Customer Reviews for

Awaken the Giant Within: How to Take Immediate Control of Your Mental, Emotional, Physical, & Financial Destiny

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The second greatest story ever told.

If you only read one book in life, make it the Bible, if you read a second book, make it be: Awaken the Giant Within. This book is full of so many great chapters I just keep this book by the side of my bed, and read and re-read different chapters everynight. And I t...
If you only read one book in life, make it the Bible, if you read a second book, make it be: Awaken the Giant Within. This book is full of so many great chapters I just keep this book by the side of my bed, and read and re-read different chapters everynight. And I tell you, I have been doing this for over a year.

posted by Anonymous on May 18, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Same as his Personal Power Series

If this is your first time listening (or reading) to Anthony Robbins' book, then 'Awaken the Giant within: How to Take Control of Your Mental, Emotional, Physical, and Financial Destiny' can make a difference in your life. But if you have heard one of his Personal Power...
If this is your first time listening (or reading) to Anthony Robbins' book, then 'Awaken the Giant within: How to Take Control of Your Mental, Emotional, Physical, and Financial Destiny' can make a difference in your life. But if you have heard one of his Personal Power tapes, then there is not much of a difference. I bought this CD hoping that maybe it would be something different from his other books.

posted by Anonymous on November 9, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    How to Awaken the Giant Within You!

    Throughout my life I have read countless self-improvement books; however, there are only a few which I can say made lasting and positive changes in my life..."Awaken the Giant Within" is one of those rare texts.

    I became aware of Tony's book at a critical moment in my life. I was facing many challenges without a clear vision of what my next move should be.

    Tony gave me the strength to take ACTION by showing me that past failures did not determine future events. He also gave me the tools to chart a new destiny for myself and create a life full of passion.

    "Awaken the Giant Within" is a phenomenal book that helps you in defining your future with extraordinary enthusiasm!

    Brian J. Marinelli,
    Author,

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2000

    The second greatest story ever told.

    If you only read one book in life, make it the Bible, if you read a second book, make it be: Awaken the Giant Within. This book is full of so many great chapters I just keep this book by the side of my bed, and read and re-read different chapters everynight. And I tell you, I have been doing this for over a year.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Real review is below my complaint about the HOLE IN THE SCREEN !!

    The review of the book is below, so please read that.
    However first a message from our sponsor ... : I HAD MY GLOW ONLY 2 WEEKS AND A HORRIBLE LIGHT SHINING THROUGH THE SCREEN AND THE RETURN POLICIES ARE TERRIBLE AND IMPOSSIBLE AND CUSTOMER SERVICE IS OVERSEAS AND HORRIBLE BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT ACCOUNTABLE WITH CUSTOMER SURVEYS!!!! IF YOU USE A GIFT CARD TO BUY BOOKS YOU STILL HAVE TO HAVE A CREDIT CARD ATTACHED AND IF THE CREDIT CARD GOES OVER LIMIT OR EXPIRES AND THE SYSTEM SENDS A 0.0 CHARGE TO THAT CARD LETTING VISA KNOW EVERY BOOK YOU TRY TO PURCHASE THEN VISA HAS MORE INFORMATION ON YOU, .... LET THEM NEED MORE INFORMATION ON US ..YOU CANT OPEN THE DEVICE AND YOU CANT READ BOOKS YOU ALREADY PURCHASED !!!!!! YOU HAVE TO RETYPE THE ETIRE CREDIT CARD NUMBER IN !!! IMAGINE DOING THIS ON A BUS WHILE TRYING TO READ A BOOK !
    Haha, onto the review. This book is a "core" book you should have in your library if the life you are having differs from the life that you expect for yourself. So if your life is in ruins, but you expect to be a millionaire ... this is the book for you. On the other hand if you are 15 years into a 30 year professional career making a six figure corporate income, and have 250 stashed away in an IRA ... it could actually be of detriment, in that what you will learn here, if applied will change you, and those changes could ruffle the feathers of your corporate coworkers in the next cubicle, and just make drama for no great reason.
    There is also not much value in reading the book and intellectually understanding it. The material, no matter how silly or challenging or scary or confusing or .... whatever won't work if you don't apply it. Let me conclude with this test for you. If you can pass the test, get the book. If not, I would spend the 10 bux on a pizza. over 99% of people will fail this test. Really its not an arbitrary 99% but an actual stat.
    Test: For 30 days do these 3 items.
    1. wake up every single morning and ask yourself 5 positive questions such how will my day be good today and what am I looking forward to today and answer those questions
    2. have 0.0 complaints about anything or anyone in life. so if the coffee is cold ask how you can heat that up rather than complain hey my coffee is cold.
    3. stop eating dead animals and do 30 minutes of exercise daily. no walking does not count. real exercise that makes you sweat. no walking fast does not count. no sex-er-size does not count. like jogging, doing a real exercise dvd like taibo.
    Can you pass the test? If you are in less than 1% I honor you. If you are in the rest, thanks for playing ! ding ! you lose.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    Almost More Support than You Can Digest

    Author and 'life coach' Anthony Robbins takes on the gargantuan task of analyzing how the mind and body work, and how you can take control of every part of the process. He explains that all human actions and decisions originate in the pain-versus-pleasure principle. He then teaches you how to rewire your neurology so you associate pain with negative emotions and events, and replace it with the pleasure of the positive. Reading an Anthony Robbins book is like viewing a transcript of one of his self-empowerment seminars. The personal revelations, stories, anecdotes and analogies are fun to read, but the essential messages are buried beneath page after page of verbiage. Only the most patient and devoted Robbins follower will extract all the gems of wisdom from this lengthy treatise, but we think it is a worthwhile pursuit for the seeker who is willing to make this book a long-term companion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2000

    Same as his Personal Power Series

    If this is your first time listening (or reading) to Anthony Robbins' book, then 'Awaken the Giant within: How to Take Control of Your Mental, Emotional, Physical, and Financial Destiny' can make a difference in your life. But if you have heard one of his Personal Power tapes, then there is not much of a difference. I bought this CD hoping that maybe it would be something different from his other books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    Every sentence directs to take an action

    Very inspiring, informative, and seductive

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2005

    BRILLIANT

    Anthony Robbins is amazing. He knows not just what it takes for people to be successful, but how to get people to realize what excatly they want their success to be. This book will change your life, GUARANTEED!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    LIFE CHANGING!!!

    THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ FOR ANYONE WHO IS READY TO START MAKING DECISIONS AND CHANGING THEIR LIVE FOR THE BETTE. ONCE YOU READ THERE IS NO GOING BACK TO YOUR OLD SELF!!! FANTABULOUS!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2003

    All these rave reviews are true

    I am generally not a fan of books that fall into the genre of 'self-help' or anything of the sort. And I picked up this book on a whim. It has absolutely changed my life. I had already felt pretty confident about how I was managing my life, but this book completely took that to a new level. I would highly recommend this book to ANYONE.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2000

    Tony! Tony! Tony!

    Imagine what each of us could imagine if only we imagined the limitless possibilities. To put it simply, it's simply unimaginable! Tony Robbins may be the only person I know who has the incredible amount of imagination necessary to reveal all our hidden potentials in such an imaginative way. By actually living with the principles outlined in his books, videos, CD's, tapes, infomercials, satellite broadcasts, and personal seminars, we all can live happier, more fulfilling and imaginative lives. This contributes to Tony's dream for us in ways we never dreamed possible. I love his expression 'flabby goals' because it reminds me of that funny Saturday Night Live skit with 'Hans and Franz' who want to (clap) 'Pump you up!' Tony really pumps me up. Tony Robbins has brilliantly changed the way my decisions are made and, in effect, has changed my behavior. Tony's teachings have really become my Bible. In closing I must admit that I feel strangely compelled to say that I enjoyed this book immensely - it was better than 'Cats.' I plan to buy it again, and again, and again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    This is real crackpot material full of personal, unreliable info

    This is real crackpot material full of personal, unreliable information, inappropriate interpretations of material and a reliance on a metaphysics of human beings that flatters. It is hucksterism. If you need to read Robbins you cannot benefit from him. I wonder if he is related in some fashion to any of the 45 5 star reviews.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    I am not a good reader and don't read much except for the Bible. I was recommended this book from another business owner friend who said it changed his life. If you would like to better your life with a deeper understanding of why we make the choices we do and how to make better ones, this is the book to read! As a struggling small business owner, this is my motivation and therapy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    HIGHLY Recommended!!! It could and should change your life!

    I tell everyone I know about this book. I am starting a book club specifically because I want others, especially my closest friends and family, to benefit from the insight of Anthony Robbins. I wish I would have read it ten years ago! Read it, do the activities, and apply it in your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Amazing!

    Love, love, love this book. It really makes you think and pushes you yo follow though with your goals. Worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    We all have an inner giant to awaken

    I enjoy the Robbins books and as I go through a challenging time in my life this really helped to "lift me" up from the lull I was in. I would recommend this as a buy for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Deployed

    I am on my second deployment and I would love it if someone sent me this book once your done with it. Thank You

    Address
    SPC. Saenz
    A Troop 1/180 Cav.
    APO AE 09330

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    A must read for all who require motivation and support

    One of the most enlightning books i have ever read. A lifetime tool for reference. It should be manditory learning in school. Joey Llanos

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Awaken the Giant Within by Anthony Robbins

    Awaken The Giant Within, is the most inspiring book I have ever read. Just reading 5 to 10 pages a day, will propel you into your day with enthusiasm and motivation. Anthony Robbins has the tremendous gift to inspire people. Reading his book will give you hope, and create a faith in yourself that you can achieve and have all the things you want from life, be it finding the mate and love you want, or achieving success in whatever you aspire to.
    The attitude you will develop and consequential actions that you start taking, will bring your desires into reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    Classic book on business motivation

    Classic book on business motivation but it is a bit outdated.
    I would recommend Dr. Steinberg's new book, Full Throttle.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    For the next steps in personal NLP development

    This book helps anyone move beyond personal mental gain into interactive, social benevolence. It helped me realize what I held dear in my life. I learned how to define my 'dream life' and the steps needed to get there. Everything this book promises on the back becomes true--for those willing to read it and process the exercises in their own mind, journal, or other means of reflection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5