how they connect--maybe that helped in keeping the sense of mystery, although in the end it does fit so nicely with such a firm click there's a sense of inevitability. Besides the mystery, the theme of identity keeps recurring in this novel in interesting ways as both the key to the mystery but in a way that also has you turning in your mind what makes up your own identity. Although Lucy and Ryan have less than nice aspects to their characters, I did come to care for them (and Miles) and that was another source of suspense as you watch them get deeper into what you worry cannot end well. The prose is elegantly clean and sucked me in. One of those novels you better pick up when you can clear some hours to spend--because you won't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    An engrossing read, with interesting characters

    I stumbled across AWAIT YOUR REPLY accidentally, and started reading the first few pages before I purchased the book. It caught my attention immediately, as it follows three different intriguing story lines that (as often happens in novels) end up being related in the end. An avid reader, I'm rather particular about books, but I enjoyed this one, and would certainly recommend it as a good rainy day book. Keep in mind that it is not a light, happy read and can be rather depressing and disturbing in parts, but is well written and contains both a complex plot and interesting characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    Good not Great

    My husband gave me this book as a Christmas present. I thought this book was well written and had a very good plot. The story was very suspenseful. The characters were well developed and interesting. The story line jumped around in time and I had to pay attention to keep everyone and everything straight. Overall, this was a good solid mystery with enough twists and turns to keep you turning the pages. I don't want to spoil the ending, but I found it to be a little disappointing. In spite of this, I would still recommend this book. My husband just finished reading this book and he absolutely loved it, ending and all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Keeps you guessing

    This was a quick read and will definitely hook you. I spent a lot of time trying to "figure it out" at the beginning, but you get sucked into the writing and the characters -- a good thing that reminds you the journey is just as fun as the destination when reading a book like this. I encourage any reader to go as slow as you can and enjoy/digest it. The ending comes all too quickly, but is very satisfying. Looking forward to reading "You Remind Me of Me" by this author now as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Be anyone...

    "Await Your Reply" has been on my short list to read since it was released. I've heard alot of good things about Chaon's short story collections "Among the Missing", "Fitting Ends" and his National Book Award finalist novel "You Remind Me of Me" and I was happy to finally crack open his latest.

    First off, while I enjoyed the book and found the concept very original, it in no way totally took me by surprise. This book has a WOW surprise ending, but its not one that will leave you breathless & in awe. If you go into it with those expectations you might be let down.

    The book has great characters and interwoven storylines, its broken down into three main characters whose stories alternate every chapter -

    Ryan Schuyler walks away from his everyday life after receiving a life changing phone call and is presumed dead by the local police after a witness claims to have seen Ryan jump into the river.

    Miles Chesire has been searching for his missing twin brother Hayden for most of his adult life. When he receives a mysterious letter from Hayden, he heads to Canada to possibly track down his long lost brother one last time.

    Lucy Lattimore runs off with her former history teacher George Orson with the promise of a new life and alot of new money. After awhile she starts to think George may not be the man she thought he was.

    Very few people in this book are who they appear to be, in the end all the loose ends are brought together and your left wondering if the people you know are really who they claim to be.

    Be anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2