Customer Reviews for

Awake at Dawn (Shadow Falls Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 448 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(333)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

You'll be Awake at Dawn!

Kylie Galen's story continues to get interesting. Still trying to figure out who - actually, what - she is, Kylie delves deeper into her biological father's past. But as soon as she gets close to an answer, everything she knows to be true suddenly isn't. Since when d...
Kylie Galen's story continues to get interesting. Still trying to figure out who - actually, what - she is, Kylie delves deeper into her biological father's past. But as soon as she gets close to an answer, everything she knows to be true suddenly isn't. Since when does she love the taste of blood? And does her rapidly changing body have anything to do with the approaching full moon?

Meanwhile, a new ghost is on the scene warning Kylie of a loved one's impending demise. And if that's not enough for this troubled teen, a rouge vampire is on a killing spree, targeting the town of Shadow falls. and Kylie herself! Kylie will need all her skills, and her friends, to solve these mysteries or the next death could be her own.

C.C. Hunter returns in Awake at Dawn, the follow up to the breakout Born at Midnight and the second in the Shadow Falls series. Like the first, Awake at Dawn grips your heart and refuses to let go until the very last page. Expertly weaving an intricate braid of mystery, suspense, drama and teen angst, Hunter answers as many old questions as she presents new puzzles to solve.

Our favorite supporting characters are back. Holiday & Burnett - still dancing around each other, Miranda & Della - still at each other's throats, and Derek & Lucas - both still hot as ever and both still after Kylie's heart.

Dive into this book today. But be warned - you will get hooked to the point you'll be reading through the night and find yourself Awake at Dawn.

posted by BookLoverEW on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Recommend

Even though this is a teen series and I am far from a teen, I enjoyed Awake at Dawn and look forward to reading the next book in the series.

posted by SJMusk on August 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 333 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You'll be Awake at Dawn!

    Kylie Galen's story continues to get interesting. Still trying to figure out who - actually, what - she is, Kylie delves deeper into her biological father's past. But as soon as she gets close to an answer, everything she knows to be true suddenly isn't. Since when does she love the taste of blood? And does her rapidly changing body have anything to do with the approaching full moon?

    Meanwhile, a new ghost is on the scene warning Kylie of a loved one's impending demise. And if that's not enough for this troubled teen, a rouge vampire is on a killing spree, targeting the town of Shadow falls. and Kylie herself! Kylie will need all her skills, and her friends, to solve these mysteries or the next death could be her own.

    C.C. Hunter returns in Awake at Dawn, the follow up to the breakout Born at Midnight and the second in the Shadow Falls series. Like the first, Awake at Dawn grips your heart and refuses to let go until the very last page. Expertly weaving an intricate braid of mystery, suspense, drama and teen angst, Hunter answers as many old questions as she presents new puzzles to solve.

    Our favorite supporting characters are back. Holiday & Burnett - still dancing around each other, Miranda & Della - still at each other's throats, and Derek & Lucas - both still hot as ever and both still after Kylie's heart.

    Dive into this book today. But be warned - you will get hooked to the point you'll be reading through the night and find yourself Awake at Dawn.

    32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    love it

    i got so caught up in the first book Born at Midnight i couldn't stop reading it i can not wait for Awake at Dawn to come out

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    Very good book. Great characters, good plot. will order more

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Love

    So far i love the series but i wish the books weren't ten dollars. I can read one a day and i can't just spend forty dollars in a week on books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Amazing.

    I love this series! I was always on edge wondering what was going to happen next. Its the best romance, self discovory, paranormal book ever! C.C Hunter is a truly amazing author. It was money well spent cause you just cant read it once.
    Hope you enjoy it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Amazing!!

    This was overall my favorite book in the series! There were lots of suspense and adventure! Read this book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Loved it

    What can i say well my name iss Kylie spelled the exact same way and thats what made me want the book and i have no regets i loved it and cant wait for the next book to come out

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Awesomeness

    The firstbook is Born at Midnight, the second is Awake at Dawn, and the third which i cant wait to read isTaken at Dusk which has not yet come out

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Luv it

    GET IT NOW!!!!! ITS 50% OFF! AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GET IT WHILE U STILL CAN!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Anonymouse on September 9,2012

    I have not read this yet but I really want to. I hope everyone loves it... I know I will!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    The awesome series

    This series is getting better and better. With ghost haunting kylie the romance and the friendship everything is a mess. This is also what friendship would fix.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Followup to Born at Midnight. I LOVED it! I am Hooked. A Must Read!

    So we are now back at Shadow Falls in this 2nd installment of the Shadow Falls Series, by C.C. Hunter

    Kylie still has no clue to who she is, or what she will become, other than excepting that she has this Ghost whispering gift. She is still very confused and desperate to find out what she is. Now that Lucas is gone for awhile, she has drawn even closer to Derek, who has never hid his feelings for her. But can she trust HER feelings? She is reluctant to commit herself to Derek, because Lucas is still on her mind.

    Derek grew a lot in this book, made me love him even more…. He is super hot, sweet and sexy. I remember C.C. mentioning that people who are a Team Lucas may change their minds after reading Awake at Dawn… and she was right.

    Although, I have always been a Derek fan, but Lucas is hot too. But in my mind, I take Faerie over werewolf every time, and in this book, he really tugs at your heart.

    There are other romances in this book too, Miranda and her crush on Perry, the powerful shape shifter and there is Holiday and the camp leader and that sexy Vampire….

    I really love the relationship Kylie has with the camp leader Holiday, like having an older sister, someone she can connect with. I am glad she has that.

    The unusual friendship between Della, Miranda and Kylie is beautiful. The girls fight and piss each other off every so often but in the end they love each other and are truly loyal. Kylie grows and comes slowly to terms with being supernatural and not “normal” anymore. Still, deep down she’s lonely since she still is no step further about discovering her true self. She does not fit into any “group” so feels left out most the time. But in Awake at Dawn we will see Kylie grow even more exceptional than she already is and there are a few twists and turns you might not expect that were truly intriguing.

    Overall, Awake at Dawn was full of growing relationships, friendships, with some love and romance. Going on this journey with Kylie and her friends to discover her true self was wonderful, and I loved every minute of it. This series has become one of my favorites, and will keep a place in my heart; I have come to care for the characters deeply. Wish I could move to Shadow Falls!

    If you have not read Born at Midnight first, be sure to pick it up, as its the first in the Shadow Falls Series. Also a short story called Turned at Dark which is a free ebook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm not ashamed to admit that I am completely intrigued by this

    I'm not ashamed to admit that I am completely intrigued by this series. I just love reading from Kylie's point of view and I love the setting. Also, one of the most important things to me is that I love the characters. (Not just the main ones either) I will enjoy reading just about anything if I like the characters (even if the story sucks.) Fortunately, the story here definitely does not suck. I think I'm just as anxious as Kylie is to finally find out exactly what she is and what's really brewing in this new world of hers. I'm also really enjoying the side-stories of the ghosts that Kylie has to deal with. It really makes me laugh when she has to ignore the crazy (more often totally creepy) things the ghosts do while she's in the presence of others. I get more and more excited every time she finds another ability, and more and more sympathetic every time she feels that she just doesn't really fit perfectly anywhere. I admire her for trying to do right by those around her. She cares about people and tries to think before she acts.

    As far as the romance triangle goes, I found myself kinda changing who I was rooting for. (this is HIGHLY unusual for me!) In book one, I was all about Lucas, whereas this time around, I just couldn't help but love Derek. There were some pretty awesome scenes between Kylie & Derek in Awake at Dawn. Also, I just kinda felt like the author changed Lucas' character a bit. Something felt slightly off if that makes any sense.

    Anyway, there was some pretty awesome stuff in Shadow Falls, book 2; and I've definitely added C.C. Hunter to my must-read author's list. I can't wait to read Taken at Dusk!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    highly recommend

    What can I say about C C Hunter’s stories? Fabulous!!! I stayed up all night not being able to put this book down. There is so much I want to tell about this story but I would give so much away and then you wouldn’t have to read it. There is nothing but love for Miranda. She is a hoot. I wish I had a friend like that that could make me laugh at her crazy witchery and mistakes. Socks is still around and he has plenty of tricks of his own. Kylie still lives in the world of “I don’t know who or what I am” but discovers she has a lot more to give of herself than she thinks. And then, the tug of war of Derek and Lucas of who does she want to be with. Has Holiday met her match? Definitely a story you can truly love with the characters that can make you laugh, worry you, and make you cry. When is book #3 coming out? I can’t wait for it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an engaging young adult coming of age urban fantasy.

    This has been a particular difficult summer for Kylie Galen who recently discovered she had previously dormant special abilities inherited from her biological father. However having been adopted she had no one to mentor her on using these powers. Instead she is learning the extent of her new found skills the hard way through trial and error with an emphasis on the latter.

    Shadow Falls Camp caters to those with supernatural powers. The counselors try to determine what Kylie can do, but they are concerned as she keeps manifesting new skills at an alarming unheard of rate. A female ghost haunts Kylie; the spirit insists the teen has the ability to save a friend. Kylie is heartbroken that shapeshifter Derek leaves her but upon his return he wants to pick up where they were as if he did not dump her. She has Lucas the werewolf in her life but he demands she prove she no longer thirsts for Derek. Meanwhile a rogue vampire wants her, but she refuses to have anything to do with this killer and an ancient vampire stalks her with evil plans to use Kylie's skills.

    The protagonist is a complicated individual struggling to understand who she is ever since her late dad made an unexpected visit (see Born At Midnight). Her two roommates are a vampire and a witch, but perhaps the heroine's greatest power is her ability to get along with both of them. Kylie uses her innate abilities to help others though that makes her stand out further as new skills arise leaving everyone in her circle and her to wonder what species she is. C.C. Hunter writes an engaging young adult coming of age urban fantasy.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AWSM BOOK!!!

    i say tht this book must b a follower in continuum of the series i love how it can wrap you into th book and u can actually act it out i love th authors way of writing id recommend to anyone for them to read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    5/5 stars

    5/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Summer Dawn's house

    Looks like a treehouse, but the tree is hollow and leads to a hidden "base" underground, which is the real house.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Amazing Book

    There was a lot of suspense and romance. It was very fun to read this book and I enjoyed very much. Once you read one book, there is no going back!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Awake at dawn

    I love this book!!!!! XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 333 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17