Customer Reviews for

Awake at Dawn (Shadow Falls Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 443 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(329)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

You'll be Awake at Dawn!

Kylie Galen's story continues to get interesting. Still trying to figure out who - actually, what - she is, Kylie delves deeper into her biological father's past. But as soon as she gets close to an answer, everything she knows to be true suddenly isn't. Since when d...
Kylie Galen's story continues to get interesting. Still trying to figure out who - actually, what - she is, Kylie delves deeper into her biological father's past. But as soon as she gets close to an answer, everything she knows to be true suddenly isn't. Since when does she love the taste of blood? And does her rapidly changing body have anything to do with the approaching full moon?

Meanwhile, a new ghost is on the scene warning Kylie of a loved one's impending demise. And if that's not enough for this troubled teen, a rouge vampire is on a killing spree, targeting the town of Shadow falls. and Kylie herself! Kylie will need all her skills, and her friends, to solve these mysteries or the next death could be her own.

C.C. Hunter returns in Awake at Dawn, the follow up to the breakout Born at Midnight and the second in the Shadow Falls series. Like the first, Awake at Dawn grips your heart and refuses to let go until the very last page. Expertly weaving an intricate braid of mystery, suspense, drama and teen angst, Hunter answers as many old questions as she presents new puzzles to solve.

Our favorite supporting characters are back. Holiday & Burnett - still dancing around each other, Miranda & Della - still at each other's throats, and Derek & Lucas - both still hot as ever and both still after Kylie's heart.

Dive into this book today. But be warned - you will get hooked to the point you'll be reading through the night and find yourself Awake at Dawn.

posted by BookLoverEW on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Recommend

Even though this is a teen series and I am far from a teen, I enjoyed Awake at Dawn and look forward to reading the next book in the series.

posted by SJMusk on August 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 444 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You'll be Awake at Dawn!

    Kylie Galen's story continues to get interesting. Still trying to figure out who - actually, what - she is, Kylie delves deeper into her biological father's past. But as soon as she gets close to an answer, everything she knows to be true suddenly isn't. Since when does she love the taste of blood? And does her rapidly changing body have anything to do with the approaching full moon?

    Meanwhile, a new ghost is on the scene warning Kylie of a loved one's impending demise. And if that's not enough for this troubled teen, a rouge vampire is on a killing spree, targeting the town of Shadow falls. and Kylie herself! Kylie will need all her skills, and her friends, to solve these mysteries or the next death could be her own.

    C.C. Hunter returns in Awake at Dawn, the follow up to the breakout Born at Midnight and the second in the Shadow Falls series. Like the first, Awake at Dawn grips your heart and refuses to let go until the very last page. Expertly weaving an intricate braid of mystery, suspense, drama and teen angst, Hunter answers as many old questions as she presents new puzzles to solve.

    Our favorite supporting characters are back. Holiday & Burnett - still dancing around each other, Miranda & Della - still at each other's throats, and Derek & Lucas - both still hot as ever and both still after Kylie's heart.

    Dive into this book today. But be warned - you will get hooked to the point you'll be reading through the night and find yourself Awake at Dawn.

    31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    love it

    i got so caught up in the first book Born at Midnight i couldn't stop reading it i can not wait for Awake at Dawn to come out

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    Very good book. Great characters, good plot. will order more

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Dont know about anybody eles

    Im a lucas fan all the way. Dereck is cool and all but how he just broke it off with kiyle was stupid and if he really felt all her emotions then how come he didnt relize that she was heart broken. While Lucas on the other hand was way more patient and he wasnt being a jerk to her because she had an attraction to dereck no he still stood by her plus he actully had a reason to leave and befor he did he said the most heart warming good bye ever.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Great sequel!!!

    Awake at Dawn is the second book in the Shadow Falls series by C.C. Hunter. I think I liked it even better than the first! In this book, Kylie still struggles with what she is. She is also still trying to deal with her feelings for Derek and Lucas. There was more excitement in this book though.

    It was interesting watching Kylie's abilities emerge and realizing that she is so unique from the others at Shadow Falls. One of her abilities is communicating with ghosts. A ghost comes to her in this book, telling her that someone she loves will die if she doesn't do something – but she isn't told who is in trouble or what Kylie is able to do to help. This puzzle torments her throughout the book. It must be very troubling to know that someone's life depends on you. Of course, Kylie is a little slow to see the signs that are pointing to a certain person...

    The love triangle continues. When I read the first book, I was leaning toward Lucas. Now, I can't decide which one I want Kylie to choose. They are both great guys who adore her. There are a lot of great characters in this book. The author did a wonderful job with characterization. It's not often that I'm interested in the lives of the supporting characters.

    There was some excitement at the end, though it felt kind of rushed. This one ended in a bit of a cliffhanger – not a huge one but big enough to make you look forward to the next book. Luckily, I won't have to wait because I have book #3 right here waiting on me.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Recommend

    Even though this is a teen series and I am far from a teen, I enjoyed Awake at Dawn and look forward to reading the next book in the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Love

    So far i love the series but i wish the books weren't ten dollars. I can read one a day and i can't just spend forty dollars in a week on books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Amazing.

    I love this series! I was always on edge wondering what was going to happen next. Its the best romance, self discovory, paranormal book ever! C.C Hunter is a truly amazing author. It was money well spent cause you just cant read it once.
    Hope you enjoy it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Amazing!!

    This was overall my favorite book in the series! There were lots of suspense and adventure! Read this book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Loved it

    What can i say well my name iss Kylie spelled the exact same way and thats what made me want the book and i have no regets i loved it and cant wait for the next book to come out

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    SPOILER

    Wow this book drove me crazy. I not only began to dislike Kylie, but her relationship with Derrick as well.
    In the beginning of the book she's visited by a ghost who claims someone who Kylie loves is going to die if she doesn't stop it. Whenever the ghost visits Kylie, she puts in an effort to find out more information. But once the ghost leaves its almost like out of sight/out of mind. Kylie is almost painfully self-involved at times and ignores her problems or uses them as excuses. For instance, her dad? ignores his phone calls. Her mom? evades her. The question of what she is? scoffs at any theory or proof, not liking any ideas of what she is. Her love interests? Hides from them. Letters from Lucas? puts off reading them for days. The voicemail from Sara? puts it off then forgets about for weeks. The list goes on. I just wish someone would tell her that if she confronts her problems, they won't be problems anymore and she can get closure. But no, all those issues are apparently bigger and more consuming to ignore than trying to protect her family and friends. I kept waiting for her to ask the FRU to send guards to watch her parents and friends in the civilian world, to call them daily to check in and make sure no one's missing. When we find out what the ghost really is talking about, it was a bit of a let down for me. It had nothing to do with the evil vampires after Kylie or any sort of threat to her personally. It was just like.....okay....she solved it in like 10 minutes, left, and then a whole new drama unfolded. It left me wondering why so much of the books plot was taken up by this ghost when it really had no impact on Kylie.
    There were several inconsistencies throughout the book as well/unexplained events. For one, the wolf that followed her--they never went into the purpose of that other than saying wolves often follow super important werewolves which they decide Kylie is not. We hear about the lion in her bedroom again, she discovers who did it but no punishment follows. When Kylie is out with her mom and the people around her have Trey's number flashing on their phones, it remains unexplained, unless I missed it. And when Trey suddenly shows up out of nowhere, Kylie doesn't even ask him what's going on. He leaves and she's just too distracted by family problems.
    Overall, this book was weird. I feel like I still know nothing about the day to day happenings at this camp and what they do. There was non stop friend/family/boy drama that I just wanted to STOP. Derrick was cool and supporting for some parts but his slight fixation on sex and her sudden detachment from Lucas rubbed me the wrong way. I felt like nothing in any of the relationships was resolved other than she's a little more comfortable with her parents. I guess I thought the book would delve more into hatred between supernatural beings, maybe get some history, and have conflict come from that since the first book was about people trying to destroy the school. Guess not!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Awesomeness

    The firstbook is Born at Midnight, the second is Awake at Dawn, and the third which i cant wait to read isTaken at Dusk which has not yet come out

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Live To Read

    This is the second book in the Shadow Falls series and it is easily as awesome as the first! Kylie is still the main character and just as confused as ever about her supernatural talents-could she be a werewolf? fairy? vampire? She continues to develop and hone quite a few amazing super powers through this book. She is also confused about Lucas and Derek. She knows it is time to choose between them, but she can't decide. There are pros and cons to both boys.


    Kylie is a fun main character. She is smart, somewhat impulsive, and powerful. Her two best friends are consistently at her side and the reader will be able to tell that they truly are her friends. The boys, well, the reader will be happy with the scenes in this book-now Kylie just needs to choose...or wait for something to force her hand.


    The events in this book are exciting, there is almost always something new or exciting going on. The reader will easily connect to Kylie and even to some of the secondary characters. The reader will be left wanting more at the ending...and will get his/her wish-there will be another! This book is recommended to young adult/teen readers.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Luv it

    GET IT NOW!!!!! ITS 50% OFF! AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GET IT WHILE U STILL CAN!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Anonymouse on September 9,2012

    I have not read this yet but I really want to. I hope everyone loves it... I know I will!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    The awesome series

    This series is getting better and better. With ghost haunting kylie the romance and the friendship everything is a mess. This is also what friendship would fix.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Followup to Born at Midnight. I LOVED it! I am Hooked. A Must Read!

    So we are now back at Shadow Falls in this 2nd installment of the Shadow Falls Series, by C.C. Hunter

    Kylie still has no clue to who she is, or what she will become, other than excepting that she has this Ghost whispering gift. She is still very confused and desperate to find out what she is. Now that Lucas is gone for awhile, she has drawn even closer to Derek, who has never hid his feelings for her. But can she trust HER feelings? She is reluctant to commit herself to Derek, because Lucas is still on her mind.

    Derek grew a lot in this book, made me love him even more…. He is super hot, sweet and sexy. I remember C.C. mentioning that people who are a Team Lucas may change their minds after reading Awake at Dawn… and she was right.

    Although, I have always been a Derek fan, but Lucas is hot too. But in my mind, I take Faerie over werewolf every time, and in this book, he really tugs at your heart.

    There are other romances in this book too, Miranda and her crush on Perry, the powerful shape shifter and there is Holiday and the camp leader and that sexy Vampire….

    I really love the relationship Kylie has with the camp leader Holiday, like having an older sister, someone she can connect with. I am glad she has that.

    The unusual friendship between Della, Miranda and Kylie is beautiful. The girls fight and piss each other off every so often but in the end they love each other and are truly loyal. Kylie grows and comes slowly to terms with being supernatural and not “normal” anymore. Still, deep down she’s lonely since she still is no step further about discovering her true self. She does not fit into any “group” so feels left out most the time. But in Awake at Dawn we will see Kylie grow even more exceptional than she already is and there are a few twists and turns you might not expect that were truly intriguing.

    Overall, Awake at Dawn was full of growing relationships, friendships, with some love and romance. Going on this journey with Kylie and her friends to discover her true self was wonderful, and I loved every minute of it. This series has become one of my favorites, and will keep a place in my heart; I have come to care for the characters deeply. Wish I could move to Shadow Falls!

    If you have not read Born at Midnight first, be sure to pick it up, as its the first in the Shadow Falls Series. Also a short story called Turned at Dark which is a free ebook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Like it.

    Love this series!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Summer Read

    Kylie Galen thought her life was a mess before she went to Shadow Falls Camp. However, now that she's discovered she's not human, the problems presenting themselves are anything but normal.

    She's determined to uncover the answer to her supernatural heritage, but with a ghost insisting someone Kylie loves is about to die, her newly developed sixth sense telling her someone is watching her and a rogue vampire on a murdering rampage, Kylie's quest for answers is on hold. As if her life isn't difficult enough, just when she's about to give her heart to Derek, he starts pulling away. When Lucas comes back, Kylie feels more conflicted than ever. Kylie's weekend with her mom should have been just the break Kylie needs, but it turns out to be her breaking point. Discovering her heritage may not ever matter if she doesn't survive.

    As Kylie learns more about herself, the mystery of who/what she is becomes darker. Not only is she sharing characteristics with the camp vampires (i.e. desires for blood, exceptional hearing, etc.), but now she is displaying werewolf traits (i.e. super strength, body changes due to the moon cycle, etc.) as well. Yet, being unique has its mischievous perks since Kylie seems to always find herself within the camp's drama/secrets. But the unfortunate downfall of her solitary status destine her to perpetually be considered an outsider/alone. Kylie's adjustment to her original ghost-seeing abilities becomes more advanced within this story while her romance triangle becomes more complicated. Expect lots of favorite supernatural side characters to return as well as the series suspense and teen angst heats up. Yummy Read!!!

    Book # 3 ( Taken At Dusk )

    Book #1 ( Born At Midnight )

    Likes: The theme concept of "self-discovery" really keeps this series alive and entertaining for me, can't wait for it to continue.

    Dislikes: The friendship interactions in this tale comes off as a little too juvenile for my readying taste, but I guess that is to be expected from a YA book. It's just rather annoying at times, esp. with Miranda & Della going at it every other page.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm not ashamed to admit that I am completely intrigued by this

    I'm not ashamed to admit that I am completely intrigued by this series. I just love reading from Kylie's point of view and I love the setting. Also, one of the most important things to me is that I love the characters. (Not just the main ones either) I will enjoy reading just about anything if I like the characters (even if the story sucks.) Fortunately, the story here definitely does not suck. I think I'm just as anxious as Kylie is to finally find out exactly what she is and what's really brewing in this new world of hers. I'm also really enjoying the side-stories of the ghosts that Kylie has to deal with. It really makes me laugh when she has to ignore the crazy (more often totally creepy) things the ghosts do while she's in the presence of others. I get more and more excited every time she finds another ability, and more and more sympathetic every time she feels that she just doesn't really fit perfectly anywhere. I admire her for trying to do right by those around her. She cares about people and tries to think before she acts.

    As far as the romance triangle goes, I found myself kinda changing who I was rooting for. (this is HIGHLY unusual for me!) In book one, I was all about Lucas, whereas this time around, I just couldn't help but love Derek. There were some pretty awesome scenes between Kylie & Derek in Awake at Dawn. Also, I just kinda felt like the author changed Lucas' character a bit. Something felt slightly off if that makes any sense.

    Anyway, there was some pretty awesome stuff in Shadow Falls, book 2; and I've definitely added C.C. Hunter to my must-read author's list. I can't wait to read Taken at Dusk!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 444 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23