Customer Reviews for

Awaken Me Darkly (Alien Huntress Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awaken Me Darkly

I had my reservations about trying this series but I was pleasantly surprised. Mia Snow, is a kick-a$$ alien hunter who reminds me of a cross between Eve Dallas meets Ellen Ripley meets Sarah Connor. Gena Showalter has built a dark, frightening world, where earth has ...
I had my reservations about trying this series but I was pleasantly surprised. Mia Snow, is a kick-a$$ alien hunter who reminds me of a cross between Eve Dallas meets Ellen Ripley meets Sarah Connor. Gena Showalter has built a dark, frightening world, where earth has become invaded by powerful aliens. Investigator Mia Snow, stops at nothing to try and stop a serial killer who has been killing human men. I had a hard time categorizing this book. It's not a paranormal romance but it's not an urban fantasy either. For those who really need to know what category any particular book falls in, I would say this novel has combined elements from scifi, dark paranormal romance and urban fantasy. However, regardless of the genre this novel falls into, it's still a great creative, crime novel. I enjoyed this book immensely and look forward to reading the next book in this series, Enslave Me Sweetly. I highly recommend this book to dark urban fantasy readers.

posted by kitkat3ny on October 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Ms. Showalter's best work

I expected so much from this book, but was highly disappointed. I have read Showalter's Lords of the Underworld and Atlantis Series so I expected her Alien Huntress to hold strong, but it failed. Perhaps book two will be better. Writing a so-called paranormal romance i...
I expected so much from this book, but was highly disappointed. I have read Showalter's Lords of the Underworld and Atlantis Series so I expected her Alien Huntress to hold strong, but it failed. Perhaps book two will be better. Writing a so-called paranormal romance in first person is awful. Additionally, it took nearly half the book before the hero (Kyrin) and heroine (Mia) to have some form of contact that would lead to a romance, which by the way, is unrealistic considering her constant need to punch and beat up on him. I will likely not continue reading the series.

posted by 241720 on March 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted October 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awaken Me Darkly

    I had my reservations about trying this series but I was pleasantly surprised. Mia Snow, is a kick-a$$ alien hunter who reminds me of a cross between Eve Dallas meets Ellen Ripley meets Sarah Connor. Gena Showalter has built a dark, frightening world, where earth has become invaded by powerful aliens. Investigator Mia Snow, stops at nothing to try and stop a serial killer who has been killing human men. I had a hard time categorizing this book. It's not a paranormal romance but it's not an urban fantasy either. For those who really need to know what category any particular book falls in, I would say this novel has combined elements from scifi, dark paranormal romance and urban fantasy. However, regardless of the genre this novel falls into, it's still a great creative, crime novel. I enjoyed this book immensely and look forward to reading the next book in this series, Enslave Me Sweetly. I highly recommend this book to dark urban fantasy readers.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love Mia Snow!

    I decided to read this series after falling in love with Gena's Lords of the Underworld and Atlantis Series. I fell in loe with this series as well and love Mia Snow. She is my fav alien hunter of the series...This book is a great read and I highly recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    Not Ms. Showalter's best work

    I expected so much from this book, but was highly disappointed. I have read Showalter's Lords of the Underworld and Atlantis Series so I expected her Alien Huntress to hold strong, but it failed. Perhaps book two will be better. Writing a so-called paranormal romance in first person is awful. Additionally, it took nearly half the book before the hero (Kyrin) and heroine (Mia) to have some form of contact that would lead to a romance, which by the way, is unrealistic considering her constant need to punch and beat up on him. I will likely not continue reading the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine sci fi who-done-it

    Chief of the Chicago Police Department Alien Investigation and Removal Agents, huntress Mia Snow and her second in command Dallas Gutierrez investigate the murder of human William Steele. Mia quickly recognizes that the victim died from onadyn poisoning, an item used by three alien groups to breathe in earth¿s oxygen world. She next notices three pieces of hair tied to one follicle which means a deadly Arcadian committed the murder. Other evidence link Arcadian Lilla en Arr to Steele. --- Lilla is taken downtown, but insists her brother Kyrinen will avenge this affront even as she hypnotizes males to abet her escape. At the precinct, for no known reason, Isabel Hussin shoots Dallas, whose chances of surviving are nil; only Kyrinen can save him, but Mia wonders at what price as he wants her. He also seems to know who the killer is and how the murder connects to Mia, but refuses to reveal anything at this time. --- Using the Men In Black concept, Gena Showalter provides a strong ET police procedural that grips the audience from the moment the tough heroine investigates the murder scene and never slows down until the final altercation. Mia is a fabulous ¿Bad Girl¿ who has a license to kill, but struggles with her growing feelings for an alien Kyrinen who she believes his sister is probably the serial murderer. The final spin will shock the audience though clues are cleverly placed in our faces as Gena Showalter will awaken more than just her female champion with this fine sci fi who-done-it.--- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Wow

    I loved it to be perfectly honest it isn't like her other series which i also happen to love. It shows the possibility of a future years beyond now and the romance isn't something i was expecting, which is a very good thing because i hate when i can guess whats going to happen. It keeps you guessing and i love how you feel as if you can connect with at least one of the characters in this amazing novel. In my personal opinion its a must read and i am lokking forward to reading the next in the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Gotta stick with this one!

    Usually after 100 pages if I still can't get some attachment to a book I will not finish it. I stuck with this one though, mainly because I love all of Gena Showalter's books. It got better near the end and I will probably read the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    Another classic series starts

    I love her series on the Lords of the Underworld. With its in depth details and the characters. she didn't let me down here. She writes as if you know it already. i love it when you piece things together. how they don't bombard you all at the same time with all the details. she leads you on a path that you just can't get off.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    My favorite Alien book!

    Ok, to be honest, I haven't read to many alien books, but Showalter definetly is number one right now on my awesome author list! This book is has all the musts..... It's funny, has great character development, and is totally original. I like that Mia is a tough talking, butt kicking heroine! Needing no one, but wanting someone. She's hard, but not in a to-damaged-to-make-friends way. Her connection to her friends and eventually a tall pale stranger make this book just a tad bit touching. (just a tad!)
    I loved it! I can't wait to get the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Awaken Me Darkly

    Awaken Me Darkly was a suspensful book in a category all its own. Gena Showalter has amazing talent to keep the reader guessing until the last pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    REVIEW PROVIDED BY:Kelly   NUMBER OF HEARTS:  3 1/2 REVIEW:  I h

    REVIEW PROVIDED BY:Kelly  
    NUMBER OF HEARTS:  3 1/2
    REVIEW: 
    I had to think about this review for a little while.  I really love Gena Showalter’s book.  I absolutely love Justine Eyre as a narrator. And I really did enjoy this story.  But when I got to the end I kept looking at my phone (because that is where my audio books plays) and thought “That’s it??”.  Yep sure enough that was the end of the book.   To me it felt just a little rushed but yet it was wrapped up nicely.  My next thought was there will be another books with Kyrin & Mia, but as far as I can see they don’t get another book.   
    So I am on the fence.  I like the book.  Loved Justine reading to me.  Loved Kyrin.  Liked Mia. Loved the side characters.  But was left wanting more.   I wanted more Kyrin time.  I wanted to see more Kyrin & Mia.  I guess I hope that as the series goes on we will get glimpses of Kyrin and Mia.  Because there are a lot of questions that need to be answered and the future is not certain.
    If you love Gena Showalter I think that you will like this book.  If you love to listen to Justine Eyre this is right up your alley.  Over all I am happy with my purchase and read. 

    Disclaimer: 
    I purchased this story from Audible and this review is my own opinion and not a paid review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    Pretty Good Read.  It was good enough to continue with the serie

    Pretty Good Read.  It was good enough to continue with the series and I have read all of Gena's other books.
    I was not crazy about it being written in the 1st person perspective, so maybe the others will be better since she 
    changes that.  I enjoyed the characters and who doesn't love a butt kicking woman who doesn't look like she should
    be one.  I also really liked Kyrin.  Great to have a leading male character who does not have black hair and blue eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Compelling  I think this may be my favorite Showalter book. It h

    Compelling 
    I think this may be my favorite Showalter book. It has her trademark wonderful world building and well paced plot but unlike many of her
     books I really like the couple. The heroine is really fierce in a believable sort of way and the hero is so pretty and so underestimated
    and so arch.  

    And then they combust. Love it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    I liked it!

    Plenty of action- both physical and erotic. Compeling characters that you become investeed in, drama without being overly dramatic, and a kick-ass strong female lead, really what more could you want?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Ok

    I thought it was ok...dont think ill read the rest of them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    I know if this was the 1st book of hers I read I wouild not read

    I know if this was the 1st book of hers I read I wouild not read a nother.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Desire and drama. Fantastic paranormal romance!

    Creative plot, unforgettable desires and wonderful characters. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Having a hard time

    With finishing this book...I love Gena Showalters Lord of Underworld books but this is just so hard to read. I expected much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A GREAT SERIES MUST READ!

    Gena Showalter is an amazing writer and she grabs your attention early in the book i read this book in one night it was so addicting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Great Series!

    There is mystery, romance and a great story line!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Great Book

    I'm a huge Gena Showalter fan, definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13