Customer Reviews for

Awake [Bonus DVD]

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't Give Up...

    Hai, I've been a fan of Mr. Groban since 2005. His voice is so amazingly. Its a pleasure to own every single cd. Josh is only 27yr old male, but he's a beautiful creature. I love these top five: Don't Give Up "You Are Loved", Machine, Weeping, Awake and February Song! Josh Groban, co- wrote the song February Song. He plays the piano on that one. Machine captures you're heart and soul with the accompliment of Herbie Hancock. And the Song Weeping is a beautiful one. Also is Awake. Awake is a very nice. I listen to that song, early in the morning, and on my way to school Even on the plane while going to visit my family. Josh has a unique talent. He sings in many languages. And is a beautiful person. So Once again, please by this album, you'll love it. I Already do. and I'm Seventeen. I adore this man so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Third Time Is The Charm!!!!!

    Josh Groban, the man with the golden voice, is BACK!!!!! And he sounds finer than ever!!! I love the new songs on this album. I know it’s a somewhat different approach than "Closer", but I like that he is still young and still experiencing and taking new steps and risks with his music and his talents. My favorite tracks on here are "You Are Loved (Don’t Give Up), February Song,Machine, and L’Ultima Notte. You will fall in love with this album! I guarantee! Keep up the good work, Josh! You definitely ARE loved!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Grobanite, who has been a fan, since Josh was 17 yrs. old

    I was a bit shocked at first, by the difference in this CD (I have the Internet/ Fan's with extra songs) I also have this one. I have come to love it, simply for the diversity of the sounds. I had not grown tired of Josh's voice or choice in songs. They have been listened to on a daily basis and loved, by both me and my husband! He is NOT just for the ladies! Josh's voice should be one that is appreciated by both sexes. I love all the songs. I guess if I had to pick two of my favorites, they would be "February Song" and "Solo Por Ti". I have to scold the "critic" for saying, because Josh is TRYING to do a more crossover album, he needs to drop the Italian & Spanish, as the songs would sound just as good in English. I TOTALLY disagree with that! English is not a very romantic language, at all!! Just consider the words to "Un Giorno Per Noi".. (The theme from the movie Romeo & Juliet.) The words are not very pretty in English, yet they are absolutely WONDERFUL in Italian. I do not speak Italian or Spanish, but it doesn't matter, because - The foreign songs totally transcend the language barrier. I believe that Music is the Universal Language & Josh's songs are proof of that! I just pray Josh NEVER decides to stop using the truly beautiful foreign lyrics (remember, he is an international star!) They may not speak English, but still flock to his concerts & buy his CD's. I love the addition of "MACHINE" to the CD, because it is so totally different, but I would not like to listen to an entire CD of just that type of music. This CD/DVD has something for everyone on it! Josh's voice has matured so much over the last few years and he is finally on top of being... not only a great singer, but He also writes many of his songs, produces, plays not only the piano, but the drums, as well, on the CD. Give him his Bravo's, not criticism. He is not only GORGEOUS, but he is also a complete Talent, in every sense of the word! Keep reaching for the stars, Josh. Your fans that have always loved the foreign songs, will have something and the newer fans will also have songs to really grab attention. I think this will be a Huge Year For Josh! If anyone says the name, JOSH -there will be no need to add Groban to it! Just saying JOSH will be quite enough!I even notice a hint of Pink Floyd in February Song and in Machine. I don't know if that was supposed to happen, but both my husband and I picked up on it. That is HUGE COMPLIMENT from us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love the behind the scenes!

    Outstanding vocals from Josh. The dvd gives a look at the making of the cd and of the photo shoots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Grammy Winner!!

    Amazing!!! I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING!

    Hi! I love Josh's voice(so powerful and beautiful),have been a fan of his music since 2002,and I must say that I really like all the CDs,but his third album is WOOOOW! Amazing! I love it! It has two beautiful songs in my first language,Spanish,as well as songs in Italian and English,beautiful ones.I love "So She Dances" and "You Are Loved",as well as "Weeping".Can't pick just one favorite! If you like classical pop or romantic and amazing voices,you would like to listen to this CD,you won't be dissapointed. Can't wait to see Josh on tour!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Again so fine

    What a wonderful voice. I enjoy all the music on this CD. For one so young he sings with so much feeling. I love listening to this young man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another studio CD was definitely called for.

    Josh's live CD's don't do his voice justice. I have been anticipating "Awake" since I bought his last studio-recorded CD, "Closer," two years ago. So far, I couldn't be more pleased. I'm listening to the fourth song and counting. For the uninitiated, lend Josh your ears. He's worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!!!

    I am one who loves for the most part all genres of music but once again "Josh" has done it..This is an absolutely incredible work of art..That voice is just breathtaking...He keeps getting better all if the time if that is at all possible..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awake...we sure are with this masterpiece!!!

    Josh, you really outdid yourself on this album. Your voice is simply tremendous and is always and forever improving and maturing. You master the art of singing in every which way. I'm very proud of you, Josh, as well, because you had a lot more say in this album. You produced, arranged, wrote, even played piano, drums, is there anything you can't do??? Every song on this album is unique and powerful in its own respect. What a masterpiece this album is! From the first powerful song, Mai, which really shocked me due to the vocal power, until the very last ones (I have the internet and limited versions) Verita, Awake, and Smile, I witnessed pure talent and it was magical. Great job. You really raised the bar on this one, and I now understand why it took you so long in getting this one out. I really enjoy the various artists and producers that you worked with. They all helped bring out the best in you. Once again, masterful!!! I can't wait to see you on tour again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1