Customer Reviews for

Awake

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    More English Songs, PLEASE!

    Josh Groban is the best singer/musician of our age, bar none. But why doesn't he record two CDs...one for people who love his music and speak Italian and one for people like me who love his music but speak and understand only English? I would love to enjoy the words to ALL the songs Josh records, but as it is I understand just half of them. I won't be buying Awake as Christmas gifts this year. I'd feel cheated, paying full price for a CD but "getting" only half the songs on one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Insinuously Insane Voice Range

    It is perfect.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Josh Groban's Voice Not Showcased by This Album

    This album was less than okay for me. The music did not appeal to me that much. In fact, I've played it only twice. The songs do not invite me to listen again, even though Josh's voice is always tremendous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not Pertaining to Pop

    Though Josh Groban is a fine vocalist, his music does not, in its own right, deserve to be called pop by today's standards. Overall, pop genre or no pop genre, he is still lacking as a musician. He, and his music, are dull. To his credit, though, he could be upwards of great. He needs to work on his insight of music and people and even emotional ups and downs. He is too practiced and polished to seem relateable and unique.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awake=Amazing

    Josh has done it again with his third album release, Awake. This album has so much of Josh the man on it, it makes you feel even closer to who he is as a person. He either co-wrote or co-produced every one of the tracks on the album. If you don't have the special edition, you are missing out on the most beautiful song he's ever done, Awake. This song is written from the heart of Josh. I recommend: February Song, Now or Never, Lullaby, Machine, and Awake. However, the whole album is beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Josh Leaves Me Breathless

    This album is outstanding!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Josh has left me completely breathless!

    Awake is such a beautifully composed album. Josh has blown me away again! I love all the tracks on this album. His voice is just so powerful and touching. The song "Awake" makes me tear up inside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding CD

    I love this CD!!!! I listen to it everyday to & from work, & have NOT gotten tired of it yet. I would HIGHLY recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    So She Dances and You Are Loved(Don't Give Up) are amazing songs! Josh Groban is just... amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Josh Groban is my favorite artist

    This is one of my all-time favorite CDs! Josh Groban is so great! I've only been to one of his concerts, but it was awesome. My favorite song on this CD is "February Song". Josh Groban has such a moving voice--it's no wonder he was able to replace Andrea Bocelli to sing The National Anthom at the Suber Bowl when he was only sixteen! I read that after he sang it, the entire arena was dead-quiet for a couple seconds, they were so shocked that a sixteen-year-old could sing *that* well. Then they clapped so much, the sound was deafening. Josh Groban has been an excellent singer since he was only sixteen!! and has only improved since then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awake

    The review of this CD written by "Felicia, a music lover from Orlando" and titled "Groban Losing It!" is absolutely incorrect. This is Josh's best CD ever!The songs he wrote are beautiful and he is absolutely NOT going towards the rock genre of music. The songs are wonderful and his voice is magnificent. If you are deciding whether or not to buy this album, DO NOT listen to any reviews that say the CD is bad. Josh Groban is still just as good of a singer if not better than he was in his other CDs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome!!!

    I was weary of this CD when it first came out and wasn't sure how it would fare against his other outstanding albums because I had heard this album would be a bit different. However, from the moment I first listened to this album I thought it was his best work to date. His vocals are incredible and the songs he chose on this album are extremely touching and well written. I cannot get enough of this album and cannot wait for a new one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awake

    All of Josh Groban's CDs are excellent, including this one. It has a bit of a different style to it but that makes the music even better. If you are a fan of Josh Groban. I highly recommend this CD. If you haven't heard Josh Groban's music before but like singers such as Five For Fighting, I highly recommend this CD to you also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible!!!

    An absolutely incredible voice this young man has...The pure richness, depth and expression he brings out in each song is breathtaking...Once again, Thank You for sharing with us!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Gotta love Joshy!

    I love the music. It has a certain feel and energy that is impossible to creat or mime by anybody but Josh Groban.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Golden Throat Strikes Again

    JG's voice is a weapon of mass seduction. Everytime he opens his mouth, a heavenly sound comes out. This new CD will not disappoint. I wasn't a Grobanite before this CD but AWAKE one has made me a convert. Josh is the best male singer of his generation. I loved the songs In Her Eyes, You are Loved, February Song, Awake (from the bonus DVD edition).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OMG I LOVE YOU!

    Ok, now that I ahve my fangirly scream out of my system, I must say this: Any, and repeat, ANY, Josh Groban CD is going to be awesome! I haven't bought the CD yet, but I sure will! YOU ROCK JOSH!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    Josh's new cd is absolutely amazing!! He is one of the artists who is never afraid to push or break the boundaries. You can hear the dedication and practice he puts into his music through his vocals. I am not one to waste my money on cds, seeing as most of the time there are only 2-3 good songs on each one, but ALL of Josh's tracks are incredible. I recommend buying it as soon as you can, you WILL NOT be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I LOVE JOSHY!!!

    This CD triggered something in my heart and it wasn't an artery. I'm still alive (thank goodness). These songs are beautiful and the flow of the songs are slow and lovable. I had to look up the translated lyrics to english. I loved seeing how the music fit the lyrics and how Josh Groban's amazing voice flooded my soul. Everyone is listening to it (I love propaganda)! So jump on the bandwagon and listen to this CD!!!!! ***CAUTION: You might cry***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Groban Losing it!

    And with his latest, "Awake," Josh Groban has lost me as a fan. Following the hideous "Live at the Greek", Groban provides more croaking and even more mediocre songwriting (his). The duets are sad, with Groban attempting even more of a crossover to rock. His voice and his talents lie elsewhere. He's a stiff and more formal performer. His vocal range is not attuned to rock, nor is his personality. He just comes off as the odd duck trying to become a swan. I just wish he would have stayed in his own pond. He was marvelous in his first two CD's his first performance on PBS. I own all of those. Early great success, which I feel he worked hard for and definitely earned, has unfortunately gone to his head. And it's a waste of his vocal talents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4