Customer Reviews for

Await Your Reply

Average Rating 3.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A GREAT INTRIGUING RIDE!

This is a unique, unusual and gripping story! It explores schizophrenia, identity theft, closure, and the need to be approved of, loved and accepted. There are three different storylines that seem to have nothing to do with each other. They lead up to some strange event...
This is a unique, unusual and gripping story! It explores schizophrenia, identity theft, closure, and the need to be approved of, loved and accepted. There are three different storylines that seem to have nothing to do with each other. They lead up to some strange events that the mystery is slowly unraveled by the end of the book.

Miles Chesire has an identical twin whose brother, Hayden, who has been missing for a long time. He receives a strange letter from Hayden. Miles drives from Ohio to northern Canada hoping to find him. Hayden is not well and Miles feels compelled to search for him. Hayden is alleged to be brilliant and different while Miles seems to be a perfectly normal man.

Lucy Lattimore is dissatisfied with her life in a small town in Ohio. Soon after graduating from high school, she leaves town with her former history teacher.

One story begins with a young man, Ryan, whose father assures him that he will not bleed to death as he's rushed to the emergency room with his severed arm in an ice cooler. Jay and his son Ryan make a living stealing credit card numbers and using false identities to get cash.

Each story is captivating in its own right and holds the readers interest right through to the connection and intriguing end. A GREAT RIDE!!


Others that kept me glued to the pages: I CAN SEE YOU, 61 HOURS, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, THE PASSAGE..

posted by angeleyesAS on June 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

What???

I must say that I found this book truly disappointing. I always read a book to the end, but found it especially hard to do with this one. To me, the characters are undeveloped and unbelievable. The book was depressing!

posted by Lovesbooks68 on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A GREAT INTRIGUING RIDE!

    This is a unique, unusual and gripping story! It explores schizophrenia, identity theft, closure, and the need to be approved of, loved and accepted. There are three different storylines that seem to have nothing to do with each other. They lead up to some strange events that the mystery is slowly unraveled by the end of the book.

    Miles Chesire has an identical twin whose brother, Hayden, who has been missing for a long time. He receives a strange letter from Hayden. Miles drives from Ohio to northern Canada hoping to find him. Hayden is not well and Miles feels compelled to search for him. Hayden is alleged to be brilliant and different while Miles seems to be a perfectly normal man.

    Lucy Lattimore is dissatisfied with her life in a small town in Ohio. Soon after graduating from high school, she leaves town with her former history teacher.

    One story begins with a young man, Ryan, whose father assures him that he will not bleed to death as he's rushed to the emergency room with his severed arm in an ice cooler. Jay and his son Ryan make a living stealing credit card numbers and using false identities to get cash.

    Each story is captivating in its own right and holds the readers interest right through to the connection and intriguing end. A GREAT RIDE!!


    Others that kept me glued to the pages: I CAN SEE YOU, 61 HOURS, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, THE PASSAGE..

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Different and intriguing

    I'm a mystery aficionado, and although this is not a "mystery" per se I had read a review in the NY Times Book Review and was intrigued so I picked it up; I'm glad I did.

    There is actually plenty of mystery involved, and the characters are engaging and intriguing enough to carry the reader through the seemingly disparate plot elements to their final convergence. The author's style is (deceptively) direct and straightforward, and the short chapters also work well to keep the story moving along.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Am I Me? Who Are You?

    Dan Chaon traces his interest in identity themes to the fact that he was an adopted child who often wondered about the other person he might have become. Identity stories constitute a long thread winding back through literary history, and Await Your Reply is a dark and compelling extension of that thread.

    Chaon's novel consists of three plot lines that gradually and artfully merge. At the outset, characters in each plot are on the road. In one, a man searches for a lost (and identity shifting) brother, in another a young girl runs off with her high school history teacher, and in a third a conman rushes his son to a hospital, the son's severed hand in an ice pack on the car seat.

    Some of the characters are overt identity thieves, using the Internet to steel credit cards and bank accounts and changing their names with alarming frequency. The bad guys (no good guys in this world) are after these crooks, lending the novel the noir of a good thriller. Other characters face the more usual identity issues. Young Lucy, for instance, worries about her decision to run off with her teacher and wonders at the ironically unsatisfying way her dream of wealth begins to come true even as as her old self fades away in the dust of the past.

    Await Your Reply is a thriller and a mystery, but it is also a serious meditation on human psychology and on the instability of the self. For these characters, the boundary between self and world continually shifts, and the old question "Who Am I" presents itself again with each new day. By blending the themes of criminal identity theft, so much in the news these days, with themes of personal growth and self-knowledge, Chaon's book is a disturbing reflection of our time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Angel C. "Await Your Reply Review"

    Await your reply is a great book. You begin reading expecting to read about a family or someone's life but then you find your self reading three different stories. They all have one thing in common and that is they are all depressed. Every character has some sense of false hope. These stories also take place in the Midwest. I am surprised they did not get hit with a tornado or a snow storm like we are accustomed to get from our spontaneous weather. They are running from what they know as home to try and remake the person they think they are. Every character is well described and every event is described in detail. Dan Choan sets up the story perfectly and keeps you in suspense. While you are trying to figure out what is going to happen you are forced to read about the other two stories. And when you are interested in those the same thing happens. You can not wait to get to the next page and also the next chapter.
    Though the chapters are rather short they are very intriguing. The beginning starts with a person named Ryan and his severed hand sitting on a Styrofoam cooler. He is on his way to the hospital or so he is told and he hopes its not just something they are telling him to feel better. Later in his story he starts doing bad in college when an unannounced person crosses his life. A man by the name of jay informs him that he is adopted and Jay is his real father. Ryan then decides to join this new father of his in his criminal activities leaving school and his old life behind. Later Ryan reads that his former parents believe he has committed suicide and perform a funeral in his honor. He feels sad but also liberated by this and changes his identity by stealing peoples identities just like his newly adopted father.
    The second story is a man by the name of miles is in search of his twin brother Hayden who has been missing for ten years. Hayden is schizophrenic and very paranoid. Miles also believes that Hayden murdered his mother and stepfather. Hayden doesn't admit that he has a sickness and even reticules his brother for believing their mother about such a thing. They thought Hayden went crazy because of their fathers death. He can not believe they would think such a thing.
    In the third story there is a girl by the name of Lucy. She is a small town girl from Ohio and decides to run away with her history teacher. Her teacher George Orson is in search of a new life and decides to run away with Lucy to his parents house in Nebraska. Lucy lost her parents to a car crash and her sister is now her legal guardian. They are not very close emotionally separating since childhood. Lucy did not want to be part of the abuse her sister had to go through from the kids at school. When Lucy leaves to be with her teacher her sister does not even notice showcasing how distant they are from each other.
    This story is a for sure buy. The author gives you three opening attention grabbers instead of the usual one. Each story just consumes your attention with every sentence as it engages each story. This book is hard to put down once you get started and every story is a good one. Some people can relate to these stories. My girlfriend has a twin and my girlfriend is on the right track but her sister has a baby and dropped out of school. They sometimes get confused by people who do not know them that well. Other people can relate to the story about Lucy. There have been people on the news who have relations with their teachers. This is not c

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Await Your Reply by Dan Chaon

    In his new novel Await Your Reply, Dan Chaon pulls the reader into three completely different worlds. First, the reader encounters Ryan Schuyler, a young man who is a student at Northwestern University, who upon finding out a long hidden secret about himself leaves the campus one day, believing that his whole life was a lie. In the second story, Chaon introduces us to Lucy Lattimore, a young girl who has just graduated from high school. Lucy has always found the prospect of leaving her small town of Pompey, Ohio exciting because she has no friends, and she is different from everyone else because she actually wants to get away from Ohio and go somewhere else that is bigger and better so that she can succeed instead of just living a boring life in Pompey, Ohio. This becomes possible because during her senior year Lucy falls in love with her A.P. History teacher George Orson. So right after she graduates high school, Lucy embarks on a journey with George Orson.
    Finally, in the third story we are introduced to Miles Cheshire, a middle-aged man from Cleveland, Ohio who for his whole life has been chasing the ghost of his schizophrenic twin brother Hayden, who has been missing for ten years. As Chaon develops these stories he draws the readers inside the minds of the characters, and makes you feel for them and their individual predicaments. It feels like you are actually there with the characters, instead of just a spectator to the events that unfold throughout the story. All of a sudden, it is no longer Ryan taking on a new identity, Lucy becoming uneasy with George Orson, or Miles chasing his brother; it is you taking on the new identity, becoming uneasy with the actions of your lover, and you chasing a brother you have not seen in ten years.
    Chaon's novel Await Your Reply leaves the reader breathless, and on the edge of their seat after every chapter. The cliff hangers at the end of each of the chapters leaves the reader wanting more from that character so that you cannot wait until you encounter them again a few chapters later. Chaon tells three compelling stories of three strangers whose lives will intertwine in some way or the other without them realizing it. He takes you on a journey and shows you how one person's actions and decisions can effect more than those around you in your tight little circle of friends and family. He shows how your decisions can be far reaching and can affect people that you have never before met or even heard of, and how in making those decisions, you can become intertwined with complete strangers who somehow come into contact with you because of a decision that someone else has made.
    I enjoyed reading Await Your Reply because it has an air of mystery about it. Throughout the entire novel, I was wondering when and how all the three character' lives would finally intertwine. I also liked that fact that Chaon introduces all these other characters into the novel which adds so much to the novel as a whole; for instance, Lydia Barrie, a woman who is searching for sister Rachel, who she believes has run off with Hayden Cheshire. I really liked this character because I could relate to her. Everyone has lost someone be it in death, moving away, or growing apart with whom he or she wishes the situation could be remedied. I also enjoyed all the action events in Await Your Reply. I really enjoyed the edge of your seat ending to each chapter, which keeps you waiting to find out what would happen t

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    A Book I Thought About For Days Afterwards

    I chose to read this book because I noticed that it had appeared on a number of lists of the best books of 2009. I have been disappointed in the past by books that reviewers have raved about - finding them dull, too esoteric, or simply too much effort. This was not the case with "Await Your Reply". From the first page, I was hooked. Dan Chaon weaves three gripping story lines together in what I found to be an original way. The plot is fast moving, the characters are interesting, and the writing is well done. Although the common theme is identity theft and most of the main characters are the perpetrators of this crime, I found myself rather sympathetic towards them. The characters are not simply props to move the plot along, but rather their histories are an integral part of the story. Chaon does a wonderful job with character development. I recommended this book to my husband (he liked it, too) and plan to recommend it to others, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    excellent read

    Three separate stories make up this incredible novel. Miles Cheshire has been looking for his twin brother, Hayden for about ten years. Lucy has left home with her former high school teacher, looking for a new life. Ryan walks away from his life after learning a startling truth, and is presumed dead by his family.

    Chaon expertly weaves these stories together until they are connected. All the characters seem to be lost and are looking to remake themselves. Miles has spent so much time looking for his brother, he has forgotten to live his own life. Lucy doesn't quite end up with the adventure she was looking for. Ryan seems to be in over his head with his new life.

    my review: I thought this novel was fantastic; suspenseful and well-written. I was hooked from the beginning. We learn bits and pieces of each character, yet we don't learn much at all. I liked the theme of stolen identities, both literally and figuratively. Ryan and his biological dad that he never knew, steal identities for credit card theft and moving money around. Miles' brother, creates several different identities, making it difficult for Miles to locate him.

    I found this especially interesting as the idea of just changing your identity and starting anew has an appeal for me on some very stressful days, or when the bills pile up!

    It's hard to say too much with out giving anything away, so let me just say I really enjoyed this and definitely recommend it.

    my rating 5/5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    Terrific Read

    I'm not usually a fan of seperate stories taking place in one novel, but this was excellent. The way the author tied things together as the story progressed was really well done. I can't wait to read his other works.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Unusual

    excellent and unusual, this book is a challenge and worth it. Seemingly a simple story turns into an elegant psychological mystery. I really enjoyed the writing as well.
    dalelvr

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Hello

    Come to Unknowncl. I plan to make it active. Leader is Frozenstr.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Requests here

    In clude your clan name. And leader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Great Story!

    Loved it. Page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    IF YOU KNOW......

    If hou know bronzetooth post here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    MIND-BLOWING

    This book is amazing! I read it in four days and it left me thinking for days afterward. This is a great book for mystery lovers. The whole time I was reading this book I couldn't help but try to predict what was going to happen and I was wrong. This book is just mind-blowing. It is a phsychological novel with a few thrilling spots. A rollercoaster of emotions. I loved it! You must read this book! Try if you want, but you will never guess how it ends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lived up to the Hype

    I really enjoyed this book. There was a lot of hype associated with it and it didn't disappoint. Read the dust jacket: If it sounds even remotely interesting, you will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2