Customer Reviews for

Awake at Dawn (Shadow Falls Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 444 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(330)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

You'll be Awake at Dawn!

Kylie Galen's story continues to get interesting. Still trying to figure out who - actually, what - she is, Kylie delves deeper into her biological father's past. But as soon as she gets close to an answer, everything she knows to be true suddenly isn't. Since when d...
Kylie Galen's story continues to get interesting. Still trying to figure out who - actually, what - she is, Kylie delves deeper into her biological father's past. But as soon as she gets close to an answer, everything she knows to be true suddenly isn't. Since when does she love the taste of blood? And does her rapidly changing body have anything to do with the approaching full moon?

Meanwhile, a new ghost is on the scene warning Kylie of a loved one's impending demise. And if that's not enough for this troubled teen, a rouge vampire is on a killing spree, targeting the town of Shadow falls. and Kylie herself! Kylie will need all her skills, and her friends, to solve these mysteries or the next death could be her own.

C.C. Hunter returns in Awake at Dawn, the follow up to the breakout Born at Midnight and the second in the Shadow Falls series. Like the first, Awake at Dawn grips your heart and refuses to let go until the very last page. Expertly weaving an intricate braid of mystery, suspense, drama and teen angst, Hunter answers as many old questions as she presents new puzzles to solve.

Our favorite supporting characters are back. Holiday & Burnett - still dancing around each other, Miranda & Della - still at each other's throats, and Derek & Lucas - both still hot as ever and both still after Kylie's heart.

Dive into this book today. But be warned - you will get hooked to the point you'll be reading through the night and find yourself Awake at Dawn.

posted by BookLoverEW on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Recommend

Even though this is a teen series and I am far from a teen, I enjoyed Awake at Dawn and look forward to reading the next book in the series.

posted by SJMusk on August 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Great sequel!!!

    Awake at Dawn is the second book in the Shadow Falls series by C.C. Hunter. I think I liked it even better than the first! In this book, Kylie still struggles with what she is. She is also still trying to deal with her feelings for Derek and Lucas. There was more excitement in this book though.

    It was interesting watching Kylie's abilities emerge and realizing that she is so unique from the others at Shadow Falls. One of her abilities is communicating with ghosts. A ghost comes to her in this book, telling her that someone she loves will die if she doesn't do something – but she isn't told who is in trouble or what Kylie is able to do to help. This puzzle torments her throughout the book. It must be very troubling to know that someone's life depends on you. Of course, Kylie is a little slow to see the signs that are pointing to a certain person...

    The love triangle continues. When I read the first book, I was leaning toward Lucas. Now, I can't decide which one I want Kylie to choose. They are both great guys who adore her. There are a lot of great characters in this book. The author did a wonderful job with characterization. It's not often that I'm interested in the lives of the supporting characters.

    There was some excitement at the end, though it felt kind of rushed. This one ended in a bit of a cliffhanger – not a huge one but big enough to make you look forward to the next book. Luckily, I won't have to wait because I have book #3 right here waiting on me.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Live To Read

    This is the second book in the Shadow Falls series and it is easily as awesome as the first! Kylie is still the main character and just as confused as ever about her supernatural talents-could she be a werewolf? fairy? vampire? She continues to develop and hone quite a few amazing super powers through this book. She is also confused about Lucas and Derek. She knows it is time to choose between them, but she can't decide. There are pros and cons to both boys.


    Kylie is a fun main character. She is smart, somewhat impulsive, and powerful. Her two best friends are consistently at her side and the reader will be able to tell that they truly are her friends. The boys, well, the reader will be happy with the scenes in this book-now Kylie just needs to choose...or wait for something to force her hand.


    The events in this book are exciting, there is almost always something new or exciting going on. The reader will easily connect to Kylie and even to some of the secondary characters. The reader will be left wanting more at the ending...and will get his/her wish-there will be another! This book is recommended to young adult/teen readers.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Like it.

    Love this series!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Summer Read

    Kylie Galen thought her life was a mess before she went to Shadow Falls Camp. However, now that she's discovered she's not human, the problems presenting themselves are anything but normal.

    She's determined to uncover the answer to her supernatural heritage, but with a ghost insisting someone Kylie loves is about to die, her newly developed sixth sense telling her someone is watching her and a rogue vampire on a murdering rampage, Kylie's quest for answers is on hold. As if her life isn't difficult enough, just when she's about to give her heart to Derek, he starts pulling away. When Lucas comes back, Kylie feels more conflicted than ever. Kylie's weekend with her mom should have been just the break Kylie needs, but it turns out to be her breaking point. Discovering her heritage may not ever matter if she doesn't survive.

    As Kylie learns more about herself, the mystery of who/what she is becomes darker. Not only is she sharing characteristics with the camp vampires (i.e. desires for blood, exceptional hearing, etc.), but now she is displaying werewolf traits (i.e. super strength, body changes due to the moon cycle, etc.) as well. Yet, being unique has its mischievous perks since Kylie seems to always find herself within the camp's drama/secrets. But the unfortunate downfall of her solitary status destine her to perpetually be considered an outsider/alone. Kylie's adjustment to her original ghost-seeing abilities becomes more advanced within this story while her romance triangle becomes more complicated. Expect lots of favorite supernatural side characters to return as well as the series suspense and teen angst heats up. Yummy Read!!!

    Book # 3 ( Taken At Dusk )

    Book #1 ( Born At Midnight )

    Likes: The theme concept of "self-discovery" really keeps this series alive and entertaining for me, can't wait for it to continue.

    Dislikes: The friendship interactions in this tale comes off as a little too juvenile for my readying taste, but I guess that is to be expected from a YA book. It's just rather annoying at times, esp. with Miranda & Della going at it every other page.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Good book!

    I like the idea and plot behind the book....not to mention the romance with Lucas and Derek. My only problem stems from the main character Kylie, I'm sorry but there is only so many times I can take her crying over everything in her life-she cries/tears up at least 3 times a day. But all in all good book and I can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Love this series!

    There are many YA books out there about boarding schools for paranormals but this Shadow Falls series is my favorite. Not only are these books very character driven (which I love) but the plot is solid as well.

    Awake at Dawn is the perfect follow-up to Born at Midnight. The book picks up shortly after where Born at Midnight ended with Kylie at Shadow Falls Camp trying to figure out what kind of paranormal she is and working through the other drama that surrounds her life.

    This book is all about relationships: Kylie's relationships with her parents, with her friends Della, Miranda and Holiday and of course, with the two love interest, Derek and Lucas. Kylie is such a likable character. Her issues are legitimate and I don't feel that she was being whiny or that the angst was overdone. While I don't usually like love triangles, Ms. Hunter does this one well and even I could not choose between the boys, they are just so great. It also helps that the romance was not the book's main plot which centers firmly on Kylie finding out who and what she really is. While the relationships and characters are awesome, I love the paranormal aspects of the book as well.

    If you like paranormal YA fiction, you will love this series, it's just so good. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series, Taken at Dusk, which comes out in April 2012.

    Content: Kissing, sexual situations and violence. There are some steamy scenes in this book that may be more appropriate for more mature teens.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    Awake at Dawn is an intriguing sequel to Born at Midnight. The r

    Awake at Dawn is an intriguing sequel to Born at Midnight. The romance and tension keep you glued to its pages. Throughout the Shadow Fall series, I’ve become really torn between Derek and Lucas. Both have great qualities as characters, and I’m found myself falling for both in Born at Midnight. In Awake at Dawn, though, Lucas is out of the picture and Kylie focuses on Derek, making me love him more. Yet I was hooked on Lucas’s letters and yearned to know where he had disappeared to. I was craving for his return.

    Unfortunately, unlike Born at Midnight, this book is focused more on drama than mystery. Kylie is still trying to figure out what she is exactly – Fae, Werewolf, Vampire – but it is becoming more of a guessing game than a mystery. And the spirit haunting Kylie is not as interesting as the spirit that haunted her in the first book. The real mystery in this book is who is watching Kylie and why.

    This is a great series and I can’t wait for the third book, Taken at Dusk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Just as amazing as the first book.

    Just as amazing as the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I read or should I say devoured this book in one day. No eating. No sleeping. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    A+

    Love when a sequile doesnt disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Awesome

    The entire series is awesome... I couldn't put it down :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Love this series

    I can not wait for the next book in this series to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Read it!

    This book is great because it continues the mystery of what Kylie is! Good books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Good book....

    In all the book was pretty good i just wish there was more drama... You never really saw the two boys actually fight over the girl which would have been

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Though a few of the details were fuzzy, it did not take me lo

    Though a few of the details were fuzzy, it did not take me long to dive back into Kylie's world and character. I love her voice, the sarcasm, the emotion and the kindness and loyalty to her friends. She wants and needs answers, and she takes the avoidance tactic, which I am so familiar with. I really connected with her in the feeling like an outcast at times though. That is a theme in this book and it feels like a theme in my own life. But I really like how she deals with it, and it is so well written how she makes friendships and slowly builds them.
    And oh the drama in here, there are scenes I totally loved, and could imagine so clearly. Shifter fight anyone? Make out session? Oh yes, please. C.C.'s style is great and she draws me right into the world of Shadow Falls. The range of supernatural all in one place, working together is awesome, as well as the set-up with the tension and the antagonists.
    It's awesome to watch Kylie come into herself and figure out exactly what she is, and it leaves me with questions and speculations. I also liked how she made better decisions for herself instead of being weak, even when it was hard.
    I love this series and can't wait to make time in my schedule to read the rest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Highly recommened

    Great series that keeps you on your toes and I still don't know who I want her to be with.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    It is a great story that keeps you guessing! I can't wait for the next book to come out!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Review1334321908342

    This is a really nice book!1334321908342

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Another winner

    It just gets better and better. Onto her third one. Draws you in and you cant put it down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    loved

    I cant wait for the third book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5