Customer Reviews for

Awake at Dawn (Shadow Falls Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 459 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(342)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

You'll be Awake at Dawn!

Kylie Galen's story continues to get interesting. Still trying to figure out who - actually, what - she is, Kylie delves deeper into her biological father's past. But as soon as she gets close to an answer, everything she knows to be true suddenly isn't. Since when d...
Kylie Galen's story continues to get interesting. Still trying to figure out who - actually, what - she is, Kylie delves deeper into her biological father's past. But as soon as she gets close to an answer, everything she knows to be true suddenly isn't. Since when does she love the taste of blood? And does her rapidly changing body have anything to do with the approaching full moon?

Meanwhile, a new ghost is on the scene warning Kylie of a loved one's impending demise. And if that's not enough for this troubled teen, a rouge vampire is on a killing spree, targeting the town of Shadow falls. and Kylie herself! Kylie will need all her skills, and her friends, to solve these mysteries or the next death could be her own.

C.C. Hunter returns in Awake at Dawn, the follow up to the breakout Born at Midnight and the second in the Shadow Falls series. Like the first, Awake at Dawn grips your heart and refuses to let go until the very last page. Expertly weaving an intricate braid of mystery, suspense, drama and teen angst, Hunter answers as many old questions as she presents new puzzles to solve.

Our favorite supporting characters are back. Holiday & Burnett - still dancing around each other, Miranda & Della - still at each other's throats, and Derek & Lucas - both still hot as ever and both still after Kylie's heart.

Dive into this book today. But be warned - you will get hooked to the point you'll be reading through the night and find yourself Awake at Dawn.

posted by BookLoverEW on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Recommend

Even though this is a teen series and I am far from a teen, I enjoyed Awake at Dawn and look forward to reading the next book in the series.

posted by SJMusk on August 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 460 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You'll be Awake at Dawn!

    Kylie Galen's story continues to get interesting. Still trying to figure out who - actually, what - she is, Kylie delves deeper into her biological father's past. But as soon as she gets close to an answer, everything she knows to be true suddenly isn't. Since when does she love the taste of blood? And does her rapidly changing body have anything to do with the approaching full moon?

    Meanwhile, a new ghost is on the scene warning Kylie of a loved one's impending demise. And if that's not enough for this troubled teen, a rouge vampire is on a killing spree, targeting the town of Shadow falls. and Kylie herself! Kylie will need all her skills, and her friends, to solve these mysteries or the next death could be her own.

    C.C. Hunter returns in Awake at Dawn, the follow up to the breakout Born at Midnight and the second in the Shadow Falls series. Like the first, Awake at Dawn grips your heart and refuses to let go until the very last page. Expertly weaving an intricate braid of mystery, suspense, drama and teen angst, Hunter answers as many old questions as she presents new puzzles to solve.

    Our favorite supporting characters are back. Holiday & Burnett - still dancing around each other, Miranda & Della - still at each other's throats, and Derek & Lucas - both still hot as ever and both still after Kylie's heart.

    Dive into this book today. But be warned - you will get hooked to the point you'll be reading through the night and find yourself Awake at Dawn.

    32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    love it

    i got so caught up in the first book Born at Midnight i couldn't stop reading it i can not wait for Awake at Dawn to come out

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    Very good book. Great characters, good plot. will order more

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Dont know about anybody eles

    Im a lucas fan all the way. Dereck is cool and all but how he just broke it off with kiyle was stupid and if he really felt all her emotions then how come he didnt relize that she was heart broken. While Lucas on the other hand was way more patient and he wasnt being a jerk to her because she had an attraction to dereck no he still stood by her plus he actully had a reason to leave and befor he did he said the most heart warming good bye ever.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Great sequel!!!

    Awake at Dawn is the second book in the Shadow Falls series by C.C. Hunter. I think I liked it even better than the first! In this book, Kylie still struggles with what she is. She is also still trying to deal with her feelings for Derek and Lucas. There was more excitement in this book though.

    It was interesting watching Kylie's abilities emerge and realizing that she is so unique from the others at Shadow Falls. One of her abilities is communicating with ghosts. A ghost comes to her in this book, telling her that someone she loves will die if she doesn't do something – but she isn't told who is in trouble or what Kylie is able to do to help. This puzzle torments her throughout the book. It must be very troubling to know that someone's life depends on you. Of course, Kylie is a little slow to see the signs that are pointing to a certain person...

    The love triangle continues. When I read the first book, I was leaning toward Lucas. Now, I can't decide which one I want Kylie to choose. They are both great guys who adore her. There are a lot of great characters in this book. The author did a wonderful job with characterization. It's not often that I'm interested in the lives of the supporting characters.

    There was some excitement at the end, though it felt kind of rushed. This one ended in a bit of a cliffhanger – not a huge one but big enough to make you look forward to the next book. Luckily, I won't have to wait because I have book #3 right here waiting on me.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Love

    So far i love the series but i wish the books weren't ten dollars. I can read one a day and i can't just spend forty dollars in a week on books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Recommend

    Even though this is a teen series and I am far from a teen, I enjoyed Awake at Dawn and look forward to reading the next book in the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Amazing.

    I love this series! I was always on edge wondering what was going to happen next. Its the best romance, self discovory, paranormal book ever! C.C Hunter is a truly amazing author. It was money well spent cause you just cant read it once.
    Hope you enjoy it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Amazing!!

    This was overall my favorite book in the series! There were lots of suspense and adventure! Read this book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Loved it

    What can i say well my name iss Kylie spelled the exact same way and thats what made me want the book and i have no regets i loved it and cant wait for the next book to come out

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    SPOILER

    Wow this book drove me crazy. I not only began to dislike Kylie, but her relationship with Derrick as well.
    In the beginning of the book she's visited by a ghost who claims someone who Kylie loves is going to die if she doesn't stop it. Whenever the ghost visits Kylie, she puts in an effort to find out more information. But once the ghost leaves its almost like out of sight/out of mind. Kylie is almost painfully self-involved at times and ignores her problems or uses them as excuses. For instance, her dad? ignores his phone calls. Her mom? evades her. The question of what she is? scoffs at any theory or proof, not liking any ideas of what she is. Her love interests? Hides from them. Letters from Lucas? puts off reading them for days. The voicemail from Sara? puts it off then forgets about for weeks. The list goes on. I just wish someone would tell her that if she confronts her problems, they won't be problems anymore and she can get closure. But no, all those issues are apparently bigger and more consuming to ignore than trying to protect her family and friends. I kept waiting for her to ask the FRU to send guards to watch her parents and friends in the civilian world, to call them daily to check in and make sure no one's missing. When we find out what the ghost really is talking about, it was a bit of a let down for me. It had nothing to do with the evil vampires after Kylie or any sort of threat to her personally. It was just like.....okay....she solved it in like 10 minutes, left, and then a whole new drama unfolded. It left me wondering why so much of the books plot was taken up by this ghost when it really had no impact on Kylie.
    There were several inconsistencies throughout the book as well/unexplained events. For one, the wolf that followed her--they never went into the purpose of that other than saying wolves often follow super important werewolves which they decide Kylie is not. We hear about the lion in her bedroom again, she discovers who did it but no punishment follows. When Kylie is out with her mom and the people around her have Trey's number flashing on their phones, it remains unexplained, unless I missed it. And when Trey suddenly shows up out of nowhere, Kylie doesn't even ask him what's going on. He leaves and she's just too distracted by family problems.
    Overall, this book was weird. I feel like I still know nothing about the day to day happenings at this camp and what they do. There was non stop friend/family/boy drama that I just wanted to STOP. Derrick was cool and supporting for some parts but his slight fixation on sex and her sudden detachment from Lucas rubbed me the wrong way. I felt like nothing in any of the relationships was resolved other than she's a little more comfortable with her parents. I guess I thought the book would delve more into hatred between supernatural beings, maybe get some history, and have conflict come from that since the first book was about people trying to destroy the school. Guess not!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Awesomeness

    The firstbook is Born at Midnight, the second is Awake at Dawn, and the third which i cant wait to read isTaken at Dusk which has not yet come out

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Live To Read

    This is the second book in the Shadow Falls series and it is easily as awesome as the first! Kylie is still the main character and just as confused as ever about her supernatural talents-could she be a werewolf? fairy? vampire? She continues to develop and hone quite a few amazing super powers through this book. She is also confused about Lucas and Derek. She knows it is time to choose between them, but she can't decide. There are pros and cons to both boys.


    Kylie is a fun main character. She is smart, somewhat impulsive, and powerful. Her two best friends are consistently at her side and the reader will be able to tell that they truly are her friends. The boys, well, the reader will be happy with the scenes in this book-now Kylie just needs to choose...or wait for something to force her hand.


    The events in this book are exciting, there is almost always something new or exciting going on. The reader will easily connect to Kylie and even to some of the secondary characters. The reader will be left wanting more at the ending...and will get his/her wish-there will be another! This book is recommended to young adult/teen readers.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    AMAZING

    The first book is Born at Midnight and this series is AMAZING its perfect for teens and a out of this world book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    Awake at Dawn is an intriguing sequel to Born at Midnight. The r

    Awake at Dawn is an intriguing sequel to Born at Midnight. The romance and tension keep you glued to its pages. Throughout the Shadow Fall series, I’ve become really torn between Derek and Lucas. Both have great qualities as characters, and I’m found myself falling for both in Born at Midnight. In Awake at Dawn, though, Lucas is out of the picture and Kylie focuses on Derek, making me love him more. Yet I was hooked on Lucas’s letters and yearned to know where he had disappeared to. I was craving for his return.

    Unfortunately, unlike Born at Midnight, this book is focused more on drama than mystery. Kylie is still trying to figure out what she is exactly – Fae, Werewolf, Vampire – but it is becoming more of a guessing game than a mystery. And the spirit haunting Kylie is not as interesting as the spirit that haunted her in the first book. The real mystery in this book is who is watching Kylie and why.

    This is a great series and I can’t wait for the third book, Taken at Dusk.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Amazing Book

    There was a lot of suspense and romance. It was very fun to read this book and I enjoyed very much. Once you read one book, there is no going back!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    Great story line, pace, and action. The only gripe I would have

    Great story line, pace, and action. The only gripe I would have, is also one that I find so prevalent in young adult stories, is the love triangle. Make up your minds quickly already.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Kylie is at shadow falls still wondering who she really is. Ever

    Kylie is at shadow falls still wondering who she really is. Everyone has their own idea about what Kylie may be, but none of them are right. But Kylie doesnt have much time to wonder about herself, right now she has a new ghost who has proven to be very difficult. This ghost insists that Kylie knows someone who is going to die and that Kylie must also help the ghost figure out her own identity. Along with the ghost problem Kylie also has her guy problems. Derek the fey has been pushing Kylie to become something more than just friends, however things didn't turn out the way either of them expected. The end of the book brings us a new threat. This threat can bring trouble to the world that they know and potently ruin everything for the camp

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Luv it

    GET IT NOW!!!!! ITS 50% OFF! AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GET IT WHILE U STILL CAN!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Anonymouse on September 9,2012

    I have not read this yet but I really want to. I hope everyone loves it... I know I will!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 460 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23